Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,515 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Edge engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Edge Owner Comments

problem #18

Nov 062016

Edge

  • 86,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As we were driving on a residential side street, going about 25mph, coming up a slight incline, the car stopped accelerating. We were able to get it to the side of the road. We turned it off and on and nothing happened. About 10-15 minutes later the engine started but would not accelerate. We were only able to go about 2mph. We were able to get it to a mechanical shop nearby. The next morning when they pulled the vehicle in, they experienced the same issue. When the turned it off and back on to do more tests the car was working "fine." The shop inspected it and did note the potential throttle body issue but as the vehicle was now running it could not be property diagnosed. We have taken it to a Ford dealer and the same information was given to us. We have confirmed through friends who have a 2011 Ford that they received a customer satisfaction letter from Ford noting the issue with the throttle body and losing acceleration. When Ford customer care was contacted they note the problem but "not" with our year vehicle. The service personnel at Ford have confirmed this will likely happen again and note it is a problem on other Ford vehicles as well and we were advised to "drive" it into Ford the next time it happens. This is clearly a problem across many years of Ford vehicles, yet they do not want to take responsibility for it or put out a recall on an issue that is all over the internet with similar experiences.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #17

Nov 282015

Edge

  • 65,800 miles
While driving down a main highway with cruise control set at 60 mph, the vehicle suddenly started surging and the rpms were fluctuating then the vehicle accelerated rapidly until speed reached about 72 mph. I had to turn cruise control off for the speed to drop back down.

- Poplar Branch, NC, USA

problem #16

Sep 082015

Edge 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Edge. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle accelerated rapidly on its own. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 10,000.....updated 07/05/16 the consumer experienced sudden acceleration several times. Updated 07/21/16.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #15

Jul 042015

Edge

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the accelerator pedal was violently depressed in order for the vehicle to increase in speed. In addition, the vehicle hesitated when shifting gears. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000.

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #14

Jul 012011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
#1) this vehicle was purchased brand new in 2010 and from the beginning when I press on the accelerator pedal the car will sometimes just goes into a dead mode and does nothing for a few seconds. If I try to accelerate and the car doesn't react I sometimes have to mash on the pedal to get the car to go. This has proven to be a very serious problem when I have to merge or turn quickly out of a side street of through an intersection in a quick manner. Its as if the car has a hiccup or some type of delay from pedal to motor? #2) on another note that has to do with dashboard design, when I turn on my turn signals the high beam will sometimes engage because the high beam switch and the turn signal switch are on the same arm and the high beam is designed to be pushed forward instead of the traditional pulled toward you to activate.this pushing motion is consistent with my hand reaching toward the turn signal in a forward motion. This occurrence is sometimes mistaken for aggressive behavior or an annoyance to oncoming traffic.

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #13

Jan 282014

Edge

  • 50,000 miles
I bought a used 2010 Ford Edge last year August from connicelli dealer in conshohoken pa. The same day I bought the car, on my way home I noticed that the brake has a problem. Took it back and was fixed. Right after this., I was parking in a small parking lot, the car accelerated on his own and went on the grass. The second time I was parking in front of my garage, the car accelerated again and I almost drag my second car to the basement. The third time, I was parking in small parking lot and it accelerated again. Only this time, the car crash into parked car and the car hit another car. My car and two other cars was damaged. Thank god, nobody was in the two cars. The 3 cars look like it was a highway auto accident. I am not sure if the us government is going to do anything about Ford and the acceleration problem until when it kills one of their own. Ordinary citizen do not count. Ford company is a giant, mega company that helps when it comes to politicians in us. I am scared of this car. It almost kill me. Federal government is on this monster heartless company side. Killing innocent people because of their power in this country. Ford company are untouchable. Consumers just have to live with it. The only time you probably get a solution will be when one of the tops get killed in a Ford auto accident occurring with an acceleration problem. Then you will hear it the cnn. Shame on all that knows this acceleration problem and not doing anything. Will it be different if its your mother, father, wife, husband, daughter, son or grandchildren. I am 56 year old and I have driven different cars, never been in an accident until I bought this Ford Edge. Do the right thing. Ford company you're selling us a lemon and you know it. You need to pay for this killings. Us federal government, you're our last hope. Please help us.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #12

Jan 272014

Edge 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cpsc: I1410473A. 2010 Ford Edge. Consumer stated they are having multiple problems with the car. The consumer stated within the last month, the torque converter, throttle body and motor assembly had to be replaced. Also, there was a smell of gas coming from the vehicle and the engine hesitated at times.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

May 012013

Edge

  • 9,500 miles
On 05/01/2013 I entered into a parking lot in a shopping mall, with my right foot on the brake pedal while braking to stop at a 15 or 20 miles per hour, the vehicle suddenly and unintentionally accelerated, the rpms jumped about 2000 more (1500 to 3500 aprox.) and I left the tires prints over the pavement because I put the brake fully pressed while the engine was accelerating without touching the gas pedal. Fortunately there was no crash nor injuries to passengers or pedestrians, but I have noticed that this problem has occurred to several persons around the country, so I ask if this government Agency would issue a recall because it is a safety and a high risk situation. Thank you.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #10

May 312012

Edge

  • 50,000 miles
On two occasions - one in an empty parking lot and another at a stop light in heavy traffic - while braking to stop, the vehicle unintentionally accelerated and wanted to lurch. Had brake fully pressed and the RPM's jumped from 1500 to 3500. Only way, on second occasion, to stop completely was to immediately put vehicle into park. RPM's then returned to 1500. These instances happened to me as the driver and I had others in the vehicle with me as witnesses. I won't let my 16 year old son drive this vehicle because of this.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #9

Mar 072012

Edge

  • 18,912 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Edge. The contact was driving between 5 and 10 mph when the accelerator pedal was released and the vehicle increased speed with out warning. The vehicle accelerated until crashing into a bush. The vehicle was not destroyed. The crash caused no injuries and the police were not notified. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 18,912 and the current mileage was 19,500.

- Vincent, IA, USA

problem #8

Jan 212012

Edge 6-cyl

  • 24,450 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 1/21/12, I pulled into a parking space, with my foot on the brake to put the car into park, the engine made a funny noise and the car surged forward crashing into a Ford mustang. This crash should never have happened since my foot had the brake depressed. When the car came to a halt after hitting the mustang, I had to pull the gear shift out of "park" to back up off the damaged vehicle. After taking my vehicle to randall Ford to be checked out, I was informed that there was nothing wrong with my vehicle. They tried to convince me that my foot was on both pedals. This is virtually impossible to do in my car unless my foot was turned at a 90 degree angle from it's normal position. If my foot had slipped off the brake and hit the gas I would have said that and never taken my vehicle in to be inspected. I know Ford never wants to admit they have a problem with their vehicles but I urge the "powers that be" to go back into their issue history and check out the issues you had with the Ford freespirit surging forward on numerous occasions. I would like for someone to take this issue serious while my car is still under warranty. I cannot afford an $8000. Repair. I would also like to state that if someone had been between my car and the mustang it hit, they could have been severely hurt or killed.

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #7

Nov 162011

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
The contact owned a 2010 Ford Edge. The contact was driving 15 mph when the vehicle surged forward to approximately 45 mph and crashed into a concrete post. The brakes were engaged during the failure, but the vehicle would not stop. The contact suffered eleven broken ribs and a broken knee cap. The police were notified and the vehicle was towed to a private mechanic. The manufacturer was also notified. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure and current mileages were 31,000. Updated 01/10/12 updated 04/26/12

- Woodstock, VA, USA

problem #6

Sep 252011

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,028 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Edge. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, she removed her foot from the accelerator pedal and coasted to a stop, when suddenly the vehicle surged forward crashing into a store. The vehicle was towed to an independent repair shop, but did not have the failure diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 7,028 updated 03/06/12

- Milwaukie, OR, USA

problem #5

Aug 232011

Edge

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Edge. The contact was driving 20 mph and attempting to break when the engine rpms increased and the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact had to place the gear in neutral to bring the vehicle to a stop. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to be diagnosed or repaired. The failure and current mileage was 1,000.

- Huntington, MI, USA

problem #4

Jun 092011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 16,180 miles
We purchased a 2010 Ford Edge because of the safety tests of these vehicles. It has since developed a delay in take off about twice per month. It is almost like the transmission is not engaged, then violently engages and lurches the vehicle forward. Last month a car had to slam it's brakes to avoid hitting my wife and children as the car delayed, and before my wife could get on the brake, it engaged and lurched the car into traffic. This is a huge safety concern, one that I would figure Ford would take very seriously since it is documented, however they refuse to admit something is wrong. Of course it has not been duplicated after many days in the shop, but it just happened again 2 hours ago. The dealership of both purchase and refusal to fix the problem is mclarty auto mall in texarkana Texas.

- Queen City, TX, USA

problem #3

May 092011

Edge

  • 29,000 miles
I purchased my 2010 Ford Edge the first week of May 2011. Within three days I noticed that the vehicle would accelerate suddenly, and the RPM would jump from 1500 to 3500, then back again. This happened several times. I called the dealership where I purchased the vehicle, and they stated I could take it to any Ford service dept. I did just that and was told nothing was wrong with the vehicle. When I went to retrieve my newly purchased Ford Edge, there was a four inch gash in the right side of the hood. They denied that the gash happened at their service dept. When I pulled away from the service dept. The vehicle did the same surging forward and the RPM's jumped again. I called the service dept. Asap! they had me return immediately, and I went through hell to get a loaner car while my vehicle sat in the service dept through the weekend. On Monday of the following week, the service dept mgr called me to let me know that they couldn't find anything wrong with the car. When I picked up the Edge that evening, I had the serviceman ride with me. My Edge did it again, and I demonstrated how it also did it while set on cruise. This was not a slip of my foot as assumed by the service mgr. They did not fix the issue, but only stated that this is normal for this vehicle. This is not normal when I'm subjected to an accident due to a surging vehicle. I was almost hit while merging as my Edge would not immediately accelerate, then boom it shot forward where I needed to apply my brakes or hit the car in front of me. I still experience this surging at least three to four times a week. I'm waiting for my accident!!!!!

- Mcfarland, WI, USA

problem #2

Aug 242010

Edge

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns 2010 Ford Edge. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph she took her foot off of the accelator pedal and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle but when the accelator pedal was depressed the vehicle stalled again. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the vehicle needed the throttle body replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure continued to occur. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 5,800.

- Sacramento , CA, USA

problem #1

Aug 262010

Edge 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2010 Ford Edge. Consumer states that the engine shut down when he pressed the gas to move from a stopped position. He states that this has happened on more than one occasion. The consumer stated no dash board lights illuminated, so he turned the vehicle off. He restarted the vehicle and everything seemed normal. Two days later, after driving approximately 2 miles the engine again shut down. It occurred while the consumer was merging into a gap in 40 mph traffic. A red wrench icon illuminated on the dash board. The consumer was able to pull to the side of the road. According to the service invoice, the power train icon illuminated. The dealer found the throttle stuck closed. The consumer also stated there was a problem with the height of the front head rests. The top of the head rests were higher than the driver and passenger heads and at a sharp angle. The dealer was unable to raise or lower the head rest to the height of driver and passenger ears.

- Payson, AZ, USA

Not what you are looking for?