If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

9.2

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Edge accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Edge Owner Comments

problem #7

Jul 282011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford sync system has been freezing, back up camera blacking out, gps stalling. Car has been returned to dealer 3 times for a reboot system. Dealer said it has to do with the new system and there being bugs.

- La Habra, CA, USA

problem #6

Mar 292011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 2,906 miles
Various problems with sync/computer screen in car - side warning car coming lights go on for no reason, screen goes dark and black box appears in center including when in reverse thus blanking out center visual field of back up camera (see cameron gulbransen transportation Safety Act Feb 2008). All this began after Ford recall program 10B20 done March 29, 2011. It worked perfectly prior to that time. Car was brought back to dealer ap 2, ap 21, ap 27, May 5-9 and Aug 2 2011 for same issues. Computer works for short time then problems start again. I do have a photo in my phone of the black screen happening which was shown to the dealer. It is often too unsafe to drive and take a photo at the same time to collect better evidence of episodes so I only have a couple of photos that came out clearly. Also various other problems- phone suddenly unsyncs itself while driving - I made a call then tried to make a second call a few moments later and it had disconnected from car including all 911 service. While driving on road with no other cars nor objects, suddenly began ringing alarm and flashing that cars were coming from the sides and there was no one on either side and no wind nor rain. While at dealer past 3 times, detroit home office was called by the dealer for further advice by dealer.

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #5

Mar 252011

Edge

  • 100 miles
Purchased a 2011 Ford Edge with sync and my Ford touch after the 3rd time the dealer finally upgraded the system on the with the 4th visit with an update, only had the car back less then a week and now the entire system crashed nothing works and I mean nothing took it back to the dealer and was told there is nothing they can do except wait for Ford to come out with a fix. Spent over 40,000 for a lemon and a dealer that does not care. Does anyone have any ideas that could help me out will be greatly appreciated.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #4

Nov 202010

Edge

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford's sync system is a safety hazard. It does not work as advertised, constantly crashes and is a grave distraction for drivers.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #3

Feb 232011

Edge

  • 500 miles
2011 Ford Edge limited with myford touch system. Took delivery of this vehicle on 2/23/11. Since, the myford touch system has either operated on a very limited basis, or, and most importantly, has been entirely inoperable. The vehicle has been in dealer service department from 3/10/11 - 3/17/11 and upon further failure of the system, we picked up once again by the dealer on 3/21/11 where it remains, awaiting an inspection by a Ford field service engineer. The dealer initially re-programmed the system, which failed, attempted to upgrade the system software to V2.7, with no success and then replaced the apim (audio protocol interface module) 3 times, without success. After E-mails to key contacts at Ford, we received a call from Ford's executive offices, who are now coordination the further repair attempts. Have been advised that if repairs do not remedy the problem, that they will have to consider other alternatives. We assume that is replacing the vehicle, but they would not yet commit to such. This issue has left us with an entire lack of faith in Ford and the quality of its vehicles.

- Allen Park, MI, USA

problem #2

Oct 092010

Edge

  • miles
I have owned a 2011 Ford Edge now for almost 2 months, this came with the myford touch system with sync services. This service has yet to work. After having the dealer have it for a day, they come back and say its a Ford problem that they are looking into. I call sync service and they say the dealer only has to flash the memory and this will fix it. The dealer doesn't have the tools to do this yet. I was even told to take it to another dealer and this is how I found out they need to order cables. They still have not got these and I was told even after they get them now, not to work on any vehicles till Ford gets a fix for it. Why was this system even put into the market if they have these issues!!! how much longer do we have to wait on this and what kind of restitution should be given to the people with this vehicle that was bought with this system that doesn't work.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #1

Oct 202010

Edge

  • 10 miles
This is a preemptive complaint, as I thankfully have not had an accident yet. The myfordtouch system in all 2011 Ford Motor Co vehicles are defective. The system has a multitude of defects, but the safety related defect is that the system can spontaneously reboot at any time with no warning to the driver. This can happen at random, and multiple times within a short period of time. When backing up this shuts down the backup camera which could result in injuries to children who get behind the vehicle. At night this causes the screen to suddenly go full white at full backlight, which is extremely distracting to a driver at night. Another safety issue would be when the system reboots when the drive is being guided to an emergency facility or is on the phone with 911. Ford acknowledged the problems to dealerships on Oct 20th and informed them not to do anything at this time. Many customers have been reporting these problems on the owner2owner website for the Ford sync system. I am submitting this complaint in hopes it can be dealt with before someone gets hurt rather than after. Thank you

- Hudson, NH, USA

Not what you are looking for?