Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,157 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Edge engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Edge Owner Comments

problem #13

Aug 312014

Edge

  • 46,490 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving in residential area @ 35mph. Wrench light came on, car would no longer accelerate and was coasted to the side of the road. Car was turned off and then back on and was able to be driven without problem. Same event previously described occurred again.1.5hrs later. This event happened at a light that had just turned green and the car had to be stopped in a turn lane, turned off and back on, causing a disturbance in traffic patterns. At this point, the dealership was called and notified that I was bringing the car in for immediate service. The car then shut off again and my husband and I decided it was not safe for me to travel 25mi to dealership where car was purchased. We went to the nearest Ford dealership, approx.5 mi away. In route to nearest dealership on interstate going 65mph the car shut off. I was able to get the car over on the shoulder to stop the engine.the area where my car came to a stop was right around a blind bend in the road. The car was restarted and I drove forward while still on the shoulder in hopes that I would be able to get around the bend in the road and be able to safely accelerate and merge back into traffic without doing so blindly. I exited the interstate onto secondary roads less than 1mi later. The car shut off 4 more times while driving to the dealership. One of these times was in the middle of a high traffic intersection which involved 3 lanes of traffic each way. My vehicle was serviced and returned to me that evening. Throttle body was replaced, costing$693.less than 1mi from the dealership the car would no longer accelerate and came to a complete stop while in the turn lane of an intersection during high volume traffic hrs. It would not restart. Dealership notified, their tow service estimated 90min wait. Local police notified due to major disruption in traffic & fear of safety. Waited 45min, then had car towed at my expense.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #12

Oct 062014

Edge

  • 40,271 miles
While driving in poway at 45 mph with only less than a one minute warning of an orange color wrench light showing up. My Ford Edge lost all power 100% including brakes, accelerator you name it the power was lost. So I then took it to the dealership on 10/7/2014 after they had it for 2 full days. They said we cannot determine what it was the service man even stated that they attached it to diagnostic computer and were unable to determine what was wrong. Then gave me paperwork and told me if it happens again to bring it back and sure enough it did on 10/15/14 while I was on the 52 freeway the same thing. Please help me and my family have Ford address this problem this car is unsafe for my family as well as others on the road there is no telling when all power is going to be last 100%.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 152014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 40,623 miles
While driving on the 56 freeway with only less than a one minute warning of a orange color wrench on the left side of the wheel which went on. I lost all power to my 2011 Ford Edge including brake, accelerator you name it no power what so ever. I was so lucky I was able to make it to the shoulder very scary. I have owned many cars, but never experiences something so scary. This is the second time this has happened the first time was on 10/6/2014. Both times I took it to my local Ford dealership location the first time they had my car for 2 full days and were unable to determine the problem. The second time I picked up my car after 1 full day and I was instructed that they contacted Ford main office regarding this matter. I was told on the phone by staff that I can come and pick up my car, but I will need to have a computer attached to it. I said while why cant you just keep the vehicle until you find the problem and give me a rent a car. "my local dealership said absolutely not". I picked it up at 420pm on 10/17/14 they gave me no paperwork like they did when I dropped it off, but gave me instructions on how to use this computer thing they installed in my car. With the following instructions I was to hit the red button when my car runs funny, or looses power. I can only press it 4 times no more than 4 times. I told the staff member at the local dealership that instructed me that I am scared. Eventhough, my local Ford dealership knows that I am scared they still released the car to me! please help our family with this matter regarding the safety of the 2011 Ford Edge.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 252014

Edge

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle just looses power. This happens right in traffic with no warning. There was not a crash this time but it was very close. We had nowhere to get off the road. This is the third time this has happen in the last two days. It appears other people have had this problem and it is the throttle body. You can shut the car off and restart and it is fine again. Dealer says there isn't a code so they can't say what the problem is. Someone is going to get hurt and I understand Ford has recalled other models in the same year for throttle body problems.

- Joplin, MO, USA

problem #9

Aug 032014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The vehicle shut down on the highway. It appeared that the vehicle had no fuel. The yellow wrench came on, and the vehicle died, as it came to a stop. After a few minutes, started as if nothing had happened. It has done it a few other times, today. I checked to see if there were any codes and on the first few times, there were not (autozone), but the last time it threw P2111.

- St Charles, MO, USA

problem #8

Jun 022014

Edge 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
While driving on the highway, my Ford Edge lost acceleration. The engine remained idling but would not accelerate. I had to coast over to the side of the road, turn the engine off and restart. It would run fine for a few miles then repeat. I managed to get it to a Ford dealer who said it was a very common problem with the throttle body and it needed to be replaced but was not covered by my warranty. $610 later and many hours lost from work, I am a very unhappy Ford owner. Having researched this problem on line, I am finding it is a common problem with the Ford escape and now becoming more common with the Edge.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #7

Apr 252014

Edge

  • 60,517 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle in question started to die and there was no acceleration. I would restart the car and you couldn't really accelerate and eventually it would die again. No warning whatsoever. The vehicle was towed to the dealership and after three days they finally found that the camshaft broke and ruined the engine. The engine needs to be replaced. The car is only three years old and has 60,517 miles. I am 517 miles over the warranty and I would think in good faith, Ford would honor the warranty, but I was told it's in black and white. No one can explain to me how and what caused the camshaft to break. "it's a freak thing" is not a good answer and doesn't answer my question. The technician is baffled. Car has been very well maintained. I would also think that Ford would want to investigate and get to the bottom of this so it doesn't happen to anyone else. Ford needs to stand behind their product. Their advertising is misleading because my car is not reliable and not built tough! you wonder why people buy foreign car because they last!

- St. Charlles, IL, USA

problem #6

Dec 062013

Edge

  • 37,800 miles
Over the last month, my vehicle has had stalling issues while idling. All of the times it has occurred while my vehicle is idling at a red light and the vehicle sounds like the engine shuts off then jumps back on. However, one of the times, my vehicle completely stalled and I had to put my vehicle in park, turn it off then turn it back on. During this time the light had turned green and luckily no one was behind me. My local Ford dealer is fixing this issue, however, they are saying it is not covered under the Ford certified pre-owned comprehensive limited warranty or the Ford certified pre-owned powertrain limited warranty. I researched this issue and noticed other Ford and Lincoln models have had the same issue and are within the same year as my Ford Edge was manufactured, 2011.

- Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, USA

problem #5

Jun 012011

Edge 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
Twice after backing up and shifting the car from reverse to drive, the car stalled/shut off. The first time it occurred after backing onto a busy street. While pushing on the gas with no forward movement, I saw a message displayed in the dash that the car must be in park to start. I was extremely lucky that in that instance I had enough time to start the vehicle and move prior to traffic reaching me as it occurred on a busy street. The approximate date for the first occurrence was in June of 2011. The second was on July 5, 2011, with approximately 2,450 miles. On November 3, 2011, and November 29, 2011, my cars battery died resulting in needing to call Ford roadside assistance to tow it to the dealer. Prior to that, I twice had a battery saver message displayed after I shut off my car, although everything was off. While at the dealer the second time it happened, the battery died for the third time after approximately 8 hours. The battery test always reported that the battery was okay. After a week at the shop they were still unable to determine the cause. Two times my vehicle would not recognize that I had the key in my possession within the vehicle and therefore would not start. I do not know if all of these issues are possibly interconnected with the computer system.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 252011

Edge

  • 800 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Edge. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph and the engine stalled without prior warning. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The engine pin connector was faulty and the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 800.

- Dearborn Heaights , MI, USA

problem #3

Jun 132011

Edge

  • 40 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford Edge. The contact stated since the date of purchase the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who inspected the vehicle and stated that there was nothing wrong with it. On June 13, 2011, the vehicle stalled while driving 30 mph without warning. The contact was able to control the steering wheel and avoid crashing into a pole. The engine light illuminated after the failure occurred. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test that located a leak in the engine. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN information was not available. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the vehicle did not have any related recalls and they would call her back. The failure mileage was 40 and the current mileage was 2,090.

- New City , NY, USA

problem #2

Apr 162011

Edge

  • 1,500 miles
Engine failed since new. Many trips to dealer ended in complete tear down. Blows smoke clouds on the highway.

- Seaford, NY, USA

problem #1

Feb 072011

Edge

  • miles
Service engine light. My 2011 Edge was 3 weeks old when this light came on one morning and stayed on. I was informed that they had to call Ford hotline for a resolution and they told them to reprogram the computer. 3 months later, my light came on again. I dropped my car to the dealer yesterday - same thing, had to call Ford hotline for a resolution. I still do not have my car back because the hotline hasn't responded. I don't know if this is a serious issue with my car or why the engine light keeps going off. It worries me that something is seriously wrong with this auto I purchased 10/15/10. I also have problems with the sync controls going wild - volume sticks and goes off or full blast - system resets itself on it's own and goes back to default screens on either side of speedometer instead of what I selected, etc.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?