Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.1

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,358 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Ford Edge engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Ford Edge Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Sep 242015

Edge

  • 1,341 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was driving, the car engine stopped. I would then have to put the car in park and restart the engine while in traffic.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #39

Jul 042016

Edge

  • 4,400 miles
Vehicle stalled in heavy traffic on the freeway and had to coast to the side of the road. Very dangerous situation. Amber check engine light came on and a warning light showing a yellow wrench came on. Vehicle ran in limp home mode only. Took vehicle to the dealership and the throttle body was replaced. On line reports indicate the throttle body has been a problem at Ford for the last several years and it apparently is still not fixed on the 2015 Ford Edge....updated 08/15/16

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #38

Jul 012016

Edge

  • 12,000 miles
Driving down major highway. Car engine lurched and then suddenly lost all acceleration power. Had to coast to a stop by side of highway. Engine continued running very roughly. No acceleration or ability to drive. Dealership deemed it a electronic throttle body failure.

- Culpeper, VA, USA

problem #37

Jun 282016

Edge

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car is Ford Edge 2015 with only 6000 miles on it. I was entering the ramp on a freeway and when attempted to accelerate the car just shut off by itself. I blocked the whole road because could not move. No check engine light was on just a message displayed on the dash "full accessory power active" and the green light on the starter button was flashing. Had to put the car in park and wait 2-3 min until I could successfully restart it. The next day my car did the same thing on a busy street intersection. I had to wait again a little bit to restart it and drove to the dealership. They took the car to check for one day, no rental was provided. I was told that they get many different Ford vehicles with this issue. Next day I received a phone call that they ran a computer scan and throttle body was defective. Throttle body air intake was replaced. Very scary and dangerous situation that can happen anytime, anywhere without any kind of warning. I believe it needs attention...

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #36

Jun 242015

Edge

  • 5,700 miles
While on highway car went from 45 mph to under 5mph without warning. Lost all functions steering acceleration and braking. Wrench appeared on dashboard see manual. Luckily a car was not behind could have been a serious accident. Went to Ford said could not find an issue

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #35

Jun 222016

Edge

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 a Ford Edge. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle decelerated to 5 mph as the rpms reduced to zero. The vehicle was driven with caution to the contact's residence. The engine warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle control would need to be replaced. The remedy part was on a massive back order. The vehicle would be repaired when the part became available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000....updated 09/12/16

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #34

Mar 012016

Edge

  • 18,109 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2015 Ford Edge titanium on April 23, 2015. Around February 2016, I began noticing and hearing the vehicle make a loud noise (raring up of the engine} when in the park position or when driving. The noise appears louder when in the park position. I took the vehicle to the Ford dealership where I purchased it to have it inspected and was informed it was normal for the vehicle to do that. The noise became worse so I took the vehicle back again. On March 3, 2016, I was then informed it was the cooling fan. The cooling fan was supposedly replaced. However, today the vehicle is doing the same thing. To hopefully get a solution to this problem I filed a complaint with Ford Motor Company. I was referred to the person over my district and have followed their recommendations but still to no avail. After every service visit I"M being told they can't find anything wrong and that the noise is normal. I requested for a Ford technician to come out and inspect the vehicle on June 8, 2016. As of today, June 25, 2016, I am still waiting to have my vehicle inspected by a Ford technician. I have videos of the vehicle making the same noise before the cooling fan was replaced and after it was replaced. I have also shared both videos with Ford and the dealership's service supervisor. I am afraid each time I drive the vehicle because I don't know if it will blow up or not because the noise is just that loud. I just want the vehicle repaired.

- Tuskegee, AL, USA

problem #33

Jun 212016

Edge

  • 5,820 miles
I was pulling out of a parking lot and the car did not accelerate, a message displayed on the dash "full accessory power available". I had to put the car in park and restart it. It restarted fine and I pulled out of the lot and drove home. When I got home I got my manual and tried to look up the message on my dash, because I didn't have a clue what it meant. I could not find anything in the manual. So I looked on the internet and discovered a lot of people have had this problem numerous times and some in busy intersections and traffic, which scares me to death! I was lucky it was in a parking lot. Now I am scared to drive my car until it's fixed.

- Scott Depot, WV, USA

problem #32

Jun 112016

Edge

  • 7,600 miles
Car was stopped in a parking lot. No power when attempted to accelerate. Screen showed "full accessory power active" and the green light on the starter button was flashing. Car was put in park and successfully started. Was able to drive more than 100 miles later without any issues. Took car to dealer where they ran a computer scan and did not find any issues. I've noted a number of on line postings describing similar issues.

- Hudson, OH, USA

problem #31

Jun 102016

Edge

  • 7,000 miles
Issue 1: when ambient air temperatures are above 85 degrees the engine shutters, accelerates very slowly and the engine light flashes. This happens consistently on short and long trips without any warning. Issue 2: ventilated/cooled seats do not work when ambient air temperatures are above 75 degrees.

- Algonquin, IL, USA

problem #30

May 302016

Edge

  • 9,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Ford Edge. The contact stated that the vehicle went into limp mode several times, which prevented the vehicle from being driven over 5 mph. The dealer diagnosed that the throttle body failed. The dealer also stated that there were more than 8,000 parts on back order and were unable to determine when the manufacturer would supply the part for the repair. The contact waited for weeks for a response from the manufacturer to determine a solution. The approximate failure mileage was 9,300.

- Fayetteville, TN, USA

problem #29

Jun 032016

Edge

  • 3,800 miles
My car shut down while driving. I was driving in a parking lot and it just suddenly shut down. I couldn't accelerate. An error displayed that said something like full power active accessory. I was able to restart the car.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #28

Jun 032016

Edge

  • 28,030 miles
Pulled up to a red light and waited until the light turned green. Then I attempted to accelerate and the the engine shut off; however, it is possible that the engine shut off while the car was stopped prior to accelerating. A warning came up on the vehicle display, but I cannot remember the exact warning. I shifted into park and started the car back up, and all errors cleared. I drove an additional two miles home, and did not experience the same issue (even though I repeated the same procedure at two stop signs, fully stopping and gradually accelerating).

- Floresville, TX, USA

problem #27

May 262016

Edge

  • 10,000 miles
Throttle body. Ford Edge titanium new car - have for roughly 6 months - 10,000 mileage driving on highway doing 65 - 70 miles an hour. Car makes a beep noise and a large wrench appears in the left screen on the dashboard. No ability to use gas pedal which is now locked up - cannot press down. Car is slowing down. Only options to go to side of road and turn off. Car can be restarted. Take to dealership asap (happens again on the way - this time only driving approximately 30 miles an hour). Dealership says it is the throttle body and they have ordered part to repair. Been without a car for a week. Still awaiting for dealership to repair.

- Tinton Falls, NJ, USA

problem #26

May 242016

Edge

  • 6,900 miles
I purchased a brand new 2015 Ford Edge on 12/29/15. On January 19, 2016, the ABS break system went out and it took 2 wks to fix.this happened when I was 4 hours from my home and had to leave it at a dealership then drive 4 hours back to get it. Ford could have cared less. Yesterday(5/24/2016),I was driving down the highway at the speed limit (70mph) when suddenly my vehicle's gas pedal stopped working. I immediately felt the car de accelerate and tried to press the gas pedal to keep up with traffic. However, stomping on the gas pedal did nothing to increase the speed. There were cars slamming on their brakes and swerving to go around me. I was in the left lane of a 3 lane highway and many cars and 18 wheelers began swerving to pass me on the right. It was extremely difficult to coast to the shoulder. The power steering seemed to be limited as well.there were 2 near misses with other cars and it could have been a very bad crash. I turned the vehicle off and back on and made it to my destination. But, this happened a second time on my way home in the dark. I took it in the next morning and used all back roads but even at a lower speed, the same thing happened twice. Ford now tells me that they are having problems with the "throttle bodies" on the 2015 Edge and the part is backordered. Therefore it could be 2-3 weeks before my car is repaired. I purchased this car in December of 2016 brand new off the lot, less than 6 months & less than 7K miles later I experienced an extremely dangerous equipment failure with no warning. Ford customer svc does not seem the least bit concerned that their customers are not only inconvenienced by this issue, but could be killed! what is wrong with them" does someone have to die to get their attention. I am still expected to pay Ford moter credit on the car. However, I am unable to drive it.once again, does someone have to die"

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #25

May 122016

Edge

  • 16,723 miles
I bought my new 2015 Ford Edge in June of 2015, not even 2 months after owning it, the engine died on me while in stop and go traffic. The lights on the dash were on and it gave me an error message but I don't remember what it was. I was able to turn the car off and turn it back on and it was fine. Then it did it again maybe a week later. Took to the deal twice, they contacted Ford and they told the dealership they it had to be reprogrammed, which fixed it but now 9 months later I'm dealing with it again. This time I took a photo of the error message, it said "full accessory power active." I've taken it back to the dealership but I've done a lot of research and this problem has been happening for years on all kinds of Ford vehicles.

- Aldie, VA, USA

problem #24

Aug 012015

Edge

  • 5,000 miles
I bought my new 2015 Ford Edge in June of 2015, not even 2 months after owning it, the engine died on me while in stop and go traffic. The lights on the dash were on and it gave me an error message but I don't remember what it was. I was able to turn the car off and turn it back on and it was fine. Then it did it again maybe a week later. Took to the deal twice, they contacted Ford and they told the dealership they it had to be reprogrammed, which fixed it but now 9 months later I'm dealing with it again. This time I took a photo of the error message, it said "full accessory power active." I've taken it back to the dealership but I've done a lot of research and this problem has been happening for years on all kinds of Ford vehicles.

- Aldie, VA, USA

problem #23

May 122016

Edge

  • 11,000 miles
Car shut off twice on the highway at 70 mph. Very dangerous but was able to pull over on the shoulder and restart vehicle but then it would stall 15 minutes later. All power gone in the engine. Have 11,000 miles on this car. Dummy light said to "get service". at the dealership they said it would take three weeks to get the new "throttle body" to fix this problem? three weeks I am without this car! I just hope once it's fixed I'm not going to be stalling without warning on the highway!

- Biormingham, MI, USA

problem #22

Mar 292016

Edge

  • 6,000 miles
Vehicle stalled again. First time October 2015 (filed a complaint). I was traveling on a road at relatively low speed and vehicle just stalled. Restarted quickly, a vehicle should not just stall for no reason, especially a new vehicle.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #21

Oct 212015

Edge

  • 600 miles
In a parking garage, turning right at slow speed and vehicle stalled. No warning, all was going smooth until vehicle just stalled. Vehicle restarted. Informed dealer. Dealer service department "reprogramed PCM per tsb 15-0123". thought all was taken care of until stalled again in March. So reporting now.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?