Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 30
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,234 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

Jan 182004

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact received a recall notice for the vehicle speed control: Cruise control. The dealer does not have the parts available for the recall repair and do not know when they will arrive. There had been no failure to date. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 130,000.

- Inman, SC, USA

problem #47

Mar 312005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact received a Ford recall notice for the vehicle speed control: Cruise control in 2005. He called the dealer on numerous occasions to have the vehicle repaired and they stated that the parts were unavailable. The cruise control switch was disconnected because the dealer did not know when the parts would arrive. There had been no failure to date. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 100,000.

- Galveston, TX, USA

problem #46

Mar 192008

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The contact received a recall notice for the vehicle speed control: Cruise control. The dealer stated that the parts for the recall repair were unavailable. They also stated that they would call the contact when the parts arrived and there was no need to disconnect the speed control in the interim. There had been no failure to date. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 89,365.

- Finleyville, PA, USA

problem #45

Dec 012007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle caught fire after engine was turned off.

- Marrero, LA, USA

problem #44

Oct 092007

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 176,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. The vehicle began smoking underneath the hood while parked. The contact lifted the hood and noticed that flames were present. He attempted to extinguish the fire with a hose. When the police and fire departments arrived, they finished extinguishing the fire. The fire department stated that the cruise control caused the failure. A fire and police report was filed. The contact called the local dealer and they asked for the VIN. The dealer then confirmed that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 05V388000 (vehicle speed control). The vehicle would not start and was towed to the dealer for repair. The contact never received a recall notice. The dealer does not want to repair the vehicle for free due to the recall; however, they offered to deactivate the cruise control switch. The dealer stated that they sent notifications, but the contact never responded. The fire damaged the front end of the vehicle near the cruise control and fuse boxes. There was also property damage to the driveway, where the vehicle was parked at the time. The current and failure mileages were 176,000.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #43

Jun 182007

F-150

  • miles
We own a 1998 Ford F-150 that we bought used for my son. Monday he called me from Indiana where he is working and said his truck started on fire. The fireman told him about the recall, we never received a notice on this recall. No one wants to touch the truck or give us an estimate because of the Ford recall. He has the expense of a rental ca. How do I handle this issue.

- Temperance, MI, USA

problem #42

Apr 142007

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Ford F-150. While parked in the driveway the vehicle suddenly caught on fire. The contact believed the fire was caused by the cruise control which ignited separately. There may be a recall but the contactwas unfamiliar of what the consequences were if the recallwas not repaired. The necessary parts were on back order from the dealer at the time of failure. The current and failure mileages were 106,000.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #41

Jan 252007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
-the contact stated that1998 Ford F-150 caught on fire and was destroyed. The vehicle was parked for 6 hours prior to the fire. The fire department stated in a written report that the fire started in the engine compartment on the driver's side. The contact received a NHTSA recall #05V388000 concerning the cruise control switch prior to the fire. The contact took vehicle to dealer regarding the recall in decemberb 2005, and they stated to come back in February 2006 when the part would be available. The contact never went back because he didn't have the time.

- Lagrange, GA, USA

problem #40

Oct 142006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles
Ford 150 had been sitting idle all day, last driven at 9 a.M. to go to grocery store. At approx. 5:15 P.M. on 10/14/06, a neighbor knocked on door and asked if that was my truck on fire. Person walking down street said he looked over and saw smoke coming out from under hood. By time I got outside to truck, flames were coming out of the hood. Fire department was called and fire extinguished. Entire engine, tires, windshield completely destroyed. Car towed to salvage yard. Fire dept. Informed me that Ford had issued a recall for some F150's and suggested I look to see if the model had been recalled. Ford website indicates that my VIN# is a recall. Ford closed at time of incident. Also, Ford closed on Sunday. Ford will be contacted Monday morning 10/16/06.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #39

Jun 152006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,900 miles
I owned and operated a 1998 Ford F150. There was a recall of the cruise control switch in September, 2005 as the faulty switch has been linked to fires in F150 trucks. In October of last year, I took my truck to a dealer so they could perform the modification to fix the problem, which they did complete. It appears Ford's fix is not working. My vehicle caught on fire 6/15/06 after I had driven it to work. It appears as though the fire has destroyed the vehicle. I request that one of your experts come out and inspect my truck. It is clear from the information I have gathered that it was an electrical fire. I think it is important for you to know if the Ford's recall and solution to this problem is actually working or not.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #38

Feb 022006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the vehicle caught fire and burned. The vehicle was parked for 2 hours prior to the fire. The fire department stated in a written report the fire started in the engine compartment in the driver's side. Extensive property damage was sustained to the contact's house and personal property inside the vehicle. The insurance company investigated and deemed the vehicle a total loss. Additionally, a private fire investigator was hired to investigate the incident and came to the same conclusion as the insurance company. The contact received a recall NHTSA #05V388000 concerning the cruise control switch prior to the fire. Several dealerships were contacted to perform the recall remedy. The dealer's asked the contact not bring the vehicle in for service until the end of February when recall parts would be available. The cruise control switch was not disconnected in the vehicle and was in working order. The engine was replaced by the dealership approximately 2 years ago for unrelated problems. Updated 3/9/2006 -

- Whitmore Lake, MI, USA

problem #37

Dec 222005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 48,000 miles
: the contact stated although the vehicle displayed no problems, a recall notice was received. There is a NHTSA recall, #05V388000 on the vehicle regarding the cruise control switch. The parts needed to repair their vehicle are not available at their local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts are not available.

- Osterville, MA, USA

problem #36

Mar 262002

F-150 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 75,000 miles
Around Feb 2002 my 1998 F-150 burned up while off in my driveway of my Florida home. I had just come in and turned off the vehicle 3 or 4 minutes before when I had come outside to of all things use the garden hose and looked over to see my the right side (when viewed from T he front) of the hood on fire. I tried to put the fire out as I called 911. I was able to keep it to just the front of the vehicle until the fire fighters arrived. The investigators were unable to determine the source of the fire and we moved on with our lives. Only recently did I learn of the recall that relates to the cruise control of this vehicle type. I realize that at this point I probably have little recourse against Ford except to help the government take necessary action against them. Apparently according to the wsbtv.com website (abc in atlanta) Ford knew about the problem in 1999 and did nothing about it. The truck was totaled and I received a fraction of the money I should have for the truck and my belongings that were damaged in the fire. Also I believe that my insurance went up due to no fault of my own. Thanks for your help.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #35

Jan 152006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles
1998 Ford F-150; fire under the hood. Truck was parked in my driveway with the ignition turned off. Fire started on the drivers side next to the firewall area. I received a recall notice on the cruise control sensor, but it said parts were not available to repair until after February 2006. Fire marshall of cypress creek volunteer fire dept was at the seen and wrote a report.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #34

Dec 022005

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 206,000 miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V3880000. Concerning cruise control. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. The contact has not spoken to the manufacturer, just T to he dealership.

- Hixson,, TN, USA

problem #33

Oct 012005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V017000 concerning the vehicle speed control: Cruise control. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. The contact spoke to the manufacturer, who confirmed the parts are not available.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #32

Sep 012005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign 05V388000 concerning the vehicle speed control deactivation switch. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at local dealership. The contact spoke to the manufacturer, who confirmed that the parts were not available.

- Slyvester, GA, USA

problem #31

Sep 012005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall 05V170000 concerning cruise control. The parts needed to repair the vehicle are not available at the local dealership. The contact spoke to the manufacturer, who confirmed the parts are not available at this time.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #30

Sep 272005

F-150 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
The consumer stated that the 1998 Ford F-150 caught on fire and burned. This happened on September 27, 2005. The vehicle was parked in the garage and had been turned off for around six hours. The cruise control had not been used the day of the fire. There were no malfunctions on the truck. Everything was in working order. The consumer was awakened by a neighbor who spotted that the garage was on fire. The fire department was called to put out the fire. The fire consumed the garage, the truck and another vehicle. The garage and the vehicle were completely destroyed. There were no injuries to report. There was a fire investigator on hand to examine the cause of the fire. The investigator stated that the fire started under the hood of the truck. This was before the consumer received NHTSA recall 05V170000 concerning the scds on September 30, 2005. The consumer contacted the insurance company, and the insurance company dealt with Ford, who told the insurance agent that someone would come and examined the remains. They would have to leave the scene undisturbed, and it may be a month or so before they would even come and check. Ford told the insurance agent to pay the consumer, and Ford would deal with the insurance company later. There was an insurance and a fire department report available to any investigator. Updated 12/07/05.

- Whitewood, VA, USA

problem #29

Sep 282005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 168,000 miles
1998 Ford F-150 VIN # [xxx], parked at 9:00 pm on September 27, 2005. At 4:30 am on September 28 neighbor noticed vehicle fully engulfed in flames. Fire dept unable to save the vehicle, it completely burned up. Also damage to the garage in front of where the vehicle was parked and to a 1990 Ford Taurus parked beside of the vehicle. Updated 07/18/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Whitewood, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?