Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,330 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Sep 292008

F-150 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. While driving at an unknown speed, the cruise control activated on its own. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the set spring of the vehicle speed control needed to be replaced. Immediately after the repair, the failure resurfaced. She took the vehicle back to the dealer and they stated that she would have to replace the part again at her expense. The vehicle has not been repaired again. The failure mileage was 40,000 and current mileage was 43,000. Updated 3/16/09 the consumer stated the cruise control activated at low speeds and highway speeds and the vehicle would accelerate. Updated 03/18/09.

- Scottville, MI, USA

problem #22

Nov 162008

F-150

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 65 mph with the cruise control activated, it failed to deactivate when pressure was applied to the brake and accelerator pedals. The speed immediately reduced to 30 mph. The contact pulled over to the side of the road and detached the fuse from the cruise control system. The instrument panel warning indicators were not illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired at that time. The failure recurred, but the vehicle has not been repaired again. The failure mileage was 83,000 and current mileage was 84,000.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #21

Sep 242008

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,700 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F150. While driving at low speeds, the cruise control light would illuminate on the instrument panel and then the vehicle would accelerate. While driving at high speeds, the cruise control light would also illuminate, but the vehicle would not accelerate. The contact had to depress the brake pedal or push the button to disengage the cruise control; however, the light would sometimes illuminate again. The current mileage was 41,869 and failure mileage was 41,700. Updated 12/02/08. The consumer stated the vehicle would immediately accelerate. Updated 12/03/08.

- Scottville, MI, USA

problem #20

Sep 092008

F-150

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The vehicle accelerates on its own while driving. In addition, the vehicle accelerates on its own when the accelerator pedal is not depressed and when stopped at a traffic light or stop sign. The failure has been occurring ever since the vehicle was purchased, but it was more of a safety hazard when the contact allowed someone else to drive the vehicle. The dealer stated that the throttle sensor needed to be replaced. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Slanesville, WV, USA

problem #19

May 142008

F-150 8-cyl

  • 0 miles
I have three Ford and hadn't been notice about any recall on my Ford F150 2004 and 2007.

- Maxwell, NM, USA

problem #18

Aug 112006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The 2004 F150 SC has a few problems: First was the water leaking from the third brake light in which I had to apply silicone around the rubber seal of the light...never leaked again. Second issue was far more frustrating, when traveling around 40 to 50 mph when deciding to accelerate quickly the truck would act as if it was being starved of fuel. The best way to describe it was by depressing the accelerator and releasing it very quickly. I took it to the wonderful Ford dealership, sarcastic, and they told me nothing was wrong, and shop manager told me it was because of cold air intake... finally, after calling Ford customer service and complaining the dealership decided it was my throttle body...naturally all my problems were gone. Now, less than a year later the problem arose again and I will post the outcome once known. The third incidence was the front bucket seats, started noticing shredded foam under the front part of the seats, not knowing what it could be I assumed it was excess foam around the seat straps located under each seat, to my surprise a hole appeared on the driver's seat on the front left corner facing the door and again I went to the wonderful dealership and I showed them there was a piece of metal with a sharp barb that was slowly shredding the foam and was the culprit in creating the hole and the shredded foam. Caution!!!!!! if your truck has this problem be careful!!! I was getting out of the truck and the metal barb caught my pants and tore a huge hole and gave me a pretty deep cut on the inner thigh. None the less the dealership didn't do anything about it. I finally convinced them to replace the seat with me paying for the replacement cost...but, before I could get the work done the wonderful dealership went out of business and I haven't hit-up the new owners.

- Jacksonville, AR, USA

problem #17

Oct 142006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while in the idle position for 30 or more seconds, the vehicle drifted into reverse when the consumer began to accelerate from idle position. There were no warnings prior to the incident. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer who determined that the vehicle was performing normally. However, the central computer needed to be reset. The manufacturer was notified. Updated 12/12/2006 -

- Normalville, PA, USA

problem #16

Jun 242006

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,500 miles
1) unknown events leading to failure, normal driving, events happened when I first turned on vehicle and during backing up.2) the engine raced out of control and lurched until ignition key was removed (it grabs the gas pedal from the driver like cruise control does) if someone or something is in vehicle's path it or they will be crashed into. Then the vehicle and 8 cylinder runs like its on 4 cyl and the air conditioner doesn't work. 3) taken to Ford dealer coastal Ford in mobile al, they rebooted computer but would not replace computer board, they said just bring it back for reboot if it happens again, diagnostic did not reveal reason for racing engine they were not concerned that if the events happened again an accident could not be prevented or the truck being destroyed which means it could not be taken back for reboot or how to prevent this event.I wanted them to replace the supposedly defective computer board (in my opinion that's the problem) old part still in vehicle.no damages yet but since I professionally bass fish, I could be run over, the truck might race into the water, or someone else and their equipment could be run over and if backing into the garage with a boat the house and boat could be damaged or if the boat trailer has to be dealt with the person behind the truck could be run over. 2004 F150 extended cab V8 engine truck is the vehicle. 6 events over the last 4 months (it just came out of some of its warranties, Ford dealer said the computer was warranted for 8 more years)

- Gautier, MS, USA

problem #15

Oct 032004

F-150 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The consumer 2004 Ford F150 experienced sudden acceleration which resulted in an accident. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who ran a diagnostic test. The test indicated 4 trouble codes (camshaft position sensor, PCM processor fault, throttle actuator control system which forced shutdown and an internal control module software incompatibility).

- Norwood, NC, USA

problem #14

Aug 272005

F-150

  • miles
2004 Ford F150 rear passenger side pulled off the road to the shoulder. The consumer managed to get the truck back on the road, however it immediately went off the road again and the consumer lost control of the vehicle and went across 4 lanes of the street, traveled up an embankment on the opposite side F the street and hit a tree. In addition, the next the consumer's insurance company informed him during the incident he hit another vehicle twice and caused that vehicle to cross all four lanes of the road.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #13

Oct 062005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Ford F150. The contact stated while sitting in front of house took the vehicle out of park and the engine was racing. The contact had foot on the brake and the vehicle went through a brick wall towards neighbor's house. He missed the house and ended up in a tree. Upon impact, the airbags did not deploy. The contact did not know how fast the vehicle was going, but the vehicle kept accelerating. The police came out and a report was taken. The contact's neighbors heard the vehicle and came outside because they thought someone was outside racing. The dealership said they had not heard of this problem. The truck is with the police at this time, the insurance company is going to acquire the vehicle. The vehicle has not yet been inspected to see why this happened. The contact stated his shoulder and neck were hurting.

- Voorhees, NJ, USA

problem #12

Aug 012005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,824 miles
The vehicle accelerated when pressing on the brakes. Contacted the dealer, they did some work to it and said it was a diaphragm, and they fixed it. This worked for a while and then it started doing the same thing again. This was August 1, 2005. Noticed it made a groaning sound and shook. They replaced the transfer case, and it hasn't made the sound since then. When standing at stop it surged, gave a little jump/pulsated and touched the brakes. It happened intermittently.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #11

Jan 012004

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
Ford F150 accelerates when the brakes are applied. The consumer experienced the problem one week after purchasing the vehicle. The vehicle has been to the dealer at least 3-4 times, however they were unable to duplicate the problem.

- Kalona, IA, USA

problem #10

Apr 142005

F-150 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,203 miles
I rented a Ford F-150 truck on April 14, 2005. While at a stop sign and my foot on the brake the engine suddenly revved out of control. The rpms went from idle speed to 3000 rpms. All while my foot was on the brake. The truck started to lurch forward until I pressed on the brake as hard as I could. I quickly put the truck back into park, then put it back into drive and the problem stopped.

- Wilton, NY, USA

problem #9

Mar 222005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,200 miles
Consumer's vehicle experienced three instances of spontaneous acceleration. One time it happened while consumer was backing the vehicle out of the garage. Consumer turned the key off. Vehicle had a 4th acceleration episode while the vehicle was parked. The consumer saw the acceleration on the tachometer.

- Marquand, MO, USA

problem #8

Oct 032004

F-150 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The consumer's 2004 Ford F150 experienced sudden acceleration which resulted in an accident. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who ran a diagnostic test. The test indicated 4 trouble codes (camshaft position sensor, PCM processor fault, throttle actuator control system which forced shutdown and an internal control module software incompatibility).

- Norwood, NC, USA

problem #7

Dec 142004

F-150

  • 7,000 miles
While reversing the rpms raced at a high rate. This caused the vehicle to hit a tree and go into a ditch. Consumer sustained minor injuries. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Plant City, FL, USA

problem #6

Sep 292004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 4,800 miles
After shifting to reverse, the vehicle accelerated at a high rate hitting a house. The consumer had the vehicle towed. The consumer stated that there four sets of skid marks on the pavement. Two skid marks from the rear wheels spinning and two from the front wheels as a result of them dragging from the applied brakes. The consumer request information be documented on the internet due to no computer. The consumer stated that his wife was forced backwards at a high rate of speed hitting a brick wall, jumping the wall and into the neighbors house. The consumer stated that the wheels where still spinning after the accident and dug a hole about 8 inches deep into the flower bed.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #5

Sep 282004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,400 miles
A light appeared on the dashboard and remained on. While applying the accelerator pedal vehicle would not move. Consumer pulled over before the vehicle stopped. Consumer turned off the vehicle for a few minutes then restarted it. Took vehicle for inspection, and mechanic determined that the throttle housing sensor needed to be replaced. The consumer stated that the vehicle runs then stops after traveling at any speed.

- Holbrook, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 142004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,357 miles
2004 Ford F150 XLT 4WD supercab(brakes constantly squealing)conditions were normal even braking.I never had to slam on the brakes. 've brought my vehicle back to Ford dealership three times over a period of 4 months.corrective actions are scuffing the brake pads and deglazing the rotors.it's fine for a month and the squealing is back as well as a deposit of brake dust on the wheel.I've also had two incidents concerning the electronic accelrator(Ford calls this drive by wire as it is digitally controlled acceleration)the trouble light displayed in dash panel twice over a period of 4 months.the last incident caused the vehicle engine to violently sputter and misfire causing loss of power.the vehicle was checked with diagnostic equipment and I was told that nothing appeared wrong with the accelerator module.the brakes I can live with but the electronic accelerator is paramount for the vehicle to function.no accelerator(digital) no go.loss of power, control and you might cause an accident causing injury to you and others.

- Nanuet, NY, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?