Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 2
Average Mileage:
24,940 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-150 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Nov 122011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact was driving 50 mph when he hit a deer and the air bags did not deploy. The contact was injured. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated after the crash, but the air bags never deployed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer to be repaired. The dealer advised that when the deer penetrated the front grill, it damaged the air bag sensor and prevented it from deploying. The failure and the current mileage was 66,000. Updated 01/04/12

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #30

Jun 272011

F-150

  • 85,989 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V107000 (air bags:frontal:driver side inflator module) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for recall repairs. After the repairs, the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic for diagnosis where the contact was advised that the driver side air bag would not deploy if the vehicle was involved in a crash. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer where the dealer advised that the restraint control module would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the air bag did not exhibit any failure before the recall repairs. The dealer refused any further service to the vehicle under the recall. The failure mileage was 85,989.

- Bargersville, IN, USA

problem #29

May 102011

F-150

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F150. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V107000 (air bags:frontal:driver side inflator module). The manufacturer stated the vehicle was included in the recall but the part was unavailable for repairs. The contact stated that the recall notice was received approximately three months ago and the vehicle was still not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 70,000.

- Clemmons, SC, USA

problem #28

May 202011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Subject: Recall - Ford truck 2004 F- 150, recall #: 11S18 dear administrator: On may, 20, 2011. I received a letter from Ford company about the recall mentioned above. For the record I tried to set up an appointment to have it fixed, I called two different dealers and both said they are waiting on Ford to send the part and that they have lots of people waiting for that part. My name and phone number was given to both dealers they mentioned that they will call me when the part is in. It's been over a month I have not heard anything yet, the reason I am writing is to have it on record that I tried to fix it. 1-dealer called: Don davis Ford, arlington, Texas 817-588-544. Talked to persons[xxx], on (5/24/11, then on 5/31/11, then on 6/7/11. 2- dealer called: Grand prairie Ford, grand prairie, Texas 972-352-8000. Talked to a lady that answered the phone. On 6/13/11. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Texas, TX, USA

problem #27

Jun 232011

F-150

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated that they received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V107000 (air bags:frontal:driver side inflator module) and contact the dealer to secure an appointment. The dealer advised that due to the tsunami in Japan, the recall repairs were halted and could not provide an estimate time in which the recall would persist. The vehicle was not repaired under recall. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was unknown.

- Etters, PA, USA

problem #26

Jun 022011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2004 Ford F-150 truck. 3 weeks ago, I received a recall notice #11S18 from Ford Motor Co, explaining that a defect with the wiring harness could cause the driver's side airbag to spontaneous inflate while driving. I called the dealer, sheehy Ford of warrenton, va. To schedule service to address the hazard, but they said Ford "had underestimated demand on the recall" and they didn't have "the neccessary parts" to fix my vehicle, and to call back "in a couple of days." That's been their response now for 3 weeks. The letter from Ford stresses the potential danger of my vehicle's defect, but the dealer is suggesting Ford sent out letters and alerted people to the problem without producing enough replacement parts to fix it. The situation is not being handled properly. 3 weeks after receiving a recall letter, my dealer has yet to act, and nothing has been done to address the problem.

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #25

Jun 132011

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford F150. While driving approximately 35 mph entering a ramp, the contact crashed into the proceeding vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact suffered an injury to the head and sustained minor body injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was completely destroyed and towed to an impound facility. The contact experienced the consequence of the recall before receiving the recall notification associated with NHTSA campaign id number was 11V107000 (air bags: Frontal: Driver side inflater module). The manufacturer was not made aware of the defect. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Robert, LA, USA

problem #24

Nov 272009

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owned a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, another vehicle crashed into his vehicle head on and the drivers side front air bag did not deploy. The contact suffered injuries to the face and a broken jaw. The manufacturer was notified and the contact was informed that the front air bag would not deploy, even in the event of a rollover crash. The contact's insurance company did not investigate the air bag failure. A police report was filed and the vehicle was destroyed. The failure and the current mileages were 70,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Benton , IL, USA

problem #23

May 102011

F-150

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated that after receiving notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V107000 (air bags:frontal:driver side inflator module), the contact called the dealer to secure an appointment for repairs. The dealer stated that the vehicle could not be repaired due to the parts not being available but did not state when the parts would become available. The contact believed that the time expectancy for having the recall repair could potentially be hazardous in the event of a crash and if the air bags did not deploy as designed. The failure mileage was 63,000.

- Thibodaux, LA, USA

problem #22

May 252011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Our 2004 Ford F150 4X4 truck was subject to recall 11S18. When we took the truck in for the recall work at the nearest Ford dealer service department informed us that they didn't have the parts to complete the recall work on our truck because the service rep said that Ford only sends them five of the harness recall parts per day and they have been dealing with over 30 calls per day for this recall work and they have no idea when they will get the part to complete the recall work on our truck but they will call when they get the part. This is unacceptable in a safety recall.

- Urbana, IL, USA

problem #21

Oct 012010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2004 Ford lgt convtnl F-150 truck and I have a constantly illuminated air bag warning lamp on my vehicle since October of 2010. I understand there is an expanded recall on over a million vehicles that experienced this problem however my vehicle is currently not included in the recall. What options do I have with the manufacturer so that they correct the deficiency if it is diagnosed with this defect? thanks

- Dunwoody, GA, USA

problem #20

Nov 202009

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
2004 Ford F-150 frontally impacted a tree; passenger's air bag deployed; driver's air bag did not deploy updated 09/16-10 the engine compartment caught on fire. (lawyer on behalf of injured client) updated IVOQ 10/13/10

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

Apr 262010

F-150

  • 10,750 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated that when the driver went to start the vehicle, the driver side air bag suddenly deployed and he injured his left hand. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was told that the dealer could not assist with the failure as the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The current mileage was 10,800. The failure mileage was 10,750.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #18

Feb 272010

F-150

  • 119,412 miles
Inadvertent airbag deployed on 2004 F150.

- Remerton, GA, USA

problem #17

Aug 092008

F-150

  • 38,975 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. When the contact placed the vehicle into drive, the driver's side air bag deployed. He spoke with the Ford dealer, but they have not yet inspected the vehicle. Ford has agreed to diagnose the vehicle at their expense. The current and failure mileages were 38,975.

- Knottsville, TN, USA

problem #16

Jan 282008

F-150 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I was rearended while sitting still at a traffic light at a rate of 55+ mph. The force of the impact caused my truck to strike the vehicle in front of me which caused a chain reaction of 5 cars in front of the one I hit. The vehicle crash caused severe injuries to me because my face hit the steering wheel.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #15

May 082007

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. While driving 40 mph in wet conditions, the contact lost control of the vehicle and it flipped over. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was wearing his seat belt. The contact was unsure of what caused him to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a body shop. The contact sustained minor injuries. The VIN and purchase date were unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 29,000.

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #14

Jan 192007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
- while driving 40-45 mph the 2004 Ford F-150 was involved in a frontal impact that tore the entire right side off. The driver's side air bag did not deploy. The passenger side air bag deactivated. No warning air bag indicator lights were present. The contact has copies of the police report.

- Irvine, KY, USA

problem #13

Feb 042006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Safety issue, in cab electrical failures. Feb 4th 2006, it rained 1.5 inches. My truck sat in the rain with all the windows up. In the evening I opened the door and drove away. As I had jumped in the truck, I had realized I did not have any dome lights. As I drove away (engine running fine), I realized I did not have any readouts on my instrument cluster and several other things not working. About 10 miles later, I hit a bump in the road and all my non-working items began working. The only side effect was my tripometer quit working. At this time, September 14, 2006 I continue to have this problem. Specifically when it rains or is humid. I currently have driven my truck approx 200 miles in the past 4 days without any of these items working. During these 6 months, I would approximate this issue as 1X per week problem, with the resolution being a hard hit on the dash while I am driving. However, I am at the point now where hitting the dash does not solve the problem. Here is a list of things not working when I have this failure. The air bag light blinks upon start up then stays illuminated. No dome lights no speedometer no tripometer no odometer no tach no fuel no engine temp no operating volts no oil pressue no audible alarm the key is in the ignition no audible alarm when the lights are left on no auto power locks no power windows (therefore stuck in position of last normal operation) no radio no ac no defrost (problem occurs when humidity is high = fogging windows.) I feel I have some safety issues that make this truck unsafe. I am at 50,000 miles warranty, how do I get the mfg to fix correctly, for free.

- Mount Joy, PA, USA

problem #12

May 162006

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,467 miles
Driver lost control of light duty truck, estimated speed at 50 to 60 miles per hour, telephone pole was sheared completely off from ground, truck continued several more feet and came to rest after hitting a tree. Neither the driver or passenger air bag was deployed on impact. Crash resulted in death of driver.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?