Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,367 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-150 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Feb 062006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated while driving in normal conditions at speeds of 50 mph or above the transmission would slip from drive into neutral. The vehicle was taken to the local dealership for inspection. However, the dealer could not duplicate the problem. Updated 2/28/2006 -

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #25

Oct 142004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The contact stated she had an ongoing failure of the brakes. The vehicle was serviced by the dealership nine times. The pads and rotors were replaced six times. A manufacturer's engineer inspected the vehicle. He made several suggestions to the dealership. The dealership implemented these suggestions although the aforementioned problems recurred. Also, the transmission started slipping while driving. It was inspected by the dealer, and they were unable to determine the cause of the problem.

- Sylva, NC, USA

problem #24

Oct 072005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
Rear window seal is loose and window rattles inside of mounting area indicating an insufficient mount to retain window in mounting area.

- Columbia, IL, USA

problem #23

Aug 012005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,824 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle accelerated when pressing on the brakes. Contacted the dealer, they did some work to it and said it was a diaphragm, and they fixed it. This worked for a while and then it started doing the same thing again. This was August 1, 2005. Noticed it made a groaning sound and shook. They replaced the transfer case, and it hasn't made the sound since then. When standing at stop it surged, gave a little jump/pulsated and touched the brakes. It happened intermittently.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #22

Aug 162005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,935 miles
On 8-15-05 transmission slipped while driving on the expressway at 60 mph. The owner had to pull over. The truck started to buck as if it was going in and out of gear. No warning light came on. The owner had to pull off since traffic was busy, and checked the transmission fluid, and there was no transmission fluid. Owner had the vehicle towed to a dealership, who advised the owner that the truck was missing one quart of fluid, but could not find any other problems. The dealership filled the transmission fluid. The owner checked the transmission fluid a few minutes ago and it was overfilled. The owner's manual indicated that the high fluid level could be and indication of having an overheating problem. The owner felt that it may be a deception on the part of the dealership. He felt that the transmission was warped due to being operated without adequate fluid. The dealership did find the number 8 cylinder was misfiring, which did not seem to relate to the transmission slipping. When the truck was first purchased, the owner noticed when going up a hill it stopped and rolled. The owner had to keep the foot on the brake to keep it from rolling back. The owner notified the dealership about this problem. The dealership advised that this was normal. The owner has not contacted Ford yet.

- Marshfield, MA, USA

problem #21

Aug 082005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,078 miles
Vehicle will not hold on hill. Will travel back down hill as if in neutral when transmission is in drive.

- Wethersfield, CT, USA

problem #20

Jun 012005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While accelerating from a stop or slowing and turning transmission slips gears. Very noticable between second to third shift. Gear slipage causing loss of acceleration power. Transmission also shifts hard as it slips.

- Keizer, OR, USA

problem #19

Sep 132004

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58 miles
Continuous vibrations in 2004 F150 after five times to dealer for repairs. Drive shaft has been replaced but still have vibrations. According to radar and gps the speedometer is incorrect up to 3 miles per hour clocking example. Operating at 55 mph speedometer showing 58 to 58 1/2 mph.

- Plant City, FL, USA

problem #18

Mar 032005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,549 miles
Had to put 4 sets of brakes on vehicle since purchasing the car. The rotors were getting grooved so badly that vehicle pulls off the road. The consumer talked to Ford, and they ignored him. He traveled and saw this problem with several other Ford cars. Ford told him it was cosmetic. While on the first trip with this vehicle, the rear end had gone out, the clutch pack was removed and replaced, the fog lamps were holding moisture and were replaced, the brakes would pulsate and pull from one side, the shifting was harsh when changing from first to second gear, a loud clunk would be present at times when starting from stop then decelerating and the vehicle would crank but would not start at times.

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #17

Nov 252004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,700 miles
Continuing problem with the truck, there is a vibration from the driveline. It has been in and out of service since 11/25/04 until present for the same issues. Ford orginally did not know the problem, and went down the tsb list replacing different parts such as transmission mounts and differential bearings until the last service on 1/27/05 finally fixed the problem by replacing the ring and pinion in the rear differential. However, on 4/15/05 I noticed a vibration and grinding noise from the rear end when turning from a stopped position. Vehicle wikk be back in service on 4/25/05.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 282004

F-150 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my new Ford F150,3 weeks old, up the highway 70 mph with cruise control on. Suddenly the air bag depolyed, buring my right ear lobb. I then pulled over to the side of the highway, with out any incedent, when I got out I noticed that the driveshaft fell out of the transmission. The transmission was shattered like an egg shell. The mechanics at the dealership pointed out that one C-clip was either never put in the front U-joint. They did not know why the ait bag should have gone off.they then tried to tell my my insurence should fix it. There is no body damage not even a piece of dirt missing. Then they said they would fix it. Wwhen I went up to sign work release the said they want to send the truck back to the factory. But theynever did this. I then told them I do not want it back they can just keep it. Under the lemon law. It was alrready in the shop for over 30 days. They had there legal dept. Call me and tell that it is not a lemon and I must keep this truck. I did not argue. But then out of the blue they agian saying I could come up there and pick out 1 of 2 2005 F150 that were more expensive and did not have options mine had. I would have to pay the cash difference up front to pick 1 up. I did not have that kind of cash so I stuck to my word that I dont want a nother Ford truck.after this time no one else would discuss the matter with me they just hang up. Now they sent a letter to say they selling my truck to pay for legal fees and repiars. Please help me to deciced what action I shouldi take. Ps I did not go to the hospital so layer do not want to help.

- Pevely , MO, USA

problem #15

Mar 012005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
I bought a 2004 Ford F150 in April 2004. Several times in the past 10 months, I have brought it to the dealer to have them fix two problems. The first problem is regarding my brakes. They continually squeak and sometimes feel sluggish. I had a jiffy lube representatives inspect my brakes and they said the rotors looked scarred. I brought this to the attention of the Ford dealer and they said my brakes were within Ford specifications, and they could not do anything for me. The second problem revolves around a transmission that skips in an out of gear. In several poinst, while pulling on to highways, the transmission skips and and delivers too much power to the rear wheels, causing the tires to slip on wet pavement. Luckily, neither of these incidents has caused any accidents. However, I am concerned as they happen frequently and the dealer states that the conditions are normal. I have researched these problems and found that many 2004 F150 super crew owners experience similar problems.

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #14

Feb 172005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
When transmission shifts it has a clunking sound and truck vibrates. I have taken it to the dealer (allan vigil) fayetteville ga. 3 times. The final outcome is that Ford engineers say this normal. I disagree. Worst truck I have ever owned. Ford needs to fix this issue.

- Locust Grove , GA, USA

problem #13

Jun 022004

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150 miles
The truck has had multiple vibration at varying speeds but mostly at highway speeds since it was bought. The F150 has been in many times with many parts replaced, vibrations seem to be worse now than before. I tried factory buyback with Ford board but they seem to think it is fixed, I have ask them to drive the truck again like the dealership did to verify the vibrations. They seem uninterested in my problem and they have not fixed a damn thing since the board decision that it is fixed but it is worse and I told them it was worse personnally, the truck is a pile of poop and Ford knows it but because many of these trucks have the problems they are not willing to fix the problem.

- Lone Rock, WI, USA

problem #12

Nov 252004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Transmission tends to pop and switch gears on its own. Reverse occasionally serves like the neutral gear, preventing vehicle from backing up. Vehicle taken to dealer for testing, but results show that everything is normal. This tends to be a problem only when consumer is operating vehicle on own time.

- Stephenson, MI, USA

problem #11

Nov 122004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
I bought a 2004 F150 stx 4X4 in late February of 2004. The truck has a 4.6 liter V-8, automatic transmission and a 3.73 limited slip rearend. Since I have had the truck the rearend has developed a loud whining sound and slung the rearend lube out and under the bed. It was replaced and have had not further trouble in that area. The truck then developed a stall like it was low and gas and blew black smoke on cold starts and take-offs. That problem still hasnt been solved after 3 attempts w/ my dealership to get it fixed. The windsheild also developed a large crack in it, it was replaced. The dealership said that it was stress related. Currently the truck is at my dealership unmoveable because the transmission just recently went out. The dealership refused to fix my truck because they "claim" it has water in it. The truck has never been exposed to water other than what rain gathered on the road. My dad went to inspect the situation and they only showed him water in a cup he didnt see and drained from the transmission.

- Munfordville, KY, USA

problem #10

Sep 212004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have two main problems with my Ford F150, my vehicle has a vibration which is at itS worse between 40 to 60, which is getting worse, constant at around 50mph, and to a lesser extent throughout the 0 to 40 mph and a strong vibration is sometimes felt on deceleration, just before stopping, I also hear a loud booming which coincides with the vibration speeds and I think that this vibration is setting up a resonance or reverberation in the vehicle and with the windows in open positions, on the second day I noticed scratches and indentations on roof, approx 5 of them running on a diagonal, called and left message with salesman, no response, Thursday 9/23/04 had sales manager and body shop manager look at dents, truck was taken back and buffed out, scratches and dents still visible. Appointment was made for a specialist to try to massage dents out, but in case results werenT satisfactory, then body filler could be applied and painted, told them repeatedly I donT want body filler on my new truck.I also made a complaint about a vibration between 40 to 60 mph, and that I believed that this was setting up a resonance or reverberation and causing booming sound in truck, service manager took ride in vehicle and said it was wind buffeting, said he would check with Ford engineers and send me a transcript of findings, never did. Sat 9/25 I called Ford complaint number that is listed in the manual, explained that the truck was delivered damaged and requested a replacement truck, also explained that I felt pressured to accept body filler and vibrations in my new truck, was told that a transcript of the conversation would be sent to the complaint manager, he would receive the transcript on Monday, 10am Thursday 9/30/04, I expected a call regarding this transcript, after receiving none, I called the complaint manager and I was asked if it was alright for them to call me back, I said that would be fine, 5:30pm sat 10/02/04, have not recieved a call back, despite request made.

- Sterling, CT, USA

problem #9

Jan 052004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
I purchased a Ford F150 new in January of 2004. On many occasions, when attempting to merge into traffic, pass another vehicle, etc., the transmission feels like it slips into neutral. The engine speed increases but the vehicle does not accelerate. This has resulted in a few near-misses when I merged into freeway traffic and have nearly been hit by oncoming traffic. The service rep at my dealership says that he can't duplicate the problem. This is very annoying and very dangerous.

- Saint Albans, WV, USA

problem #8

Aug 092004

F-150 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When shifting gears the automatic transmission shifts very hard I understand this is due to the overdrive not operating correctly. I have had other people tell me theirs trucks (Ford F150) do the same thing. Is their a recall on this problem?

- Golden Valley, AZ, USA

problem #7

Apr 152004

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The emission light came on. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, and consumer was told that fuel pump was defective. The gauge went out of control. After filling the tank, the gauge read empty. The brake light wiring was inoperative, alignment was out, the vehicle had stuck in park, the right passenger door was inoperative, the speedometer read wrong, and the vehicle would die out.

- Buena Vista, GA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?