Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,274 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-150 windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #597

Jun 232011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In June 2011, right passenger window dropped into the door. Had to replace window regulator assembly. The same happened in the left passenger window in October 2011, and that window regulator had to be replaced. Told by the dealer that this is common.

- Salem, SC, USA

problem #596

Nov 242011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
There was a "pop" sound, followed by the window crashing down into the door. Upon inspection the point of failure is a small pulley attached to the window lift motor. It is weakly designed with high tension focused at 3 stress points instead of distributed about the whole pulley. I believe this is a common problem, and can startle a driver causing an accident, furthermore, at highway speeds the window could have fallen into or out of the truck causing injury.

- White Hall, MD, USA

problem #595

Nov 102011

F-150

  • 74,600 miles
This is the second report I have filed with NHTSA for the same complaint but additional occurrence. While driving on the highway at 1000 at night and traveling 55 mph, there was a loud bang that sounded like the truck had been shot, followed immediately by the passenger front window dropping into the door. The sound was so startling that it almost caused a loss of control of the vehicle. Ford knows that they have a defect with their window regulators; however, they refuse to recall even though it is a definite safety concern. This is the third window I have had fail in the exact manner on my 2004 F-150. A casual search on the internet confirms that Ford has had thousands of complaints for this exact default and is refusing to make a repair or recall to address a known safety issue. NHTSA needs to take action on this and force Ford to do what a responsible automaker should undertake on their own in order to protect the motoring public.

- West Grove, PA, USA

problem #594

Oct 192011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power window on the front passenger side just abruptly stopped working and the window fell down into the door. This appears to be a problem with this vehicle that has not been addressed by Ford.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #593

Oct 052011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,354 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the glass for the front driver and rear windows fell into the door frame abnormally. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who performed a diagnostic that located the failure as the window regulators needing replacement. The regulators were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,354 and the current mileage was 33,800. Updated 11/03/11 the consumer stated three of the five power windows failed on the vehicle. The window regulators had to be replaced. Updated 03/08/12

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #592

Oct 102011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
I have had 2 of my window regulators go out and I have been doing some research and found out that this is a common problem. Something needs to be done about this it causes a safety risk since I have kids and when these windows shatter the glass gets everywhere. I have noticed that the same slider on both regulators broke in the same place. Please do something about this before someone's kid or my kids get hurt. Thank you

- Jasper , GA, USA

problem #591

Aug 062009

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 82,527 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First incident: August, 2009 I was driving down the highway going approximately 65 miles an hour when the back passenger side window started decending without anyone pushing the button. I was then unable to use the window again. My infant son was in the back seat next to the window and it was raining. I took the vehicle to the Ford dealership and had the window regulator replaced. Second incident: January, 2010 once again I was driving and the front passenger side window went down without prompting and never worked again. I am an attorney and was on my way to the courthouse and was forced to leave my car unattended for a short amount of time and obtain continuances on all of my cases that day in order to have my window repaired. I was informed that it was the window regulator and the part needed replaced. Third incident: August, 2011 same scenerio, my husband was driving the vehicle on the highway at approx. 55 mph when his window decended without prompting and we were unable to make the window work again. I had to have the window regulator replaced. Besides the cost of repairs ($350 each window), I believe that this is a safety hazard. I had an infant by the window in the first incident and driving at speed the window could have shattered. Also, all incidents occured while I was driving and proved quite distracting. It could have caused an accident. Last, because I was unable to make the window(s) go back up I had to leave my vehicle unsecured.

- Greenwood, MO, USA

problem #590

May 022011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
All 4 windows regulators broke within a span of 4 months. Window regulators have a steel cable which adheres to a plastic pulley--who designed this poor compatibility? common sense will tell you that this is not conducive to wear and tear for electric windows. Vehicle is in excellent shape accept for this problem which as a consumer is unacceptable due to inferior products used. Aluminum or another type of metal should have been used for the pulley--definitely not plastic. Reported to Ford--can't and won't do anything about this but tell me to take to Ford dealer for repairs and pay an outrageous amount for the labor and regulator. I spoke with a local Ford service manager and he revealed to me that Ford knows this is a problem with several of their vehicles and also the Lincoln but because of the cost incurred by issuing a recall that they chose to "wash it under the rug". this is an unacceptable excuse as far as I am concerned. 4 window regulators in a 4 month span to break--something needs to be addressed and brought to Ford's management and design departments.

- Wildwood, FL, USA

problem #589

Nov 242010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
In less than one year I have had to replace three windows in my 2004 F-150. The windows would just fall inside the door and the mechanism no longer worked. As I researched online, I noticed there were numerous complaints for this make, model and year. I feel this should have been a recall. I hope Ford Motor Company looks into this and we will all be reimbursed for our expenses. Thank you.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #588

Oct 092009

F-150 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Window regulator failure: I have now replaced 3 out of 4 window regulators. My out of pocket cost is slightly over $900. The failures have been sudden with no warning.one occurred in traffic at 55mph. I live in Colorado and weather could pose a health and safety issue. More important is consumer protection. Three failures in just a couple of years is indicative of manufacturer using substandard parts or components. Ford should correct this potentially dangerous situation and compensate those who have had to bear the cost of repair for substandard workmanship and materials. The date of the first and second incidents were close to the listed date the most recent was September 1 of this year. Repair work was done by a local shop records are available to refine the dates and exact mileage.

- Broomfield , CO, USA

problem #587

Sep 042011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure of second window regulator in two years. Driving down the road this time and nearly swerved off the roadway after I thought that the passenger side rear window had been shot out. Turns out it was the regulator failing. Ford needs to recall this part as a safety hazard before somebody is hurt in a crash caused by the failure of the regulators. Ford knows they have a problem but apparently will not recall or offer a fix.

- West Grove, PA, USA

problem #586

Apr 112011

F-150

  • 86,700 miles
I'm a 16 year veteran in law enforcement. Sometime in April 2011, I was driving down the road and my rear driver side window fell down inside the door. The window falling made a loud noise. I could hear the wind and I looked back and didn't see a window in the door. My first thought was someone shot the glass out. My attention to driving was lost for several seconds. I believe this to be a safety issue. I pulled over at the first parking lot I saw and realized the glass was not broken but had fallen inside the door. Today 9/2/2011, I was repairing the rear window regulator and the front driver side window fell. I thought how ironic is this. I drove to the Ford dealership and purchased the part and returned home. I have fixed both window regulators, but I feel this could cause a traffic crash. I searched the web for this repair and found several forums with people having this same issue. I would like to see Ford address this issue.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #585

Aug 092011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
2004 Ford F150 lariat window regulators failing. I have had two window regulators fail while driving my truck which causes the window to drop unexpectedly into the door cavity which causes alarm to the driver possibly contributing to loss of control of the vehicle. Ford is aware of this condition and refuses to correct the issue. It is a serious safety risk. The windows were not being operated at the time of failure. They just dropped leaving the window open at 75 mph on the highway.

- Safford, AZ, USA

problem #584

Sep 012009

F-150 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the drivers side power window dropped down into the door panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was repaired. The same failure occurred approximately two years later on the front passenger side window. The manufacturer was notified and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer for repairs. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage 71,000. Updated 08/31/11 updated 09/12/11

- Winnemucca, NV, USA

problem #583

Jul 302011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I have had my 2004 F150 XLT supercrew for a year now and the power window regulator in all 4 windows have broken during that short period of time. The most recent failure happened on the front passenger window last night. Searching the internet shows that this is a well known issue with these vehicles, but Ford will not issue a recall.

- Raymond, MS, USA

problem #582

Jul 222011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 61,323 miles
Window failure. The left rear window just dropped out of the track due to a window regulator failure.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #581

Jan 012006

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
2004 Ford F-150... all 4 of my window regulators have failed ! also my 5th rear window is going out too...I'm tired of paying out so much money for them to just fail again ! 2 of my windows won't even go up anymore and the inside of my truck is getting dirty dirty dirty! I hope nothing flies into my truck when im driving or someone is going to be hurt! the windows just stop working no reason at all! please help this is out of control and Ford needs to step up before someone gets hurt not after!!!

- Porterville, CA, USA

problem #580

Apr 112011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while trying to close the power window, he heard a popping noise and the window fell into the door panel. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred on three of the four windows. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the cables and the actuator assembly needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was out of warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 85,000 and the current mileage was 92,000. Updated 9/13/11 the vehicle has since been repaired. Updated 09/30/11

- Valley Center , KS, USA

problem #579

Jul 042011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 136,500 miles
Window regulator on 2004 F 150 lariat drivers door broke allowing the window to drop scaring me so bad that I went off the road just missing crashing into several trees. It sounded like someone had shot out my window, while I was driving in a thunder storm. The roads were wet, but there was know warning when the windowbroke, then I was getting hit in the face with rain it felt like glass hitting me in the face. This should be a recall by Ford, I have research this problem and have found it to be massive in numbers with a big expense to Ford customers. This many cases seems more than just a fluke incident. This should be looked into, I'm so lucky to be here now I just missed those trees and my wife is now scared that it may happen to one of my other remaining windows and does not want to ride with me anymore..

- Maine, ME, USA

problem #578

Jun 262011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The window started making noise while rolling up and down and seemed like it was coming off the track.. while driving down the road the window fell completely in the door. We replaced the window regulator and seems to work fine, until 3 months later another window did the same thing. I cannot afford to keep replacing the same part on my truck when there are obviously defects in the parts. I see many other Ford owners with the same problem and think that something needs to be done! god forbid the window shatter while my children are in the truck.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?