Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,994 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford F-150 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

May 152011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Updated * the contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V107000 (air bag: Frontal: Driver side inflator module), but the manufacturer had not made the part available for two months. An authorized dealer was notified, and the contact was informed that the manufacturer was only sending five modules at time to each dealer to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was then notified, but the contact was not given a reason as to why only five of the parts were being made available at a time. The current mileage was 65,000. Updated 09/21/11 the consumer stated the problem was finally corrected. Updated 10/03/11

- Nowata, OK, USA

problem #23

May 012011

F-150

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V107000 (air bags:frontal:driver side inflator module) and contacted the manufacturer. The manufacturer advised that the parts needed for repairs were not readily available and that the contact would need to consistently call the dealer to determine when the parts had become available. The contact had been attempting to have the vehicle repaired since May 2011 to no avail. The failure mileage was approximately 97,000.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #22

Mar 142011

F-150

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. While driving approximately 45 mph with the four wheel drive activated during icy road conditions and forced the contact to crash into a ditch and a tree. The contact was able to exit the vehicle without injuries. There was no mention of a police report. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000.

- Pacific , MO, USA

problem #21

Jun 152009

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact was driving 1 mph in reverse when the front driver side air bag independently deployed. The contact sustained injuries to the left arm as a result. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the failure but received no assistance. The manufacturer was then contacted and advised the contact to take the vehicle back to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The diagnostic test was performed and the results were sent to the manufacturer where the concluded that they would not provide any further assistance with repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the approximate current mileage was 197,000.

- Summerton, SC, USA

problem #20

Feb 282008

F-150 8-cyl

  • 40,662 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. The contact stated that the driver side air bag deployed without any warning and the vehicle was not impacted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer yet they were unable to diagnose why the failure occurred. The manufacturer was contacted who did not offer any assistance and advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V107000 (air bags:frontal:driver side inflator module). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 40,662. Updated 4/11/2011 the consumer stated her left arm was bruised and there was swelling from the impact. The truck was repaired at the consumers expense. Updated 08/22/11

- Kirbyville, TX, USA

problem #19

Dec 152007

F-150 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. The contact stated that as he started the vehicle and shifted into reverse, the front driver air bag abruptly deployed without warning. There was no personal injury. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but not repaired. The contact stated prior to the failure the vehicle was taken to the dealer three different times for an intermittent illumination of the air bag warning indicator however, the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000. Updated 03/31/11 updated 04/22/11

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #18

Apr 132010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 73,564 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While leaving to go to work I got in my truck (2005 F-150) and started it. Waited a few seconds to warm up the motor, and went to put in reverse (never put into gear) airbag deployed. My right hand including thumb and 1st finger was injured with lacerations. I took pictures and went to Ford dealer while still bleeding and shocked and stunned of what had happened. Dealer wanted me to pay out of pocket 1,300 plus some dollars or to claim on insurance. Insurance wouldn't pay for it because there no collisions.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #17

Jul 212010

F-150

  • 80,250 miles
Stopped for fuel after fueling started the vehicle, put the truck in gear rolled about 10 feet when I braked before entering into traffic the driver side airbag deployed while I was completely stopped. The deployment caused minor cuts and bruising to both wrist and my chest.

- Alvarado, TX, USA

problem #16

Apr 202010

F-150

  • 122,533 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while the vehicle was parked, the driver side air bag suddenly deployed. The contact sustained a mild head injury and a sprained wrist. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership for inspection and diagnosis but the dealer could not explain why the failure occurred. The air bag was being repaired at the time of the complaint. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 122,533. The current mileage was 122,535.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #15

Apr 082010

F-150

  • 90,000 miles
I went out to my truck this morning, started it, and the passenger side air bag went off, broke the front windshield.

- Columbia Station, OH, USA

problem #14

Feb 262010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 212,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The drivers air bag deployed while driving at a slow speed in a bank parking lot. There were no other vehicles around and the truck was not hit. I have driven this vehicle for thirty five thousand miles. The dealer thus far has not found a cause for the air bag deployment. They have contacted Ford and the response back to them is it is my responsibility and I should contact my insurance company.

- Roanoke , VA, USA

problem #13

Feb 282010

F-150

  • 99,800 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F150. The contact started the ignition. The driver side air bag deployed inadvertently and unexpectedly. The driver sustained no personal injury. The authorized dealer has been notified of the malfunction. The contact has concerns about the safety risk involved. The failure mileage was 99,800. Pco contacted owner: Veh was in park. Dealer found no ext damage. Fixed under "goodwill" warranty. 20100413.pco

- St. James, NY, USA

problem #12

Nov 162009

F-150

  • 80,000 miles
Entered the truck to start the vehicle. I put the key in the ignition and the airbag deployed with no warning. Took it to Ford dealership and had the truck inspected both visual and on the computer. The computer was negative for any signs that would cause the deployment of the airbag. The Ford dealership suggested that I change the airbag module and the wiring harness as this could be the reason for the premature deployment.

- Dallas , TX, USA

problem #11

Oct 052009

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
On Oct 5, 2009 I left for lunch at 1:00 pm to go to lunch started my vehicle and the drivers side airbag deployed for no reason. The airbag hit my leg and burned my leg. I took my car to the dealership randall noe in terrell Texas on Oct 24, 2009 and they told me they would run some tests and let me know whether they would repair it or not and it has been three weeks and they still have not made up their minds whether they are going to fix it or not. I have been without a vehicle for almost 3 weeks now and they can't make up their mind whether they want to fix it or not. I am tired of being jerked around and not being told what will be done. They took the steering wheel apart because they said they could tell what made it deploy but after doing that now they say they still don't know why it deployed. They told me I could come pick it up and drive around with no airbag until they make a decision.

- Wylie, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 302009

F-150

  • 62,739 miles
My son, 49 years old, was backing out of his driveway, on level ground, and the airbag blew up in his face. His head was turned sideways looking in the side mirror hurting his neck. Took the pickup to the Ford dealer ship in gainesville, tx. They replaced the airbag and other parts and said a wire shorted out in the steering column a defective wire. This could have killed my son if he had bean driving down the highway at 70 miles per hour.this was a Ford 150 2005 pickup.

- Gainesville, TX, USA

problem #9

Jul 012009

F-150

  • 51,100 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. When the contact started the ignition, the air bag suddenly deployed from the steering wheel. The driver sustained minor burns and cuts to the left arm and right side of the face. There were no warnings prior to the failure. The authorized dealer was notified of the malfunction. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 51,100.

- Arlington, TN, USA

problem #8

Jun 022009

F-150

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. While the vehicle was parked and with the contact seated in the driver's seat, the driver's side air bag deployed without impact. The contact suffered minor burns on the wrist. A police report was filed and the vehicle is currently at the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 66,000.

- Crowley, TX, USA

problem #7

Dec 132008

F-150

  • 60,000 miles
I own a 2005 Ford F150 and 2 years after owning it the front airbag light comes on blinks and stays on after a while. I am scared to death to ride in my pickup or allow my teenager to ride up front because of the airbag.

- Littlefield, TX, USA

problem #6

Jun 082008

F-150 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. On June 8, 2008, the contact started the engine, placed the vehicle into reverse, and the front driver's side air bag deployed. She sustained injuries to her chest, right eye, arms, and right ankle. The vehicle is currently at the body shop. Her insurance company stated that Ford will send an investigator to the body shop. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 55,000. Updated 07/09/08 updated

- Roxie, MS, USA

problem #5

Mar 062007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact crashed into a tree. Neither of the front air bags deployed. The insurance company stated that the vehicle was destroyed. The contact sustained minor injuries to his left shoulder. The vehicle has not been inspected. The current and failure mileages were 110,000. Updated 03/05/08. Updated 03/05/08

- Merced, CA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?