Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,677 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford F-150 windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #180

Jul 132010

F-150 8-cyl

  • 11,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The window regulator linkage continually break. First incident was the driver's side door, and on 7/14/14, the right rear door. By the number of complaints on the web, it is obvious these regulators have a manufacture defect that causes premature failure. The only window fall into the door when the device is operated.

- West Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #179

Mar 072014

F-150

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the windows dropped inside of the door panel while being opened. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the regulators needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Sallon, NV, USA

problem #178

Sep 142013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
When I pulled out of parking lot at approx. 5 mph I heard a very loud noise in the rear of the truck. Sounded like something hit my vehicles back door. When I looked back all looked normal. A few minutes later I heard air blowing. Like a window was down. Rear window had started to slowly slide down. Mechanic informed me the window regulator had failed. $203 just for the part !!!! and he said more will break too. Nice job Ford.

- Vincennes, IN, USA

problem #177

Jul 282013

F-150

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving down the road a 35 mph my driver side window made a loud pop sound and the window fell down into the door. I had to buy a whole new window regulator assembly. I have seen this to be a problem on this site and many other online forums. There must be a defect with the regulators. Mine was so bad that the cable actually frayed and snapped. This is a safety hazard that should be addressed.

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #176

Jul 192013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
Rear passenger window regulator stopped working and window fell into door. Had my wife done this while driving she would have been scared by the loud popping noise and potentially crashed into object injuring herself and or others. This is a common problem and Ford needs to recall the trucks with the plastic parts and faulty mechanism. Search the web and there are hundreds of vehicles with the same issue. Years 2004-2006. Ford needs to recall!

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #175

Jul 062013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 32,500 miles
We had just left our house and the driver side window fell down into the door and would not come back up. I looked on the internet and youtube to find out this has happened to 100's of the F150's. this is very dangerous because evidently it can happen to any of the windows on the truck. One of my grandchildren could have been riding with us and possible fall out a window. I understand there is no recall for this. I emailed Ford about this but it stated the might not even acknowledge it.

- Battleboro, NC, USA

problem #174

May 112013

F-150

  • 86,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear passenger window regulator stopped working and window fell into door. Had my daughter done this while driving she would have been scared by the loud popping noise and potentially crashed into object injuring herself and or others. This is a common problem and Ford needs to recall the trucks with the plastic parts and falty mechanism. Search the web and there are hundreds of vehicles with the same issue. Years 2004-2006. Ford needs to recall!!

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #173

Mar 022013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 68,845 miles
On August 3, 2012 the passenger window dropped and the regulator assembly had to be replaced. Yesterday, March 2, 2013 the driver side window would not go up. The regulator with motor had to be replaced. I think Ford needs to recall their vehicles, and replace their defective parts.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #172

Sep 012012

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated while traveling 30 mph, the rear driver side window collapsed into the door panel. The contact merged to the side of the road and the vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was confirmed that the window regulator failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure later recurred with another window. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure and current mileages were 66,000...updated 09-28-12 the consumer stated two of the windows failed within two days of each other. The first failure happened at 30 mph and the second incident happened at 65 mph, while his wife was driving on the freeway. The consumer's wife almost lost control of the vehicle, because she thought it was a gun shot. The window dropped inside the door, leaving the inability to roll up the window. Updated 10/01/12

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #171

Mar 012012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 15,099 miles
I have read many complaints just like mine, Ford told some people they had way too many complaints to do anything about a recall on this. Last year the drivers window popped and the window dropped inside the door I went to Ford bought the cable and regulator and had a window company replace it. 2 weeks ago same thing on the passengers front window, next day the passengers back window dropped while I was in my house, the drivers back window is the only one left. This truck is a 2005 the parts are not that old.

- Arizona City, AZ, USA

problem #170

Jun 102012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 91,447 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was leaving an atm (it was raining), I rolled up the drivers window. When the window reached the top the window fell (free fall was more like it) in to the door. Once I removed the door panel and inspected the window parts I found the regulator failed/broke. We are thankful the window did not break and injure us.

- Moss Point, MS, USA

problem #169

May 112012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Driving my son home from school, heard a loud pop in the driver's side door, which made me jerk the wheel (glad I wasn't going very fast), then the driver's side window fell into the frame. Dealership claims broken window regulator. Went online and found hundreds of complaints of the same. Called Ford complaint number; they very kindly told me there was nothing they could do at this time. Too many complaints of the same issue to not be on recall list.

- Indian Trail, NC, USA

problem #168

May 062012

F-150

  • 60,000 miles
Driving to church on May 6th, 2012 @ 0900 a.M. on the interstate traveling @ 70 mph. I lowered the window about an inch. When I pressed the button to raise the window a loud pop occurred and the window dropped into the door-well. It scared everyone in the truck. It was a sunny day. Potential for loss of life is present with this issue. Inclement weather or blinding debris within the cab could raise the potential for loss of life. Please petition Ford Motor Company for a recall on this potentially life threatening issue.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #167

Apr 222012

F-150

  • 55,000 miles
For the third time, I have had a door window drop from a fully closed position to a fully open position. In doing reseach on the issue, I find that this is a common problem with 2004 - 2005 model year F150 crew cabs.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #166

Aug 092011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
The first regulator that broke was on the drivers side. My wife and I came home in her car, my truck was parked in the driveway and we noticed the window on the drivers side was down and on inspection the glass was down inside the door. The next time was this Sunday, March 1, 2012, when we got home from church the same thing happened except it was the passenger side.

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #165

Feb 292012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
Driver side window just fell in the door while driving.

- Elkon, MD, USA

problem #164

Feb 202012

F-150

  • 80,690 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the front driver side window malfunctioned and the window could not be opened. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic where the mechanic replaced the window regulator motor. The repair did not remedy the issue so the contact took the vehicle back to the mechanic for a diagnostic test. The test results displayed that the dm module was defective. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 80,690.

- Freeman, VA, USA

problem #163

Oct 082011

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
Window regulator failure.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #162

Oct 032011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 40,110 miles
I just bought this vechile with in the past 2 weeks and the window on the driver side, made a loud grinding sound.....then a loud bang as the window fell down in the door! I'm very lucky that I did not total my vechile as I was pulling into main traffic on a busy road that I live on! this was my dads old vechile and he had the same problem with the passenger side.....not to long ago! also have been doing some digging on this issue and I see that quite a few other people have been going throught the same problem as well! just making first few payments and boom!!!! there go's a bunch of money on a safety part that really needs fixed! Ford.........wake up and fix this issue already!!!

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #161

Oct 082009

F-150 8-cyl

  • 21,030 miles
While driving our truck the driver side window slowly lowered itself and would not raise up. This was approximately 2 years ago. Yesterday, September 25, 2011 about 2pm, the passenger side window went down on its own and would not raise up. I turned off the hwy I was on and luckily avoided a wreck. Today Sept. 29, 2011, I called Ford Motor Company, told them about the window and the previous window being fixed, gave them my VIN#, name, telephone# and was told there are no recall's and they are not aware of any problems and cannot help us financially with this problem. I told them, I was filling a complaint with them and notifying you.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?