Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,685 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford F-150 body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Feb 022016


  • 0 miles


The inside passenger side door handle is stuck in the open position. Passengers are forced to push the handle back into the closed position when riding. This problem is in fact listed as a recall item for the same make, model, and year of my vehicle. I contacted Ford and was informed that my vehicle VIN number/ factory was not included. According to the recall(NHTSA campaign #:11V049000), this defect could cause the door to fly open in an accident. Although Ford does not acknowledge this problem exist with my vehicle in particular or perhaps the plant where it was manufactured; this does not change the reality that it happened. I was instructed to take it to a Ford dealership and have the repairs done at my own cost. My vehicle was stationary when a passenger opened the door; only to find that the handle would not go back to closed position.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #37

Aug 222016


  • 87,500 miles
The interior driver's door handle will not go back into position after opening thus causing the door to fling open if driver does not push the handle back into position. The vehicle was stationary yesterday when I noticed the handle did not go back. Then yesterday leaving the parking lot, making a right turn my door flung open because I didn't ensure the handle was stowed. There is a recall for this item under Ford #11S15 but the VIN does not pull up this recall. Please contact me if you need pics because the truck is at the dealership right now where they told me it does not fall under this recall when clearly it is the exact same safety issue.

- Hubert, NC, USA

problem #36

Oct 262015


  • 43,000 miles
While driving on the expressway going to work, on a cold October morning. The rear defrost was on and the right side rear window exploded with an incredible popping sound

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #35

Mar 202016


  • miles


Personnel / non commercial pick up purchased new by myself-less than 26K miles I live inland not by the ocean or salt air the paint is blistering with rust bubbles.

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #34

Dec 242015


  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that water leaked inside the vehicle during inclement weather. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the leak originated from the third brake light. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 92,000.

- York, PA, USA

problem #33

Nov 022015


  • 31,000 miles
I purchased a 2010 Ford F150 XLT on 31may2010. On 15 April 2015, I noticed that condensation was accumulating on the inside of my windshield. Since the windshield had previously been replace, I assumed that it had a leak, and had a new windshield installed under the warranty. Again on the morning of 4 May 2015, water was accumulated on the inside of my windshield, again the windshield was replaced. On 2 Nov 2015, the inside of my windshield was dripping with condensation. I got on the internet to see if anything other than a bad windshield was causing the problem. I located technical service bulletins indicating problems with the satellite antenna leaking and the third break light leaking into the cab of the truck. I then took my truck to the local Ford dealer, johnson brothers Ford who confirmed that I did indeed have a leak at both the antenna and break light, the truck while only having 31000 miles, was 5 1/2 years old, and out of the original warranty period, the extended warranty did not cover the problems either.I was quoted a cost of $740. To replace the light and antenna. I replaced the light my self, and they charged $440 to replace the antenna, I incurred another cost of $304. To have the carpets removed dried out, floor treated for any mildew, or mold, and reinstalled. I complained to Ford, this is a design issue that has gone on since 1998. Ford should be forced to do a recall. I also had a gallon of water on my floor after the carpets were removed. Someone at the factory placed tape over the drain holes of the floor board when the truck was made. While we did have a lot of rain in Texas this year, which may account for the amount of water in the vehicle, it still stands to reason no vehicle should be leaking thru antennas, or break lights. Even the tsb's do not work as my antenna had silicone on the antenna from the factory.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #32

Jan 132015


  • 24,500 miles


I recently was involved in a multivehicle accident in which my 2010 Ford F 150 truck was totaled. I was the person who caused it. However, I don't believe I was at fault. The conditions and symptoms which I encountered are consistent with carbon monoxide poisoning. I believe it leaked into the cab. Co is an odorless colorless and tasteless gas. I lost consciousness and didn't realize what happened. This was the 4th time I lost consciousness and every time it occurred I was driving this 2010 Ford F-150 truck. Also, the air bag did not deploy and my chest still hurts!

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #31

May 092015


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. While attempting to enter the vehicle, the contact slipped on the wet running board and struck her face and shin on the step. The contact did not require medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Gaylord, MI, USA

problem #30

May 022015


  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that there was a water leak in the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #29

Dec 262014

F-150 8-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Right back passenger door handle spring broke. Handle will not retract to normal position cannot exit the vehicle as handle does not function properly due to the broken spring. Back door handle has only been used about 5 times.

- Norco, CA, USA

problem #28

Dec 292014


  • 50,724 miles


On the morning of 12/29/14, he had a heavy frost so I used my rear window defrost on my drive to work. Drive was approx. 10 minutes. When I got out of the truck at work, all glass was ok. When I got back in truck to leave work, I looked in rear view mirror, I saw that the passenger side of the three piece rear window was shattered. The glass stayed in the frame and did not fall out. I had to spend over an hour on the phone with my insurance company just to file a claim, and it took the glass company two tries to install the new rear window and rewire it to make it work again. Ford knows there is a problem because they have changed the design on the window along with the wiring to the window. Why will Ford not step up and at least admit there is a problem with the rear defrost and offer to fix it.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #27

Dec 292014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,723 miles
I left for work in the morning and I turned on the rear defrost because we had a heavy frost overnight. Window was fine when I got out of truck at work. It was a 10 minute drive to work. When I got back into truck 10 hours later to leave work, I saw that the passenger side of the three piece rear window was broken. The glass did not fall out of the frame so it was not from an impact. Air temp stayed just below freezing all day. Had to spend roughly an hour on the phone with my insurance company and my Ford dealer to get the part ordered. It will be four days till it will be fixed. I just hope nothing happens that will cause the glass to fall out of the frame. I drive my truck at least 6 days a week so I cannot be without it. Please do something about this issue.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #26

Nov 052014


  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. While driving approximately 40 mph, the fuel door opened independently and the check engine indicator illuminated continuously. The failure occurred on a daily basis. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 17,000.

- Brotson, SC, USA

problem #25

Aug 292014

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
I observed at least 6 areas on the roof of my truck where the paint is peeling away from the body. There is obvious rust under all the spots. I have also noticed a musty smell in my car. I took the vehicle to body shop at the dealership and they stated that since there was no perforation in the sheet metal, it was not covered under warranty. I pointed to the service technician that if it were one spot I could see that as possibly something may have chipped the paint and caused the problem but for it to happen in at least 6 areas spread out around the roof that it was a defect in material or workmanship and should be covered under the warranty. The technician said I should contact Ford directly but they would probably deny the claim. Based on what I found online which includes at least 7 NHTSA documented complaints as well as other complaints about paint problems with Ford vehicles it would appear that Ford has a problem at their factories that should be investigated. I plan to go back to the dealership now that I know about the problem with the third brake light and leaks around it, as well as contacting Ford headquarters for resolution.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

problem #24

Aug 212014

F-150 8-cyl

  • 100,600 miles
Parked truck in a lot. Left the truck and was fine at the time. I have heard of the rear windows shattering before so I'm always looking at it. Get back to the truck and the window was shattered. Checked security footage at the lot and could not see anyone throw or hit it with anything. Not near a main road either. Rear driver side window with defroster (broken side), motorized center window.

- Cincinnati , OH, USA

problem #23

Jul 212014


  • 36,300 miles
2010 F-150 with 5.4 L V-8 engine, during operation of the air conditioning system the passenger side floor board to include carpet and matting were soaked. Subsequent servicing by dealership found a faulty elbow and hose from air conditioning unit. Dealership replaced elbow and hose and re-plumbed the hose at a cost of approximately $300. Dealership noted that the elbow and hose were faulty on the invoice.

- Prattville, AL, USA

problem #22

Jul 012014


  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the tail lights became filled with water in wet conditions. The water also seeped into the vehicle and dampened the interior. The failure occurred multiple times. The dealer stated that the rubber gasket needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 52,000.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #21

Jun 022014

F-150 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Platinum edition purchased in Jan 2011. Issue: Cap less gas door stays unhinged and will not close. Notes: Happened after a trip. Door was open, retract device inside of frame no longer provides tension need to keep gas door closed. 1. resulting to taping door closed to prevent further damaged to the truck, other than tape damage to the paint. 2. would like to know: A. risk of ignition now that gas door does not stay closed. Important being truck is not equipped with gas cap. B. risk of ignition due to external combustible source or ignition source such as but not limited to; cigarettes, sparks, electric, temperature etc. 3. need or direction for myself or other drivers to update insurance, etc. For coverage and liability to others this defect could produce. 4. other considerations not mentioned in this statement. Overall complaint is that due to the nature of the item in question, and the vast amount of other users both here and at other noted sites and forums, a fix needs to be issued or info needs to be provided by Ford or the NHTSA or ntsb so driver can know the facts on the safety issue involved or lack of. Ntf

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 262014

F-150 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I parked the vehicle, removed the key from the ignition, and went into my home. I heard a loud noise coming from outside the house, and when I went out, the vehicle had rolled down the road approximately 75 yards and crashed into a tree.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #19

Sep 062013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I purchased my Ford F-150 new in August 2010. I noticed in September 2013, my fuel filler door was not closing, and after further inspection I noticed an inner mechanism, that allows the door to remain closed, was broken and no longer kept the door closed. This plastic door costs approximately $75 to replace, significantly more if the dealer installs it. The frustrating thing is my son-in-law, as well as my brother both own late model Ford F-150's, and both have had the same problem. Ford (through their dealerships) hasn't felt the need to make good on an obvious workmanship issue, so the consumer is left to replace this door every 3 years or so. I should also note that having the door completely secure and closed is important to keep water and other debris out of the fuel tank, as the fuel tank on the late model F-150's does not have a fuel cap. We haven't heard of any recalls, or plans for one, but hopefully you've heard enough complaints that something can be done. Thank you.

- Adger, AL, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?