Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,319 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford F-150 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #52

Sep 182016

F-150

  • 100,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall on the 2011 Ford F150. However, my VIN is not the one affected. Even though it is the same transmission and year.I am having the exact same issue being described in the recall and on the forums. I drove the car after it was left for 36 hours and it downshifted after going 25 mph. I coasted back into a parking lot and turned off car and restarted, with the same issue. It eventually gave me a maint error (yellow wrench) I had to have it towed home. After it was shut off overnight if was fine the next day and no error code. I had a mechanic put a scanner on the truck and he could not pull the error code. I have used it sparingly for 3 days without an issue. I am just worried, it will happen again at any time or cause an accident with someone plowing into me when it downshifts. This could be a major problem if I am on a highway and it happens. I called Ford Corp and they said since I am not on the recall per my VIN (even though it is the same year 2011 and transmission) so I am on my own. I have it documented with Ford and the dealer. Now what, just wait? NHTSA vehicle safety recalls recall number 16V248000 recall date 04/27/2016 component power train:automatic transmission summary Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain model year 2011-2012 Ford F-150 trucks manufactured August 19, 2011, to March 9, 2012, 2012 Ford Expedition, Lincoln Navigator vehicles manufactured August 19, 2011, to December 19, 2011, and 2012 Ford mustang vehicles manufactured August 19, 2011, to February 21, 2012. The affected vehicles are equipped with an automatic transmission that may unexpectedly downshift to first gear, regardless of vehicle speed. Consequence an unexpected downshift into first gear can cause the vehicle to slow down suddenly without warning and the rear tires may slide or lock, increasing the risk of a crash.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #51

Aug 122016

F-150

  • 48,500 miles
One of the back bolts broke off of the right side of the exhaust manifold while driving.. this caused the gasket to fail which in turn made a loud noise. Because this is a turbo charged engine the motor lost power. Took truck to the dealer where they had to replace the entire exhaust manifold, gasket and broken bolts. Total repairs were $1214.02

- South Charleston, OH, USA

problem #50

Aug 102016

F-150

  • 61,300 miles
Since I've owned this vehicle new, I've had a number of problems related to acceleration. Vehicle would almost stall on hard acceleration when getting on the freeway. Dealer replaced spark plugs & boots, but condition was not completely resolved. Vehicle would still on occasion repeat the same problem. More recently when driving yesterday, the engine light started blinking, then became steady. Of greater concerned I got an engine light & poor acceleration. Took the vehicle to the dealer & dealer is telling me that the timing belt needs to be replaced at a cost of $2000+. vehicle had just turned 61000 miles. Dealer service agent tells me its not uncommon and could be caused by not getting the oil changed at recommended intervals. Vehicle has had regular oil changes at the dealer & other service facilities. Never heard of this & I think it's premature for a vehicle with 61000 miles to need the timing belt replaced. Never had this happen in 45+ years of driving.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #49

Jun 302015

F-150

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the highway about 55 mph the vehicle will down shift and the odometer will die and drop to zero, most of the indicators will have dashes instead of numbers. The truck will automatically slow down causing me to have to pull off the road to avoid an accident. I then have to turn the vehicle off and remove the key from ignition and restart the vehicle up again to reset all the gauges. This normally happens within the first 10 miles of driving the vehicle. This would only happen on a few occasions now it is happening more frequently. There was a recall issued around the 1st of July 2016 but I was told the software fix would not be ready until the 3 quarter of the year. Ford now wants to charge me $131 to diagnose the problem. I should not have to pay for it to be diagnosed if they already have a recall. I wonder how many lives will be in danger until the 3rd quarter update is available.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #48

Apr 102016

F-150

  • 97,000 miles
Thousands of Ford F150 owners (20011-2015) bave experiencing with ecoboost engines mostly with my most recent issue "timing chain stretching chain" and faulty cam phasers, I believe we deserve to at least get our vehicles fix. I struggle paying my truck and I cant pay 4000 dlls to fix this issue that I strongly believe is a Ford's negligence. Please help us my name is manuel favela 915-7317818

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #47

May 222016

F-150

  • 98,000 miles
When driving the truck (what seemed like) shifted hard then the wrench sign came up on the screen and throttle would not work. I was doing 50 mph at the time and had to hit the hazards and pull over. Once I turned off the engine and turned it back on it seemed ok, pulled the code P2112 throttle body. Looked online and many, many people have the same issue. Can't believe this isn't a recall seeing how dangerous this is.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #46

Nov 082015

F-150

  • 51,881 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2011 Ford F-150 4X2 platinum 4 door pick, equipped with a 5.0 litre V-8engine, which had 51881 miles when my problem occurred. We were in cameron, Arizona, on our way to the East rim of the grand canyon. Turned off the truck, used their facilities, went back to truck, it cranked, but would not start, even after repeated attempts. Let set for one hour, still would not start. Called tow truck, which had to come from flagstaff. Dropped off at Ford dealer, as it is still under warranty. Went to the dealership the following morning, explained the problem, they told me that they had along list of vehicles to work on. I then tried to start the vehicle, it did start, picked my wife and belongings from the hotel, and drove, non-stop to el centro (350 miles). Took to dealer. It started again for them. Go figure! later that afternoon, it would not start for them. They then called Ford Motor Company, who told them what to look for, tsb 15-0137. They told me that this was a temporary repair, and that they would order a new fuse block, as fuse number 27 had melted the connections in the box, thus making it impossible to have a proper connection. The general manager told me about a personal friend of his who had this happen to his almost new truck, and he got rid of the truck. I cannot afford to do that. It has been since November 9, 2015 when this occurred, and now the Agency, el centro motors 1520 Ford drive el centro, ca. 92243 (760) 336-2100 is telling me that repair tsb 15-0137 is a permanent repair, and that Ford Motor Company will not replace the fuse block and has no improvement fuse block available, and that the fuse blocks are not available, as there is a 120 day waiting period to obtain them.

- El Centro, CA, USA

problem #45

Mar 262016

F-150

  • 74,000 miles
While passing a semi on a two lane highway my ecoboost F150 began to shutter and loose power. I understand you have already investigated this issue and determined it was not a safety issue. After my experience today I respectfully disagree, let me explain. When this happens while passing someone and you're forced to slow down while in wrong lane. This can be quite scary, cars coming at you, cars behind you also wanting to pass and a large semi next you.

- Pittsburg, KS, USA

problem #44

Nov 232015

F-150

  • 80,000 miles
Truck has loss of power when pulling out to pass at highway speeds nearly causing head on crashes.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #43

Jan 102016

F-150

  • 51,000 miles
I have the ecoboost motor. I was passing a vehicle on the highway the truck lost all power and started shuttering. The weather was dry and sunny. If they would have been someone coming and I had to accelerate hard to get around the vehicle that I was passing, it could have been bad. I took this truck in for this proble before to Ford and they put a air dam plate kit in front of the cac. They said that this was Ford fix for the problem so they know they a have defect with the system. This fix isn't working and I read where they weren't going to make Ford fix the problem that going to get someone hurt or killed in these vehicles someday. I guess that's what it take before something is done. This is my second complaint filed for this defect.

- Cabot, AR, USA

problem #42

Jan 102016

F-150

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon downshift during acceleration, the truck shudders, misfires, backfires through exhaust system, and loses power while creating a violent shake in the drivetrain. This occurs in below 35 dry or wet weather. This issue destroyed my catalytic converters, as well as broke loose the baffles in factory muffler causing over $2,000 in repairs for exhaust. I further replaced plugs, and plug boots. The vehicle continues to have this severe issue, and the only way to keep from further damaging the vehicle is to pull off the road, and idle as well as rev engine for several minutes. It is extremely unsafe, and nearly caused other vehicles to rear ended me on at least 5 occasions. All of which I had to jump onto shoulder of road or in median to keep from getting hit. My research shows that this is a common problem amongst owners of this vehicle. I currently owe $22,000 on this vehicle, and am quite frustrated with the lack of a recall from Ford. Solutions of a walker cac are known; however, Ford is not willing to even consider paying for this fix. Please help in the resolving of this issue?

- Lindale, TX, USA

problem #41

Oct 112015

F-150

  • 26,310 miles
Fault log code P0234, turbo noise hissing, cutting out. Loss of power. Poor acceleration. Coolant leeks, oil leeks. Returned to corning Ford for more service work. Original service October 11 / 2015. Second service December 28 / 2015 coolant leek, turbo hissing, cutting out hissing when under acceleration. Condition when in motion on city street and highway driving.

- Red Bluff, CA, USA

problem #40

Nov 292015

F-150

  • 97,000 miles
Ford F150 3.5L ecoboost completely looses power when accelerating in passing gear. Vehicle shutters and bucks severally and does not allow any type of acceleration to be able to exit into slow lane interstate traffic. Normal operation returns after about 1.5 minutes of coasting and then gently applying accelerator to regain vehicle control. During the recovery time the engine runs very rough as if timing was completely out of sync.I drive 1000 miles per week on interstate 95 and this condition is ongoing. I experience at least 2 or 3 of these episodes per week when I try to accelerate to pass another vehicle. This is a safety concern to me because the vehicle looses power completely and does not recover until 1.5 minutes later. The check engine light comes on very time this condition occurs. When reading the error codes it only show misfiring of all cylinders (code P0300).

- Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #39

Oct 082015

F-150

  • 99,000 miles
This is a ecoboost engine. When I go to pass someone the engine starts sputtering as if it is going to cut off. Loses power and is very dangerous. I noticed where this was under investigation but that has been dropped. Someone is going to be killed. This happens to me frequently. Seems like it happens in damp or humid weather. In most cases if it is a gradul acceleration it doesn't happen. I have owned the truck for the last 25000 miles and it has done it most of that time. I noticed that this problem was under investigation so I haven't taken it in hoping you would issue a recall. Don't wait until it is too late.

- Esmont, VA, USA

problem #38

Jul 272015

F-150

  • 68,500 miles
When the turbo boost is 11psi misfiring begins - no after market engine programming. If turbo demand is not reduced, or is increased the engine light will come on and the transmission will be disengaged - 'limp mode.' On the date cited, this happened no less that 3 times. Local humidity was 50-70%, as I recall, and there was no rain. I have experienced this multiple times with local humidity noted at 50 %. my experience is that the misfiring will occur anytime turbo psi exceeds 11, whether towing or not, though towing will be more apt to encounter 11psi. My trailer is within all tow load limits for my truck, axles and tongue, per Ford's rv & trailer towing guide. My first experience with the truck going limp was June of 2014. I pulled the truck to the shoulder next to a guard rail and called for towing. The local Ford dealer said that there had been a #3 cylinder misfire and a momentary head over-temp was - which triggered limp mode. I have reported the misfiring to my dealer, and with Ford's customer service. The dealer says Ford has nothing listed for my truck or the issue. I told customer service and my dealer that there is plenty of internet traffic on this issue. Aside from the technical service bulletin implemented to put a larger air shield on the intercooler (cac), done to my truck in 2014 as a result of my experience, the issue still exists. It would seem to me that Ford has not engineered a water separator to then drain off developed water from the condensation process before it is ingested into the cylinders. Ingestion of the water into the cylinders would cause a spark misfire, as was suggested to me by a Ford mechanic. My vehicle is still under a Ford issued extended warranty, as a result of a separate transmission issue. God forbid this occur while to someone towing on a two lane road with no shoulder!

- Wildwood, MO, USA

problem #37

Oct 232014

F-150

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the steering wheel was hard to turn and a warning displayed on the panel that read 'service advance trap". the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was not able to diagnose the failure. In addition, the contact stated that when attempting to pass another vehicle, the accelerator pedal was activated and there was loss of acceleration as the check engine light flashed on and off. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 57,000.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #36

Jun 202014

F-150

  • 34,000 miles
When accelerating and approaching freeway speed, engine stumbled, preventing acceleration. I let off the accelerator and problem didn't occur again. I reported this to the dealer, but they stated that since the vehicle did not register a code there was nothing they could do. I have since had this happen again on July 17 & 18, 2015, but this time the engine light did come on, so I'm assuming it did register a code. On July 17, it was a clear dry day, the following day it happened again, but it was raining all day. Once on the freeway, whenever I stepped on the accelerator, even when at freeway speed, the engine would stumble and barely accelerate. I've contacted the dealer and scheduled an inspection for July 29, 2015. The vehicle currently has 47000 miles. I've talked to Ford customer service and I am being told this is not a warranty repair, but I am seeing a number of service bulletins being issued describing this exact problem. I believe this is a defect in design and should be covered under the manufacturers warranty.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #35

Feb 032014

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
Vehicle lost acceleration when trying to pass. Engine light came on and engine started to shake. I had to turn vehicle off and restart. This now occurs anytime I attempt to accelerate...

- Ruston, LA, USA

problem #34

Sep 052014

F-150

  • 80,000 miles
I was driving at highway speed and tried to accelerate quickly to pass someone and the truck had major hesitation and shuddering. Continues to do this anytime you try to rapidly accelerate.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #33

Apr 072015

F-150

  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford F-150. The contact stated that fuel fumes emitted into the vehicle. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact found a leak and noticed fuel spewing out of the catalytic converter. The dealer was contacted and made the contact aware that the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 23,000.

- Masland, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?