Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,680 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford F-150 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Aug 132014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was attempting to accelerate hard to merge into traffic onto interstate highway. When I pushed pedal to floor, the vehicle immediately slowed as if a governor had kicked in. Fortunately, I had room on shoulder to not get hit, but had to wait and pump pedal twice before it began to accelerate again. I have not tried to replicate the problem. I had an identical problem 3 years ago in another ecoboost Ford F150 that nearly killed me. I attempted to pass another vehicle and realized that I needed hard acceleration and the vehicle immediately slowed. There was no where to go, but fortunately my fellow motorists realized I had a problem and let me back into my lane without a multi-vehicle crash. I asked my dealer about that then, and was told that never had been reported. I immediately traded that truck for the one I have now that day.

- Jonesboro, AR, USA

problem #40

Jun 292014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 39,500 miles
While attempting to pass a slower vehicle on a two lane road, my truck lost all power and the check engine light began blinking. I was in the on-coming travel lane adjacent to the vehicle I was passing when the incident occurred. The incident nearly caused an accident as the vehicle I was passing slowed down when I lost power an I was unable to immediately get over. I coasted with a rough running engine to the shoulder and shut off the engine. When I restarted it a few minutes later it ran a little rough and the check engine light remained on. Research shows that this is a know issue for this make model with the ecoboost engine. The Ford dealership, while having a tsb in place for the issue, did not notify me of the issue and will not cover the cost of the recommended service under either the power-train warranty or my Ford extended warranty (bumper-to-bumper has expired). This is a huge safety issue and this should be a recall from Ford to fix these issues and they apparently will not take the initiative to do so on their own. The incident occurred in southwestern Missouri on a day in which it had been raining off and on.

- Edgewater, MD, USA

problem #39

Feb 132014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 68,382 miles
On February 13, 2014, my Ford 2011 F-150 ecoboost began to show signs of limited throttle response coupled with a drastic reduction in power output and moderate to severe engine vibration. These symptoms occurred and were most severe under heavy engine load, while traveling uphill, high outside air temperature and with the air conditioner on. General locations: Mojave high desert (joshua tree, ca) and the greater palm springs, ca area. Weather conditions were generally dry with low humidity. On February 15, 2014 the symptoms described above were so violent that the check engine came on (flashing) and I pulled off the road for my own safety. I shut off the engine, allowed it to rest┐Ł and then turned the engine back on. The symptoms did not disappear completely, but they were reduced and the check engine light was no longer illuminated. On February 20, 2014 I brought my truck to yucca valley Ford to have the problem diagnosed. Mileage at the time of the service was 68,382 miles. A diagnosis was performed and it was determined that the engine was misfiring on the number 1 cylinder due to worn spark plugs. All 6 spark plugs were replaced and the symptoms disappeared. The truck ran fine until approximately June, 2014. The symptoms slowly began to reoccur and by early August, had fully returned. On August 8, 2014, while traveling at freeway speeds, up a steep grade, with external air temperatures in the low 100 degrees, low humidity, and the air conditioner on, the truck nearly lost all power, began to misfire and vibrate violently, and the check engine light began to flash intermittently. Upon reaching the top of the grade and the load on the engine reduced, the symptoms were reduced. The truck was again brought to the yucca yalley Ford service center on Saturday August 9, 2014 where it is currently awaiting diagnosis.

- Joshua Tree, CA, USA

problem #38

Oct 102011

F-150 6-cyl

  • 10,150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalls out like it is starving for fuel when you need to accelerate. It has stalled out when passing other vehicles and when entering heavy traffic on interstates. As of July 31, 2014, the truck has been back to the dealership at least 4 times for this problem. However, I continue to have the problem.

- Pollock, LA, USA

problem #37

Jun 252014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
As I was merging onto highway 694 North, I had to accelerate because of a semi approaching me from behind, I gave the truck full throttle but the truck started shaking and the engine felt like it quit or just had no power left. The truck struggled to reach 55mph, and within seconds I almost got rear-ended and almost ran off the highway, do to the fact that my truck had no power. After I merged onto the highway the truck shook violently for about 3 miles while my check engine light was flashing. During this time it felt as though my truck had lost 50% of its power.

- Oakdale, MN, USA

problem #36

May 272014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 40,500 miles
I was merging into traffic after picking up my daughter from daycare. I pressed down on the accelerator firmly to gain speed to get into traffic. My truck stalled with a pinging noise coming from the engine and an uncharacteristic black smoke pouring out of the exhaust pipe. Oncoming traffic had to brake to avoid hitting my truck on my daughters side. The truck recovered but only gradually picked up speed with very little power. It was a low constant acceleration. This is the 4th time this has happened with my truck but this time it endangered my daughter so I feel that I need to speak out. This needs to be addressed before my 1.5 year old daughter or someone else gets hurt due to faulty equipment.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #35

May 312013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down my street and braked to pull into my driveway, after in my driveway I touched the accelerator (to get up the slight grade) and my truck went wide open throttle!! I mashed on the brake but the truck continued to accelerate uncontrollably and crashed into my brick home. Even after impact and me continuing to apply full brake it was still wide open throttle and burning out. I finally came to my senses and shut the ignition off and the stopped it. I had the truck towed to my local dealer as recommended by Ford customer care rep. The dealership ran a diagnostics check and found nothing as well as tried to get it to duplicate the problem with no luck. I had a state trooper certified in downloading event recorder data do such to my truck. The data shows exactly what happened..but does not differentiate between the accelerator being pushed vs.the accelerator position as indicated. However, it does show service brake applied and continual acceleration at the same time which I can prove was not done by me! I have pictures of abrasions to my right shin and knee from the steering column and dash..my right foot was fully applied on the brake pedal causing the abrasions at impact due to being directly in line with the steering column. My left leg had zero abrasions...since to the left of the steering column. If I was to be responsible for the data shown in the down load I would of had to have my left foot on the brake and thus sustaining abrasions to that leg. It is also impossible to use the right foot to brake and accelerate simultaneously to achieve the acceleration indicated...ones leg has to be cocked to the side and out of line of the steering column. Everything on my pickup is oem....including the floor mats...which contrary to some beliefs that could be the cause. My truck has sat at the dealership untouched since they looked at it.

- North Platte, NE, USA

problem #34

Apr 282014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 36,512 miles
I am glad that we were not in a situation that we could have gotten killed because of the throttle problem. The first time we were driving down the road at 45 mph suddenly the accelerator would not respond, the engine was still running at a rough idle. We had to coast to the shoulder. Stopped turned off the truck, it was able to restart and the accelerator was working again. We drove to the local Ford dealer. At the Ford dealer they could not identify the problem. The second time this happened was when we were going 55 mph. Coasted to shoulder of the road and I was able to restart the truck and drove very carefully to the Ford dealer. This time they were able to get a code reading of the problem. The code called for a recalibration. This was done. Drove the truck home thinking that it was repaired. The third time this happened was on the interstate traveling 75mph. Luckily we were in the right lane and was able to coast to the shoulder. Repeated same procedure as above. Returned to the Ford dealer. This time they read the code(P2112) and replaced the throttle body and motor assembly. This problem with the throttle could have very easily caused a deadly crash. I feel that my wife and are very lucky as we could have been in a very serious accident.

- Bayfield, CO, USA

problem #33

May 092014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 88,900 miles
While driving down highway tried to accelerate to pass truck vehicle lost power and check engine light came on. Pulled off road and shut the vehicle down and then restarted vehicle. Later loss of power on any incline that I approached.

- Ralls, TX, USA

problem #32

Apr 012014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
While trying to pass a vehicle on the highway my truck started to sputter and loose power, the check engine light came on for a few seconds and went off. This problem is happening every day now under all conditions. There are numerous complaints on this problem and no real resolutions.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #31

Apr 232014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 48,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While traveling down the road and the need to accelerate to pass a much slower vehicle my truck lost all power and began shuddering very bad. With oncoming traffic approaching quickly I had to step on the brakes rather hard and quick to avoid a accident. What would have possibly happened if I was towing a legal but heavy load? Ford has a known problem with the coils on the ecoboost and this truly needs to be addressed. This is a extremely serious traffic safety when you loose all power and the severity of the shudder that also occurs.

- Taber, AA, USA

problem #30

Aug 302012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 39,600 miles
I have had numerous instances of the engine of my F-150 eco -boost shutting down while driving. The engine will run fine for hours and then it will begin to sputter and crap out and die. The 1st time this happened I was traveling 65 miles on hour on the freeway when it just started crapping out like it was out of gas. It barely ran until I could get off the freeway. I have taken it to my local Ford dealer 5 times for the same issue. I have had it stop running on at least 10 occasions. Only 1 time did the dealer get a code which indicated the high pressure fuel pump was failing. Replaced that. Three days later the same thing happens again in the exact same way. It will run fine and then all of a sudden it decides that it wants to crap out and start sputtering. I was told by the dealer when this happens turn the engine off, take the key out of the ignition, wait a few minutes then put the key in the ignition and try to start. I have had to wait as long as a few minutes to over an hour for the computer to reboot and allow the truck to restart. This has happened in some very remote locations where it would have required that I hike as much as 20 miles to see a living soul again to find help. I believe that this is a very serious safety problem that will eventually lead in deaths if a recall is not performed to find the source of the problem. There are to many complaints on this site to ignore that it is not a problem although Ford told me they did not have similar issues with any other trucks. Now I see on this site that perhaps they are choosing ignorance over safety.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #29

Sep 082013

F-150

  • 55,000 miles
Towing a 9500# fifth wheel trailer on interstate complete loss of power shuddering and inability to accelerate.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

problem #28

Dec 172013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
While driving my F150, V6 ecoboost engine, down the interstate, when I try to accelerate, the truck to pass vehicles and or move out of the way of on coming traffic, the engine gives me nothing and shutters, feels like it is missing. I originally started to feel this in 2013, took it to the dealership, cause I thought it could be a transmission issue, and the service rep only asked if a light came on and if none has come on, probably won't show anything. I am outside of my warranty now and the truck is shuttering very badly when I try to accelerate anywhere, besides my gas mileage has dropped significantly, which now can become a epa issue. I have read about a lot of issues concerning this year Ford with same engine with no outcomes. I have been told, once again that if I don't have a check engine light, then it probably wont show a code. I don't know where else to turn but to at least have a complaint filed where there is an issue with the 2011 Ford F150 V-6 ecoboost engine.

- Hoschton, GA, USA

problem #27

Feb 122014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 53,179 miles
I was traveling on the interstate where I live and was trying to get up to speed to merge with traffic and when I accelerated my truck lost power and began to sputter and shake, and would not get up to speed, and the check engine light came on, when I took to the local dealer where I purchased it I was told number 2cylinder and number 4 cylinder was mis firing, that I needed new coil packs so I had them replaced and I am still having the same problem.

- Brookwood, AL, USA

problem #26

May 012012

F-150 6-cyl

  • 39,250 miles
Truck started to shake violently when accelerating. Felt as if the wheels were loose or the U joint for the drive shaft was going bad. Had to let off the gas. Has been ongoing from the time I purchased the vehicle to present time.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #25

Jul 162013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 57,132 miles
2011 F150 ecoboost at 57K miles mid July 2013 experienced violent shuddering lose of power pulling up hill at 60 mph. Engine light came on. Taken to dealership where repair was listed as #2 coil pack costed $277. Now Jan 2014 six months and 13K miles later same event. Check engine light came on twice while driving to work. Used on board diagnosic tool I had purchased and truck coded P0303 as #3 cylinder misfire obviously the #3 coil pack has gone bad at 70K miles.

- Maggie Valley, NC, USA

problem #24

Dec 202013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 33,800 miles
Vehicle once when first bought shut down during rain conditions when trying to excel. It was like you ran into a wall. Ford then said it was a wiring harness problem. It continued missing at times over the last two years. The same thing happened again in December while trying to pass a vehicle and it was again during rain conditions and just shut down in the road. We took it into the dealership and they said it was tsb 13 8 1 and made repairs. Vehicle now does not run right and gas mileage has dropped by at lest 2.5 mpg. Noticeable power loss. Vehicle is the Ford 3.5 echo boost. This is a big problem for consumers who want a truck and expect power with good mpg but should not be afraid to drive or get a supposed fix that's not what you have purchased. These situations will result into some very bad accidents. I cant imagine pulling something and this happens. Bottom line consumers deserve safe reliable vehicles. We love Ford and I hate I am having to complain but this is a real big problem. Please investigate. Thanks!!!!

- Hiawassee, GA, USA

problem #23

Oct 072013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 35,500 miles
Returning home from a weekend camping trip with my family and pulling a travel trailer via I-81 in va, I depressed the accelerator approaching a long hill, and abruptly lost all engine and drive power, the engine shuddered violently, the transmission downshifted to lower gear and the check engine light flashed a few times. We had absolutely no power and I thought the engine was going to shut off. I was in the 2nd lane from the right and had to quickly move to the right lane then to the shoulder to avoid being hit from behind. This was very dangerous while pulling a 34' travel trailer. I had to pull the vehicle to the shoulder and stop completely to regain control. I had to put the truck in park and turn it off before it returned to somewhat normal drivability. While continuing to climb the uphill grade, the engine misfired and hesitated constantly. I could only apply gently pressure to the accelerator to keep the vehicle moving. Once over the hill the vehicle picked up speed and returned to normal drivability for the remainder of the trip. The same exact problem occurred again a few months later while driving South on rt-4 in md with my wife, and not pulling a trailer. This time I didn't shut the engine off, but had to pull to the shoulder to regain control and engine power. As I continued on RT4 the engine misfired and hesitated several more miles. Once at my destination I turned the vehicle off, then upon departure the vehicle operated more normal, but experienced misfire and hesitations several mile returning home. The next day the vehicle operated normally, but I took it to the Ford dealership to have it repaired. This is a very unsafe situation and makes me very leary driving this vehicle on a normal basis. If I was accelerating while crossing the highway and this problem happened, there is a great chance of getting into an accident or causing one.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #22

Dec 162013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 64,300 miles
2011 Ford F150 equipped with 3.5L turbo charged engine traveling at 65 mph began misfiring and suddenly experienced a near total loss of power, causing the vehicle to slow to 25 mph quickly. The vehicle was traveling on a two lane highway with no shoulder and no place to pull off the road. This incident did not pose an immediate threat to car or driver, but under other conditions such as overtaking (passing) slower traffic, the sudden and near total loss of power could be disastrous. After quick research and consultation with the Ford service center where I purchased the truck, I have learned the vehicle entered into "limp" mode to protect itself from mechanical damage. I have also found that this problem has long been acknowledged by Ford Motor Company and has been the subject of a few technical service bulletins. Also to the best of my knowledge, Ford, through this series of technical service bulletin's has failed to provide a permanent solution to this problem. I am filing this complaint in hopes that the NHTSA in cooperation with Ford Motor Company can provide a quick and permanent solution to this problem before someone is seriously injured or worse due to an engineering flaw on a motor vehicle.

- Barnsdall, OK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?