10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,205 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-150 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 7 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #210

Jan 242014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 30,301 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jan 24 2014. Morning 6:00 am. My truck stalled on the elgin ohare expressway. I was cruising 65 mph. All of a sudden my trans or engine started to stall. I noticed the indicator on the dash go from 6 gear to 2nd. Gear, my speedometer dropped to 40 then 20 mph. I took my foot off the gas, slowly cruised. Then I put my foot back on the gas and drove to work at 45 mph. Called the Ford dealer made an appointment. Drove it there after work. Left it there for two days. They could not duplicate the incident. They reformatted my digital readout on the dashboard. Deleted the numbers indicating the gear my transmission was in. Therefore they did nothing but cover their[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #209

Mar 132013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 33,180 miles
Having recurring issues with Ford ecoboost engine on my 2012 F-150. Below is a summary of visits to the dealership for service related issues: 3/13/13- engine light on, shuttering, shaking, and won't go over 70 on highway. Dealership found no issues. 3/29/13- engine light on, shuttering, shaking, and won't go over 70 on highway. Dealership identified issue as bad cac intercooler and replaced per tsb 130303C. 7/9/13- engine light and misfire. Also, transmission slamming forward as if being rear-ended. Dealership coil #2 and spark plug. Not able to verify the transmission slamming?? issue. 10/30/13-filed a complaint with Ford customer service. Still experiencing intermittent cac intercooler symptoms and transmission slamming. 1/3/14- another dealership found that the new cac intercooler had been improperly installed without deflector shield. Also repaired transmission issue. 1/18/13- engine light on. Replaced catalytic converter bank. 1/27/14- contacted Ford customer service with new information. Ford forwarded this information to the regional dealership manager. 2/2/14- still having cac intercooler issues during snow storm. 2/4/14- Ford customer service closed claim. Never contacted by any dealership representative regarding my concerns. I feel that I am getting the run around from Ford on this particular matter. I do not think they are taking the issues with these F150 trucks seriously enough. No permanent fix for the problem has been found, at least not with my truck. I am also concerned that you can take your vehicle to one dealership where they cannot identify a transmission issue, but another one can. Furthermore, it concerns me that this intercooler problem can create a safety issue on the roadway, yet, the dealership makes a repair without installing all of the necessary components.

- Ida, MI, USA

problem #208

Dec 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 38,500 miles
I was travelling on a 4-lane, 65mph highway when I floored the gas pedal. The truck failed to accelerate as it should have. Instead, it acted as if it was coasting. There was no power for several seconds even when I moved the gas pedal to different positions. When the truck finally seemed to resume power, it started to shake violently. The shocked passenger and I looked at each other, then I checked to see if there were parts strewn on the road behind me. Suddenly, it smoothed out and there were no more issues on that trip. I had been driving that truck for about 10 hours with various forms of precipitation at the time. This was December 21, 2013. The second incident was on December 28, 2013. Weather conditions were sunny and dry. I had been driving about 50 minutes. I floored the gas pedal again to overtake a vehicle and was barely able to overtake due to no power. Again, I worked the throttle to no avail. The truck finally recovered but started shaking violently again. As before, it smoothed out. I took my truck to a local Ford dealership where they told me it was showing no codes and that their techs could not reproduce the symptoms I had mentioned. I checked on NHTSA website and found this issue is under investigation. I do not agree with the service bulletins. My theory is that there is a computer programming problem specific to this direct-injection, turbo gasoline engine. I plan on trading for something other than an ecoboost engine, as this problem is dangerous.

- New Burnside, IL, USA

problem #207

Dec 212013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 38,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was traveling on a 4-lane, 65mph highway when I floored the gas pedal. The truck failed to accelerate as it should have. Instead, it acted as if it was coasting. There was no power for several seconds even when I moved the gas pedal to different positions. When the truck finally seemed to resume power, it started to shake violently. The shocked passenger and I looked at each other, then I checked to see if there were parts strewn on the road behind me. Suddenly, it smoothed out and there were no more issues on that trip. I had been driving that truck for about 10 hours with various forms of precipitation at the time. This was December 21, 2013. The second incident was on December 28, 2013. Weather conditions were sunny and dry. I had been driving about 50 minutes. I floored the gas pedal again to overtake a vehicle and was barely able to overtake due to no power. Again, I worked the throttle to no avail. The truck finally recovered but started shaking violently again. As before, it smoothed out. I took my truck to a local Ford dealership where they told me it was showing no codes and that their techs could not reproduce the symptoms I had mentioned. I checked on NHTSA website and found this issue is under investigation. I do not agree with the service bulletins. My theory is that there is a computer programming problem specific to this direct-injection, turbo gasoline engine. I plan on trading for something other than an ecoboost engine, as this problem is dangerous.

- New Burnside, IL, USA

problem #206

Jan 132014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 46,340 miles
Upon hitting the gas to cross traffic I had a sudden loss of power. I had to let off and hit the gas a couple of times in order to get the truck moving. This unfortunately is not the first time that this has happened and I have only had the vehicle a month since buying it as a certified vehicle. The dealership that I bought it from supposedly fixed the problem but apparently it is something that needs more than just a little adjustment and new parts. I have noticed through some research that I am not the first to have this issue. Unfortunately some of the posts are people who have been trying to get them fixed but end up past the warranty mark before Ford is able to make it right.

- Cornelia, GA, USA

problem #205

Jan 102014

F-150 6-cyl

  • 16,000 miles
Driving on highway went to accelerate to pass semi pulled beside him. Engine light began flashing truck lost power and began shaking had to hit brakes as car approached in opposite direction almost had head on collision. Made it to rear of semi and pulled over just I time to avoid accident.

- Regina, TN, USA

problem #204

Dec 292013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 20,574 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Attempted to pass a slow moving vehicle by accelerating quickly. My vehicle initially accelerated and then violently shook and stopped accelerating while alongside the vehicle I was attempting to pass. I was stuck next to the vehicle I was attempting to pass and almost struck by oncoming traffic. Engine light was flashing and then went off after about 2 miles. Everyday since, the engine light is lit solid at all times. Taking vehicle in for service tomorrow morning to see what they say. After reading complaints on-line related to the same issue, seems as though I will not be happy about what they are going to tell me.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #203

Dec 272013

F-150

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving approximately 80 mph, there was a sudden loss of engine power and the vehicle began to shake violently. The check engine warning light was also illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the coils and plugs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 36,000.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #202

Dec 222013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 16,800 miles
I have a 2012 Ford F150 ecoboost, when accelerating in rainy conditions the vehicle loses power and begins to vibrate. The problem doesn't correct itself until the engine is shut off and restarted. This is approximately the 10th time this has occurred since the beginning of this year. I have brought the vehicle in for repairs on four separate occasions and had both tsb's performed the only fix my vehicle has not received is the new catalytic converter. The most recent time occurred since the newest tsb was performed.

- Fort Rucker, AL, USA

problem #201

Jul 062013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 11,500 miles
Ecoboost engine: 7/06/13 first time after driving 90 miles on I-10, pulled off in rest area. When getting back on the interstate, went to accelerate to match traffic and engine fell on it's nose, felt like a stall then bucked, misfired, lost all power. When lifting off accelerator engine returned to normal. Attempting to accelerate again, engine lost power again. It felt like either bad gas or ignition failure. Was able to get truck up to speed using cruise control. With a light accelerator touch, was able to make in home from pensacola to winter haven, fl. Filled up with different fuel and problem seemed to go away, so I did not take it to dealer. Second occurrence 11/16/13 while heading to pensacola after driving several hours (70-75mph), when passing a semi going uphill on I-10, faster traffic was approaching from behind, so I attempted to accelerate to get around the semi to clear the left lane. Engine fell on it's nose once again, stalled, misfired, shook and lost power. The traffic was upon us in seconds. I was able to get truck back up to speed by gently using cruise. This time took truck back to dealer. They installed a "shield or partition" in the charge-air and did a reprogram. Current mileage is 14,800. Dealer did not seem confident that this was the fix. We will see.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #200

Oct 012013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2012 Ford F-150 with the ecoboost engine. While slowly accelerating at higher speeds (generally around 50 to 70 mph), the engine misses terribly on multiple cylinders and the truck jerks and lunges violently all while losing power and speed. It happens frequently, but most often when slowly accelerating to maintain speed up a hill or pass another vehicle. The loss of power is extremely dangerous, especially while passing other vehicles on a highway.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #199

Oct 182013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
I was on a highway going 65 mph, the conditions were drizzle/very humid, roughly 90 degrees outside. There was a slow car in front of me so I got in the on coming traffics lane to pass the car, but when I stomped on the gas pedal there was no response. My truck wouldn't accelerate so I pushed it a few more times and still nothing. There was a car coming and I almost got hit head on because of this incident and probably would've been badly injured had I not gotten back in my lane just before the car passed. The engine returned to normal after about 20 seconds and I was able to accelerate and finally get around the car. This is only 1 of the 5 times it has happened in this specific vehicle, its happened to me three times, and twice when I've loaned the truck to my father. It only happens in humid or rainy conditions and I'm guessing has something to do with the intercooler. But I'm not an auto guy so I wouldn't know. I called Ford corporate and they said go to the dealer, the dealer didn't see any codes that were thrown during these incidents so they said they could not help me. It was [xxx], and Ford needs to step up and help us who have defected ecoboost engines. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #198

Dec 042013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 50,223 miles
Engine lost power at 55 miles an hour pulling a light trailer merging into traffic.

- Williston , TN, USA

problem #197

Nov 052013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Loss of power during acceleration. Entire truck vibrating. Was in the passing lane in heavy traffic and bogged down. Vibration stopped when letting off gas pedal. Started right back as soon as I tried to speed up again. After a few times it went away.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #196

Nov 172013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 9,654 miles
Leaving so cal on I-15 in dry conditions cruise control set at 70. While climbing the cahon pass the truck felt like the engine died. The cruise control shut off and the vehicle shook and went into the limp home mode. It was early and traffic was light so I was able to pull to the side of the road. When I came to a stop the ck engine light, a wrench symbol along with the stability control symbol were all illuminated. I shut the truck off, got out and did a vehicle walk around nothing obvious on the outside so I popped the hood checked the fluids, belts etc. And everything looked fine. Got back in the truck started it and all the lights had cleared. Drove the remaining 300 miles home without any further problems. Took it to my local Ford dealer and had it checked, they couldn't find anything wrong Friday 22 Nov 2013 wife and I headed back to so cal it was raining for the first 200 miles then cleared up. I set the cruise at 75 and less than 50 miles later the truck did the same thing, same exact symptoms and dash symbols, I was in the right lane at the time so it wasn't a problem getting in the emergency lane. Stopped the truck shut it down and ran the same checks that I'd done previously, same result symbols cleared and the truck ran fine. 100 miles later it did it again in victorville ca. This time I was in the center lane and almost got rear ended by another vehicle. Worked my way to the right lane and luckily there was and exit. Found a place to stop and shut the engine off, didn't bother to check anything just left it off for about a minute then started it and it ran fine although the engine light remained on. Found a Ford dealer and tried to get them to check it out for me, but they said they couldn't get to it for at least 3 hours. Wife and I decided we would turn around and head for home, no further problems on the trip home.

- Mesquite, NV, USA

problem #195

Nov 222013

F-150

  • 27,302 miles
I experienced a sudden loss of power in my 2012 Ford F150 super crew with ecoboost engine.. this happened 3 times on 11-22-13 at interstate speeds, I was unable to pass slower vehicles that were running below the posted speed limit. Each time I tried to accelerate past in the passing lane the vehicle shook violently and it was as though I had run out of fuel. As soon as I took my foot off the accelerator pedal the truck would run again. The 3rd time this happened a semi truck was barreling up behind me and there was a semi on the side of me, I noticed the semi beside me moving into my lane and tried to accelerate to get clear and the semi behind me almost ran me down as my vehicle lost power and I had to pull over. This time I had to shut off the engine and restart it for the vehicle to run right again. After the 3rd time my truck went from getting 18 mpg to 12.3 mpg and ran rough as though it was cutting out. The weather was rainy and the vehicles ahead of me were throwing up quite a bit of moisture. I took the truck to the Ford dealer the next day 11-23-13 and they kept the truck for repairs. I am concerned as I and my wife could have very easily been killed of maimed yesterday because of this engine failure. If this happens to some family, they could have a fatal accident and I don't want that on my conscience. If this is a recurring problem maybe there should be a recall to fix these trucks. Thank you for your consideration.

- St. Johns, AZ, USA

problem #194

Oct 272013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 12,500 miles
I was on a trip from Oklahoma to Florida. I stopped for gas in Louisiana. When I got on to the on ramp to return to the interstate I floored the gas pedal to get in front of a semi truck, and it lost all power almost being hit by semi truck. After my trip I took my pickup truck to my Ford dealer to have it checked out.they told me they can not find anything wrong with it. This is a very dangerous problem that needs to be fixed. Me and my wife could have been killed if the semi truck did not have room to move over to miss us.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #193

May 032013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
On 2 separate occasions, approximately 3 months apart while in hard acceleration attempting to merge on an interstate on-ramp, vehicle began to shudder violently and lose power. In first instance, I was able to merge in the left lane and let off the accelerator. As vehicle coasted, the shudder subsided and within 1 minute stopped all together. In the second instance, when the vehicle lost power, traffic conditions would not allow me to merge and I was forced to coast along the shoulder of the road until the shudder subsided and power was resumed. In neither situation, did the vehicle go into safe mode or the check engine light appear. Vehicle simply resumed normal operation.

- Mt Zion, IL, USA

problem #192

Nov 012013

F-150 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
I live in lake geneva, wi. I was driving home from work in the rain and had a truck pull out in front of me when I was going 70 mph. I was unable to slow down, so I hit the gas pedal. The truck stalled completely and would not accelerate. It felt the truck missed the down shift and never went back into gear. It was raining at the time of the incident around 630 pm. Was just scary as I had a semi behind me and another vehicle to my right that I was trying to avoid. The truck is a 2012 F150 lariat with the ecoboost engine.

- Lake Geneva, WI, USA

problem #191

Nov 012013

F-150

  • 15,400 miles
When accelerating from a stop in a right hand turn, the truck lost power and began to sputter and misfire. This is the 4th time this has happened to this F-150 off road 4X4 with ecoboost since I purchased it brand new. After the second time it happened, the check engine light came on so I took it to the dealer. The fix was a deflector plate installed for the twin turbo. They did not replaced the cac (charge air cooler). I was told this would most definitely fix the issue. Clearly, this did not fix the issue since I experienced the same issue yesterday. This is a potentially dangerous situation as I was turning onto very busy M59 in howell. I turned in front of a semi. Thank goodness I had enough room since I had no acceleration after the turn. Had I not given myself enough room and chanced it, the semi may not have been able to slow down in time. This vehicle should be recalled and Ford should discontinue making the ecoboost engine until they get it right.

- Cheboygan, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?