Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,504 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford F-250 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford F-250:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford F-250 Owner Comments

problem #18

Jun 252012


  • 3,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-250. While driving 40 mph, the front end of the vehicle shook and became difficult to control. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the drag link and the ball joints needed to be replaced. The vehicle also needed a front end alignment. The repairs were done; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,000.

- Hellam, PA, USA

problem #17

Nov 172015


  • 124,000 miles
Bought vehicle with 89,000 miles in 2013; currently have 124,000 miles. About 3 months ago, vehicle started a shake in steering, lasting 1-2 seconds, whenever a large pothole/bump on 11/17/2015, while driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle started the "death wobble", lasting approximately 30 seconds, until the vehicle got slowed down below 30 mph. Continued to work, keeping the speed below 60 mph, and then the same on the way home, and problem didn't occur. Vehicle has stock tires, and no additional lifts.

- Springfield, OH, USA

problem #16

Oct 252015


  • 36,172 miles
Driving at highway speeds of 55 - 65mph and hit a slight bump in the road the entire front end of the vehicle shakes uncontrollably. In order to get this to stop you must slam on the brakes to bring the speed down to 15 - 20 mph. Ford dealership service adviser and mechanic acknowledge this issue exists and has since 2005 but there isn't any resolution for the issue. My vehicle has been in the shop 3 different times for over a month in total time. Ford region customer service manager states the issue is the road. I find it odd there are may other Ford truck owners with the same issue.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #15

Oct 242015


  • 49,000 miles


The vehicle's engine will stall (cut off) without any indication or notice during motion or at a stop. This has happened at city speeds (less than 25 mph) and at highway speeds (greater than 55 mph) the vehicle will not immediately start but may start after standing for some time. This causes power steering, power brakes and other important safety features to be degraded or lost.

- Romney, WV, USA

problem #14

Oct 222015


  • 28,000 miles
While driving down straight down the highway about 50 mph. I crossed a bridge expansion joint and the front of the pickup shook violently. I had to apply the brakes firmly and pull to the shoulder quickly. I thought the front end of the truck was coming apart and I was going to wreck. This had never happened before and there was no warning prior to the event. I had been driving about 20 miles before this occur. It happened again several days later. I only have 28K miles on it. My friend later told me this was the 'death wobble' and that he had it on his F250-2012. He said it required replacement of a suspension bar(track bar) on the front of the truck which I had done. No further problem have been noted since replaced..1 week ago. The shop where I had the work done said they have fixed about 70 trucks and it will occur again when the ball joint on the bar wears out again. I have a king ranch model with 20 inch tires that may be a contributing factor. Other people I know with F250S and 18 inch tires have not noticed this problem.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #13

Dec 162014

F-250 4WD 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The truck went into a wobbling front wheel situation when I hit an irregular pavement stretch. It has also happened when you go over an expansion joint on a bridge or hit a bump or pothole at freeway speeds.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #12

Nov 212014

F-250 4WD 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


I was driving the speed limit of 65 mph on the interstate, when the truck went over a rough spot in the road and began to shake uncontrollably. I could not steer do the steering wheel and the front of the truck shaking so violently. I managed to get the truck slowed down quickly and over onto the median. I stopped and got out to check around and under the vehicle and found nothing. As I attempted to get up to speed and merge back onto the highway the truck started shaking again. After getting up to about 50 mph it smoothed out. I took the truck to discount tire and had the wheels rebalanced and the front checked with no problems noted. The truck has done this about 4 or 5 more times since and it always after you go over a rough spot in the road. The vehicle shakes so bad that you cannot control it and you have to stand on the brake to slow it down enough to be able to steer it. This can result in a major accident or death!!! I have also had problems with the transmission since the truck was new. When it shifts from 1st to 2nd sometimes there is a long delay where the throttle is pushed down and the truck does nothing for approximately 5 seconds, this has occurred numerous times in intersections and can cause you to be struck in the side. I have had the truck to the shop 3 times and they changed the transmission body and the transmission pump and it still continues to have the problem...

- Crossroads, TX, USA

problem #11

Dec 032014

F-250 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I currently own a 2012 F-250 lariat 6.7 liter diesel and I started having what some may call a "death wobble" on my front end sometimes it's not that bad but at other times from 40-60mph it gets so bad I have to pull over. I'm so frustrated with it and im even afraid to let my wife drive it in fear that something bad may happen one day. Ford deliberately refuses to recognize the problem and tries to offer bandaids for the problem I need this fixed because I didn't spend 70K on a truck that I'm afraid to drive. Please do something before a lawsuit I join a lawsuit and get this matter taken above everyone else's heads. This is something that thousands of people are experiencing just by looking online.

- Crawfordsville , AR, USA

problem #10

Jan 172015

F-250 4WD 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
While driving on the 400 just East of augesta Kansas the truck suddenly developed a "death wobble". it is called by other names as well, the steering started shaking uncontrollable and have to bring the truck to a stop. This was the second it in three weeks it hardened. It is at the deals hip now and can not find the cause. This seems to be common with the model of truck. This is very dangerous and needs to be addressed. Ford must take action and not wait as long as Jeep took to admit their is the problem I order to fix.

- Leon, KS, USA

problem #9

Jun 302014

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • 26,865 miles
New 2012 Ford F250, Super Duty, 4X4, crew cab truck, purchased 11/2013. Approx. 1 month prior, the truck began having a vibration at highway speeds (75% highway driving, 25% city). The vibration got worse over the course of a day. The 2nd day the front passenger tire exhibited a large bulge (tread separation) on the inside two tread grooves. Ford replaced the tire, with another of the same brand and model. On 6/30/2014, the front driver tire, with no warning, developed the same issue, a large bulge in the inside tread grooves. The tires are Continental Contitrac LT275/65R18 123/120S tires, dot# A3B9 479B 2511. Both tires had very little tire wear and the wear was even across the tire surface, the tires showed no sign of potential failure. I did get to see the inside of the second failed tire, there did not appear to be any damage except the cord separation which was not visible from either the inside or outside of the tire; I did take photos. I contacted Ford┐'s corporate number and awaiting a call from the dealer┐'s service manager, and regional service manager in reference to this safety concern. Ford did state they would contact NHTSA; Ford reference number cas04645143-Z4T8T9. Each time I have to replace the Continental tire under warranty Ford has to locate the tire and it is not easy to locate. In addition, every new Ford F250 on the dealers lot has another name brand tire, which I believe indicates Ford has issue with the Continental tires. I searched the NHTSA data base and found almost the exact same incident; NHTSA id# 10568111. I also found numerous similar complaints about the tire model. I attempted to contact Continental, case #[xxx], the call taker read from a script and could offer no help. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Palm Springs, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 232013


  • 8,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Ford F-250. The contact stated that while traveling various speeds, the contact had to turn the steering wheel excessively in order to maneuver the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Felton, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 142014

F-250 8-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
This incident occurred on Saturday, June 14, 2014: Road conditions were dry, temperature 75 degrees. Extremely dramatic wheel wobbling. Traveling on interstate, approximately 65 mph, drove over several small bumps in the road when the shaking and wobbling started. Truck started veering into left lane of interstate. We thought our wheels were coming off due how violent this action was. Gently applied brakes, and shaking/wobbling subsided around 30 mph and pulled off of the interstate. First thing accomplished was going around and checking each tire to see if they were loose. They were secure. Have an appointment tomorrow morning, June 17, 2014 at the Ford dealership where truck was purchased. To say we were terrified is an understatement.

- Elkview, WV, USA

problem #6

May 032014

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • 39,000 miles
2012 F250 with the death wobble in the front end. Driving truck down highway at 70 mph and the front end just start to shake and feel like the front end is coming out from under the truck. Had to almost come to a complete stop before it would stop shaking. Take truck to Ford to get fixed and I'm told that it will not be cover under warranty. The two front ball joints go out and the track bar at 39K miles. They tell me that it is not cover under the power train warranty. From what I'm told Ford know this is a problem and has not fixed it yet.

- Charlotte , NC, USA

problem #5

Dec 202013

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • 45,000 miles
I was safely operating my Ford F 250 on a concrete bridge in pine island Florida. I was traveling @ 63 mph and was making a slight left bend. The truck crossed an expansion joint and went into uncontrollable violent oscillation of suspension and steering. The oscillation was such that the steering wheel was difficult to hold on to and my first thought was multiple flat tires or a wheel came off the vehicle. Hard braking to under 30 mph was what was required to stabilize steering to "normal". that was the first time this occurred and I discussed with my service adviser at the Ford dealership that I purchased the truck from. I inspected vehicle and could see no damage of obvious problems. I monitor tire pressure regularly, have no modifications to suspension or steering on vehicle. The next time this occurred 12/26/13, I was traveling approx. 65 mph and again was in a slight left hand turn and crossed an expansion joint near birmingham Alabama on highway 65. I was surrounded by dense 65 mph traffic and the truck was uncontrollable. This time there was a near accident as I has a semi tractor trailer both close behind me and to the right side of me. Once again I had to brake rapidly to avoid crossing lanes putting my family at risk of serious accident. This is a hazardous condition and the dealer has no explanation. The force is violent enough that it could easily damage parts of the truck. As a side note, the fuel pump came apart and slung metal fragments throughout the fuel system in truck within one hour of the violent oscillation.

- Apalachicola, FL, USA

problem #4

Nov 242013

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Violent shaking of entire truck (requiring driver to pull off highway/roads - at risk) - speed approx ~45-70mph highway/or back roads. This incident (upon research) is known and called the 'death wobble'. this issue causes a full loss of control of the vehicle. There is a known issue here (search internet on Ford 250 death wobble for video evidence - many instances) Ford must take corrective action. I now have a 2012 vehicle which is not safe to drive. Issue is ongoing and occurred on many dates many times ex. Driving approximately 5-7 miles home from groton ct to niantic ct - forced to pull off to side of highway 3 out of the 4 times the 'death wobble' ensued.

- Niantic, CT, USA

problem #3

Jul 302013


  • 32,000 miles
I was driving down the road and hit a small seam in the road at approx. 60 mph after hitting the small seam my whole truck began shaking violently to a point where I had no control over the vehicle. Once this happened I began reducing speed and as the speed was reduced the shaking was reduced as well. I had to come to a complete stop in order to stop the shaking. Once stopped the truck drove fine for a week then did it again and since has done it in the two week following. The dealership looked at it and said they could see nothing wrong and that everything was tight.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #2

Jan 152013

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • 37,000 miles
While driving 60 mph, truck hit irregularities in the road. Vehicle started shaking violently and lost control of the steering. Vehicle had to be slowed to 10-15 mph before the shaking stopped. No accident or injury occurred on this incident. Truck was taken to dealer and track bar assy / bushing was replaced. The second serious incident was @ 48,000 miles a mere 11,000 miles later. While traveling 55-60 mph through a left hand curve and crossing another irregularity in the road (bridge-pavement joint) the truck again began shaking violently and caused the vehicle to go into the oncoming lane of traffic where a log truck was traveling. The log truck was able to get on the shoulder of the road in time to prevent an accident. Again the truck had to be slowed to almost a complete stop before the shaking stopped. Truck was taken to dealer again and the only thing replaced was the track bar bushing. This vehicle is not safe!

- West Monroe, LA, USA

problem #1

Jul 182012

F-250 8-cyl Diesel

  • 35 miles
Traveling on bumpy roads at 55 to 60 mph the front end will start to shake so violently that in order to maintain control I had to brake and pull to the side of the road. This happened several times in a day and I took the truck into a Ford dealer in Minnesota. This dealership put a dampener on the front end and I thought it was solved. However, the problem has started again in Jan of 2013. This is a very serious shake and I feel it will cause a accident if not resolved.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?