Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,521 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-350 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-350 Owner Comments

problem #13

May 012015


  • 83,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-350. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly shut off and on several occasions would not start. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who determined that the fuel injection control module wire harness needed to be replaced. The contact notified the manufacturer, who explained that the harness was replaced in 2005 under NHTSA campaign number: 05V270000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Pelaski, TN, USA

problem #12

Mar 012016


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-350. While driving the vehicle, it experienced a complete loss of power. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the wiring harness was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was remedied under NHTSA campaign number: 07E066000 (equipment). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Pulaski, TN, USA

problem #11

Jun 102014

F-350 4WD 8-cyl

  • 176,253 miles
Shortly after starting from a stop the vehicle lost power and had to be towed to repair shop. Problem diagnosed and repaired as replacing the PCM and reflash of the onboard computer.

- Woodland Park, CO, USA

problem #10

Jun 132014

F-350 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-350. The contact stated that while at a stop, the vehicle surged forward. The contact also stated excessive force was applied to the brake pedal when making a stop. In addition, the vehicle stalled on multiple occasions. The vehicle was able to restart. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that an oil change and the icp sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 05V270000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 18,000. Updated 9/12/14 updated 1/27/15

- Ennis, TX, USA

problem #9

Jun 242011


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-350. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, who stated that the computer module would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred the following day and the vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the computer module was replaced a second time but to no avail. The dealer then replaced the fuse box as but the repair did not prevent the failure from recurring. Additionally, the turn signals, daytime running lights and the tail lights had become inoperable. The contact called the manufacture in regard to NHTSA campaign id number: 11V352000 (exterior lighting) and was advised that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Wonder Lake, IL, USA

problem #8

Dec 202013

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 111,000 miles
For unknown reasons on 12/20/13 at 0030 hrs my truck caught on fire as it sat in my driveway. I drove the truck last on 12/14/13. The fire started in the engine compartment on the drivers side. I have owned the truck for about 8 months and it had 105000 miles on it when I purchased it. The fire department advised it could be due to some type of electrical issue near the master cylinder. I told them that I have not done any work under the hood in months and that was oil/filter change. Still under investigation.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #7

Jul 042012


  • 86,520 miles


While driving down interstate drivers window for no reason just fell down causing a load crashing noise I nearly went into ditch. Two days later the drivers rear window did samething. I was not rolling windows up or down they just fell can Ford admit they have problem before someone gets injured.

- Burlington, IA, USA

problem #6

Nov 042010

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 89,000 miles
My 2004 Ford F-350 6.0 diesel. Hesitate or surges while driving, and/or the engine may stall while driving at all speeds including highway speed, will lose power steering and brakes and when at a stop it will lunge forward. The engine may or may not restart after stall. I feel that this is a great safety concern I have almost lost control of my vehicle on a few occasions while towing my boat and going around corners. I have heard of other people having the same problems with their 2004 6.0 diesels. Please help!

- Helper, UT, USA

problem #5

Jun 152004

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Since new vehicle purchase, my Ford F350 diesel P/U experienced engine surging (200-250 RPM) while stopped with the automatic transmission in drive. The surge was significant enough to lurch the truck forward with the brake applied, such as at a stoplight. In several cases, I almost rear ended other vehicles before applying the brake hard enough to stop the truck from moving forward. I later learned to anticipate the surge using the brakes to minimize movement of the truck while stopped. My surging problem was confirmed on multiple occasions by technicians during test rides, but they could not duplicate the problem in the shop. In all cases, the first step was to reflash the ECM which masked the problem for several days while the truck relearned my driving habits and prevented a diagnosis. The engine had to be operated at full temperature in road conditions before the problem developed. In the shop, idling the engine to warm up to normal operating temperature was not sufficient to replicate the problem. Ford dealers made multiple attempts (10 or more) to diagnose the problem: Replacing injector control pressure (icp) module, egr valve, and icp wiring connectors to no avail. The problem was finally diagnosed and corrected, out of warranty at approx. 44,500 miles, by replacing the engine wiring harness. I found a dealer who was willing to send a technician on a test ride with me and hook up an onboard computer laptop that identified the problem before reflashing the computer ECM. A number of surging complaints from other owners of Ford F350 are posted in online forums documenting similar circumstances and frustration. The incident date provided is the approximate date of the first occurrence. In my case, the surging occurred on a near daily basis, although intermittently, for 41000 miles of driving without any resolution from Ford. The engine wiring harness was replaced in Feb 2009 which corrected the surging in my truck. I paid a $100 deductible.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #4

Oct 032005

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The vehicle stalled on three different occasions. The vehicle had been taken to the dealership numerous times. The consumer was not sure if they had replaced anything on the vehicle. The vehicle would surge at times or would completely stall. This started on March 1, 2004. There was no warning or noise until the problem had actually occurred. The consumer contacted the manufacturer, and the manufacturer referred him to the dealer. The dealer stated that this was an electronic problem..

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 252004

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles


Under acceleration between 25 and 45 mph the vehicle loses power. There is hesitation when vehicle accelerates. It is as though it bogs down and can not gain any speed. Also, a large amount of black smoke was expelled from the exhaust. When this occurs the truck comes to crawl in middle of traffic, and happens mostly in stop and go traffic, as well as on interstate. Took vehicle to a dealer 4 times for this problem within 28,000 miles. Dealership could not find anything wrong, but did trouble shooting repairs to the computer, and then replaced the turbo. Dealer admitted they did not know how to fix or diagnose this problem. Consumer has not contacted the manufacturer at this time. No other repairs were done or issues outside of this probekm occurred.

- Chantilly, VA, USA

problem #2

Apr 202004

F-350 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
While driving at any speed vehicle stalled. Consumer was unable to restart vehicle, and it was towed to the dealer for inspection numerous times. Mechanic determined that computer needed to be replaced, and replaced it. However, problem recurred.

- Black Hawk, CO, USA

problem #1

Jan 022004

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
While driving 62 mph, the vehicle stalled. The driver was able to restart the vehicle and drove to the dealer for analysis. The mechanic could not resolve the problem. The cruise control was engaged when the vehicle stalled. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem.

- Coulee Dam, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?