Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,475 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Ford F-350 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Ford F-350 Owner Comments

problem #6

Jun 092012

F-350

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-350 sd equipped with mickey thompson baja mtz tires, size 395/75/16. The contact was driving 40 mph when the rear passenger tire exploded. The contact stated that there were several narrow cuts on the inside sidewall of the tire. The cuts were also present on the front and rear driver's side tires. The contact had not taken the vehicle to a mechanic or the dealer for inspection or repair. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate current and failure mileages were 80,000.

- Fairview, NC, USA

problem #5

Oct 182011

F-350

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a set of nitto mud grappler tires, size 35/14/16, that were equipped on a 2004 Ford F-350. While traveling 40 mph, the contact noticed that the front driver side tire had a sudden blowout. After examining the tire the contact noticed that the tire was split in several areas. The tires were not diagnosed for the failure. The current and the failure mileages were 14,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 04/18/12...updated 05/09/12 the consumer stated all of the tires had cracks on the inside of the side walls. Updated 01/09/13 updated 01/22/2013

- Plam Dale, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 232010

F-350 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,051 miles
General tires - ameritrac mts lt 235/85R16 - on 9/23/2010 we were driving on I-75 in 2004 Ford F-350 Super Duty dually - the left front treat separated from the tire, the tire didn't loose tire pressure, but it came apart. It damaged the left front fender, front bumper, and driver side door. These tires had over half of the tread remaining. Luckily we were able to keep control of the vehicle.

- Ponte Vedra Beach, FL, USA

problem #3

Jun 132009

F-350 4WD 8-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 6-13-09 I had a tire explode on my 2004 Ford F350 Super Duty pickup truck while driving on the northeast extension of the pa turnpike. We were pulling a 5th wheel trailer loaded with atv's and my husband and I had our 11 year old niece and 12 year old nephew with us. We struck a minivan. The minivan incurred damage to passenger side rear quarter panel. Our truck incurred damage to the driver's side front quarter panel, the driver's side front door, the front bumper, the ABS sensor, and the running board. The tire was sent to a forensic lab and the report indicates that the general americtech tire was not only manufactured incorrectly but was also designed incorrectly. I had to replace 7 tires on my truck as I felt the ameritech's were not safe.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #2

Jun 062008

F-350

  • 54,800 miles
We have a Ford F350 4X4 dully with general ameri-trac tires. Was traveling on I-20 interstate with cruise set on 70. All of a sudden it started snowing rubber. Though tire never went flat, it caused $2,540 in damage to the vehicle, and a very scared woman whose presence of mind averted a life-threatening calamity the tires are the original with plenty of tread still on the tire. There were no injuries. Load range E LT235/85R16. Is there a recall on these tires? by our inspection, and our customary maintenance of these tires and vehicle, no cause for this near calamity existed, except the tire itself.

- Kershaw, SC, USA

problem #1

Jun 182005

F-350 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer experienced three blows out in short period of time. The first blow out occurred on the passenger side. The second occurred on the passenger rear tire and 50 miles later the other one on the drivers side rear blew out.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Not what you are looking for?