Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,200 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford F-350 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford F-350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford F-350 Owner Comments

problem #15

Aug 232013

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 67,532 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Customer satisfaction program 08B06 was issued by Ford in December 2008. This notice expired in June 30, 2009. I recently purchased the vehicle within the last year. The same issue has developed that was identified in the above bulletin. The previous owner did not get the service performed and now Ford will not honor the bulletin. This issue should be a recall issue or the Ford customer satisfaction bulletin should be reopened or recreated. This is with regards to engine coolant leak and a known deficiency within the cooling system.

- Shiloh, NJ, USA

problem #14

Aug 232013

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 67,532 miles
Failure of flexible joint in the exhaust up-pipe creates a fatal safety hazard for all occupants of the vehicle. Exhaust gases leak from the failed joint and enter the cab of the truck through the heater vents. This can cause the occupants to be overcome by exhaust gases while driving, leading to a fatality. There have been several complaints identified in Ford blogs with regards to this and nothing has been done to correct this.

- Shiloh, NJ, USA

problem #13

Oct 132012

F-350 10-cyl

  • 39,080 miles
Upon inspection of this vehicle, our mechanic found the automatic dipstick tube rusted in half on the right side of the engine. At the bracket that bolts to the exhaust manifold. We believe this to be a potential fire /safety hazard if some one was to fill or check the transmission while the engine is hot. We also found the right side shock tower severely degraded because of rust. The top of the tower has large pieces of rust scale on top of the tower that we feel could possibly allow the coil spring pressure to fracture the steel and cause a loss of steering. I have not seen this much corrosion on a truck this new. We have taken pictures and can be E-mailed if needed. This vehicle has been removed from service until it can be repaired. This is a city of allentown, pa fleet vehicle.

- Allentown, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 012009

F-350

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-350. The contact was driving 30 mph when white smoke emitted from the exhaust. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle entered into an abnormal safe mode. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 4,000 and the current mileage was 27,000.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #11

Mar 202012

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 95,267 miles
Vehicle was sitting at idle when blew upper radiator hose. I replaced hose due to Ford excessive charge to replace one hose, was not notified that due to the loss of fluid. Radiators hot cold cycles were effected, so radiator was effected and created a crack in radiator due to constantly cycling due to the loss of fluid created from defective hose. Now Ford will not cover the radiator due to service managers lack of informing client to keep hose for Ford corporate to review. Other problems that arose blown motor.

- Corpus Christi , TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 292011

F-350 8-cyl Diesel

  • 72,410 miles
Was driving to work on a major highway when all of a sudden the truck stalled and quite running. After having the vehicle towed into a Ford dealership they determined that 2 fuel injectors along with the fuel pressure regulator were bad. After further research they determined it was caused by corrison in the fuel tank. They said Ford would not stand behind the problem as they blamed it on the diesel fuel. We buy the same diesel fuel that other trucks use and they do not seem to have this problem. It is bought at reputable gas stations. Fortunately we were able to get the truck off the road this time and not cause any accidents. This should be a recall issue backed by Ford Motor Company instead of a money maker for them. After researching the internet this is a very common problem and needs to be addressed and make Ford responsible for the problem before someone gets hurt.

- Aurora, MO, USA

problem #9

Aug 092011

F-350

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2008 F-350 superduty diesel powered truck at 45 mph for approx 2 miles, received message " "stop safely now" and complete power down of engine. The truck decelerated so fast that had we not been passing a pull off lane we would have been stuck in the middle of the driving lane. The whole incident happened in less than 10 seconds. After getting over to side of road, engine would not crank over and was not allowed to restart until after the engine either cooled down or timed out (didn't try for about an hour later). By time tow truck arrived, we had gotten the engine to start but did not feel it safe to try and move the vehicle as we had no idea how far it would go or if it would happen again. Truck was in shop serviced for 60,000 and had latest Ford recall for reprogramming completed less than 30 miles prior to incident. We were told there was a tech bulletin out on this problem but it was not covered under the engine warranty so we had to pay out of pocket. The fix is only half the issue; 10-15 second is not enough warning to safely pull off the road. If we had been pulling our travel trailer, we would not even been able to get as far as we did. This is the second time a tech bulletin issue has happened to us (prior issue was with a pressure valve on the radiator that caused the radiator to split) Ford should inform us of potential problems so we can be aware of possible issues before they happen, not driving down the road.

- Littleton, NC, USA

problem #8

Sep 022010

F-350 8-cyl

  • 100,345 miles
This vehicle has had a radiator failure. We had the dealer diagnose and repair. Every truck in our fleet of 7 F-350's has had radiator failures and Ford refuses to warrant the repairs. On this vehicle the radiator was replaced at 100,345 miles on 9-2-10.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #7

Nov 182010

F-350 8-cyl

  • 60,083 miles
This vehicle has had two radiator failures. We had the dealer diagnose and repair both times. Every truck in our fleet of 7 F-350's has had at least two radiator failures and Ford refuses to warrant the repairs. On this vehicle the first radiator was replaced at 60,083 miles on 7-8-09; the second radiator was replaced at 119,551 miles on 11-18-10.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 262009

F-350 8-cyl

  • 78,475 miles
This vehicle has had a radiator failure. We had the dealer diagnose and repair. Every truck in our fleet of 7 F-350's has had radiator failures and Ford refuses to warrant the repairs. On this vehicle the radiator was replaced at 78,475 miles on 12-26-09.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #5

Apr 302010

F-350 8-cyl

  • 138,005 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle has had two radiator failures. We had the dealer diagnose and repair both times. Every truck in our fleet of 7 F-350's has had at least two radiator failures and Ford refuses to warrant the repairs. On this vehicle the first radiator was replaced at 27,229 miles on 5-27-08; the second radiator was replaced at 138,005 miles on 4-30-10.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #4

Sep 222009

F-350

  • 31,992 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-350. The contact stated that the radiator on the vehicle was leaking. The leak was noticed by the driver after doing a daily inspection of the vehicle. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer nor has it been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 31,992. Updated 02/02/11

- Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #3

Jul 072009

F-350

  • 20,774 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford F350. The contact stated that the radiator failed and was leaking. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who confirmed that the radiator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 20,774. Updated 02/02/11

- Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #2

May 282010

F-350

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford F-350. While driving approximately 50 mph, the service warning indicating that the vehicle was entering regeneration mode illuminated on the dashboard. The vehicle then lost some power and smoke began to emit from under the hood. The vehicle was pulled over and shut off. The contact had the vehicle towed to an authorized dealer where she was informed that the entire engine had melted. The vehicle was then towed to another authorized dealer where it was repaired. The failure did not recur. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 50,500.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #1

Apr 202010

F-350 4WD 10-cyl

  • 31,500 miles
After parking my Ford F-350 crew cab 4X4 with a V-10 engine, I exited the vehicle and circled around to the passenger side where I noticed from the corner of my eye flames in the R front wheel well. Behind the tire. I immediately went inside the building and summoned help and a fire extinguisher (abc). Myself and security personnel did not open the hood. We directed the fire ext. Into the wheel well and there was a sort of backlash and with seconds a paint bubbling hot spot appeared on the hood. We immediately contacted the fire department who responded. Within minutes the engine compartment was completely engulfed in flames and there was flaming under the engine as well. We cleared the area of onlookers as fireman fought the blaze. There were no injuries to myself, the security guard who responded, firemen or onlookers.

- Blackfoot, ID, USA

Not what you are looking for?