Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
113,928 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Freestar drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 2 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #190

Mar 312015


  • 89,637 miles


My van had a recall 11S25 for a faulty torque converter. I had it replaced 8/7/2013 with 72690 miles at huff Ford in wytheville, va. It started having the same symptoms last Tuesday. I had it checked at huff Ford in wytheville, va, they could not duplicate the problem, but it continues to "shudder" at different times. When I asked about the torque converter being covered because of the recall I was told there was only a 12 mo 12000 mile warranty. Is that all Ford is required to do for this continuing torque converter/transmission problem? any help would be appreciated. Thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dublin, VA, USA

problem #189

Feb 232015


  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Freestar. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle jerked and a loud noise was heard near the front of the vehicle. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate as the rpms reduced. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V006000 (power train). The failure mileage was 102,000.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #188

Feb 182015

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 112,090 miles
Vehicle loses power, erratically shifts gears, RPM gauge bounces around and check engine light comes on. I later find that the error code is P1740 (torque converter clutch inductive signature malfunction) after further research I see that there was a recall for this model and year of vehicle for this exact problem yet my specific vehicle is not covered under the recall. I bought this vehicle from a used car dealership and I believe they knew about this problem beforehand and kept it from me, telling me how good and reliable this vehicle is. The vehicle still drives for now but who knows how long and whether any additional damage may be done just by continuing driving it. I bought this because we needed a safe family vehicle and now I'm out all the money I spent on it without enough left to fix it. I obviously can't drive my family around in it and risk it just shutting off in the middle of driving down the road.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #187

Jun 042014


  • 101,000 miles


In 06/2014 my van transmission light came on then went out. I thought it was nothing as time progress I notice that my van was slow and hard shifting. I took it to the nearest transmission auto shop and they told me it was my internal transmission failing. I put it in the shop and the repair cost $1200 to fix. It got it out worked fine for a few days then started back slow and hard shifting again. Took it back to mechanic they said they don't see anything wrong with it. I did this several and had no luck with it. 08/2014 I started having more noticeable electrical problems like dash board lights come on now and then radio resets it self sometimes it wont work at not even the dvd player. The doors wont lock alarm goes off when it wants to and power sliding wont close. So I only drove the van around time limiting my trips contacted Ford no help there. Then winter comes in all of sudden my van works great dash board lights working dvd and radio working fine most importantly my van transmission was shifting properly but then on warmer days it starts to act up again.on 02/16/20015 my children and I was on our way to get groceries for the winter storm that was coming, the lost power and died luckily was close to home that I could pull over start it again and make it home safely. Then today it will not start up at all. Im a single mother of five young daughters and my oldest daughter and I are both disabled. We depend on this vehicle to get back and forth to our doctors appt. Im planning have a mechanic check my PCM and to see if its water damage. But I've notice several fellow Ford owners are going through similar problems. I don't know why Ford not willing to own up to their life threatening mistakes.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #186

Jul 082014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 47,322 miles
Received 3 vehicle service bulletins mfgr campaign #: 11S25. Made appointment for 07/08/14 @ 10:00am with duval Ford 32210 and drove my van there. Duval Ford rented me a hertz vehicle because they could not finish the recall repair. On 07/11/14 duval Ford called me to say my van is ready. Mileage on my van in on 07/08 was 47322, mileage out on 07/11 was 47324. 08/25/14 mileage 47597 called duval Ford my van keeps stalling and shuts off in drive also chugs up on inclines. I had aaa tow in. Duval Ford did in place next morning start up, no road test did say 1 code in system P21 07 rev limiter. I drove home approximately 15 miles no stalling. 09/05/14 mileage 47598 ? as written on service order called duval Ford my complaint upon accelerating van shudders called aaa towed in to duval Ford roadtested found bad shutter, no acceleration, found #3 cyl not firing #5 misfiring, replaced coil pack, spark plugs and wires removed upper intake to service. Charge $780.25 09/25/14 mileage 47834 called duval Ford, aaa towed in, check engine light on and not driving right diagnosis water in the PCM connector resealed top engine cowl, numerous transmission and engine codes on. 10/21/14 mileage 47968 called duval Ford aaa towed in van stalling and won't move when in reverse gear. Diagnosis trans codes in memory U1039, PO713, P1502 voltage spikes when trans upshifts. Etc.. 01/21/15 mileage48536 called duval Ford aaa towed in van stalling shuts off won't move when in reverse. Diagnosis cannot find any problem. Driver returned van to my driveway. No work service order. 01/23/15 mileage 48549 started van would not move when in reverse played with shifter, did go in reverse backed into street shifted into drive, engine lt on, shudders. Drove 50 ft turned around parked it in driveway. Same original problem after recall fix. Time line 197 days and 1225 miles no previous problems.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #185

Jan 252015

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
I was driving on I 95 South in North Carolina over 2 hours from home when the transmission disengaged with no warning. I had to coast to the shoulder and cross one lane of traffic in the process. I am very upset about this because I had 5 children in the van with me at the time. I had to have the vehicle towed to the closest dealership and find my own way home. I researched and found that there is a recall for the torque converter. I called the dealership today and asked if this would be a covered repair because F the recall and they suggested that it would more than likely not be, although they need to diagnose the problem first. The symptoms are consistent with what I have read online for this recall.

- Henderson, NC, USA

problem #184

Apr 092014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles


After having the torque converter recall repair done, the vehicle started having minor transmission problems (though I did not recognize them as that at the time). It would be sluggish in shifting, for example. However, eventually this reached the point that at times I could not place the transmission in reverse. I would be stuck until after going back and forth through the transmission, or turning off and restarting the vehicle, it would eventually engage in reverse. Then this started happening in forward gears also. I assumed it was part of the same transmission issues as in the recall (NHTSA engineering analysis #EA09016), but the dealer said no, it was water in the transmission and a separate issue altogether. No-one can explain why this should happen at 70,000 miles. I think this is related to the original issue or the recall repair and should be covered. It seems NHTSA has two other investigations going on this: NHTSA preliminary evaluation #PE09033 and NHTSA preliminary evaluation #PE10033. I want to add this to the data collection, since I think Ford is responsible.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #183

Nov 282014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 64,288 miles
Water gets into the transmission fluid and the transmission went out - had to be rebuilt for $2656.76. My mechanic and his tranny repairman found the cause of the water entering the fluid and has now fixed the problem. Ford needs to recall these vehicles and have this issue fixed. I was lucky not to have been in an accident when the transmission failed. This is a definite safety issue and Ford needs to stand behind of their product and the safety of all occupants in the 2005 Ford Freestar sel.

- Arbor Vitae, WI, USA

problem #182

Jan 162015

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
I was mid turn when the gas pedal stopped working with a loud grinding sound. It would not shift back into gear and the loud grinding sound still persists.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #181

Dec 242014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 16,953 miles
On christmas eve 2014 I got into my recently purchased 2005 Ford Freestar minivan to run a short errand. After starting my Freestar I put it in reverse but the vehicle would not move. I tried all the forward gears with the same result, the vehicle would not move. The engine RPM's would go up but no movement. I turned the vehicle engine off and on several time with the same results each time. I had to wait till the day after christmas to contact my local Ford dealership service department and describe my problem. They looked up my VIN number and said that all recalls on my vehicle had been done including the torque converter recall. I then had my Freestar towed to the dealership to investigate the problem. Upon investigation it was determined that water had gotten into my powertrain control module, and that is what was causing the problem. They removed the module and dried it and the connector out then reinstalled it and sealed it. After reinstalling the module they then started the vehicle and were able to shift the vehicle into all the gears and get the transmission to fully function, but now there was a service engine light on. The vehicle now would not idle properly and had a hesitation when trying to accelerate. It was determined after further checks that there were fuel codes coming up and that they were related to the PCM getting wet. It was determined that the powertrain control module (which Ford no longer manufactures) would need to be replaced. To fix the problem it would be a cost of $1000 for a re-manufactured module and reprogramming in addition to the $650 that had already been incurred for the work that had been done so far. Note there had been no problems or issues or engine codes on this vehicle till this problem occurred other than a problem one night with the power door locks not working, which corrected itself after restarting the vehicle.

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #180

Dec 022014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles


Pulling out of work parking lot on 12/2/14. Car disengaged from gear and stalled. Pulled vehicle to side of road and attempted restart. Hard starting and stalling. Shifted through all gears. Would not engage reverse. Stalled in dr, 1st and 2nd. Torque converter and transmission recalls for 2004-2005 free stars apparently does not include this Freestar according to lookup website and Ford dealer even though the vehicle is having the same issue. Well taken care of and only 106,000 miles. I'm filing this complaint in hopes of expanding the recall as it obviously applies to my vehicle.

- Columbiana, AL, USA

problem #179

Nov 292014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 141,000 miles
My 2005 Freestar failed to maintain forward speed at 65 miles per hour when it bucked and bucked then stalled looked on line for answer? yes PCM is water damaged trying to dry it out now hope it works sounds like Ford is waiting for someone to get hurt.relocated the PCM and save alot for your company its just right to do tsb isn't doing it please and thank you

- Moravia, IA, USA

problem #178

Nov 182014


  • 134,500 miles
While drive the car will stall out and shut off with no warning. In a normal city block it happened at least two times B.

- Dickson City, PA, USA

problem #177

Nov 102014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
Replaced the converter through Ford recall. I was so impressed with the way this vehicle drove and how comfortable it was I sought to purchase another. However, in my search these vehicles are being sold at private dealers may or may not know about this recall. They are considered "incomplete" running the VIN through NHTSA which means all buyers are being sold a defective vehicle with this safety recall waiting to catch up to them if it ever does"?" why, why why is this not mandatory to recall and repair rather then allow the poor unsuspected buyer to later have to pay because they never knew. Why is there not a disclosure clause like in real estate that if you failed to inform the buyer your responsible to pay for it!!! common sense is all anyone wants even from the govt.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #176

Aug 132014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • miles
After starting vehicle normally, I put it in drive, but the vehicle would not move forward. It would go in reverse. Mechanic: Torque converter, camshaft synchronizer, oil filter. 2nd incident same as 1st. Mechanic: Oil pressure switch, engine brain box (programmed at Ford dealership). 3rd incident same. Mechanic: Replaced alternator. 4th incident same. Mechanic currently has it. Computer is telling him it's the wiring harness.

- Dixon, IL, USA

problem #175

Aug 132013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 104,366 miles
I had the torque converter recall work done on my van, since then problems in forward motion began to happen. I have taken the van to the dealership to find out what was wrong and every time was told they could not duplicate the problem so it could be fixed. The problem continued to become worse to the point it became a danger to drive because of loss of forward motion. I had no choice but to take it to a transmission shop that duplicated the problem and also received a code. I instructed the transmission be inspected and found contamination of metallic material in the transmission. I called every one at the dealership and Ford to find out why the transmission filter was not replaced when the recall work was done and was told Ford did not include replacing the filter even when the recall was because of improperly hardened part. No help.

- Ocoee, FL, USA

problem #174

Feb 072014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 250,000 miles
The light for the powertrain malfunction started flashing after we had the alternator changed. Do not know if it was just a coincidence but the speedometer also stopped working.

- Pleasantville, IA, USA

problem #173

Jul 272014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Ford tsb 6-14-10, issued July 24, 2006 (wet PCM /connectors) parked in driveway in a rain/windstorm.. vehicle wouldn't start. Or stay running.. engine codes with code reader P0340 camshaft sensor malfunction.. water intrusion evidence visible on the PCM connector area.... this issuer has been known to happen to many people while driving with complete engine failure..

- Edmonton, ID, USA

problem #172

Jul 132014

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 162,000 miles
Driving home van starting shuttering violently then shut off while still rolling lost all power, was safely able to get to side of road. Told issue cost 1500 to fix seen Ford service bulletin on defect of water getting to PCM on internet.

- Ferndale, MI, USA

problem #171

May 212014


  • miles
In the beginning (5/21/14), our 2005 Ford Freestar van decelerated to about 35 mph, then stalled 3 times, then wouldn't go in reverse or drive, hard to start after sitting in rain. At first, was told transmission by repair shop, who had rebuilt 6 mos earlier, then said PCM.. after research, found PCM gets wet, had replaced & still at Ford dealer almost 2 mos later..they replaced torque converter (recall), throttle position sensor (6/19/14) & cam sensor (6/12/14) because "PCM" told them they were bad after we paid for another PCM to be ordered shield which we have to pay for. This occurs intermittently, and, noticed after it rains. Service manager now said this morning (7/16/14) he thinks fuses in fuse box by battery on driver side (after we called to let him know wouldn't go in reverse)..he came to our home & couldn't get van to start, after starting, wouldn't go into reverse or drive, stalled again, wouldn't start. We have given him a lot of information, including a you tube video explaining the problem & how to fix, but he does not believe us. Ford needs to recall these as this is a manufacturing defect before someone is killed or injured when vehicle stalls going 70 mph on expressway or maybe they already have, they just weren't aware of the problem. If it stalls on the expressway or going down a hill, the power steering and brakes go out..Ford issued a tsb in 2004... date reported: December 13 2004 NHTSA reference: #10014086 tsb reference: #042107 description: General (PCM) power train control module programming procedures. Repair information for NHTSA #10014086 date reported: November 01 2004 NHTSA reference: #10013369 tsb reference: #04217

- Milford, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?