Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
96,598 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Ford Freestar drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Ford Freestar Owner Comments (Page 6 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Jul 092012


  • 93,000 miles


I got into my van, after dropping my mom off and was during approximately 15 miles am hour, got half way down her street when I heard this strange noise, like the sound of ron's revving on a race car or something. Than. My RPM gage was going all the way up and down. It was moving pretty slow, and I got scared and pulled over and put it in park and shut it down. I than tried to start it up again and it would not go. It just kept revving. The ron's moving up and down again. I had to have it towed to a transmission shop and they charged me $1,550 to have trainee rebuilt. I was out of a vehicle for months trying to come up with the money. Also spending money on rentals to get to work and bring my kids to school. Than just three months after getting my van back, I drove to the akron reservation and nearly the same thing happened driving up a hill on the way back. I had to have it towed again and went without my van for another week and a half. They fixed it again and than told me there was a recall on the torque converters through Ford. The 2004 and 2005 Ford Freestar. My van is an 06, and their are a lot of 2006 story's and complaints I have heard besides mine. Ford needs to extend the recall and add the 2006 models also, because it's the same defective problem as the 04, and 05.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #63

Jan 112013


  • 102,000 miles
Running sluggish on acceleration. No warning lights regarding any problem until total failure while driving on a major highway. Was able to get to dealer. At stop sign car would not move. Re-started and was able to park. Needs transmission replaced.

- Bayville, NJ, USA

problem #62

Jan 012013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 109,121 miles
I was traveling down the highway when my transmission completely quit working and my RPM's shot up to 5000. I coasted to the side of the road and the transmission would not engage. I had it towed to a local shop where I was referred to cottman transmission to get it evaluated. Cottman transmission said the transmission was full of water and completely burned up. They said that these vans have a problem with water leaking through the wiper vents onto the top of the PCM and water entering into the transmission. Upon more investigation I have found out that Ford has even acknowledged the problem and still has not issued a recall. They have issued a recall on some of the 04 and 05's for torque converter issues that sound like the same problem with the 06's. something has to be done about this because I was traveling on a busy highway with my wife and kids and had the transmission locked up I could have caused a serious, possibly even fatal, wreck because of Ford's failure to correct a problem that they know exists! thankyou.

- Luling, LA, USA

problem #61

Dec 302012


  • 120,000 miles


While driving at highway speed (75mph) the transmission failed, there was no warning and there were no previous problems with the transmission. The transmission has no forward or reverse gears leaving it essentially in neutral. This left the car without power or the ability to safely exit the highway in the middle of crowded traffic. Except for the ability of other drivers to avoid our car this could have resulted in a catastrophic accident.

- Clifton Springs, NY, USA

problem #60

Dec 222012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 80,058 miles
Transmission failed without warning while driving at city speeds under normal conditions.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #59

Aug 292012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 83,819 miles
At a grocery store parking lot, after turning into a parking spot I put the van into reverse to straighten it out, when I put back into drive, it didn't move, there was no engagement whatsoever of the gears. I had to push the vehicle into the spot out of the lane of traffic and have it towed. Ironically this happened 3 days after I learned about Ford recalling the Freestar for 2005 models to replace torque converter; when the service center who towed my vehicle told me I needed a torque converter replacement I had them provide pictures of the part and can clearly see the part itself was a 2005 part! however Ford is not taking responsibility because the year of my vehicle is 2006, it cost me over $1300 to repair. I notified customer service at Ford on 8/31/12 to request a refund but so far nothing.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #58

Jun 082010


  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that she attempted to accelerate from a traffic stop but the vehicle would not respond. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified and advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000(power train:automatic transmission:torque converter). The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #57

Nov 262012


  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while traveling 35 mph, the vehicle became resistant to acceleration attempts. The contact merged off the roadway where the vehicle was towed to a private mechanic. The mechanic inspected the vehicle and determined that the torque converter failed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V006000 (power train:automatic transmission), which he believed was similar to the failure, but did not confirm if the vehicle was included in the recall campaign. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure and current mileages were 118,000.

- Chesterton, IN, USA

problem #56

Nov 202012


  • 81,000 miles
My wife was driving home from work when she turned onto a side street, the van lost all power and the wouldn't go into gear. After researching the problem I came across alot of people with this same problem with there 2006 Freestar. I also found out that the 2004 and 2005 Freestar had recalls for this same problem. Could someone please look into this.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #55

Apr 042012


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph and turning into a residential garage, the transmission would not engage in any gear, preventing the vehicle from being driven. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who advised the contact that that the torque converter was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred one week later. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 83,000.

- Greenfield , OH, USA

problem #54

Nov 252011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph the vehicle stopped accelerating however the engine was still running. The contact smelled burning fluids. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the transmission, torque converter and shaft had failed and would need to be rebuilt. The vehicle was repaired. Afterward he was informed of a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000 (power train:automatic transmission). The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 85,000 and the current mileage was 106,000...updated 01/30/13 the consumer stated the vehicle ws repaired. The consumer was advised the defective transmission is the same as those included in the recall. Updated 2/1/2013

- Milledgeville, IL, USA

problem #53

Aug 302011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 120,565 miles
After starting vehicle, very high RPM's. when put in drive it stalls out. Sitting at stop light it stalls out. Mechanic said, "PCM is bad." It's not worth replacing if it's a design flaw. Us as consumers shouldn't have to pay for car manufactures mistakes!!

- Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #52

Oct 272012


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while traveling 25 mph the vehicle lost power and would not accelerate. The engine was running, but the vehicle would not accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was told the torque converter failed and needed to be replaced. The failure and current mileage was 120,000.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #51

Oct 122012


  • 97,780 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact was driving approximately 15 mph when the vehicle completely stalled. The contact moved to the shoulder of the road and powered on the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that there was a recall for the 2004 and 2005 Ford Freestar vehicles however, not for the 2006 models (NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000 power train:automatic transmission:torque converter). The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that the torque converter would have to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 97,780. The current mileage was 98,000.

- Byron, GA, USA

problem #50

Dec 282006

Freestar 6-cyl

  • miles
I bought the vehicle in Jan. 06, starter went 11 months later. Van has never started up correctly. It doesn't run smoothly. Runs rough when it rains. Found info online regarding water leaking into the PCM which can create misfires, shift late, engine can run rough. I have taken it back to echelon Ford several times. They still won't admit to it being a problem. Couldn't find a code. However, now that I am out of warranty, they were able to find a code. Ford are not backing up there product! there hundreds of complaints about these vehicles and nothing is being done! I have 1 year left to pay, and can't afford to make repairs that Ford should be fixing since it started when I had the original warranty...why will Ford not do something.." I have a wife who drives it with 4 kids. What are they waiting for, an accident...? what has to happen to get them to fix this problem on there vehicles. Ford is saying it's miss firing in cylinder 3. probably because of all the water that has effected the PCM, and the ignition coil pack & ignition wires needs to be replaced, why would need to be replaced in a 5 year old vehicle... is that getting wet too..." I am extremely tired of dealing with this van. It's not fair to have a company not stand behind there product. I have had it!

- Laurel Springs, NJ, USA

problem #49

Sep 062012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
I was traveling at a steady speed of 40 mph when I experienced instant and total transmission failure. The engine remained running and all subsystems continued to function but there was no power applied to the wheels in any gear. After being towed to the nearest Ford dealership (lindsay Ford in wheaton, md) the service department said that I needed a new transmission for $4,000. I eventually had the transmission repaired at a local shop for a total cost to me of $2,600. I learned that I had the same transmission problem that seems to be common to the Ford Freestar: A broken pump shaft caused the torque converter teeth to break off. It is obvious that this is a serious design flaw that remains uncorrected. Ford should be held accountable and made liable for all failures and repairs related to this issue.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #48

Oct 032012


  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle became resistant to forward acceleration. The vehicle was towed to the contacts home. The contact called a local dealer and was informed of a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000 (power train:automatic transmission). The contact was also informed that his VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 99,000.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #47

Aug 262012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 81,312 miles
Driving North of Idaho falls on I-15 on August 26, 2012. Cruise control on at 75 mph. Sudden loss of gear, engine RPM spiked. Removed cruise control, now coasting in drive. Pulled over to the shoulder and placed in park. Attempted to engage the transmission with no response in any gear. The transmission has a date code of August 16, 2005.

- Butte, MT, USA

problem #46

Sep 092012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 56,840 miles
Vehicle started but when placed into drive or reverse nothing would happen even when the engine was revved. No warning, no noise, no previous indications at all that there was a problem. Car was towed to Ford dealership who informed me that the torque converter would need to be replaced as it was broken. Thankfully my wife and kids had just pulled off the main highway for a fuel stop and were just going to continue their journey when the problem occurred. How can Ford issue a recall for 2004 and 2005 Freestar torque converters and not issue one for the 2006 when I'm sure that some 2006 models were actually made in 2005.

- Hillside, IL, USA

problem #45

Sep 062012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Van was in motion on secondary roadway/county highway at approx 30mph. Operator slowed vehicle for traffic and then attempted to continue on but received no response from the van. Engine was operating and gear selector was in drive. The incident could be classed as near miss accident as other operators had to drive around the van which had come to a stop in the middle of road. Ford diagnostics are that the torque converter has failed and has to be replaced. The symptoms and problem are the same as the 2004 & 2005 Freestar torque converter recall. However, Ford has not included the 2006 model year in the same recall.

- Guilderland, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?