Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received a recall notice in July 2015 for the air bags in my 2011 Ford Mustang. I called the dealer a few days after receiving the letter to see when I should bring in the car for repair. I was told they would call me when to bring in the car. Waited 3 months and called again, I was told to wait for their call, "so don't bother us again". I waited again and then called Ford, they sent me back to the dealer. Called the dealer again and was told to stop bothering them, they will call me if or when they feel like it. Ford co. And their dealer don't care if I get a face of metal pieces but I do. Isn't there some way to hold them responsible for selling me an unsafe car.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #39

Jul 062015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Fryeburg, ME, USA

problem #38

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata inflators; I was advised by Ford in writing on July 2015 and it stated I would be advised when to take it to a dealer to have it replaced. Nothing since then. I am concerned about my safely. How long do they have?

- Cromwell, CT, USA

problem #37

Apr 082016

Mustang

  • 51,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall almost 12 months have elapsed since I became aware of the recall for my car through national news media.. I have never been contacted by Ford Motor Company even though I bought the car new. I have asked my preferred Ford dealer when they will implement this recall. The last occasion was recently when I had my car serviced on 4/6/2016 and I was advised that there are no replacement parts available so far but it is expected to implement the recall "later this year". this situation puts my family and my passengers at risk of injury or worse and Ford Motor Company have not resolved this in almost 12 months. This is irresponsible in the extreme and should not be allowed to continue. Owners should now be given a safe, replacement vehicle until the recall is carried out. My local tv news channel (channel 13 las vegas) last night again recommended vehicle owners to check out possible recalls and accordingly I have researched the internet to check if there is any further progress on my Ford. There is nothing new and so I feel fully justified in lodging this complaint with yourselves. As at today's date. ( last November I contemplated replacing my car with a Chevrolet. Camaro. The GM dealer said that he was hesitant to take a Ford Mustang in part exchange because of the risk of air bag failure and the fact that checks were not being done. He pointed out that as a result other dealers were factoring in this situation and in consequence part-exchange values were now lowered.).

- Laughlin, NV, USA

problem #36

Apr 082016

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/14/16 updated 06/15/16.

- Hudson, FL, USA

problem #35

Apr 082014

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #34

Sep 142015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the remedy was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- League, TX, USA

problem #33

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #32

Mar 112016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall.I own a 2011 Ford Mustang. I received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair is still unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. My Ford dealer said I should contact you and file this complaint. Please get the part!!!!!!!

- Willard, WI, USA

problem #31

May 252015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall.the contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #30

May 312014

Mustang

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air fail to deploy when hit by a uninsured motorist who was speeding through a school zone did an legal lane change hit me while I was making a left turn seat belt on left turn bleaker on turning when safe bam!!! never seen it coming my head slammed into the steel fame of my 2011 Ford Mustang V6 head neck back mid lower back every thing from head to toe on my left hurts like hell ribs on both sides knees hands feet as well.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #29

Apr 012015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #28

Feb 052016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #27

Jan 282016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall: I was informed of the recall in July 2015 when I received a letter in the mail. I have yet to hear back from them that the parts are in to get the air bag fixed and it's almost February 2016. I've read that there have been 10 deaths related to this recall and other injuries associated with the issue. I drive a lot for work and my area just recently got nearly 3 feet of snow. I'm already feeling unsafe driving my car in the snow but this issue on top of it is really making me upset. I love my car and continue to make monthly payments on it that I'm becoming less and less excited to make knowing that every time I hop in my car to go somewhere, there's a chance of me dying from shards of metal being ejected out of my airbag at me. I'd feel so much safer knowing that I was driving a safe rental car until the parts come in to fix my airbag issue. Unfortunately, I've spoken to both takata and Ford today and both companies deny giving me a rental car until those parts (which are on back order) come in. I don't understand how such a big company can create such a potentially fatal problem and not take every measure to keep the consumer's best interest at heart. I've invested in my car and I'm now at a higher risk of fatality by driving it. Airbags are supposed to provide safety, not create more harm. Takata really needs to step up and make things right with the consumers, and if they're not willing to then Ford needs to. At this point, I'm ready to sell my car and get a bicycle to avoid both companies, unfortunately weather and my commute don't allow for that.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #26

Aug 192015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata inflators: Basically my complaint is simply that Ford has been notified of this potentially deadly defect and has not repaired a single defective airbag since that time. I have repeatedly been attempting to get Ford to repair the defect since they sold me the car in August (when they promised they could fix it asap), but I'm being told that Ford doesn't even have any parts made to fix it yet. I would deeply appreciate it if you could look into what sort of timeline was promised by Ford and whether they are making every effort to get this potential deathly issue fixed as soon as possible. Thank you,

- Amarillo, TX, USA

problem #25

Jul 072015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 03/01/16

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #24

May 282015

Mustang

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #23

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • 65,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. While driving approximately 50 mph, the air bag warning indicator was consistently illuminated. The failure recurred each time the vehicle was driven. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Santa Paula, CA, USA

problem #22

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #21

Jul 112015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- South Pasadena, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?