Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,208 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Taurus engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 17 of 24)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #154

Aug 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Taurus. Letter sent from attorney on behalf of client in regards to sudden acceleration the driver sustained injuries in an accident on August 1, 2011. As the driver exited the car wash, the vehicle suddenly accelerated at a high rate of speed. The driver went over a curb and into a parking lot of a building. The driver and passenger had to be extricated from the vehicle.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #153

Dec 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
My 2005 Ford Taurus will accelerate itself when driving at slow speeds. Hitting the gas pedal has alleviated the problem. When the brakes are applied, the car will stop, but the engine still revs up. Other issues I have noticed is that the cruise control will go out, then it will begin working again. At higher speeds, the steering wheel vibrates even though I have had my alignment checked, new tires, new belts, injectors cleaned, and my tires rotated. The Ford dealership had never heard of the acceleration problem, and even though they tried to fix it in December 2011, it still occurs. In February 2012, my alternator went out, so after installing a new alternator and battery, my cruise control once again no longer worked and my car starting accelerating itself up the hill. Eventually, my cruise control began working again, but I am very worried about the time I may not be able to stop my car from accelerating. I take my two year old nephew to daycare every day, and I am worried about both of our lives on a daily basis.

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #152

Apr 052012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Happened twice within fifteen minutes- driving on residential street when engine started revving very high. Was able to use brakes to maintain control and then press hard on gas pedal to stop the revving. The cruise control is inoperative (took to shop, they reported the cable is unattached).

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #151

Jan 012012

Taurus

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the vehicle would lunge forward at anytime. The contact replaced the cruise control, but the failure recurred. The dealer disabled the cruise control cable from the vehicle and the failure was corrected. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 119,947.

- Pasadena, TX, USA

problem #150

Feb 252012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 76,680 miles
I bought car from maple street auto - picked up car on 02/24/2012 I notice when I start car - the RPM goes up to high RPM compare to other cars I owned - like Dodge Caravan and Ford Windstar when I put car into "D" - 97 percent of the time takes of and excessive brakes applied while driving most time - I notice the car changes out and takes off appreciable even on a flat surface when coming to a stop light - the car wants to keep going and brakes has to be applied hard even when slowing down once again - I am applying brakes a lot as car keeps going. For the record, I have no speeding violation, no accidents and I have to be careful when driving as the car tend to speed up at times. I also was warned not to use the cruise control by the seller (maple street auto).

- Randolph, MA, USA

problem #149

Jan 152012

Taurus

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the vehicle would suddenly accelerate without warning, while driving at any speed. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Dudley , MA, USA

problem #148

Mar 302011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 85,567 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at approximately 20 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated on its own. I depressed the brake pedal while the engine continue to rev. I was able to stop the vehicle after applying significant pressure to the brake pedal but ended up in the middle of intersection with high traffic luckily I was not harmed. Since this occurrence I have experienced 2 other incidents of a similar nature. This may related to the current investigation under the NHTSA action number;PE12005(vehicle speed control:cables).

- Waverly, NY, USA

problem #147

Feb 212012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The cruise control stopped working, and the vehicle would be stuck in acceleration up to almost 4K RPM. Was generally able to clear high RPM temporarily by pressing accelerator past 4K RPM and letting off quickly. The problem continued for approximately 2 weeks. The cruise light would come on, and the engine RPM issue continued. But the cruise module would not engage. After some internet research, I removed the cover from the throttle side of cables and the cruise control cable was disconnected. After reconnecting the cable and fashioning a retainer, the incidents were resolved.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #146

Aug 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
On three separate occasions, while driving between 30-40 mph, the throttle "stuck". I was not using cruise control in any of these cases. It was difficult to get the car to slow down - required extreme brake pressure - when I shifted into neutral, the engine RPM went well above 3000 RPM. I shut off the engine, waited a minute or two, and restarted the car. Everything seemed to be completely normal. This happened two more times over the next several weeks. In each case when I shut off the engine and restarted it, all seemed to be normal. I took the car to a local auto mechanic, and he was unable to replicate my experience. He said he suspected the problem was related to the cruise control, and that a repairs could be several hundred dollars. Or he could simply disconnect the cruise control. I chose the later.

- Western Springs, IL, USA

problem #145

Mar 072012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
2005 Ford Taurus has been randomly accelerating on its own. It has done this most often after slowing for a turn or slowing down in traffic and re-accelerating time the car has accelerated moderately and can be slowed down by braking or by putting it in neutral.when in neutral the engine speed goes to 4000 RPM and stays there until the car is stopped and turned off.the cruise control cable was dis-connected and tied off.it is very important to be sure it does not interfere[cruise control cable]with the engine throttle. Random acceleration stopped after cruise control cable was dis-connected.will be seeing dealer for repair. Milelage is 78000 miles.

- Bristol, TN, USA

problem #144

Feb 072012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 56,103 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While pulling into a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and jumped over a raised curb, smashing into the wall of the U.S. post office in depere, wi. The airbags deployed and there was $2100 in damage to the vehicle. The damage has since been repaired. On March 13th 2012, I was notified by a friend that there was a probe into the Ford Taurus having this issue. I have notified Ford Motor Company and the vehicle is currently at broadway Ford in green bay, wi awaiting an answer as to what caused the sudden acceleration.

- Depere, WI, USA

problem #143

Apr 282011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 112,061 miles
Was traveling on a 4 lane highway at 45 mph. When I turned the cruise control on, all of the sudden the engine started to accelerate on it's own causing me to almost run a red traffic light. I hit the brakes hard a couple times and got it stopped.

- Greenbrier, TN, USA

problem #142

Oct 312011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Our 2005 Ford Taurus throttle sticks as if the cruise control is on, when in fact it is not. The cruise control no longer works. Shortly after the cruise control stopped working is when the throttle started to stick and increase speed. We have not had any accidents yet, but some close calls.

- East Jordan, MI, USA

problem #141

Jul 152011

Taurus

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated independently. The contact depressed the brake pedal while the engine roared with an unusual increase in rpms. The contact was able to stop the vehicle after shifting into neutral. The contact stated that the cruise control was inoperable at the time. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics. There was an investigation under NHTSA action number: PE12005 (vehicle speed control:cables) that could have been related to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Rochester, NH, USA

problem #140

Feb 292012

Taurus

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, he released the brake pedal and the vehicle accelerated up to 50 mph. The contact firmly applied the brakes to stop the vehicle. The failure was experienced on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,000. Updated 05/24/12

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #139

Mar 142012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that he would have to have one foot on the brake pedal in order to prevent the vehicle from accelerating abnormally. The failure would cause a spike in rpms and the contact would also have to shift into neutral in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 59,000 and the current mileage was 60,000. Updated 05/11/12 accorind to the invoice, te cruise control cable was coming loose from the throttle body on acceleration. The cable lock was no longer retaining the cable to the throttle body.

- Colwich, KS, USA

problem #138

Mar 262012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Car accelerator stuck. Put car in neutral and park and went up to 4,000 RPM. Had to turn car off. Taking car in to a service center.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #137

Feb 062012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
I was driving home from work going 25 mph when my car quickly accelerated. I immediately stepped on the brake as the car continued to accelerate to 45 mph. At this time I started to brake as hard as I could and got the car stopped as I pulled over to the curb. I shifted the car into park and the engine was really racing violently. I jabbed the gas pedal and the engine slowed to idle speed. I drove home with no further problem. Three days later this same thing happened. This time I checked to see if the cruise control was on. It was not.!! this same thing happened 3 more times within a few days. I then told my boyfriend about this. He was very concerned about this and told me not to drive the car until he looked at it. He looked at the car right away and found the throttle cable and cruise control cable free of any restriction. He then disconnected the cruise control cable. He called the local Ford dealership the next day and told them about this. They said they had not heard about this problem and would not do anything (at their expense) to fix this. I have not had this problem occur since the cruise control cable was disconnected!!!!! I am submitting this complaint to you because I saw on the news that other people, with this same car, are having this same problem. I am also extremely concerned because it took every thing I had to stop my car and that, in the wrong location, I could very easily have killed someone or myself!!!! I believe this to be a very serious problem!!! I strongly suspect that the problem is with the cruise control system or computer that controls the cruise control.

- Fremont, NE, USA

problem #136

Apr 162011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I was traveling down a country blacktop at about approximately 58 mph when I was about to meet a car on this narrow road and proceeded to slow down. But when I took my foot off the accelerator the speedometer continued to climb so I pushed on the brake and let off the brake and once again it continued to climb this time, I shifted into neutral and pumped the accelerator and the engine idled down. I then put the car back into drive and proceeded down the road after a short way it repeated the acceleration again as I approached a sharp curve I again took it out of gear. After driving home I looked under the hood and found that my cruise control cable had detached itself and was hung up on the throttle body holding it open. I then took it to my Ford dealer where I ask them to unhook and order me a new one. I later had the new one installed. Just recently in Feb. After having my oil changed it happened again. I was driving at night in the rain at a speed of about 35 mph I was able once again driving home and unhooking the cable. I asked my Ford dealer about a service bulletin and they were unaware. The cable is still unhooked and I would like to use my cruise but won't until they find a fix. My Ford dealer is carson Ford hamilton, ill and know about my to incidence. Updated 05/24/12 the consumer stated she was rear ended and pushed into another vehicle. Her vehicle sustained damage to the front and rear area. The vehicle was totaled. The consumer would like her vehicle deleted from the list of affected vehicles. Updated 05/25/12

- Nauvoo, IL, USA

problem #135

Mar 222012

Taurus

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph and without warning, the vehicle accelerated abnormally. The contact noticed that the accelerator pedal had become stuck and caused the throttle to remain open. The vehicle was shifted into neutral and turned off. Once restarted, the failure recurred. The contact stated that the vehicle could not be moved because the throttle remained stuck. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Guntersville, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?