Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,006 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 14 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #72

Nov 242007

Odyssey

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle would not accelerate forward and the RPM's increased. The contact was informed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. Eight months later, the transmission was replaced; however, the vehicle is not accelerating properly. The current mileage was 100,896 and failure mileage was 85,000.

- Lizella, GA, USA

problem #71

May 292008

Odyssey

  • 77,000 miles
Transmission failure (P0740) at 77K miles.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #70

Apr 152008

Odyssey

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle began jumping and downshifting. The engine began revving and the RPM's increased, but the vehicle decelerated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that because he did not have a service history, he would only be charged for half of the replacement cost. NHTSA campaign id number 04V176000 (power train: Automatic transmission) was referenced. The current and failure mileages were 98,000.

- Clover, CA, USA

problem #69

May 262008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 94,737 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problems with the transmission shifting into/out of 2nd gear for the last couple of months. Finally "check engine" light and tcs light went on; dealer says it needs a new transmission. I found through the internet that 2003 Odyssey have had a lot of transmission problems. Dealer wants $3750 to replace this on a car with 94K miles.

- Altamont, NY, USA

problem #68

Apr 132008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
I bought a used 2003 Honda Odyssey from power Honda of valencia in December 2007. In April 2008 the car would not shift out of second gear or go faster than 35 mph. The rpms would rev very high 5K+. I took it into the dealer and they said it needs a new transmission. American Honda offered me a 25% discount on a rebuilt transmission, but I just bought the car 4 months ago and I feel that others are having the same problem leading me to believe that they are bad Honda transmission.

- Saugus, CA, USA

problem #67

Jan 062008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
We own a 2003 Honda Odyssey, and we have had problems since we bought it. It started with the "subframe" shifted during delivery and has gone downhill since then. We have had trouble with the steering locking on us several times. The automatic doors have stayed open leaving me unable to drive with 3 small children. Our recent problem has been the transmission. We had the routine maintanence done on it at 100,000 miles. Since then the transmission has shifted hard and even slipped while shifting. I will be accelerating between 15 and 25 mph when the RPM's will raise and the speed will lower. I have to push the brakes and accelerate again for it to finally shift. Our other major problem has been the paint. We have had most of the car repainted top to bottom and front to back. We have put more money into the car than it is S worth.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #66

Apr 252008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 79,011 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Honda Odyssey transmission seized briefly going up a hill at 79K mi, tcs and engine light on. Mechanic reports that "gear ratio is incorrect" and there is a crash hazard from possibility of total transmission failure due to defect in manufacturing. Honda dealer says records show the vehicle was recalled for inspection of the transmission in 2004 and some kit was installed, but Honda does not replace the known defective transmission because supposedly this one was "fixed" in 2004 rather than replaced. Transmission still requires replacement to make this car safe to drive.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #65

Mar 272008

Odyssey

  • 69,800 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. While driving 30 mph, the shifter light began flashing and the vehicle began to rev. The dealer stated that the transmission failed. The contact was informed that the vehicle had previously been repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 04V176000 (power train: Automatic transmission). The contact could not find any proof of the recall repair having been performed. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 69,800.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #64

Jul 012007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns 2003 Honda Odyssey. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle shifted into neutral without warning. The dealer stated that the transmission caused the failure and recommended replacing it. There is a recall for the power train: Automatic transmission (NHTSA campaign id #04V176000). The dealer stated that the recall repair had been performed. The contact felt that the remedy did not solve the failure. As of April 7, 2008, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure mileage was 76,000 and current mileage was 94,000. Updated 4/23/08

- Scottsbluff, NE, USA

problem #63

Mar 022008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
Transmission failure 2003 Honda Odyssey.

- Mount Dora, FL, USA

problem #62

Nov 292007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2003 Honda Odyssey was part of a transmission failure recall. The first attempt to repair the problem was on 4/21/2004. The consequences of not repairing the transmission was serious injury to my family and those driving in the vehicle. The initial repair failed and my transmission needed to be replaced. Honda provided the part, but insisted I pay $1068 for labor costs to replace the defective transmission they installed in a car I purchased brand new. The transmission has since been replaced but at a cost to me of $1068.

- Newburyport, MA, USA

problem #61

Feb 202008

(reported on)

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Honda Odyssey with transmission failure. Consumer states that transmission was found not switching gears when the vehicle was warmed up. He also found that the fluid was dirty. Transmission replacement would solve the problem. The consumer also had the front and side engine mounts replaced. The battery was replaced as well.

- Riverdale, MD, USA

problem #60

Jul 122007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
2003 Honda Odyssey transmission failed at 70 mph. Van had passed a Honda safety inspection just 6 days earlier. Vehicle had been equipped with the recall transmission oil jet, years earlier, but transmission still failed with only 46,000 miles on vehicle. Honda extended warranty and paid for replacement transmission which developed problems after only driving 50 miles.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #59

Oct 262007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was driving on route 100 at approximately 60 mph when the engine seemed to lose power. All the warning lights illuminated on my dashboard. I was able to coast to the side of the road. Fortunately, the engine restarted immediately.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #58

Dec 102007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
I was driving on I-95 S when the vehicle suddently started losing power & speed, just come to a complete stop.when I popped up the hood, transmission fluid smell was all over the car, also I could see trans.fluid all over the trans. Top surface.vehicule could not move at any gear so had to be towed.

- Mount Rainier, MD, USA

problem #57

Dec 232004

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 65 mph, the engine and the tcs lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle then completely stalled and would not restart. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and they stated that the transmission failed. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 04V176000 (powertrain:automatic transmission). The repair was made using an oil jet kit. The contact filed a formal complaint with the manufacturer. The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 89,000. Updated 02-04-08. The consumer stated went to dealers on April 27, 2007 for regular transmission maintenance and tune up. The consumer stated while taking the vehicle to the dealer she was informed the transmission was dead. The consumer stated transmission locked up due to heat build up which is identical to Honda's 2004 recall. Updated 02/04/08

- Lathrop, CA, USA

problem #56

Nov 262007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles
Transmission failure on a 2003 Honda Odyssey which was recalled and the problem not rectified. Honda will not fix the problem.

- Verank, NY, USA

problem #55

Nov 112007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,800 miles
The transmission on my 2003 Honda Odyssey failed at 67,800 miles with no warning and no prior issues. This transmission has a history of premature failure and this one realized its prophecy.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #54

Nov 042007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
Check engine light and tcs light on lots of issues over 3 years - engine hesitating, engine revving on idle, and finally engine revving while driving finally at 67,000 miles I am told I need a new transmission. Only told that I have an internal transmission failure that cannot be identified specifically recommend new transmission.

- Richboro, PA, USA

problem #53

Aug 012003

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. At 13,000 miles, the vehicle would downshift on its own. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle downshifted as if it would stall. The contact had to slightly depress the accelerator pedal in order to keep the vehicle from stopping. The vehicle was taken to the repair shop and the mechanic stated that he was unable to find any stored codes or any failures with the vehicle. He took the vehicle back to the dealer regarding a recall for NHTSA campaign id number 04V176000 (power train:automatic transmission) that he discovered online. The dealer removed the cover from the transmission and inspected the second gear. They noticed no signs of heat build up during the photographic inspection, therefore they installed the oil jet kit. This did not correct the failure. He returned to the dealer at 65,000 miles for the same failure, however, they were still unable to find any transmission failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer at 74,000 miles for hesitation and shifting parts. The dealer installed a parking switch, but the failure still persists. The current mileage was 97,300 and failure mileage was 13,000.

- Winchester, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?