Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,006 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 15 of 17)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Sep 172007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Original transmission was replaced under a recall program at 30,823 miles. Now at 105,000 miles the transmission has failed and needs replaced. The dealer said Honda would provide a replacement transmission at no cost, but I will have to pay the dealer labor to replace. I had purchased a 6 yr/100,000 mile warranty on the van when I purchased it new. The replacement transmission has approx. 75,000 miles on it, and it shouldn't have failed so soon. I have the van serviced regularly and don't drive in extreme conditions. If Honda is willing to provide a transmission, they should be willing to pay for the labor.

- Valencia, PA, USA

problem #51

Aug 302007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles
2003 Honda Odyssey with 104,000 miles is failing to shift when under a load, engine revs but vehicle does not accelerate when pulling out into traffic. Problem is becoming more frequent and is very dangerous, this morning I was almost struck from behind by another vehicle because of this problem. Honda and NHTSA are aware of this dangerous problem, full recall should be ordered so some one is not seriously injured or killed.

- Amawalk, NY, USA

problem #50

Aug 112007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles
2003 Honda Odyssey was recalled for transmission in 2004. Dealer said transmission fine and installed some kit. About 6 months ago transmission started slipping from 2nd to 3rd gear. Took it in for service and was told to replace transmission fluid to see if that would fix it. It did not fix and when I took it back I was told the transmission was failing and that the only way to fix was to replace it. The dealer said that I still could get about another 60K miles easy out of existing transmission and just wait. The check engine light is now on along with the tcs light. It is generating a code P0740. This should of been taken care of back on the recall. Honda obviously has a transmission problem failure and should replace at no cost to me.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #49

Aug 052007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,398 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Honda Odyssey purchased new and checked by the dealer during recall. We were told that our vehicle was fine and that the surging/hunting between gears occasionally was normal for these transmissions. The transmission was serviced at mfg recommended intervals. The surging between has gotten worse and resulted in the vehicle stalling on the interstate on the failure date.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #48

Jun 012007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. When the accelerator pedal was depressed, the RPM's increased. However, the transmission failed to shift into gear. The failure occurred at all speeds. The vehicle has not been inspected by a dealer. The current mileage is 107,000 and failure mileage was 104,000.

- Hillsborough , NH, USA

problem #47

May 012007

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
2003 Honda Odyssey with automatic transmission failure customer states that the transmission failed at 55,000 and questions is related to the recall and is looking for suggestions* the consumer wants to reimbursed for the repairs of the vehicle.

- Canada, DC, USA

problem #46

Sep 012004

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda Odyssey. She stated that the automatic transmission failed and would not shift into gear. The check engine and green D-light illuminated. There is a recall for the automatic transmission (recall #04V176000). The dealer stated that they would pay for the replacement of the transmission; however, she would be responsible for the shipping and labor cost. She felt that this was unacceptable, and has reported this to the american Honda association. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 73,000. The power train information was unknown.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #45

May 162007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When the transmission shifts from 2nd to 3rd gear on low RPM the vehicle starts to shake before shifting into 3rd gear. If increasing speed while this is happening or releasing the gas pedal and pressing it again it stops doing it. So I have to remember always to press hard on gas pedal to shift in to 3rd gear. Otherwise it will keep shaking and will not shift and when that happens its dangerous because any thing can happen or break if you can not shift gears. We contacted Honda and they are not willing to fix it because its not associated with the 2nd gear recall. But this is a manufacturing defect which should become a recall.

- Brampton (Ont), 00, USA

problem #44

Jan 252007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
2003 Honda Odyssey: Got the notice in the mail in 2004 about the 2nd gear transmission cooler update / inspection needed for our Odyssey. We had the dealer install the revised cooler and at about 45K miles (shortly after) we noticed a high pitched whine coming from the car at all speeds that increases in pitch / intensity as the vehicle speed increases. If the transmission is put in neutral while the car is driving the noise goes away - as soon as the transmission is re-engaged the noise comes back so the 'gear whine' type noise is definitely coming from the transmission and we didn't notice this until the recall service was performed. Now we have 100K miles and the transmission 'shudders' on the highway when being kicked down from 5th gear to a lower gear like 4th or 3rd so I expect it to fail soon.

- York, SC, USA

problem #43

Nov 122006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
- the contact received a recall notice (P-30 transmission gear chipping or breakage) in the mail December 2004 for his 2003 Honda Odyssey (75000 failure miles). The contact complied with the recall and the dealer installed the oil jet kit. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph. The brakes were also not operable at the time. The contact returned to the dealer and was notified that the gears failed which caused the transmission to lock, and wheels to lock. The transmission had to be replaced. Updated 03/02/07.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #42

Jan 112007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,112 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission began slipping during gear shifts. I took it to a mechanic who changed the transmission fluid ($90), but the problem continued. I took it to the dealer who felt that replacing the engine mounts would fix the problem ($530), but that didn't work. The dealer can not explain what is wrong with the transmission, but recommends that the transmission be replaced ($3500). The transmission was "power flushed" 6 months ago by another dealer, but when changed was dirty and metal pieces were found on drain plug.

- Alta Loma, CA, USA

problem #41

Nov 242006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,550 miles
Honda Odyssey 2003 transmission failure. Had problem with transmission for almost a year while vehicle under 3 year/36 miles. Took vehicle to local Honda dealer with transmission making loud clunk noise & unable to engage properly on several occasions almost year ago with vehicle odometer reading approx 30K miles only. We were asked that its normal variant for that vehicle noise clunk & warm up your car, do more often transmission oil change. Since that last visit to dealer we drove vehicle another 5 K over a year. During our recent long drive with family & 3 young kids over thanks giving weekend from Missouri to Indiana. Transmission starts slipping & making more noise problems. Took vehicle to Honda dealer on Saturday 12/16/2006 with odometer reading 35,550 miles after reading all reviews posted by Honda Odyssey consumers. Honda dealer called me today( 12/18/2006) that transmission may fail & need to be replaced. I believe Honda motor co has jeopardize the life of our family with a imminent transmission failure during our recent trip despite the fact we brought the vehicle transmission problem to Honda dealer attention in good faith not even knowing that their is recall on certain Odyssey transmissions for premature failure. Will nhts investigate our complain that despite a memo to all dealer about transmission failure problem, why Honda motor co waited to risk the life of our family by letting us drive an additional 5K miles.

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #40

Dec 052006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,695 miles
: the contact stated the transmission was not catching the gears. The vehicle was taken to the service dealer, who replaced the automatic transmission. The vehicle was already taken to a service dealer for NHTSA recall, # 04V176000 regarding the power train:automatic transmission. Updatede 12/26/2006 -

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #39

Sep 152006

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
Transmission is slipping between 45-55 mph. Spoke to service mgr at avenues Honda and he said other than transmission it might be the egc (?). this sometimes makes it seem like the transmission is slipping between this mph range. Was told that the check engine light would come on. Decided not to take car in since the light wasn't coming on yet. Mainly because didn't want to pay for diagnostic charge for something Honda knows is a problem. Car has 50000 miles on it. Car mileage is way too low for something to be happening to transmission.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #38

Jan 012005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
1. there were no events that led to the failure. 2. when slightly accelerating between the speeds of 35-45 mph, the transmission shifts out of gear, the tachometer would shoot way up, and the vehicle would start slowing down. The check engine light did not come on, except on one occasion recently. This problem did not happen on a daily basis. Some days it would happen once, while other days it would happen several times. This almost resulted in being rear ended on several occasions by cars and big rig (18-wheelers) trucks that were following closely. My wife was becoming increasingly afraid to drive the vehicle because the issue was happening at a higher rate (on a daily basis) prior to the transmission being replaced. This is a potentially dangerous safety issue. The number of occurrences is too many to remember. 3. after taking to the dealer on numerous occasions, the dealer finally replaced (free of charge) the transmission when the check engine light finally recorded a transmission code error.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #37

Jul 012006

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When starting our 2003 Honda Odyssey, it has become increasingly difficult to shift out of "park" over the last month. We have tried turning the van off then on to try to shift. We have tried pressing at different angles on the brake pad. The only thing that works - and only intermittently - is to literally jam with all your strength the gas pedal down then shift as quick as you can. Looking at the internet...we are not the only ones experiencing this problem. I am afraid one day, it will finally "give out". this van in only 3 years old. Why are so many people experiencing something like a sensor fail in a relatively new van"!"

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #36

May 182006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling 45 mph the engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle would not go. The engine was still running, but the transmission would not respond. The vehicle was towed to the dealership and the transmission was replaced. A NHTSA recall, #04V176000 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the automatic transmission; however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The vehicle had an excess of 20,000 miles and the dealership only performed the revision under the recall. The dealership would not offer a second repair without charge under the recall. Updated 7/3/2006 -

- Keystone Heights, FL, USA

problem #35

May 112006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
In August of 2004, my 2003 Honda Odyssey was recalled to repair a possible failure of the transmission in the second gear. I took my car to harvey Honda of burlingame, ca to repair the defect in the transmission. The mechanics determined that the car only needed an oil spary to be installed to prevent possible overheating and deterioration of the gears. The other option was to replace the entire transmission. The mechanics determined that replacing the transmission was not necessary. On May 11, the Honda Odyssey's transmission failed and the car was no longer operative. I towed the van to anderson Honda of palo alto, where the mechanics determined that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The service representative of anderson Honda communicated to corporate Honda about my van. Corporate offered to pay for the new transmission. They wanted me to pay for the labor. My question is should I be responsible to pay for the labor" I feel that since harvey Honda did not take appropriate action in August of 2004, it was the dealer at fault for the failure of the transmission. Should I be responsible for the labor or should Honda pick up that expense as well"

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #34

Mar 292006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving at no specific speed, the transmission slipped. This occurred more frequent between second and third gear. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who determined the transmission must be replaced.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #33

Mar 182006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
2003 Honda Odyssey participated in the transmission recall back a few years ago. Has 55 thousand miles. Took it into dealership for 48K mile service, found it already was performed the last time it was in, so we got it the 60K mile service early. Vehicle was returned to us with a transmission that shifted violently into lower gears when slowing down, and sharply when speeding up. We immediately returned it to the dealership where they determined that it needed a new transmission at 55K miles. We never drove the vehicle in any way that would cause the transmission. To be ruined. When we dropped it off for service, it was running fine, when we picked it up, transmission was ruined. Honda replaced the transmission at no charge as a "goodwill" act, but charged us for a broken engine mount that also should not have happened at this mileage / age of car.

- Newhall, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?