Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,575 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Odyssey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Nov 032006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,105 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Loss of brakes moving foreword slowly after backing up a number of times at a sun city posse garage sale. I knocked down a table but no injuries this is the second time I have lost braking moving very slowly(less than 5 mph) but I can not account for the details the first time. There were many posse witnesses.

- Sun City, AZ, USA

problem #15

Oct 272005

Odyssey

  • miles
We bought our 2005 Odyssey in November of 2004. We have had constant grinding/scraping noises with the front brakes. This has happened since the day we bought the vehicle. We took it to the dealership in 2005 and they could not duplicate the problem. The problem is intermittent and tends to happen when traveling down hill and coming to a stop. The noise is god awful!!! NHTSA needs to conduct an investigation into this problem as there are several complaints on file.

- Milford, MI, USA

problem #14

May 012005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
May 2005- right front wheel bearing replaced. May 2006 left front wheel bearing replaced due to complaint of excessive steering wheel vibration when braking and when driving at highway speeds. Problem not resolved. July 2006 front brake pads replaced and front rotors replaced. Steering wheel vibration still exists at highway speeds.

- Galax, VA, USA

problem #13

May 232006

(reported on)

Odyssey

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Odyssey had a increase in braking distance. ***** the vehicle would stop far short of the consumers intended stop. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle would produce a low frequency noise while in low gear.

- Largo, FL, USA

problem #12

May 052006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,050 miles
: the contact stated while making U-turns, at 5 mph, a noise was heard coming from underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the brake clip on the passenger front was replaced. The noise persisted and the dealer replaced the steering pump on a second visit. The replacement of the steering pump did not remedy the problem and the vehicle has not been returned to the dealer for further inspection. The driver side door did not close properly, the right side door seal was broke. Updated 05/23/06.

- North Potomac, MD, USA

problem #11

Jan 182006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,830 miles
Update to case #10155801: Since vehicle had been sitting for over two months and Honda did not want to face that vehicle has safety issues - I decided to have vehicle towed to the other shop in town for a second opinion. I dropped vehicle off to have brakes done w/ other warranty issues and 9 day later I picked up vehicle and they installed the 1st design brake pads. The ones we had grinding, pulsating, loss of pressure and brakes that would locked up. I can not wait - give it a few thousand more miles and here I go again -- the first brake problems all over again. Please investigate the brake issues before someone gets hurt or even killed.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #10

Jan 182006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Continuous brake problems! 1st problem started in June 05' @5600 miles - grinding noise, pulsating and hard to stop vehicle. Took vehicle to dealership and was unable to duplicate. Service writer explained that --brake dust-- was the problem. 2nd major problem - in September brakes were making the loud grinding noise - when applying brakes moderately - lt. Front brake locked up and skidded 78 feet. Vehicle was taken in @ 8600 miles and 1st design brake pads were re-installed. 3rd problem - two weeks later - brakes were grinding non-stop. Took vehicle back in shop and they replaced again with 1st design brake pads and rotors.. -- 2nd design to be produced in late October-- 4th problem - brakes progressively got worse during the month of October 05 @11,000 miles - took vehicle back into shop for the 2nd design brake pads and new rotors. -- was told that new design was a -- softer -- brake pad. -- when driving home - pulled up to garage door and vehicle almost did not stop - ** hard break pedal when driving at slow speeds ** seem to notice even more when turning. 5th problem - took vehicle back to shop a week later, to check out brake system - unable to duplicate. 6th problem- took vehicle back into shop in December 05 - brake were intermittent not stopping vehicle - numerous time I have almost rear ended vehicles in stop and go traffic. -- shop was unable to duplicate. 7th problem - took vehicle back again in late December with 14,000 miles - shop still unable to duplicate problem. Two weeks later while driving through a pharmacy drive through - my wife and I experienced brake failure again - this time my wife had to run over curb to avoid hitting vehicle in front of her. ** damaged the front bumper ** and my wife refuses to drive vehicle with the --safety-- issues that it does have.. this is a safety issue -- -- vehicle has been sitting now for over two months -- not driven -- and still making car payments.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #9

Feb 262006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,795 miles
The brake makes an loud grinding noise when ever it gets hot or whenever I come down hills. It has happened a lot of times and I am not sire if the will be a loss of braking power or something.

- Hacienda Heights, CA, USA

problem #8

Jan 072006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,670 miles
Most recent on 1/7/2006 while backing out of garage brakes were applied and complete failure. Pumped 2 or 3 times and brakes worked. This has happened about 5 other times, always at a slow speed, usually while approaching a turn, twice while pulling up to our driveway. Pumping brake several times brings full braking power back. Took vehicle to dealership where vehicle was purchased and they were unable to duplicate the problem after having the vehicle for a day and a half. Ast. Service manager claimed that there had been no other complaints of failures known to him.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #7

Jan 172006

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,892 miles
Brake failure. Car sent in for repair in August 2005 (dealer gave a handout explaining why brakes were not a problem), September 2005 (dealer replaced brakes), brakes failed January 17, 2006. My husband could have been killed.

- Malibu, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 062005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During moderate braking, there is a clanging noise from the front right brake. This is apparently a known issue to Honda for the 2005 Odyssey, but was deemed not a safety issue by internal engineers. They are pending a solution. However, on two occasions, most recently on 11/6/05, I had to brake hard, and the loud noise occurred on the from right brake, associated with swerving of that side. This indicates to me that brake is not functioning optimally. The dealer was not able to reproduce the swerving.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #5

Aug 152005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
I purchased 2005 Honda Odyssey vehicle on May 31, 2005. By August the van had been driven approximately 3000 miles when I noticed that the brakes had started making scraping noises. It sounded as if there is sand or dirt on the brake pads. Also, when the brakes were used to make a sudden stop the front brakes would grind. It was intermittent at first, by 5000 miles it had become a regularity while braking. I reported this to my dealer and was told Honda was aware of the problem and was working on a solution. I have not heard anything to date.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #4

Aug 012005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
When I apply the brakes fairly hard (but not slamming the pedal to the floor), the front brakes sound like they are grinding. I have taken it back to the Honda dealer twice with this complaint and they said they hear this complaint regularly and are waiting on Honda to address it. The dealer claims there is nothing they can do.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #3

Sep 252005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Odyssey with 10K miles experiencing loud grinding upon medium to hard braking. Mostly occurs with in town driving after brakes have warmed up. Will occur multiple times in a row and then not be heard again for weeks. This has happened several times and I have taken in into Honda 2X's to fix the problem. They said they have driven it and heard nothing. They checked pads and rotors and everything looks great. After being treated like I was crazy I returned to the dealership and asked to have a service manager ride with me when the problem was apparent. He heard the problem and after consulting with a shop foreman stated that Honda was aware of the problem but there was nothing they could do about. The problem continues and I have no options of fixing this until Honda figures out what to do.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #2

Sep 242005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased a new 2005 Honda Odyssey LX in September 2004. I have experienced multiple incidents in which the brakes make a very loud grinding noise with normal braking that seems to be coming from the front brakes. The sound and feel is like there is metal grinding metal from the steering wheel. When the grinding occurs, braking power is minimal. The grinding occurs more frequently in city driving after using the brakes more often. Its almost like they heat up and get sticky"?" the scarcity experience was coming down a hill to a red light at 15 mph, my family within, coming to a major road, and the feeling of the van not stopping scared me to death. The grinding issue has resulted in loss of braking ability but no loss of control. As I have found here, I am part of a growing complaint from other new Odyssey owners who have complained and experienced this same problem. Do not know if this matters or not, when this occurs, I can go and cool the brakes with water and the sensation will diminish at least for a little while. It seems to be getting more common as time is continuing. I have brought this issue to my dealer, but they always just say that they did not hear anything. Same ole same ole....

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #1

Sep 102005

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
(1) we were driving today about 35 mph and the signal light turned red. We proceeded to stop and our brakes started making a grinding/clunking sound. It also prevented us to slow down our van normally....in other words....increased the distance before our van stopped. (2) we just about went into the 4-way intersection, but we didn't. (3) our dealership has looked at our brakes a couple weeks ago and did not find a problem. They spoke to a couple Honda engineers who were aware of this issue with other 05 Odyssey minivans. They stated Honda is working on a solution to fix this issue and the issue does not effect the vans stopping performance. This is not true as I have had slam on my brakes a few weeks back due to someone pulling out in front of me and it did the samething with the grinding/clunking. I almost hit the other car due to the increased braking distance. There are a lot of other 05 Odyssey on www.odyclub.com/forums that have the same braking issue. We have had this issue about 7 times now. Honda needs to recall these brake pads/calipers or whatever is causing this before someone gets hurt or killed!!!

- Papillion, NE, USA

Not what you are looking for?