Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,575 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Odyssey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Apr 282012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 69,667 miles


Faulty vsa modulator / ABS pump. The vsa indicator light stays on and diag check by dealer shows error codes 76-1 and 66-1. the advise is to replace the modulator. This equipment is already proven faulty in similar Honda models (Odyssey 2007-2008) and recalled. Honda Odyssey 2005 also needs to be recalled. Customers should not be forced to spend a couple of thousand dollars for this.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #35

Sep 122011


  • 55,000 miles
Come on Honda.... enough is enough. I live in a hilly town. All winter long, no problem with brakes. As soon as it gets warm and I braking when coming down a hill (even a very gentle slope), the front brakes make the most horrific grinding noise. I've been told over and over by people at stop lights, that I really need to get my brakes fixed (but Honda continues to say the brakes are in great shape). Multiple times, when the grinding occurs, I barely got stopped for the traffic light. This is extremely dangerous, let alone extremely embarrassing. If Honda does nothing about this, it will be the last Honda I ever own and I will for sure convince 100 people to not buy Honda either. Please force Honda to finally do something about this issue, before someone dies.

- Peachland, WA, USA

problem #34

Aug 232010


  • 39,000 miles
The Odyssey vsa light went on in August 2010. When I took my vehicle to the brighton Honda dealership in mi, they said I needed to have my vsa modulator assembly replaced for the price of $1257.44. I was told by a mechanical engineer that this should not have occurred at this low mileage. I contacted Honda automobile division in torrance, ca last month. I was told that since my car was no longer under warranty they would not cover it, however, they would go 50/50.

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #33

Feb 012011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


2005 Honda Odyssey. Consumer requests reimbursement the consumer stated there was a humming noise coming from the rear brakes. The dealer resurfaced both rear parking brake drums and the disc brakes.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #32

Jul 012010


  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 30 mph the contact was applying pressure to the brakes when he heard a scratching sound. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The noise was intermittent and was heard during the summer months. When the weather was cold the contact would not hear the noise. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000.

- Venetia, PA, USA

problem #31

Aug 272010


  • 55,000 miles
Spongy brakes with loss of brakes.

- Crowley, TX, USA

problem #30

Dec 172009


  • 81,000 miles


Issues with power steering. When driving long distances a loud noise will start emitting from power steering. This has happened on multiple occasions over last five years. Have taken my Honda to at least two dealerships about problem. Never diagnosed until recently. Was told that power steering pump is defective. Honda states no longer under warranty. Very expensive repair. Dealership will not help with cost. Contacted Honda corporate customer service and was offered no help with cost of repair. Will no longer drive my Honda any long distances. Also have had brake and parking brake issues with this car over past five years.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #29

Dec 222009


  • 46,938 miles
1. during a routine service on 12/22/2009 the dealer tech / mechanic advised that both front and rear brake rotors on my 2005 Honda Odyssey were rust pitted and needed to be replaced. This is clearly a defect on a relatively new car since I own a 10 year old 2001 Honda Accord which has not had any such problem so far - under same driving conditions. 2. this is a safety defect and will require a expensive fix (approx. $1500 quoted by the dealer) for a car under warranty. Cannot continue to drive the car with rusted rotors and 2mm pads. 3. the dealer has quoted $1500 to replace both front / rear rotors and pads.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #28

Mar 052010


  • 43,912 miles
I have a 2005 Honda Odyssey which has had the same reported stopping issue as reported by newer models. The article describes the pending recall for 2007-2008 Honda Odyssey, and it described the exact problem I am having with my 2005 Odyssey with only 45,000 miles. When the breaks are heated from full load or multiple stops we have to push the brake pedal all the way to the floor to get it to stop. Once the pedal hits the floor then there is a metal on metal grinding sound. We have had this checked multiple times at Honda dealer and they have heard of this and speculate master cylinder but under cold conditions there are no problems. I called Honda this morning and reported it, and I was told that since my Odyssey is out of warranty, I would have to take it in to the Honda dealership, have them inspect it, and pay for the repair myself. I don't think this is right.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #27

Dec 202004


  • 4,000 miles
I purchased a 2005 Honda Odyssey October 2004. Within weeks and to this day I have problems with the braking system; this is after numerous replacements of brake pads and rotors. The front brakes repeatedly make a grinding noise when making a hard stop or stopping on a downward slope, noticed more in the summer. The defect in the brakes feel as if the brakes are going to fail; I have to take my foot off the brake because I feel the pedal going all the way to the floor. The rear brakes also are defective and are noisy when applied and the car is making a turn. I have addressed the issue on multiple occasions with the dealer. Initially, I was told that the brake pads were faulty and would be replaced. After they were replaced, the problem started again. The dealer has admitted that the Odyssey as braking problems, but no recall has been issued so their hands are tied, I have also been told that they cannot duplicate the problem, to being told my brakes must have been dusty, and/or that they just needed an adjustment. One thing though, the brakes have never been replaced being they were worn to the point of needing replacement. I know I am not the first to complain in regards to this specific issue. Why doesn't the NHTSA enforce its authority and demand that this problem is resolved in the 2005 Odyssey minivans?

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #26

Apr 242009


  • 25,000 miles


At least several times my wife and I have been scared with the performance of my brakes on Honda Odyssey 2005. There is no recall, so nothing I can do. When going down the hill and stopping at the stop sign (pushing the brake pedal), brakes seem to grab at first and then let go for about a second for some unknown reason. After this brakes grab again and seem to work just fine, as though nothing happened. This really scares me and my wife when it happens.

- New Holland, PA, USA

problem #25

Jan 012006


  • 35,000 miles
When turning into parking spaces or making other sharp turns, van makes loud groaning noise. Have had the following done: Brake dust blown out, rotors resurfaced and pads replaced, all of which helped for awhile but then noise returns. Car was shimmying when stopping from freeway speeds but that has stopped when brakes were replaced. Honda claims no knowledge of other cars with this problem, even though I have referred them to these websites. I have an '05 ex with about 45K on it.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #24

Oct 012008


  • 29,000 miles
When turning into a parking spot or a slow turn on the road way I get a loud noise like the brakes are bad. The vehicle has only 39,000 miles on it and Honda needs to correct this wear problem. These seem to be a use of poor material in the manufacturing of what is a very important part of a vehicle and that is the brakes. It seem like this is a failure waiting to happen and could cause an accident if Honda does not notify us and get the proper brakes on this vehicle. Honda should not be allowed to just pass this off as not their problem and pass it off as normal break wear. Please help us Honda owners get this problem corrected and asap if not tomorrow.

- Sebring, FL, USA

problem #23

May 162007


  • 28,033 miles
Van always has a grinding noise when you put the brakes on hard. It appears to be only on the front. When it was brought to the attention of the dealer, the tech rode with us to hear the noise and replaced the rotors & resurfaced the discs based on the Honda tech line. The tech indicated that it is a problem with the Honda vans, as the front of the van is too heavy for the brakes that are provided by Honda. In less than 10,000 more miles, it was making that noise and still is. When taken to the dealer for the multi point inspection, they always indicate that the brakes have plenty left. It grinds everytime you put the brakes on and it sounds like the older cars when the brakes are worn down completely.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #22

Mar 032009


  • 25,000 miles
2005 Honda Odyssey touring has soft brakes at low mileage and rotors had to be replaced at 25,000 miles since they were rusted out, even though brakes had been serviced by Honda at all prescribed service intervals. Honda replaced all 4 rotors and pads at my cost, claiming that this wear was not abnormal and would not have been covered even if the vehicle was still under original 3-year warranty. My concern (which I shared with them) is that this is a safety issue since the parts failed after a very short interval even though the van was serviced at the intervals prescribed by Honda at a Honda dealer. The safety concern is that the braking distance with the rusted-out rotors increases stopping distance dramatically, even at low speeds.

- Etobicoke, 00, USA

problem #21

Oct 302008


  • 21,000 miles
Purchased a brand new Honda Odyssey 2005 ex-L from fremont Honda in 2005. Just after two years when the brakes are hot and are applied sharply e.g. when coming down a hill they make a loud grinding sound. Sound seems to come from the front brakes. I took the vehicle to capitol Honda for a regular oil service and the technician stated the sound is normal, it is the ABS kicking in. This is not the case, as I fear the brakes will fail one day as it sounds like metal on metal and may have an accident one day. I have raised this concern with american Honda who handles customer service that there is a design flaw with only 21,000 mile on the van. They stated I am out of warranty over 3 years/ 36,000 miles and to take it back again to the dealer. I will take it to the dealer again on 10/31/08. I want to elevate this issue/ customer concern to NHTSA to investigate grinding brake noise of 2005 Honda Odyssey van. Also conduct a google search on Honda Odyssey grinding brake noise and you will see hundreds of articles - there is clearly a fault that Honda needs to resolve and recall its vehicles and fix free of charge before large scale accidents occur.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #20

Sep 052008


  • 33,000 miles
There are times when I press the brake pedal and the car surges forward. This has happened at least 5 times in the last two weeks. I took it into Mahwah Honda and they checked the car and the error codes and found no problem.. it feels as though the accelerator was being pressed. Both my wife and I experienced this problem at different times when we were driving and coming to a stop.

- Mahwah, NJ, USA

problem #19

Jun 252007


  • 32,310 miles
Shimmy in front end when applying brakes on downhill. Honda advised: Caused by brake wearing. Honda replaced front brakes and resurfaced rotors, 32,310 miles. Now, 14,000 miles later, shimmy occurring on downhills when applying brakes. This is very unsafe especially to older or inexperienced drivers. I have been driving for over 55 years; I'm 74 years old...and I do know cars and engines, and have not had a vehicle with a shimmy since I was a kid! first occurred June 07 and started again 828/08..yesterday.

- Frisco, CO, USA

problem #18

Apr 102008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Odyssey. While turning the vehicle at 10 mph, the brakes made a loud squeaking sound when they were depressed. The vehicle has been diagnosed by the dealer several times, but it is still experiencing the same failure. Whenever the vehicle is driven over 60 mph, the steering wheel begins to vibrate. The vehicle has been diagnosed by the dealer several times for this failure as well. The current mileage was 31,000 and failure mileage was 27,000. Updated 07/15/08. Updated 07/15/08

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #17

Jul 202007


  • miles
Brakes groan and shudder when applying significant pressure. Dealer refused to replace or service brakes unless I paid for total cost. I paid for cost of replacing pads and machining rotors out of pocket.

- Fresno, CA, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?