Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007-2009 was, at one point, the best selling minivan in the United States. But 2007 owners got the short end of that deal.

Peeling paint, a whining steering pump and an easily breakable A/C condenser are all top complaints about the 2007 model year. And anyone who doesn't think a busted minivan A/C is a big deal has never taken a summer road trip with kids.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,808 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Odyssey transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Feb 152010

Odyssey

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We had owned a 2007 Odyssey for one week when we noticed judder upon normal acceleration. Also we felt unusually hard transmission shifts when slowing. Vehicle has 59,000 miles. Very poor gas mileage. Took it to a Honda dealership which confirmed the above symptoms and replaced the torque converter. After torque converter replacement, problem persists.

- Catoosa, OK, USA

problem #17

Jan 182010

Odyssey

  • 41,090 miles
2007 Odyssey, bought on 18 Jan 2010 from dch academy Honda, old bridge, NJ as a used vehicle. On the same week reported that there is problem in transmission. When accelerating at 40mph to 50mph, there a vibration observed constantly and transmission is getting locked at 1.5rpm and not getting accelerating. When it got reported to used car department, mechanic was keep on saying that it is intended behavior while accelerating and because of big vehicle. I was not agreed and concern was passed on to the service manager in service department. Service manager after going through the test drive and service bulletins, he is told that there need to be software upgrade needed to solve this problem. Software upgrade is performed on this vehicle. Now the vibration is little bit reduced, but the problem is still exists. Again I had an appointment for test drive and there were two service managers tested this vehicle and after regressive test along with them, they agreed that vibration at 40-50mph speed and 1.5-2rpm torque. Now they said there is a problem with torque converter in automatic transmission and need to be replaced after getting the part from Honda. I am not totally confident that replacement of torque converter can solve this problem. They are just making some patch to temporarily mask the main problem in transmission. It will cost me more once my power train warranty gets expired. This problem may cause failure of transmission and may cause accident at run time.

- Morganville, NJ, USA

problem #16

Feb 212010

Odyssey

  • 33,500 miles
2007 Honda Odyssey. Full transmission replaced after only approximately 27,000 miles. I now have approximately 33,500 miles and same problem with transmission has begun. Noticeable flutter at approximately 35 mph and a serious shifting downgrade at 20 mph when foot is off accelerator. Was told by dealer they would update computer and if that doesn't work then they would most likely have to replace the torque conversion.

- Antioch, IL, USA

problem #15

Feb 152010

Odyssey

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission juddering and hesitates between 30mph-50mph. This has become a very dangerous situation when entering the highway or making maneuvers that requires a quick increase in speed. The hesitation and juddering creates a very large vibration through the entire minivan. Our Odyssey has had two software updates and it appears the torque converter will need to be replaced next. This issue has been happening since it had 5,000 miles. We complained about this issue at the 10K service, however, the dealer said that the issue was probably fuel related. However, one service manager at a local Honda dealership told us it is most likely a transmission issue and there was no known fix for it at the time. Since then Honda has identified two software updates that are required to correct the problem and if this does not fix the problem the torque converter will need to be replaced next. What we have also been told is that if the torque converter has been bad for a long period of time it will start putting out metal shavings that will get into the gears of the transmission, which will eventually damage the transmission. However, Honda will not cover a new transmission unless it can be proven that the transmission is damaged, this is very difficult to do unless the transmission is truly showing signs of failure or enough oil shavings can be found in the transmission oil. It seems that the consensus is that Odyssey with this problem will most likely have a shorten life span of their transmission. We have less than 40,000 miles on our Odyssey. My opinion is Honda is trying patch a problem that requires major surgery with band aids, hoping they can get beyond their required responsibility under the powertrain warranty. I guess until someone gets hurt or killed, this will not be taken seriously. This is a shame we have owned a Honda or Acura for the last twenty years and their reputation has been excellent.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #14

Oct 212007

Odyssey

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the vehicle was lunging forward and hesitated when she shifted gears while driving approximately 45 to 55 mph. She noticed a low pitch noise and the steering wheel vibrated along with the delay in shifting gears. The failure has occurred repeatedly since the vehicle was purchased in October 2007. She took the vehicle to the dealer who stated that her harmonics was the explanation for the noise but did not inspect the vehicle. She had not spoken with the manufacturer to-date. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 15,000. The failure mileage was approximately 200.

- Englewood, OH, USA

problem #13

Aug 202009

Odyssey

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. While stopped at a red light she attempted to move out of the way to allow a police vehicle to pass, the engine began to idle roughly and the vehicle proceeded to accelerate. She then attempted to depress the brake pedal very hard before stopping the vehicle. On a separate occasion, while exiting the highway, she began depressing the brake to merge out of traffic at speeds of less than 15 mph, the vehicle began to accelerate at full speed. The contact continued to apply extreme pressure to the brakes and the vehicle proceeded over the median onto the grass. She was able to stop the vehicle and avoid a collision. The dealer reprogrammed the transmission sensor and advised the failure should not occur again. There were no further incidents thereafter. The failure and current mileages were under 30,000.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #12

Mar 192009

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. In March 2009, she noticed a noise around the wheel. She took the vehicle to the dealer and the left wheel bearing was repaired. In December 2009, she noticed the same sound along with a transmission issue which she noted as difficulty shifting. She stated that at low speeds, she actually lost power steering capabilities and had difficulty turning. She took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the power steering pump was defective; the torque converter was replaced as well in reference to the issue with the transmission. The repair did not remedy the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired to-date for the power steering problem. The manufacturer stated that they would assist with the transmission repairs since it was still under warranty; however, they refused to repair the power steering at no charge. They offered her 25% off the repair costs. The current mileage was approximately 59,000. The failure mileage was approximately 41,000. Updated 02/13/10 updated 02/16/10. Updated 02/18/10.

- West Windsor, NJ, USA

problem #11

Jan 212010

Odyssey

  • 53,956 miles
2007 Honda Odyssey that has a transmission shudder. Had 2 manufacture software updates done and the recommend replacement of the torque converter. Very unstable at maintaining speed at 25-45 mph and at highway cruising speeds. Wet roads and rainy conditions make the problems vary dangerous in trying to keep road traction and control of vehicle.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 282009

Odyssey

  • 41,200 miles
Bought a Honda Odyssey 07. At 2722 nostrand ave, brooklyn. NY. 11210. Engine pinging, transmission is intermittent judder, dealer said uses 93 octane gas for pinging, judder can't find, there are big thing about Honda engine pinging and transmission jerking, but they denied to fix it.....it show on www. hondaproblems.com or odyclub.com I had been back and forth to the dealer for the last two month, and problem still didn't get fix...I spend all my money on a piece of junk....and they ignore the problems.....

- Brooklyn, Ny . 11226, NY, USA

problem #9

Aug 212009

Odyssey

  • 58,000 miles
Honda Odyssey transmission failed (torque needs replacement). If this is not replaced in time then it may fail whole transmission. While driving (when changing gear - auto) it shakes the van like crazy. Imagine on the highway while driving all of a sudden it fails and throws the van to complete stop or in different lane. The car/truck behind me may run over me. When I ask the dealer to have it replaced as it is under warranty he gives us excuses to delay and have the 60000 miles markup to pass. We are some 200 miles left before the warranty expires. He says we can drive it is okay. But I do not believe the dealer. When I asked can you guarantee that nothing will happen while driving his reply was a big smile. I also asked to give us the warranty after they replace the transmission on the Honda parts - he denies, saying I have to buy the extended warranty.

- Parlin, NJ, USA

problem #8

Jul 152009

Odyssey

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Random missed shifts and engine revving. Which would follow with various vibrations, skipping of the transmission, lost of power, and a sudden drop to a lower gear at high speeds.

- South Orange, NJ, USA

problem #7

Aug 302009

Odyssey

  • 42,345 miles
Vehicle shudders at low speeds when downshifting. Upshifting at low speeds (25 mph) it also shudders as it "hunts" for a gear. At highway speeds transmission shudders shifting into overdrive and when the variable cylinder management (vcm) system switches on or off. There is an intermittent steering wheel shake at 70 mph which seems to be related.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #6

Apr 302007

Odyssey

  • 400 miles
My 2007 Odyssey has been slipping on inclines when I take my foot off the brake or go from R to D. initially the slipping was a couple of inches and was denied as defect by dealership. Now the car slips a foot or more. Last year I was stopped in sf and when I hit the accelerator, I rolled back into the car behind me despite my flooring the gas. I have recently almost rolled into the door of a parked car with a child standing by the parked car while backing up on an incline. Dealership states it is known defect and will not fix. I am afraid of rolling into another car, child etc. Honda corporate says it is part of the car and will not fix, but will not provide me with documentation of this "known defect". I have also had to replace my tires yearly and replace my front brakes after 18 months. My condenser on my A/C also froze up this week in 110 heat with my 4 small kids in the car and my son had an asthma attack.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 172009

Odyssey

  • 13,000 miles
I bought my Odyssey (certified pre-owned) with only 11,000 miles and 11 months of use of the local authorized dealership. After 3 months I started to feel a delay when shifting from any gear to drive. But it only does it when the vehicle is warm. The only local Honda service station acknowledges the fault, but they keep telling me that it is a normal symptom of an Honda vehicle. Until today I keep fighting with them because, I have taken the vehicles to other certified Honda technicians, and they all agree that there is a problem in the transmission with the lubricating process.

- Caguas, PR, USA

problem #4

May 292007

Odyssey

  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle made a loud noise. The transmission was replaced twice within six months. When attempting to stop the vehicle, it skips from first to third gear, causing the vehicle to lunge forward. The contact noticed that when applying pressure to the brake pedal, the pedal extends all the way down to the floor and causes the vehicle to vibrate excessively. As a result, the stopping distance is increased. She took the vehicle back to the dealer and they replaced the brake rotor, which did not remedy the failure. The manufacturer did not assist. The failure mileage was 1,500.

- Warner Roberts, GA, USA

problem #3

Feb 212008

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,321 miles
Very hard transmission downshift upon slowing the van. After downshift the van has a sharp jerk and seems to have to catch the transmission before going into a lower gear. Transmission has been replaced twice since purchased new an May 28, 2007. Now dealer and Honda factory service rep is saying this is a "normal characteristic" of this van, even after replacing the transmission twice for the same issue. The first new transmission was at 3321 miles and second was at 12,281 miles. Brakes: Sloppy and weak brakes since purchase. Rotors turned and pad replaced at 166 miles, three days after buying new. Still soft and vibrating upon stopping. Dealer says this is also normal. Between the transmission and brake problems, we do not feel that this is a safe van for our children to ride in. American Honda has been more than uncooperative. There is a very dangerous defect with this van and we are afraid to drive it.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #2

May 012007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
When I go from reverse to drive there is a delay before the clutch engages. The vehicle will roll during this time while the engine revs before the clutch engages.

- Dunlap, IL, USA

problem #1

May 152007

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When stopping on an incline with the foot on the brake and the vehicle in drive, if the foot was taken off the brake, the vehicle rolled backwards. The vehicle has an automatic transmission.

- Centreville, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?