Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Aside from peeling paint, the 2008 Honda Odyssey is a pretty reliable, generally trouble-free minivan.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,172 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Odyssey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

May 182008

Odyssey

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very soft feel to brake pedal on 2006 through 2008 Honda Odyssey's. multiple complaints and some accidents due to this condition. I am in the habit of pumping my brakes on my 2008 Odyssey. On mycarstats.com, there are several problems of the same nature for 2006 thru 2008 Odyssey's. these problems seem to have stopped with the 2009 models. Many owners have had brake parts replaced and the problem remains. I think there is a design problem that has been corrected with the 2009 models since there are no reports filed of soft brakes at mycarstats.com for that year. This is my second input here since I had the wrong VIN number on my first submittal.

- St Charles, MO, USA

problem #44

May 052008

Odyssey

  • 3,298 miles
Very soft feel to brake pedal on 2006 through 2008 Honda Odyssey's. multiple complaints and some accidents due to this condition. I am in the habit of pumping my brakes on my 2008 Odyssey. On mycarstats.com, there are several problems of the same nature for 2006 thru 2008 Odyssey's. these problems seem to have stopped with the 2009 models. Many owners have had brake parts replaced and the problem remains. I think there is a design problem that has been corrected with the 2009 models since there are no reports filed of soft brakes at mycarstats.com for that year.

- St Charles, MO, USA

problem #43

Feb 182010

Odyssey

  • 25,000 miles
In February I purchased a 2008 Honda Odyssey with 25K miles, brakes pedal seems inconsistent, spongy with excessive pedal travel before brakes respond. Feels like air in lines which requires the driver to pre-think braking and leave additional space between them and the vehicle in front of them. Abrupt stops are difficult and delayed due to the inconsistency. Returned van to dealer immediately and was told it there is nothing wrong with the vehicle, "this is how the Odyssey brakes feel".

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #42

Sep 012009

Odyssey

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Honda Odyssey - brake problems. Purchased vehicle new. Too much play when pressing brake pedal. Took to dealership a few times. Was told initially that this was simply how this model drove. I disagreed. Took it in again and the modulator (or regulator of some sort) was replaced and I was told this was defective. Seems similar to other complaints that have been filed. I saw immediate improvements once this part was replaced.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #41

Dec 182009

Odyssey

  • 18,000 miles
2008 Odyssey van brakes have been shaking the steering wheel for about 12,000 miles and I have also complained the pedal feels soft. Honda dealer in dublin say their is nothing wrong. Finally took it to el cerrito Honda and they said the pads have more than 50% left and we have hot spots in the front rotors and it would cost 380 dollars to fix. My question is if I have over 50% of my pads left at 34,000 miles which seem good then how did the hot spots get in the rotors. Hot spot or wrapped rotors are a sign of abuse. I have changed the front rotors myself and the shaking went away but the soft pedal is still present. You can pump the brakes and they will work better!!!!!!

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #40

Dec 202008

Odyssey

  • 500 miles
Honda Odyssey brakes were not effective when I bought this vehicle in Dec 2008 right from the day one. Initially I thought it is normal for vans but then I took it to the Honda dealer in my area sometimes in may or June 2009, tech said he replaced some part. I am not sure how an important part would not work on the day one I bought the vehicle. I have not felt any issue after the fix. But want to confirm if there is any other report like this and everything is ok with my vehicle.

- St Johns, FL, USA

problem #39

Dec 202008

Odyssey

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Honda Odyssey were not effective when I bought this vehicle in Dec 2008 right from the day one. Initially I thought it is normal for vans but then I took it to the Honda dealer in my area sometimes in may or June 2009, tech said he replaced some part. I am not sure how an important part would not work on the day one I bought the vehicle. I have not felt any issue after the fix. But want to confirm if there is any other report like this and everything is ok with my vehicle.

- St Johns, FL, USA

problem #38

Jul 052008

Odyssey

  • miles
Very "soft" brake pedal operation.pedal goes to floor when ignition begins. Must "pump" when applying brakes. Dlr says (Honda says) normal, baloney!! have changed mas. Cyl. Twice, ABS modulator once. No joy. Dlr says "just have us bleed/adjust every time I bring it in". I'm on record that I'll sue if I have a brake related accident (assuming I'm alive). The brakes have continued to be soft, sometimes go to floor, since I bought the car bleeding/adjusting helps for about a week. On second mas. Cyl. Replacement, dlr. Said the braking operation was "bypassing the mas. Cyl.". that's certainly not "normal". somebody need to do something before someone is killed!!!

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #37

Jan 272010

Odyssey

  • 15,000 miles
My Honda Odyssey 2008 having shaky problem on the brake system after 15000 miles. The problem persists and getting worse. I've taken the car to Honda dealer and they say the car warranty only cover 12000 miles for the brake and was not as part of the 36,000 miles manufacture guarantee.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #36

Jul 222008

Odyssey

  • 4,721 miles
07/22/08 - spongy brake pedal can be depressed to 1/2 inch of floor with moderate pressure and can be pumped to restore height and effectiveness. Honda dealer service tech "did not really feel any abnormality - but brakes were bled to address client concern and brakes feel better" 07/09/09 - brake pedal feels soft. Honda dealer service "brake pedal feels soft - see bulletin 07-045 verified and ordered ABS modulator" 07/23/09 - Honda dealer service "client states brake pedal feels soft. Install sop ABS modulator - defect code=03214, symptom code=04907 replaced ABS modulator unit manually bleed brake system" comment: This repair restored brakes to normal - not spongy, and high pedal. 01/21/10 - Honda dealer service "client states brakes are feeling spongy again. Please check and advise. Cannot duplicate customer concern at this time. May be due to A/C system cycling in and out" comment: Was told this is "normal brake pedal feel" for this car, which is an unsatisfactory response, as the ABS modulator replacement and brake bleeding on 07/23/09 temporarily corrected this symptom. The spongy pedal symptom was temporarily repaired by removing trapped air from the brake system and replacing the part (ABS modulator) that was thought to be the cause of the air. However, there is a flaw in the brake system because the spongy/low pedal recurs when air again becomes entrapped within the system. The result is an unsafe braking system which has not yet been repaired..

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #35

Jan 102010

Odyssey

  • 17,123 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have taken our 2008 Honda Odyssey to the dealer several times for brakes that are so soft and shake so badly under braking that I consider them dangerous--have had several near-misses because brakes are so weak. We have been told every time that they are "functioning exactly as they were designed to function.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #34

Jun 072009

Odyssey

  • 8,000 miles
2008 Odyssey brakes feel changes and does not feel like it is stopping. Caused the van to hit washer in garage.

- Shalimar, FL, USA

problem #33

Jan 072010

Odyssey

  • 27,050 miles
Driver in front me stopped and I was unable to slow down due to the unresponsiveness of my 2008 Honda Odyssey. I ended up rear ending the vehicle in front of me. We've been complaining of soft brakes and the inability to stop for awhile to the dealer. They've said it's normal. On a trip up to reno recently, it was very apparent that the vehicle had problems stopping. The brakes would cause the steering wheel to shake. We've had many vehicles and have not had this issue.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #32

Nov 242009

Odyssey

  • 12,700 miles
Model: 2008 Honda Odyssey ex-L (with nav & rear ent. System) issue: Brakes are very tentative and "mushy". atypical pedal travel before braking action activated, and then requiring much more pressure to activate braking than what would be considered normal. We recently purchased this vehicle used from Honda carland, alpharetta, ga. Vehicle had undergone the Honda "certified" used car inspection prior to sale. We are very concerned with the brakes in this vehicle and have become aware that a substantial number of other complaints regarding the brakes have been made. We encourage an investigation and recall so that this potentially dangerous situation can be fixed. We will return the vehicle to the dealership for inspection and potential repair.

- Dunwoody, GA, USA

problem #31

Jun 012008

Odyssey

  • 100 miles
Brake pedal goes almost to the floor before the vehicle stops. Pedal continues to get softer and softer. It feels like there is air in the brake system, you can pump them up if you have time before you stop. It now requires you to push the brake pedal lower than the gas pedal to stop. This can cause dangerous situation if the gas pedal is also hit with the side of your foot when pushing the brake pedal in a panic stop. Honda says all of this "normal and refuses to do anything to fix it.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #30

Feb 012009

Odyssey

  • 3,000 miles
Honda 2008 Odyssey brakes feel low and squishy at different times while driving. A grinding sound is heard from the front brakes intermittently. Owned a 2006 Honda Odyssey and experienced the grinding noise only. Honda replaced front pads at 7000 miles and after another 4,000 miles grinding sound returned. Honda dealer could not find problem.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #29

Oct 202009

Odyssey

  • 19,000 miles
Brakes are too soft. Had accident twice already because brakes dont react like they are suppose to. You have to push the brake down really hard. With that also said transmission has been a problem since day 1. you hear a loud noise when you change gears. Went to the Honda dealer and they said its normal. I dont think this should be making loud grunting noise.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #28

Oct 152009

Odyssey

  • 20,000 miles
2008 Honda Odyssey - brake pedal is traveling too far periodically. You attempt to stop and the pedal does not actuate the brakes unless you slam on them. Specifically a problem on a hill. Seeking service this week for a solution.

- Chagrin Falls, OH, USA

problem #27

Jul 152008

Odyssey

  • 200 miles
Brakes not stopping accurately. I am getting noise from the left front brake. At times they are spongy, don't seem to stop properly, and make me feel unsafe. I have told the dealer at least five times. They act as if nothing is wrong. This vehicle was purchased new 4/6/2008.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #26

Oct 262009

Odyssey

  • 9,150 miles
Very poor braking action and low and spongy brake pedal on 2008 Honda Odyssey le. Vehicle purchased on 9/12/08. Due to low spongy pedal the ABS modulator was replace on 3/10/08 at 3416 miles. On 6/3/09 at 5279 I complained about the brakes again for same reasons and was advised that was "normal for an Odyssey" and "pedal feels normal at this time". on 10/26/09 while descending a hill traffic came to sudden stop. Odyssey pedal went down to the floor without activating ABS or skidding the tires. Car stopped but nearly hit car in front. Car is going in to dealer tomorrow for further work.

- Cicero, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?