Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Aside from peeling paint, the 2008 Honda Odyssey is a pretty reliable, generally trouble-free minivan.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,172 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Odyssey brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Odyssey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #85

Jul 112012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving with foot on the gas the vehicle felt as if I was pumping the brakes but I was not touching the brakes. It was slowing. I then heard a rattling noise so I turned off the radio and opened the window to listen. I continued to drive and felt the same "brake pumping" sensation again. I was near the dealer so I headed there to report the issues. Directly in front of the dealer I felt a vibration under my foot on the gas pedal and hear a vibration sound. I arrived at the dealer to report the incident. I told the service rep. That I'd reported the same sensation 11 months ago while driving on vacation (while on the freeway). When I returned home I brought the vehicle to dealership but they found nothing. I'm afraid to drive it. If it does this while someone is driving directly behind me it will cause an accident. I honestly don't feel that is it is safe for me or others on the road to drive the vehicle. I'm afraid it will do the same thing on the freeway while I'm traveling at a high rate of speed. At this moment I feel like it is a death trap and will not drive it. I'm waiting from the dealership in the morning.

- South Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #84

Feb 182009

Odyssey

  • 9,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the brake pedal felt soft and made a grinding noise when the brakes were depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The rotors and the drive shaft was replaced. The failure was not corrected. The brake pedal still felt soft and continued to make a grinding noise. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 9,500 and the current mileage as 47,462.

- New Port Richey , FL, USA

problem #83

Apr 012011

Odyssey

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed abnormally into the floorboard when the brakes were applied. In order to stop the vehicle, the contact had to apply repeated pressure to the brake pedal. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, but they were unable to diagnose the failure. The rotors were resurfaced, but the failure continued. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #82

Aug 112011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 32,281 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On August 6, 2011 I took my 2008 Honda Odyssey (33,2281 miles) in to be looked at because there was a leak under my vehicle. It was determined that the front torque oil shaft converter/transmission was leaking. Upon repair, I got home, and was experiencing the same problem. I took my van back to Honda on August 11, 2011, only to have them determine that during the initial repair they had broke one of the seals during the install. They kept my vehicle for another 3 days, and gave me a rental car during this time. On November 4, 2011 (33,946) I took my car back in to Honda because my steering wheel had become difficult to turn, and there was oil leaking from under my van again. The steering issue and the oil were both repaired again. My vehicle was returned to me on November 7, 2011. On Friday March 3, 2012 (35,650 miles)I took my van back in to Honda because my vehicle was sling-shooting and having very rough transitions in shifting gears in low speeds 35-45 mph. On March 4, 2012 Honda informed me that my transmission was flare shifting and had complete internal transmission failure, and the entire transmission would have to be replaced. To date, I have been told that because it is over 36 months, (but still under 36,000 miles) it may not be covered under my warranty, and that they cannot provide me with a rental this time. Three transmission issues, brake issues, steering issues, etc later I am without a vehicle again. I'd say this is a lemon. Help!

- Gresham, OR, USA

problem #81

Feb 212012

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
After starting the vehicle and driving a short distance down the road at about 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly began slowing hard and the brake pedal went stiff as it applied it's own brakes. The event occurred over only a second or two before the brakes released and the car could accelerate again. However, moments later, the brakes applied again and promptly slowed the car down to a halt, again over a matter of a couple of seconds. During both occurrences, after immediately switching from the accelerator pedal to the brake pedal found the brake pedal impossible to press until the event passed.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #80

May 112009

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 5,600 miles
The brake pedal has always been"soft". it has just been getting worse.on numerous occasions after Jan 2010 the pedal almost reaches the floor of the vehicle. As a result of a Honda recall in May 2010, I had the vehicle checked at a Honda dealer in sandusky, oh. Since then I have taken the vehicle to my local Honda dealer in deland, fl three (3) times. On no occasion has the brake pedal been adjusted to prevent the pedal travel to near the floor. Also several times as I had to brake suddenly, my foot has simultaneously pressed the accelerator pedal almost causing my vehicle to hit an object in front of my vehicle. I cannot even sell this vehicle knowing of this apparent defect. The service personnel at the dealer confirm that there is an inherent defect in the 2007 and 2008 Honda Odyssey, and there is "nothing" they can do to remedy the problem. I strongly feel that I will have to consult with an attorney to settle this problem. I have more than 35,000 dollars invested in this vehicle and am not being treated for this defect.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #79

Nov 042011

Odyssey

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Odyssey with brake problems, front rotors replaced at 20K, recall for air in brake system completed, took back to dealer complaining that air is back. Rebleed system again better, back to dealer about six months later, they say needs brakes replaced at a cost of $400 to $500. Continued to drive vehicle brakes worked okay but shook van when driven for a while, 60K front rotors and back rotor need repair front pads need replacing back pads okay but dealer said again need brakes at all 4 corners. Did the work my self to save money. When bleeding brakes I noticed black colored stuff coming out and lots of air. When will Honda really fix the brakes? after a family dies because of brake failure. Something is wrong with this system. Front rotors twice and rear rotors at 60K. Rear pads were okay but replaced because they mad noise real bad.

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #78

Apr 022010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 21,500 miles
I have a 2008 Honda Odyssey and have experienced an extremely soft brake pedal. On a number of occasions as my right foot put normal pressure on the brake pedal, the pedal went almost down to the floor of the vehicle, causing my toe to put pressure on the accelerator pedal and the vehicle lurched forward. This has happened numerous times. I did receive a recall notice from Honda in May 2010 pertaining to the soft brake pedal problem. I have now had my pedal adjusted three times by Honda service and it does not improve the problem. Each time the Honda service personnel have explained the "2007 and 2008 Odyssey models have an inherent "soft brake" problem. I fear an emergency braking of the Odyssey can result in a serious highway collision and or serious injury or death. My opinion is that Honda is not concerned with the danger this problem is to my family or others who might suffer injuries or death due to the braking problem.

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #77

Aug 132011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 46,800 miles
Brakes are extremely soft and spongy, pedal sometimes has to be pressed completely to the floor to engage proper braking, nearly causing a crash on multiple occasions. Takes much longer than it should to stop the vehicle. Pumping brake pedal allows for better braking, as if there was air in the line. Recall work completed in August 2011 for a similar issue where air could build up in system, but it did not fix issue. Two visits to Honda service center and they indicate nothing wrong with the system after multiple tests. Dealer advised that previous recall repair was completed correctly. Dealer advises that they tested against other Odyssey's and all appear to brake the same, so there is no issue. Google internet search revealed hundreds of similar complaints on this model year and similar claims from various Honda dealers that there is nothing wrong with the braking system.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #76

Aug 232011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
After driving for several miles and apply the brakes it makes a grinding sound. I have taken it to the dealer ship several times but they could not duplicate the problem and could not solve the problem. The pads were checked each time and were in very good shape.

- Ball Ground, GA, USA

problem #75

Jun 092011

Odyssey

  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Honda Odyssey - brakes engage by themselves. This has happened 3 times. Traveling at speed limit (~45 mph) and suddenly the vans brake pedal engages and stops the car by itself. Dealer flushed brake line and refilled - said it could be caused by air in the line. Dealer said there was nothing else they could do unless they could duplicate the problem.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #74

May 102011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
While I was accelerating at aprox. 40-45 mph the car suddenly brakes by his own. I saw the brake pedal moving by itself ! I got scared by the consequences or the risk of having an accident. On the way to my home it happened two (2) more times while getting speed. Went to the dealer but they didn't find anything. One week before the incident the dealer replaced two front brake pads and cut the front rotors because the car vibrated when the brakes were applied. The rotors were attended before. Before this incident the vsa light turned on two times while stepping the brakes and the vehicle used to vibrate. I'm concern for the safety of my kids.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #73

Apr 232011

Odyssey

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact was driving approximately 10 mph and applied the brakes when the brakes did not respond and the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. There were no injuries or damage to either vehicle. The dealer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V098000 (service brakes, air). The dealer advised the contact to take the vehicle in for inspection. The vehicle was neither inspected nor repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #72

Jan 142010

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that whenever the vehicle was driven 40 mph and over, the vehicle would shake abnormally with an accompanying rattling sound when applying the brakes. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer several times but the dealer was unable to diagnose or duplicate the failure. The contact was concerned that the brakes would fail at some point. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 30,000. Updated 06/07/11 updated 06/13/11

- Glennview, IL, USA

problem #71

Apr 152008

Odyssey

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 25-30 mph, the vehicle in front of him suddenly stopped. The contact applied the brakes but he crashed into the rear of vehicle. There were no injuries and no police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who could not duplicate the failure. The failure had been ongoing since April 2008, and the vehicle had been taken to the dealer several times, but there had been no repairs made. The vehicle was recently repaired according to recall 10V098000 (service brakes, air) but when the brakes were applied, the vehicle shook. The vehicle was not taken back to the dealer for the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 65,365.

- Rosemead, CA, USA

problem #70

Feb 082011

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 19,500 miles
I have a Honda Odyssey 2008 model - problems are: 1. brakes are sort of giving a feeling they are not rigid and firm. The pedal shakes when the brakes re applied to slow down the speed 2. there is a friction sound that is annoying all the time and this happens when the vehicle is stationary for long time and then moved. 3. when riding in snow conditions, the brake pedal shakes along with the vehicle hydroplaning.

- West Windsor, NJ, USA

problem #69

Jun 022010

Odyssey

  • 18,000 miles
Minivan was brought to dealer to fix an overly-soft brake pedal, per a recall letter. Car was returned with brakes equally soft (or worse), so that even a "panic brake" procedure (using 240 lb of foot strength) could not trigger the ABS, brake assist, or other brake safety features. Car was returned to the (same) dealer twice more, with no improvement. Calls to Honda brought no results. Although there may be a simple fix (e.g., bleeding the brake fluid), Honda made no attempt to diagnose and repair the problems that arose during a recall procedure.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #68

Jan 062009

Odyssey

  • 4,000 miles
Brakes glaze according to the Honda dealership. Seems to be more difficult to stop the vehicle.

- Ladera Ranch, CA, USA

problem #67

Feb 092009

Odyssey

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Odyssey. The contact stated that the ABS braking system activates by itself. When stopping the vehicle it makes a grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they could not duplicate the failure. The dealer stated that the failure is known to the manufacturer, but they do not have a repair for it at this time. His vehicle is included in NHTSA campaign id number: 10V098000, service brakes; air, recall and it was taken to the dealer for the remedy. The remedy did not repair the failure and it was taken back to the dealer again. The contact was waiting for a call from the manufacturer. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileage was 25,000.

- Atlanta , GA, USA

problem #66

Sep 092008

Odyssey

  • 71,000 miles
2008 model year Honda Odyssey.. recall performed, brakes much improved. 4K miles later brake pedal very low and very soft. Recall was performed a second time. Some improvement. Another 4K miles pedal is very low and soft.

- King Of Prussia, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?