Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: We all want our SUVs to be able to stop on a dime, just not randomly and without warning. But that's what was happening to 2005 Pilot owners: their vehicles were slamming on the brakes even when they didn't. A government investigation of this problem led to a recall in March of 2013.

Another issue that keeps popping up is transmission fluid mixing with coolant in the radiator which is causing transmission failure, a costly repair to say the least.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,529 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Pilot brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Pilot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Pilot Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

May 292010

Pilot

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The brakes in my 2005 Honda Pilot suddenly apply themselves. Over the past 4 years, this has happened to me 3 times when I tapped the brake pedal and once just driving down the road. My wife recently had it happen once to her just after taking off from a stop sign. It happened to me while driving down the road at between 40 and 50 miles per hour. I've seen this problem reported on other web sites...one was going 60 when it happened. Two Honda dealers did diagnostics and found nothing. They could not "reproduce the problem"...no surprise since it's random! the last time (incident date below) my wife was out of town had the car towed to the second dealer. (the brake pads were replace by them but we've put less than 150 miles on it since then.) I believe this is not related to the mechanics since it happens suddenly and unexpectedly under different conditions...but who knows.

- Black Earth, WI, USA

problem #9

Mar 112010

Pilot

  • 17,513 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. While driving 30 mph the brakes felt soft and the pedal extended to the floor which made it difficult to stop the vehicle. He stated that the failure occurred intermittently. He took the vehicle to the dealer twice a few years ago for the brake failure. The dealer checked the brakes and could not find anything wrong. The manufacturer stated that his VIN was not included in the recall; therefore, they could not offer him any assistance. He will take the vehicle back to the dealer. The failure and the current mileages were 17,513.

- Surprise , AZ, USA

problem #8

Mar 202010

Pilot

  • 65,000 miles
2005 Honda Pilot brakes suddenly lock up while driving. Has occured on four occasions. Operator not touch brake pedal.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #7

Mar 202010

Pilot

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

3/20/10. 2005 Honda Pilot ex with 110K miles. Brake pedals feel 'soft┐ and gradually exhibit a pedal height that gets lower (closer to the floor) before the vehicle stops. I noticed this issue a week ago, but thought it was just me being paranoid. However, it appears be increasing very slowly over time.this is the same problem as the 3/16/10 Honda recall to modify the vehicle stability assist┐ (vsa«) modulator for only 344,000 Odyssey and 68,000 elements. I'm contacting the dealer on Monday. Keep in mind that they replaced both my front and back breaks less than 6 months ago. The 2005 Honda Pilot should have been included in the 3/16/10 recall.

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #6

Feb 192010

Pilot

  • 68,800 miles
My wife was cruising down the highway at 50 mph a week ago, under very good road condition, with her foot on the gas pedal, when she tried to Dodge the passenger car from the next lane, her brake wasn't working properly, suddenly her car made lousy banging sound and sled 3 times in rapid toward left after toward right, and left again. Luckily no contacts was made while in devastating moment. Before heading to dealer, today snowy day, driving 10 mph to my daughter's school dropping, it happened again as similar but not so panoramic. Barely avoid to collision with police patrol car on opposite lane.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

problem #5

May 292009

Pilot

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. While driving approximately 45 mph, she noticed that the brakes had suddenly seized and would not allow the vehicle to be moved in any direction. The dealer replaced the brake pads and rotors; however, the failure continued to occur. The current mileage was 45000 and the failure mileage was 35000.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #4

May 102009

Pilot

  • 434,544 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bt shimmy" is this a new dance? not!!!! dangerous vehicle~brakes transmission? shimmy? August 25, 2009 '05 Honda Pilot brakes lock up while driving. Did thorough investigation when this started in may: Brakes lock up and vehicle veers and stops while going over 35-40 mph. I am a journalist and did research. Numerous complaints: Honda says they don't listen to 'websites' what about your customers Honda? this was fixed for $500 back in may and happened again while three year old daughter is in the vehicle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! danger danger danger. Jack of diamonds service department in tyler Texas wants to argue about it. Sales manager says I can leave it there ~ B/C he is sure nothing is wrong and will resell it!!!! tyler, Texas. Further: Stranded in greenville, Texas most of the day with child. Unsafe unsa¤┤ unsafe. Brakes? transmission? shimmy" I don't know.

- Carrollton,, TX, USA

problem #3

Feb 202009

Pilot

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Pilot. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle slammed into brake mode and came to a complete and sudden stop. The failure continued for several minutes, causing items to be thrown from the seat onto the floor. During the failure, the vehicle stability assist warning indicator was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing, which produced a low battery voltage code and a brake sensor code. The dealer tested and replaced the battery. They also notified the manufacturer and opened a case. The failure and current mileages were less than 58,000.

- Chesapeake , VA, USA

problem #2

Feb 212009

Pilot

  • 57,500 miles
Happened to me 3 times yesterday. Once while driving ~40mph the vehicle came to a sudden stop, throwing items from the seat into the floor. The first instance was brief and I drove ~2 miles before it happened again with the vsa indicator lights (caution and off) came. Manual states vsa can reset by turning car off and back on (must be a microsoft system). Drove the car to work. Later left work and went about 5 miles before the violent sudden stop event. Folks this is serious people could have been killed due to the violent nature of the car stopping. Car is at the dealer right now, they could not repeat the event, yet and claimed the computer could not read any codes. They have a call into the factory. Reference thread at www.hondapilot.org Honda Pilot.org > general > problems > vsa applies full brake for no reason.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #1

Feb 032009

Pilot

  • 39,587 miles
2005 Honda Pilot ex have applied sudden brake which completely stopped the car. It happened three time in this week (2/2 - 2/4). The weather is cold after a minor snow, the road is wet or dry. But each time there were snow and salt residue on the road, when the car roll over it, then it happened. Moving speed was between 20 - 30 mph. Since it was slow so not accident occurred, otherwise might cause an accident from behind.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?