Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 18 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #248

Mar 112015

Cherokee

  • 4,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Only had vehicle for 8 months when I noticed it wasn't running correctly. When at a complete stop, my car started to hesitate when I would start to accelerate. When it finally decided to engage, the car would either move in slow jerky spurts or lunge forward as though I had floored it. Around this time I had received two notices that the vehicle needed two updates: An air bag issue and transmission updates. I took my vehicle to dealership for an oil change and the updates on 03/28/15. I explained to the gentleman behind the counter about my cars unusual behavior, and he assured me the updates would take care of it. Since the updates were installed, I have noticed things have gotten worse. My car is more unpredictable now. There are times when I am going up a hill and start to lose momentum. I dare not travel too far, for fear I won't be able to get up to speed to merge into traffic. During these power losses, I have had the pedal to the floor and saw the odometer go backwards. I did take my vehicle back to the dealership for them to look it over in June. Unfortunately, I was told that my car was fine. This is a disaster waiting to happen. I feel that one day I may end up in an accident because of the erratic transmission shifting.

- Pittsburgh , PA, USA

problem #247

May 032014

Cherokee

  • 3,525 miles
Transmission shifting problems causing hesitation and/or forward lurching, high engine revving, front end wheel hop. All warrant a huge safety concern. Vehicle has been in for service 13 times over the last 14 months and has still not been repaired. Several star cases opened with no resolution. All concerns confirmed by technician test drive on 6 different occasions and has currently been in the shop for five days.

- Pine Bush, NY, USA

problem #246

Jun 232015

Cherokee

  • 40,500 miles
On an interstate highway, on a slight uphill incline at 70 miles per hour, surrounded by other traffic including semitrailers, the Jeep abruptly lost forward power, acting like it has shifted into neutal. This loss of power was accompanied by flashing dashboard indications of transmission failure and by horrific clunking sounds and shudders from underneath. I was able to drift, miraculously, to the shoulder without being killed. Eventually restarted and limped to a dealer. Dealer kept Jeep two days, said they replaced a "control module", and that it was fixed. Not so. About thirty days later, and within a week of having the Jeep checked over at a different dealer, it happened again, this time at about 25 mph in a residential area down a gentle decline. Jeep had no suggestions for me other than tow it somewhere. Lost a full workday messing around with them seeking a solution. Now, days later, I have no communication from the dealer or from Chrysler/Jeep except an email saying that the dealer had discovered "codes". no word on what is wrong with this transmission, or whether Jeep can actually fix it or merely keep towing it after it leaves me on the side of the road or gets me killed or worse. Completely unreliable, unsafe, and apparently irreparable. Chrysler/Jeep needs to get this junk off the road before someone gets killed! updated 09/15/15

- Palmyra, VA, USA

problem #245

Mar 232015

Cherokee

  • 11,847 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

9 speed transmission started having hard up and down shifts at around 10K miles (March 2015). This was near time the fca issued a service bulletin on tcm and PCM for known software control problems with transmission. Sw updates were performed, yet transmission continued to shift erratically. Problem then developed into lurching during stops and hesitation when attempting to move. The hesitation presents serious concern as the ability to enter traffic or merge becomes difficult and dangerous if the transmission refuses to engage. Took back to dealership in June. Multiple attempts with sw updates. Fca ultimately decided to replace entire transmission. It had 13.8K miles on it. A month later it is shifting hard and lugging again. Back at dealership. Not clear what fca with do/offer now, as they don't seem to know what is wrong.

- Oregon City, OR, USA

problem #244

Dec 012014

Cherokee

  • 2,000 miles
I purchased my brand new 2014 Jeep Cherokee with 30 miles. After about 1500 miles it began shifting very hard in low gears jerking, it red lines extremely hard to where it will jolt the Jeep and when I come to a stop it would begin raise rpms and accelerate. It would scare me senseless. I took it to the dealership they said that's how it performs and made me leave. 400 miles later the transmission completely blew out going 50 in la traffic. It was on back order for a month. Since then I have taken it in 8 times for the same problem a few times they have updated the tcm now they are saying there is no codes and they cannot duplicate it, even though it does it every single time. The Jeep will not know what gear to shift and leave me stranded in intersections before it shifts and peels out. When I break it'll pick up speed it is extremely unsafe and unreliable. Jeep has no fix for it and will not buy it back nor compensate me in anyway this isn't right and they should be forced to buy these be back. Last weekend I took it on a trip going downhill at 60 mph 2000 RPM I tapped the break and the Jeep revved to 5000 rpms also my horn is he hardest horn to push ever it does not work. The service department said its a little harder than normal but they cannot replace it since it doesn't give a code.everyone and their mother is concerned and complains about this issue. One day this thing is going to get me in a wreck. I paid good money for this vehicle I just want something safe and reliable for my family. I wish Jeep Chrysler however it is would just do the right thing.

- San Diego , CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #243

Jul 022015

Cherokee

  • 49,000 miles
I was driving through town on 7/2/15 and all of a sudden the dashboard lit up and the car went into neutral, I was able to drift into a safe area. I turned the car off and waited 2 minutes, started the car, everything seemed ok except the check engine light was on. When I pulled away the trans would not go over 45 mph. I called dealer and they said to bring it in immediately. 5 days later they charged me $100 for a "flash" download to trans. I picked the car up and within 48 hours the same thing happened again (8 times in 1 day), they told me to bring it in, I did (asked for a loaner vehicle, they said they would have to charge me), they told me there were no recorded faults in the computer, a mechanic drove it home 2 days to get it to fail. 6 days later I picked it up after they installed a transmission control module at no charge. 24 hours later it happened again, I was able to drift into a safe area. I turned the car off and waited 2 minutes, started the car, everything seemed ok except the check engine light was on, as of yesterday the car is back in their shop and they told me they will call the factory again to see what they can do"???" I'm a traveling salesman and I'm very concerned that this issue will cause an accident (if I can't drift into a safe area to "reset" the car) and I have developed no faith in Jeep's ability to fix this problem! updated 09/17/15

- Avondale, PA, USA

problem #242

Feb 202015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No real problems with our Jeep until we took it in for an oil change and they provided the "reprogram PCM tcm update campaign." After that update the Jeep would clunk, stall, and not accelerate through turns. Two weeks ago they "got a new update" that was to fix the previous update. Now we are going back again this week. Though, when I go to the Jeep recall site and enter my VIN there is no record of this new update.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #241

Jul 012014

Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
While shifting at low speeds the vehicle continues to not select the correct gear in the power train / transmission. More often than not, when shifting from reverse to drive it selects 2nd or 3rd gear and when it doesn't move fast enough it slams into 1st. While in drive taking off from stop light for instance, the gears often start with 2nd or 3rd gear again and will not too often revert to 1st gear, it just allows for a very slow start. While visiting the dealership several times for this issue, the dealer / service person advises me it's a matter of time before the transmission / gears explode from this very issue and Chrysler knows about the issues but continue to send out recall notices for fixes.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #240

Mar 252014

Cherokee

  • 150 miles
Immediately after purchase, I noticed a degree of sluggishness during transmission shifts and lack of ability to reach 9th gear using the automatic transmission in drive mode. 9th gear is unattainable. The dealer told me that the transmission "learns" to an individual's driving style; be patient. At 3775 miles 4 Aug. 2014, I returned the vehicle to the dealer, and they did, as they termed it, a software update; but the update didn't really fix the problem. On 09 Apr., 2015 I again returned the vehicle to the dealer with the same complaint. They reported that they had performed a reprogram of transmission and powertrain control modules (R01 18-R0-11-84 0.5 & 18-ro-11-52 0.8). Since then, my vehicle has been performing even worse. Approaching an uphill incline, the transmission doesn't downshift until it nearly stops; then it suddenly after 3-5 seconds, lunges forward. Also I experienced a near 't' bone miss, as I attempted to accelerate from a stop sign because. The vehicle seemed to be stuck in a high gear and wouldn't respond expect in a sluggish way that only got me in the way of approaching traffic. By aggressively pushing on the gas it eventually shifted and bolted out of the way of oncoming traffic. I contacted the dealer about this, and was told there is another software update due about the end of June 2015. I contacted them again during the week of 6 July, but was told that there is no update. Frankly, I'm afraid to drive it. It just isn't safe behaving in this unpredictable manner. I've given it enough miles to allow the transmission/drivetrain to learn my driving habits. When I do drive it, I'm reluctant to have anyone else in the vehicle. Is there anything that your office/NHTSA can do to motivate Chrysler-Fiat to eliminate this concerning issue? the dealer is york, 500 prescott lakes parkway, prescott, AZ 86301.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #239

Jul 152015

Cherokee

  • 22,000 miles
Vehicle often lunges/shifts hard, but, last week, I was driving and the acceleration just seemed to stop. I put the car in neutral and back into drive and it resolved the issue. But, I did considered pulling off of the road. Going for R05 recall service next week and will get this problem looked at - at that time.

- Moon Township, PA, USA

problem #238

Apr 012014

Cherokee

  • 12,905 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On April 1, 2015 while accelerating from a complete stop to merging into on coming traffic the transmission disengaged and the car lost all power. Warning came on the dash telling me " transmission needs service. No power. Pull over to side of road. Put car in park and shut off engine." This happened again on July 17, 2015 while my wife was making a left hand turn from a complete stop. The transmission disengaged again and she lost all power. She was nearly rear ended by a semi truck who was behind her but made the left hand turn without slowing down. She had our 2 grand daughters in the back set and was scared and afraid for their safety. This 2014 Jeep Cherokee model has had continued issues with the 9 speed transmission and all Jeep does is issue software upgrades to try to eliminate the shifting and poor acceleration problems this transmission continues to have. With the transmission disengaging at lower speeds someone is going to get killed if not seriously hurt. The NHTSA needs to issue a recall to Jeep before someone is killed by this faulty transmission that was brought to market before long term test could be conducted on it to make sure it functions properly and safely.

- Prior Lake, MN, USA

problem #237

Jul 172015

Cherokee

  • 4,182 miles
Backed out of driveway then warning light/symbol and tone came on that the 4 wheel drive system was unavailable and service required, service airbag warning came on as well as service parking brake, limped back into driveway barely. Turned vehicle off restarted still getting warnings and tried to move vehicle motor revved but vehicle didn't move forward or reverse. Got another warning to put vehicle into park then select gear. Currently waiting for tow truck. Jeep won't move in drive or reverse now. Suspect transmission issue.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #236

Jul 142015

Cherokee

  • 13,908 miles
While driving on the freeway the vehicle disengaged the transmission leaving the car to coast with no power. Engine still ran but when you tried to hit the gas the vehicle just coasted endangering the occupants. This is the 3rd time this has happened. The first two times my teenage son was driving on a narrow winding road. We have brought the vehicle into Jeep and each time they say it is a software issue and they updated the software and said everything is fine. The third time happened while I was driving down the freeway disabling the vehicle. When you turn the vehicle off and then on again the transmission begins to work but gives you a service transmission error

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #235

Jul 092015

Cherokee

  • 8,600 miles
I bought a pre-owned certified Jeep Cherokee 2014 from david's Dodge, Jeep, and Chrysler last week Monday, June 6th, 2015. I had a major issue occur a week later on the highway while traveling 65 mph the car loss traction control, 4 wheel drive, and the ability to accelerate. I was in a cattle shoot and had to coast the car down the highway to pull over. A service engine light along with warnings about the traction control and transmission were shown. I pulled to the side of the road and put the car in park which resulted in a hard jerk from moving the clutch from drive to park. I restarted the car and the car was idling at an abnormally high RPM. I put the car in drive and noticed a jerk once again when moving through the gears. The car also shifted very hard for about 45 more miles. I called the dealership who informed me that my car required an update to the transmission which was preformed that day. As an engineer I find it unacceptable that the dealership sold a car with the potential to crash on the highway due to negligence with regards ignoring a crucial update like the transmission. After the update to the transmission the car is shifting very hard from gear to gear and seems to be giving a shallow shift to 1st gear when the car is at a complete stop. Monday, 13th, 2015, I have an appointment for two other issues a squeak in the rear passenger seat and an interference issue with the sirusxm. As an engineer it is obvious that there is a deep underlying problem with the 9 speed transmission I will be asking for the dealership to replace the transmission as the update was not effective causing rough shifting and a loss of acceleration in the shift from high to low gears.

- Malvern , PA, USA

problem #234

Jun 302015

Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
After repeated updates and several complaints to the service department of; the engine fan turning on often, the car lurching forward at start, and inconsistent idling the transmission now needs replaced. I was driving under regular conditions and my "check engine" light came on, took it to the dealer and they said the transmission needs to be replaced. (I should note that I am on vacation in Florida, over a thousands miles from my home in Chicago.) I have been waiting for the new transmission for over a week and they just added another week....updated 09/28/15

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #233

Apr 022015

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at 50 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle hesitated before accelerating. In addition, the contact stated that while at a stop, the vehicle jerked. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V041000 (air bags) and 14V392000 (suspension); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Palm Desert , CA, USA

problem #232

Jun 192015

Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
4 seperate occasations the transmission has went wacky on this vehicle. The first while driving, it became uncontrolable and jerky to the point I almost ran a stop sign, and nearly ran off the road. The next three time I was parked but the transmission says it was in park, but still gives away and if your not quick on the brakes it will roll away. Have gotten a look like I'm making this stuff up at the dealership each and every time. They just just reset the codes, then it happens again. Finally, they agreed it needed a new transmission. I don't understand why there hasn't been a recall on the 2014 Jeep Cherokee.

- Albany, MO, USA

problem #231

Nov 012013

Cherokee

  • 100 miles
The vehicle lunges after you stop as if it is down shifting. Sometimes it bangs and jumps suddenly when taking off from a stop. The transmission seems to have not down shifted and is in too high a gear causing the engine to pause before suddenly downshifting and suddenly accelerating which sometimes it to abrupt and you have to slam on the brakes to keep from hitting traffic. We have had several reprograms of the transmission without any resolution. The last caused the car to suddenly lunge and jump out into traffic while sitting at a stop with the brake on and no gas applied. We could have caused an accident... the motor has started leaking oil from the oil filter and cooler assembly on top of the 3.2 liter V6. It appears it has a bad gasket or seal or it may be cracked. I see several other owners complaining of this be cause you can smell burning oil, we removed the top engine cowl and carry a fire extinguisher just in case it catches fire. It appears that you could easily lose most of the oil and seize the motor not to mention catch on fire. The rear hatch camera and controls malfunction in wet weather. The camera turns to snow or moving objects appear frame by frame and not in real time. The controls fail to allow gate operation. I contacted Jeep today and am taking it in for the oil issue and will try to get them to fix the transmission and rear gate issues. This is a danger to drive when it can launch into traffic or leak oil causing a fire or short out the gate from an electrical fire. Jeep needs to get these issues addressed.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #230

Jun 212015

Cherokee

  • 24,000 miles
While in motion, the car stalled. The car would not then shift to any gear. After continuously trying to shift gears, the car would jump from park to drive. Literally jump. I had to drive home (a few blocks) with my hazards on praying all the way. I called huntington beach Jeep first thing in the morning. They towed the car to the service dept. I was told the transmission would be fixed. I tried to upgrade out of the shotty Cherokee to a Grand Cherokee for safety reasons but the dealer would not forgive the negative equity in the car as we've had it for a year. He insisted we put more money down and have a car payment of $600-700 dollars. We refused. We feel Jeep does not care about the safety but only the number of cars they sell each month which is a same. Thank god we didn't have a car accident as they my family would be planning a funeral. Maybe that is what it will take.

- Carson, CA, USA

problem #229

Jun 202015

Cherokee

  • 7,900 miles
I was driving in the far left lane on the freeway at approximately 68 miles per hour when suddenly my vehicle shook and the transmission stopped functioning. It left me in a very dangerous situation as I had to slowly drift to the shoulder lane with fast vehicles approaching behind me. I could have easily been rear-ended at a 65+mph speed as I was not able to accelerate to move to the shoulder safely at a normal speed. I was at the mercy of cars behind me that noticed my hazards and slowed down to let me over. The service transmission message began to display as well as the check engine light. The message display instructed me to put the vehicle into park then back into drive. Once on the shoulder I did as the display message instructed but still once in drive my vehicle would not accelerate at all while pressing on the gas. After 4 attempts I decided to try to manually shift the gears which finally got my car moving. I have an appointment to take my car in for service tomorrow. The car has less than 8,000 miles on it and I have had it for less than 1 year.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?