Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 20 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #208

May 202015

Cherokee

  • 14,415 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon acceleration from full stop my Jeep made a loud clunking sound from the rear of the vehicle which felt like something was jammed in the axle. Had the vehicle towed to courtesy motors in danville, il and they replaced the rear differential. They refused to provide a loaner although it took 4 days to repair. When I picked it up on 5/26 the same issue was still present. I was told to "baby it" on my 4 hour drive home and take it to my dealer. My dealer identified the 2nd issue as the power transfer unit which is being replaced as well. My dealer gave me a loaner but 13 days in the shop to replace such items on a vehicle less than a year old is seriously concerning!

- Fox Lake, IL, USA

problem #207

Apr 142015

Cherokee

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at approximately 15 mph in third gear, the vehicle failed to downshift while traveling down a hill. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle's software needed to be updated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 6,000.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #206

Mar 132015

Cherokee

  • 9,600 miles
The vehicle fails to accelerate properly from slow speeds. This has been an ongoing problem since a recall ("R01") was performed on the transmission. Multiple attempts by dealers to improve this condition have failed. I am told that this is the way Fiat/Chrysler has decided to make these transmissions work, in order to prevent failure due to a design flaw. The current software no longer allows the transmission to downshift below third gear unless the vehicle is completely stopped. Therefore, if driving conditions require you to slow down (to as slow as 1 mph) and then you need to accelerate, the transmission remains in third gear and provides little to no response. If you floor it, the transmission will sometimes, eventually slam into first gear, but only after struggling it's hardest to accelerate in third gear, which involves the torque converter allowing the engine to rev, so that the resulting shift into first gear is extremely rough and often accompanied by wheel spin. The transmission will no longer, ever, under any circumstances, downshift into second gear. The hard jolts and wheel spin of the 3-1 shift are somewhat dangerous, but are still by far preferable to the times when the transmission completely refuses to downshift, and simply leaves you a sitting duck to approaching vehicles. Simply pulling into traffic, whether it be entering a roundabout, or changing lanes from a slower lane to a faster one, or even just merging, is always stressful, because we just don't know how, or even if the vehicle will respond to throttle input. There have been times when other vehicles have had to slam on their brakes to avoid hitting us, because we could not accelerate. Part of that is due to their expectations. When you pull out, they expect you to accelerate at a commensurate rate, when you don't, they find themselves on your bumper in a hurry. Somebody will get hit.

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #205

May 182015

Cherokee

  • 18,563 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on parkway and 2014 Cherokee transmission failed. Truck went into neutral and luckily coasted to side of road. The truck had numerous lights on dash flashing. After a few minutes of failed attempts to get into gear, I shut truck off and restarted. The truck then was able to get into gear, and brought to dealer. It's been 10 days and the truck is waiting for a new replacement transmission. Unfortunately it is on back order and they can't give me an answer when one will be available.

- Middletown, NJ, USA

problem #204

May 162015

Cherokee

  • 4,599 miles
I took my car in to the dealer as a result of a software recall related to the transmission. The upgrade apparently has its own issues. Now the car will not downshift from 3rd to 2nd unless you absolutely floor the accelerator. Driving up hills is now a real problem. The car seems to have lost a lot of power in general, too. I looked online in Jeep Cherokee forums and it looks like a very common issue.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #203

Feb 122014

Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles
Sudden lunges from unexpected downshifts, a lack of kickdown upon attempted accelleration, front-axle vibration (shaking) in low speed in low gears and complete failure to shift into 9th gear. The dealer finally got it to shift into 9th gear at 92mph but it still did not stay in gear. It also has a habit of holding in 7th gear at speeds up to 80mph in level travel on the Florida turnpike and other high speed level roadways in central Florida. The lunges and vibration are an especially nerve wracking daily experience in stop and go traffic.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #202

Feb 202015

Cherokee

  • 10,446 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

February 20, 2015 7:02am rush hour traffic in Norfolk, va. Coming out of the eastbound downtown tunnel entrance ramp onto 464 (interstate) to chesapeake, va, the vehicle revved high in red area about 3 to 5 seconds and would not accelerate. Coasted over to the shoulder, placed vehicle in park but vehicle rolled down the ramp. Set emergency break at this time. Dealer had it until February 24, 2015 and installed some software updates and stated that this would correct the issue. This was the fist time this occurred. It occurred again on March 6, 2015 rush hour traffic at 5:04pm on ramp entrance to the interstate 464 same issue occurred where the vehicle would not accelerate and was taken to the dealer. I receive it back from the dealer on March 24, 2015. During this time there were more software updates and the star had the transmission replace and was informed that there would be no other problems. May 1, 2015 at 5:09pm rush hour traffic on 264 (interstate) in a construction area with no access to a shoulder to get out of traffic and going up hill, the engine stops accelerating and slows to approximately 15mph in traffic that is moving 65 to 70 mph. Taken to dealer where star had the mechanics look over ever piece of the vehicle, download the computer and send the data to star. It was decided to change the drive train control module. It was returned to me on Friday, May 8, 2015 and is now downshifting at approximately 2mph hard into first gear, causing a jerk. This is three times in a ten week time period. I currently have a lemon law case with the Chrysler group. I have been told that a positive resolution will be determined by Friday, May 15, 2015. I no longer feel, comfortable or confident in this vehicles reliability or do I feel at all safe in this vehicle. It has put me in harms way three times in ten weeks.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #201

Apr 062015

Cherokee

  • 18,700 miles
Received a recall notice from fca to take 2014 Jeep Cherokee in for a transmission recall update.told it would take 30 minutes. Took into martin swanty kingman, AZ Monday April 6 2015. Picked up Tuesday April 7th. Turned right back around April 7th because engine light appeared. They cleared the light right away April 7. left martin swanty, kingman transmission jumping unsafely. Took back to swanty kingman then swanty bullhead city calls me to tell me they have my car and they can't do the update. Will install a new transmission. Had to fight dealership for rental because they had my car until April 22nd. Picked up car. Still not running right. Almost in accident in parking lot and multiple intersections because car jumps in lower shifting. Took car back May 5 shop service mgr states they did not do the proper update on the new transmission need to do 21-007-15 manually not thru computer. Pick up completed car 5/6 still not running right. No return call from dealership in kingman when called 5/11/15. Called fca 1 800 # multiple times. Very consoling but not an effective resolution waiting for someone to call me back. Not driving this dangerous vehicle anymore. Dealership did not approve rental since first time had my car. Today car jumped on freeway when excelled to 70 mph. Instead of replacement done under recall placed it under warranty.

- Kingman, AZ, USA

problem #200

May 112015

Cherokee

  • 9,560 miles
The transmission has been plagued with issues from the beginning. Rough shifts in the early gears, slow to downshift to provide any kind of acceleration when merging into traffic, extremely hard shifts after decelerating and then pressing the gas to start again before a complete start, and lurches forward with acceleration while decelerating - causing a huge safety issue in my opinion. The multiple software updates (including the most recent R01 recall) have improved these issues but they are far from what I consider acceptable in a vehicle. I am now the owner of a car that no one would ever purchase from me, so not only is it a safety issue but Jeep has caused me a huge financial problem by sticking me with this awful transmission that was no where near ready for the road. Jeep needs to be forced to address this issue now.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #199

Jan 012014

Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at 5 mph, the vehicle stalled. In addition, the vehicle jerked before accelerating. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Daisytown , PA, USA

problem #198

Jan 292015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 16,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On or around January 29, 2015, when I went to start the vehicle it lunged forward even though the transmission was in park and the parking brake was set. The transmission was reflashed by the Jeep dealership on February 3, 2015. On the drive home from the dealership, the check engine light came on and began making a loud whine/chatter/chirping/metal sequel noise when accelerating. The vehicle was towed to another Jeep dealership where the transmission was replaced under warranty. Starting on or around March 12, 2015, the vehicle began making the whine/chatter/chirping/metal sequel noise again when accelerating. I reported the defect or condition on Wisconsin dot form MV2692 and made my vehicle available for repair 4 times (3/16/15, 3/18/15, 3/24/15, & 4/8/15). Fiat Chrysler automobiles (Jeep) and/or dealer is refusing, unwilling, or unable to repair the problem. Another problem related to the vehicles transmission occurred on April 30, 2015. I was at an intersection waiting to turn left. When pressed the accelerator to proceed through the intersection once the traffic cleared the vehicle hesitated to move and when the transmission finally connected it lunged causing the wheels spin. Since January 5, 2015, my vehicle has been out of service at the Jeep dealership for 46 days. The transmission problems along with the other 4 current defects or conditions were reported to Chrysler's enhanced customer satisfaction team over a month ago. According to the dealership, Chrysler has not replied with a resolution. Fiat Chrysler automobiles (Jeep) and/or dealer is refusing, unwilling, or unable to repair the problem.

- Wisconsin Rapids, WI, USA

problem #197

Apr 012015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Since the first day we owned this care the shifting seemed not quite right. There were several times the transmission revved before engaging when shifting from reverse to drive. Recently a recall was issued with regards to the transmission and the computer software. After getting the vehicle serviced for the recall, the shifting issues became worse and now pose a safety concern. During low speed driving on our inclined gravel driveway we experienced loss of power and rapid drop in rpms momentarily. Also while pulling out into highway and accelerating, the transmission failed to shift with the RPM's rose to 5000 which failed to allow us to get up to the speed of the adjacent traffic. We took the vehicle in again for service and we were told all parameters were within specifications and there was nothing more they could do at this time.

- Elizabeth, PA, USA

problem #196

Jan 202015

Cherokee

  • 22,000 miles
In January I was traveling in the middle lane of a major highway when I attempted to accelerate in order to pass another car. Instead of accelerating, the Jeep acted as though it was in neutral. The RPM's went up but the car didn't move, forcing me to coast to the side of the road and shut the vehicle off. Then, in April, I was taking a left onto a very busy main road, with just enough time to get out in front of an 18-wheeler. When I put my foot on the gas to accelerate it did the same thing; acted as though it was in neutral and rolled into the middle of the road. The truck got close enough to slam on its brakes and honk, and the car roughly slammed into first gear just in time. When I tried to drive it into a parking lot it did the same thing, and I was forced to coast to the side of the road and call a tow truck.

- Raynham, MA, USA

problem #195

Apr 242015

Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving up a hill and attempting to accelerate, the vehicle did not accelerate over 20 mph. While the brake pedal was depressed, the engine rpms increased. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed an upgrade. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000.

- Quakertown , PA, USA

problem #194

Apr 062015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 14,500 miles
When accelerating, the vehicle stops accelerating and I lose speed before the transmission seems to "catch" again. The transmission also has a very hard start, it sounds like the transmission is going to fall out, when I come to a rolling stop and start again and the vehicle lunges forward. Also as I stop accelerating to slow down (without braking), the car will accelerate (slightly), the tachometer increases, then decreases. This is a terrible transmission, an accident waiting to happen.

- Hammond, IN, USA

problem #193

Apr 042015

Cherokee

  • 10,600 miles
New software update was done to car per recall for "reliability". this recall changes the way the car shifts, such as remaining in 3rd gear, rather than downshifting to 1 or 2. a low speeds such as 15 mph when driving up a hill, the car will not down shift and slow down almost to a stop. Depressing accelerator does not lead to any further acceleration until approx 3/4 of the way down. At this time the car downshifts to 1st and accelerates rapidly, even breaking traction. Similarly when cruising at a steady speed such as 20 mph car remains in 3rd gear, causing engine lugging and very slow acceleration, once causing a near accident as the car did not accelerate as quickly as it did before this software update. Jeep dealer says "shifting as intended" and no errors. This behavior was not present before software update and did not change when dealer attempted reflash.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #192

Dec 012014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
Transmission problems! car jerks and slams into gears, upshifts too soon, lunges forward after a stop (sure to cause an accident), upshifts too low causing slow/poor acceleration... terrible tranny, never had tranny problems like this with a new car. I've driven old work trucks with 200,000 miles that have shifted better than this. Like the car but absolutely hate to drive it and I won't let my wife drive it with these issues. Dealer service, software updates have not helped and a tech told me he just burned up a 9 speed tranny like this one on a new Chrysler 200 while doing the latest software update. So I am very weary of having any more 'flash' updates done. Help!

- Mason City, IA, USA

problem #191

Mar 292015

Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
Jeep Cherokee sport, car shut off while driving. Pulled over to side of road, attempt restart, car started on 2nd attempt. Transmission on vehicle, shifts poorly rpms, stick on acceleration and when attempting to merge into traffic, car downshifts. Could cause accident by someone running into car.

- Long Beach , CA, USA

problem #190

Mar 212014

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
The transmission is not any good in the Jeep that I purchased. The Jeep is stalling and hesitating to change gears and it is an automatic. When I am proceeding to leave from a stop sign the Jeep will start to go and then it act as if it doesn't know which gear to change to. While driving, this Jeep will act as if it is changing gears.

- Millen, GA, USA

problem #189

Mar 142015

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Car jerks/lurches when shifting gears. When removing foot from gas, car will accelerate on its own to shift to next higher gear instead of downshifting to lower gear. Car placed in reverse, but actually in drive when gas pressed. Complete loss of transmission on two separate occasions at highway speeds whereby check engine and service transmission warning lights appear and car loses the ability to shift gears and driver cannot accelerate (gas pedal pressed to floor but transmission does not work or recognize gears). Multiple safety hazards on a recurring basis - risk my life every day that I continue to have to drive it.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?