Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 22 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #168

Mar 122015

Cherokee

  • 1,828 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When accelerating from a stop, the transmission either grabs and lurches or it seems to slip while it searches for the right gear. The dealer kept the car for a day and re-installed a software upgrade. This did not help. The problem persisted. When we took the car back to the dealer again, they stated that the car is "operating as designed" and "even installing a new transmission would not help". we contacted Chrysler customer center and explained the issue to them and they called the dealer and stated that we would need to "learn to work with the transmission" and that they have to go with what the dealer tells them. The car is continuing to have this problem.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #167

Feb 282015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,700 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact coasted to the shoulder and the service transmission warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 6,700. Updated 5/5/15 the consumer stated the while driving up hill the vehicle would not accelerate. The speed would drop to 5mph before it would shoot up the hill. The failure began to occur about 2 weeks after the new transmission was installed. The consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 11/17/2015

- Camp Hill, PA, USA

problem #166

Sep 012014

Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle erroneously shifted into neutral or shifted out of gear and failed to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the transmission computer chip was faulty. The computer chip was reprogrammed but the vehicle continued to experience the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer multiple times due to the failure. Also, the contact indicated that the rear passenger side seat belts would erroneously unlatch while the vehicle was in motion. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Fredrick, MD, USA

problem #165

Mar 052015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On February 20, 2015, I received the latest transmission software update to my 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The update seemed to be an improvement, but ever since about March 5, I have been having acceleration issues. When leaving in the morning for work or leaving work to go home, I have about a 200 yard drive to the main road. When pulling out onto the main road, the vehicle is often not accelerating or shifting at all. In order to get it to accelerate, I need to put the throttle all the way to the floor (seriously) before it will accelerate. This has put me in some very bad circumstances, and it seems to only occur when the vehicle has been sitting for 8 hours or more. I have placed a matching complaint via the Jeep website.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #164

Mar 012014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 1,267 miles
Car has experienced significant transmission issues since taking delivery on 1/26/14. Hard shifting between 1, 2 and 3rd gears both up shifting and down shifting. Down shifting feels like being rear ended when gear engages and car will jump forward to a stop. If car has not fully shifted into 1st gear before acceleration (as in slow/go, stop/go traffic) it will jump into gear, again feeling like the car has been rear ended or kicked. Significant hesitation engaging gears during acceleration especially entering the freeway. Sometimes on deceleration the RPM revs up and the car feels like it is going to "break loose" and I have to press the brake to engage gears. The dealer has attempted to resolve these issues 5 times without success. The first time car went in for transmission issues it had only 1267 miles on the odometer. Car is back in the shop again today, March 16, 2015, the 6th time for the same issues.

- Pismo Beach, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #163

Mar 112015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 10,500 miles
My vehicle has been giving lots of trouble since I purchased it. It decides to shutdown by itself when it wants to. It has put me in several scary situations. Uselly I am on the hwy in the left lane and it decides to shut down. Giving me only about 45 seconds to get over. The emergency brake warning lights along with traction, battery, transmission, engine the car doesn't know what to do. It has been back to the dealer for 3 computer updates.in addition..... the second to the last time they put in a brake switch. Now they have my car. Putting in some kind of tcm box. The car also hesitates. Blinker goes on by itself decides to accelerate on its own etc. I do not believe my car will be fixed. It has been happening since early December I have a lemon. It is a very dangerous car. I have made a total of 5 payments on this car.

- Heath , MA, USA

problem #162

Mar 122015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 15,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Jeep transmission is shifting out of gear, accelerating and driving up the rpms going downhill while I am trying to brake, jumping out of gear and speeding up, or revving up at random moments. This is causing very dangerous driving conditions as my vehicle takes off when it should be slowing down or speeds up for no reason and I have to slam the brakes to get the transmission to "reset". when its in these conditions it revs up the motor and often shifts very hard into the next gear. I did record this on video as its happening to demonstrate how difficult it is to drive the vehicle this way. Its two weeks before the car dealership can take my car and inspect it, so, I am driving around at risk.

- Radford, VA, USA

problem #161

Mar 082015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 4,600 miles
Bought in August 2014; recently noticed a "chunky/jumpy" shift from reverse (out of driveway) into drive; and then when decelerating around a curve at 10-15 mph there was some similar jumpy downshifting in my 3.2L V6 24valve vvt 9-speed auto model; taken into dealership for "re-flash" of software.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #160

Mar 082015

Cherokee

  • 15,601 miles
Problem: Driving down I79 clunk sound "D" on shifter starts blinking service transmission message appears service parking brake appears mil check engine light comes on ESC indicator light comes on *pulled off to the side of the interstate turned car off, then back on repeated 4 times drove to a safe location called roadside assistance had car towed to dealership this is the second time this car has had a transmission failure on the interstate at 70 mph. I am now scared of this car. This is unacceptable and disappointing for a new $34,000 vehicle with 15,601 miles on it. First time this happened and was serious enough to complain about was Dec. 14, 2014.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #159

Feb 152015

Cherokee

  • 18,620 miles
I was driving on the freeway when the car started decelerating rapidly, the "park" icon came on and the message center said "unable to shift gears while in park, check transmission" and the engine light came on. I was unable to accelerate. Thankfully, I was able to pull over to the shoulder but the car would not shift gears. I turned the car off and immediately turned it back on and the car was still unable to shift gears, I could feel the car trying to shift gears but couldn't. engine light and unable to shift gears/check transmission message still appearing. I turned off the car a second time and waited a minute or two and turned the car back on. At that point, I was able to shift gears and accelerate again, however, the "check engine" light would not go off.

- Clawson, MI, USA

problem #158

Feb 062015

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 6,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When shifting from park to reverse or drive, the vehicle will occasionally not shift into gear, even though the display and shift control indicates that the car is in reverse or drive. When this happens, when I release the brake and apply the gas, the car does not move. This happens about once every 10-15 times the car is shifted from park. The most serious incident happened when I was parked uphill. I shifted the car into drive, but when I pushed the accelerator pedal the car did not move forward but instead started rolling backward. I had to move the shifter into park, and again into drive before the gear would engage. Additionally, there have been times that the car will not accelerate after being stopped at an intersection. When I apply the gas, the car will hesitate for 1-2 seconds before engaging and moving forward. I am concerned that these issues will end up placing myself or my occupants in danger if an emergency situation arises while on the road, or if the transmission fails completely and I roll back into another car.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #157

Feb 262014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 200 miles
I purchased this vehicle on 2/11/2014 after retiring with the idea I wouldn't need repairs for several years the first problem was on 2/26/14 which was a leak @ canister they replaced evap canister. After that I have had it in several times for a vibration from the front from takeoff & turning beginning before the first oil (approximately 2000 miles)change they kept telling me they didn't feel it. On 6/25/14 they said it was coming from the ptu and replaced it, but it continued with the same problem. The next few times they continued to state that they didn't feel it, on 7/29/14 they stated that they were replacing both front axles per star when we picked it up it still had the shimmy, then on 8/15/14 I was pulling out onto a major highway from a county road & the vehicle would not move the vehicle would sit & rev while I was partially on the highway this time they found the right axle out of ptu too short & replaced again, since then every time I call or go in their I get the same run around their waiting for a fix from Chrysler. This has been going on for a year and I feel like the dealer ship is giving us no satisfaction this vehicle is a $35,000 car at the very least they need to resolve this problem or at least upgrade the vehicle. I now have 13,000 miles & feel I have been more than patient all I ever here from them at the dealership is their waiting on a fix from Chrysler a year should be long enough to come up with a fix.!!!!!!!!! I guess my next alternative is my husband has spoken to an attorney.

- Remington, IN, USA

problem #156

Nov 112014

Cherokee

  • 5,400 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle decelerated as the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was no repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 5,400.

- Ward Cove, AK, USA

problem #155

Jan 192015

Cherokee

  • 3,938 miles
Car began to loose power and started bucking was traveling at 70 mph...then it started thrashing numerous codes and all the lights on the dash started flashing this was followed by a big downshift and then a bang total loss of power on a major freeway. When the car came to a stop it would not disengage from drive then after turning the car off I was able to put it in park. After restarting it all the strong message lights were on as well as different computer messages like check brake, check engine. If you put it in gear it would make a big cluck but no power would only idle. When driving at highway speed the at car looses power and starts to buck and downshift to a lower gear then transmission disengages. Engine stay running but there is no power and nothing happens when you depress gas pedal. This is very dangerous as it happens consistently. Also the transmission many time keeps randomly switching between gears. Dealer again says its a software issue in the transmission. Software recodes have not fixed the problem.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #154

Dec 032014

Cherokee

  • 3,100 miles
When driving at highway speed the at car looses power and starts to buck and downshift to a lower gear then transmission disengages. Engine stay running but there is no power and nothing happens when you depress gas pedal. This is very dangerous as it happens consistently. Also the transmission many time keeps randomly switching between gears. Dealer says its a software issue in the transmission. Software updates have not fixed the problem.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #153

Nov 202014

Cherokee

  • 25,515 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle lost acceleration. Afterward, the vehicle would jerk while in motion. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the transmission software was updated; however, the failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 25,515.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #152

Feb 242015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 9,300 miles
My vehicle stopped accelerating forcing me to pull to the side of the road. The service transmission light flashed on and I turned my vehicle off. When I started it back up it allowed me to drive but the "D" symbol flashed and it still stated that the service transmission was in use. When I stopped at red lights the message "shift into park and then into desired gear" appeared. This was the second time this occurred, the first time happening at the end of 2014. I took the vehicle into the dealership I bought it from and they fixed it, I will be doing this again this week. The dealership was al deeby in clarkston, mi.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #151

Feb 052015

Cherokee

  • 1,300 miles
While driving the car and slowing down, the transmission dropped to a low gear and never recovered. Service transmission indicator came on as I limped home. Brought the car in and it was upgraded with new firmware. Took the car back and after a week had another occurrence. Was driving on the highway and again the service transmission light came on. This time the transmission was stuck in a high gear, and then I lost all gears and coasted. I was lucky to reach the highway shoulder, as tractor trailers flew by me. Turned the car on/off a couple of times (and went from park to drive) and suddenly the car jerked into gear (jumped forward violently). Got going and took it back to the dealer. In my opinion this is a real safety issue. My family is not willing to use the car, and at this point, I would not allow them to use it. I see many similar issues. Can't believe such poor quality is acceptable!

- Morris Plains, NJ, USA

problem #150

Feb 072015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 4,736 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 65 mph, the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,736....updated 04/15/15 the transmission was replaced after four weeks. However, it is not working at 100%. the consumer was informed there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. Updated 04/16/15

- Wickliffe, OH, USA

problem #149

Feb 102015

Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle continued to accelerate after the accelerator pedal was no longer engaged. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. In addition, after shifting into first and second gear, the vehicle jerked forward. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician informed the contact that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 12,000. The VIN was not available.

- Wood River Junction, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?