Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #508

Sep 192016

Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on interstate 75 and my vehicle came to a sudden complete stop luckily it was heavy traffic so I was not going very fast. The display said service transmission and it would not shift to drive after a few minutes and turning the vehicle off it worked but now check engine light is on.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #507

Aug 292016

Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee (kl) 8/29/2016 while my wife was driving down a busy hwy the vehicle stalled and lost all power. She had to coast into a local firestation lot and park the vehicle. The screen said put car in park and restart. She did it did nothing. Then the screen said service transmission and restart. The 2nd time she did it started and when she put the vehicle into drive it made a loud clunk noise and shook the car. We drove it to the dealer and the code showed the clutches were seized. The dealer said per Chrysler to reset the code do updates and test drive and see if the code comes back on. After they drove it 50 miles they said it was good to go and couldnt duplicate it. Well today 9/19/2016 it did it again the exact same thing. This time my wife had the kids in the vehicle on a busy hwy. Called dealer took it to them and now cars deemed unsafe and thee issued us a rental cover by Chrysler. But they are not sure what the problem is and have no time frame or whats wrong with vehicle. Something is wrong with this vehicle as this happen twice in less than a month.

- Curtice, OH, USA

problem #506

Sep 092016

Cherokee

  • miles
There are multiple recalls on this vehicle that are over a year old that can result in the vehicle become inoperable while driving. Nothing seems to be happening to resolve these issues. Two of the recalls can result in loss of power while driving.

- Coppell, TX, USA

problem #505

Jul 292016

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While attempting to operate the vehicle, it failed to register the correct gear. It took numerous attempts to operate the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 11/07/16

- Lee's Summit, MO, USA

problem #504

Aug 012016

Cherokee

  • 27,450 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled and the service transmission warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the trans axle wire harness needed to be replaced. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The vehicle was not repaired due to the parts being unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,450. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Forth Worth, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #503

Sep 152016

Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
This vehicle has been serviced 2 times since I have owned it due to loss of motive power. Now I am receiving a recall for an issue that could cause the same type of motive power loss and potential crash without warning. I travel significant miles every day with this vehicle and with my children. This is putting lives at risk and I am significantly concerned about this recall. I called a Jeep dealership today and was told it could be months before this is corrected as parts are not even manufactured yet for this issue.

- Rutland, MA, USA

problem #502

Aug 262016

Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Newtown, CT, USA

problem #501

Sep 122016

Cherokee

  • 42,000 miles
While driving up a parking garage ramp transmission went out causing Jeep to roll back down ramp until brakes applied. All warning lights came on. Let Jeep set for a few moments, shut engine off, and when restarted was able to move it to a safe area, but transmission shifted hard, jarring the Jeep. Next morning when started, Jeep ran fine, but check engine light was on. Took Jeep to dealer to get checked, was told 4 new recalls on it including transmission issue. Not sure if this issue is related to current recall on the transmission or not.

- Euless, TX, USA

problem #500

Aug 222016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sanbornville, NH, USA

problem #499

Sep 132016

Cherokee

  • 44,000 miles
We purchased a 2014 Jeep Cherokee limited, 4WD w/active drive 2 in January 2014. When we purchased this vehicle, we traded in a GMC terrain. We were certain that the Jeep was going to be a fantastic purchase, knowing the reputation of Jeep. We have had nothing but what I'd call serious problems with the transmission. Every time I take it in for an oil change, I mention it, and they do "software updates." Each software update that has been done has not corrected the problem still. All it's done is created a different problem. There have now been 5 recalls on this vehicle, 1 of which hasn't been taken care of yet because Jeep hasn't come up with a replacement part, so I'm stuck with a rental renegade that is nowhere near comparable to my Cherokee limited 4WD, for an "unspecified amount of time." My steering column makes a grinding noise louder than a 40 year old truck. The dealership told me that it was a normal sound. No vehicle I've ever driven has sounded like this, especially one that cost me $40,000!!!

- Michigan City, IN, USA

problem #498

Sep 132016

Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There have been several recalls on my vehicle since purchasing it almost 2 years ago. I've had to be inconveniently placed in a rental a couple times and pay a deposit out of pocket for something that wasn't even my fault. I contacted the dealer days after purchasing it to express my dissatisfaction, they were very unhelpful. One month after purchasing it is when I started needing to get the vehicle serviced several times. This latest recall, I have reached out to the dealer and the "earliest" appointment isn't until November. I called NHTSA customer service today to see if they could "speed up the process" but they too were very unhelpful. The person I spoke with expressed that the parts needed to fix this recall were all sold out and she wasn't sure when the parts would be coming in. Now, I am stuck in an unsafe, faulty vehicle until it can get serviced to this recall. In the safety recall notice it states in bold, "the loss of motive power could cause a crash without warning." Driving this vehicle in the condition that it's in and the potential safety hazard is life threatening. What exactly am I supposed to do now? I use this vehicle everyday and I am not the only passenger in it. I've contacted NHTSA before and submitted documentation of all the services the vehicle has had, and nothing was resolved on my behalf. I'm surprised legal action hasn't been presented to the manufacturer for these recalls and poor quality vehicles.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #497

Aug 222016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #496

Jun 092016

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the electrical system failed and the valve body and body control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred three additional times. The contact mentioned that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,000. The consumer stated the vehicle broke down on four separate occasions.. when the consumer tried to restart the vehicle, the electrical components came on and the engine tried to turn over, but failed. All power to the vehicle was working inside; radio, dash, touch screen and lights were on. The consumer tried to restart it again, but the engine did not even turn over, but all the electrical components continued to work. The consumer called a tow truck, and when he jump started it, the vehicle made a loud noise when dropping into gear and jerked upon acceleration. When the vehicle broke down the fourth time, it dropped out of gear with a jerking motion. The transmission failed while merging into the traffic. Once the vehicle transmission dropped out of gear, the parking brake engaged and the vehicle proceeded to fish tail across three lanes of traffic. The vehicle loss power steering and failed to accelerate. Updated 11/08/16. Updated 11/08/16

- Wrens, GA, USA

problem #495

Sep 012016

Cherokee

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. When the contact depressed the accelerator pedal, the vehicle would not accelerate, the transmission indicator illuminated, and the "shift to park and restart" message appeared. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Verdunville, WV, USA

problem #494

May 162016

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle lost power and the dtc warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle restarted after several attempts, but the failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated.the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train); however, the remedy was not yet available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Zirconia, NC, USA

problem #493

Feb 202016

Cherokee

  • 24,000 miles
Takada recall transmission shifts hard in 1 -3 gears, hesitates on acceleration, stays in low gear on steep incline, drops into neutral uncontrolled and lunges car forward when shifting through first three gears.

- Bauxite, AR, USA

problem #492

Aug 102016

Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
Car was parked and upon startup produced a loud bang. Car reversed after a jerk and a complete loss of power. Turned car off and turned it back on. Felt like it rode in neutral without the ability to accelerate. Almost caused an accident. I had my child in the back seat. Every light on the dashboard lit up-failed transmission ect... I have photo documentation.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #491

Sep 092016

Cherokee

  • 29,000 miles
Driving down the highway my emergency transmission service and brake service lights came on. I immediately pulled to the side of the road because I could no longer accelerate. I shifted the vehicle into park and restarted it, this temporarily solved the issue. I was able to continue for 2 miles before the vehicle suffered from the same problem again. I had to get the vehicle towed and transmission repaired. My Jeep has less then 30,000 miles.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #490

Sep 092016

Cherokee

  • 39,963 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving, the vehicle lost power and the transmission indicator illuminated. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train), but the remedy was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 39,963.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #489

Aug 302016

Cherokee

  • 27,800 miles
While driving on the interstate, the lights for electric stability control, engine and park brake came on. The "service transmission" notice and "service park brake" appeared. Then the vehicle would not accelerate and would get to 4 RPM while going at 50 mph. Bad jumping, lurching, banging when shifting gears or accelerating from a stop.

- El Paso, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?