Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,585 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #112

Aug 162016

Cherokee

  • 48,585 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Twice, while driving on the highway my vehicle warning lights came on and said transmission needed serviced, service parking brake, shift vehicle into "P" then desired gear, and vehicle lost acceleration almost causing an accident. The most recent was 23 August 2016. I took the vehicle into the dealer and they said it was subject to a recently released recall from Chrysler, recall S55 however they have no parts to fix it at this time and there was no eta on when it would be fixed. Chrysler offered no remedy or alternate vehicle to drive until this problem could be fixed.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #111

Jul 292016

Cherokee

  • 56,127 miles
When I got off work one morning, about to get on interstate but Jeep was acting funny, all the warning lights came on, so I decided to stay on service road, came to a light and stopped, mind you all the lights were blinking and then my wipers started going off, the Jeep wouldn't go then it died. I tried three times to push the start button but the Jeep didnt start until finally the 3rd time, it didn't drive well, spudders until I pulled over into a parking lot, the car warning lights were on and flashing wipers going without being on. I turned the car off and waited for about 15 minutes and it came back on still had warning lights on but not flashing and the car drove fine all the way to the dealership. This happened about 5 weeks ago they found nothing wrong. About two weeks I was backing up, then put in drive and the Jeep continue to back up, had to put in park then in drive to go forward this happen three times on that day, then on same day was driving on the interstate and going about 73 mph it was driving rough, the rpms stayed on 4 and never did idal down. Took to dealership again, nothing wrong. Then on Friday 7/29/16 same thing with all the lights and wipers going off, back to dealership, as of yesterday Tuesday still nothing wrong. I brought with 176 miles on it, never got the extra warrenty or service warrenty sorry don't the money for that, I had to pay for my own rent a car, dealership won't pay for it. I have 57000 miles on my car in two years, all hwy miles I work far from home. I want to trade but will be upside down very bad. I don't feel safe in this Jeep and will never buy another one ever, ever, ever... Jeep dealership doesn't give a rat's ass either. Not a happy camper.

- Bells, TX, USA

problem #110

May 122014

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle randomly stalled more than five times and was towed to the dealer each time for diagnostic testing and repair. The dealer replaced the transmission and various sensors, but the failure continued to randomly progress. The dealer was unable to provide a repair solution. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was unable to provide a repair remedy to the dealer. The failure mileage was not available.

- Panama City Beach, FL, USA

problem #109

Jul 252016

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have received 2 safety recalls R40/NHTSA 15V-461 S 27/ NHTSA 16V-240 I have taken the vehicle twice to the dealer for the bucking in the transmission. I attempted to bring in the vehicle early August appt. Today is 7/25, I was told by the dealership there was time for an oil change, however I need to wait till 8/29 to address the recalls. The recalls sound urgent and I drive everyday. The dealership is making me wait over 1 month. Please help dealer is hudson Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram 625 route 440 jersey city, NJ 07304 thank you

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #108

Jul 102016

Cherokee

  • miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee, bought used in Oct 2015, with 32000 miles. On 10 July 2016, while driving under 25 mph on a residential street, shut off unexpectedly, displaying "service transmission immediately", with the check engine icon illuminated. Vehicle then was parked and sat for 10 min approx, then started and drove approx 1/4 mile to home, transmission light quit, but check engine light still on. Next morning no indication of any issues, and no trace of a problem, but now shifts sluggishly into 2nd and 3rd gears. What if this had happened on interstate at highway speeds? all would be dead in vehicle!! I live in beavercreek Ohio and Jeep now has approx 49000 miles on it.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #107

Jul 112016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mahopac, NY, USA

problem #106

Apr 112016

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact own a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 72 mph, the vehicle stalled while all the warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not able to restart. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000. The VIN was not available.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #105

Jul 052016

Cherokee

  • 57,000 miles
While driving on the highway at 65 to 70 mph, my car would go in to safe mode the massage said. "service transmission" "service park brake" the engine light and traction lights came on to. I had to coast over to the brake down lane. I would turn the car off wait for 2to 3 min's then restart the car. All massages cleared but the check engine light stayed on. The next day the engine light cleared I took it to the dealer. He said, no lights no codes no problem. This continued to happen about 10 times over 5 months. Every time the car went in for a recall I would tell them. The same answer, no lights no codes no problem. Finale I had a problem with electrical. After 3 days they found a pinched wire in the main harness going through the fire wall. This service department told me the next time the car failed in safe mode ( do not shut it off ), have it towed with the car running, this way they could check the codes in the fail mode. After 5 more times, it happened when the dealership was open. They did a software upgrade. A software 6 flash for tcm and a PCM. 3 days later on July 4 it happened 4 times, then 4 times going to work at night on July 4 for July 5. then on July 5 going to the dealership. I had it towed in safe mode. After about 2 hours they called me. It needs a new transmission. They said there are none in the usa, they are on back order, there is no time frame they can give me to how long it will take. I did get a rent a car, but my wife and I can not go kayaking. No racks on rentals and a smaller car does not do for me. Now I have a payment and no car no time frame for when I get my car back pulse the liability of a rental that just does not work for us.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #104

Jun 222016

Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
About two weeks ago, as I was driving to work in my 14' Jeep Cherokee, the cluster read brake to park when I was driving up hill and the shifter was still in drive. When this occurred, the vehicle begin to slow down and came to dead stop in the middle of the highway where the vehicle behind me almost hit me from behind. At this point I put the shifter into park turned off the Jeep, turned back on the Jeep and drove it. The transmission light went on and I decided to take into the dealership as the Jeep is still under warranty. The dealership retained the Jeep for about a week, they ran updates and looked at the Jeep. They do not why it occurred or if the updates they did resolved the shifting issue. At this point, I refused to drive the Jeep home for the concern of my safety that it might happen again.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #103

Jun 302016

Cherokee

  • miles
I have a 2014 Jeep and every time I drive the transmission slips gears, mostly if I am slowing down but it also does it when I am accelerating. I have had this problem for about 2 years now and the dealer says it nothing to worry about. I also have a problem with the air bag light it keeps coming on and off I have told the dealer about this and it has taken them months to finally listen to me. Then I find out that there is and electricall problem, honestly what else can go wrong. I mean seriously 6 recalls already and I am sure there is no need for this. To be quite honest I was told today that my car was no safe to drive sue to the electrical issue.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #102

Jun 152016

Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Numerous computer/electrical intermittent issues with vehicle. Most recent episode the care would completely shut down at freeway speeds. No engine, no lighting, as if it was hit with an electromagnetic pulse. This unfortunately locks the steering as well. The key fob is non responsive. After 5-7 minutes (if you happen to not get hit and die), the car comes back to life (interior lights come back and after another minute will start). Also have had "service air bag indicator system", "service parking brake", "service transmission", "4WD system unavailable", check engine light, traction control light, battery light, parking brake amber service light, flashing odometer, flashing D in dash. Dash completely goes blank intermittently as well. Transmission has also been stuck in neutral numerous time (can not turn car off unless in park, cannot shift). Numerous trips to dealer for warranty service. This last time they found a ground connection loose in the driver side kick panel. So if that ground comes loose or frayed, the car can just kill me?

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #101

Jun 132016

Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
Power lift gate will not operate all the time, sometimes I have to manually lift up the lift gate to get into the inside trunk area. Recall R 27 has been performed in all 3 parts. Check the electrical connectors, install module water shield, and replace module connectors and install module. I have been back to selling dealer for this issue many times for the inoperative hatch issue customer cairs have been opened on this issue with no success. Dealer and Chrysler advise me when it happens bring in the vehicle so we can see the problem. I am worried about the potential electrical fire potential due to this system not operating as designed. I have been to the dealer about this since Dec of 2013 1 month after purchase due to the fact that the dealer can not duplicate the complaint at their shop nothing is written up because no problem found. The most recent trip to the dealer was June 13 2016. This issue always happens when the vehicle is in park engine running or engine off button on dash will not activate lift gate either key fob will not activate lift gate and when I get out of the vehicle to attempt to open lift gate with lift gate button this will not work either. I have to manually open the lift gate by opening the hatch and raising the lift gate as if the vehicle was not equipped with the power lift gate accessory. Please help resolve this long standing issue, I retired from Chrysler after 41 years of service in warranty, customer service and tech. I am not making up this issue. Since the recall repair date of 4-15-2016 the trans will shift hard from stop lights also.

- Shelby Twp, MI, USA

problem #100

Jul 172014

Cherokee

  • 1,800 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled and the check engine, transmission, and several other indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed and updated, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The diagnostic results were unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 1,800.

- Yorkville, IL, USA

problem #99

May 052016

Cherokee

  • 45,750 miles
On May 5, 2016, I was driving on a well traveled street in my 2014 Jeep Cherokee latitude. I had just made a right turn and was driving at a slow pace in order to merge into on coming traffic. I pressed on the gas and nothing happened. I looked at the dash and realized that the car had shut down. I had no engine power, no electrical, nothing. I managed to coast to the right lane, and attempted to restart the car; nothing happened. After sitting for approximately 10 minutes, the car finally started. I immediately drove to the dealership with the check engine light on. The car was kept for a week, and I was told they were unable to duplicate the concern. I picked the car up and two weeks later the check engine came on again. Once again, I immediately drove to the dealership. After two days, I was told the transmission needed to be replaced (car is currently in shop awaiting this repair). Prior to this incident, this car had been to the dealership at least two times for what seemed to be transmission related issues; slamming into gear and lurching forward. Each time I was told the issue could not be duplicated.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #98

Jan 012015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle violently shook, while being towed. The contact stated that the failure only occurred when motor home was towing the car. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where diagnosed the problem as the electric power steering assist wiring harness and fuse holder needed to be installed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000.....updated 07/11/16 after the steering assist was installed, the computer showed the rack and pinion had broken. Updated 07/13/16 updated 07/14/16.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #97

May 062016

Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
Vehicle stalling while in motion, (feels like it shifts itself into neutral) only dash notification is saying to to place in park and shift to desired gear. This happened 3 times in 3 days, all three time my safety was at risk as you are unable to accelerate. I had to wait until it coasts to a full stop to shift to park and then several tries to restart vehicle, once started car still will not move when pressing gas pedal for few moments although rpms are at 5 or 6 like its not in gear. In all instances I was in traffic and almost rear ended by other vehicles. There is no warning lights or sounds that make you aware that an issue is happening so you can pull to safety.Jeep is in dealership now but am afraid they will tell me they cannot duplicate the problem, reflash the module and send me on the way. I have researched the problem and this is a common problem and common repair scenario at dealership but does not fix issue. I am afraid I will be rear ended by a fast moving vehicle as this has happened 2 times on the highway and once in middle of intersection. It is very scary when this happens as I have had my grandchildren in the vehicle 2 times when it occurred. I am very unhappy with this car as it is my first purchase not lease in 10 years. I don't know what I am going to do, still waiting to hear from dealership which is another issue as I took in yesterday at 7am and it is now the 2nd day at 9 am and nobody has called. I missed a day of work yesterday and have to go out of town for work for 2 days tomorrow. This report is my proof if I should be killed in my Jeep that theres an issue of it stalling in traffic and highway conditions.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #96

Apr 222016

Cherokee

  • 19,000 miles
Continuously having issues with the vehicle, related to acceleration while driving in traffic, car shutting off in traffic, not starting back up right away, gears shifting roughly while - is an automatic 9 speed 4 cylinder vehicle. I have been offered a 5% discount on a Jeep trade in by the Jeep resolution department, but at this point, not sure if its worth buying another Jeep. I am afraid of this happening again. Unfortunately, the mechanics, cant find what wrong with the vehicle, and they also test drove the car, driving around the dealership, on side streets, but not in traffic, or stop and go traffic. I am frustrated at this point, jepp knows these are issues with many of there engines, and fail to truly hear the customers complaints, to the point of taking these complaints more seriously. The resolution offered are not good enough to fix the issue, as I feel I would trade this vehicle in and they will turn around and sell it again.... not safe at all. ! I need help, as I don't know what to do next, take the offer or just trade in with a different dealer and car type/model nothing Chrysler/Jeep related uuuggghhhh!

- Summit, IL, USA

problem #95

Apr 282016

Cherokee

  • 65,556 miles
Transmission disengages while driving. Display on dashboard say put car in "P" and restart vehicle. After doing what the display states, it goes into drive forcefully and makes a load bang. The engine light comes on along the traction control light. After letting the vehicle sit over night and doesn't occur again for about another 10-15 K miles later. This issue created an unsafe condition. All the times this occurred I almost was rear ended, couldn't make turn to a safe pull off area and happened on a on-ramp entering a highway.

- Lehighton, PA, USA

problem #94

Mar 142015

Cherokee

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted after fifteen minutes. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was unable to be determined. The failure recurred three additional times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #93

Apr 092016

Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
On three occasions, with no warning, I have turned the car off to go into a business, came out and it would not crank. Will not click, turnover, nothing. This time, yesterday, lights would work, but not front console or radio console. After sitting for 15-20 minutes, it will crank. Again- no warning at all.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?