Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 Jeep Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,712 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #105

Jul 052016


  • 57,000 miles


While driving on the highway at 65 to 70 mph, my car would go in to safe mode the massage said. "service transmission" "service park brake" the engine light and traction lights came on to. I had to coast over to the brake down lane. I would turn the car off wait for 2to 3 min's then restart the car. All massages cleared but the check engine light stayed on. The next day the engine light cleared I took it to the dealer. He said, no lights no codes no problem. This continued to happen about 10 times over 5 months. Every time the car went in for a recall I would tell them. The same answer, no lights no codes no problem. Finale I had a problem with electrical. After 3 days they found a pinched wire in the main harness going through the fire wall. This service department told me the next time the car failed in safe mode ( do not shut it off ), have it towed with the car running, this way they could check the codes in the fail mode. After 5 more times, it happened when the dealership was open. They did a software upgrade. A software 6 flash for tcm and a PCM. 3 days later on July 4 it happened 4 times, then 4 times going to work at night on July 4 for July 5. then on July 5 going to the dealership. I had it towed in safe mode. After about 2 hours they called me. It needs a new transmission. They said there are none in the usa, they are on back order, there is no time frame they can give me to how long it will take. I did get a rent a car, but my wife and I can not go kayaking. No racks on rentals and a smaller car does not do for me. Now I have a payment and no car no time frame for when I get my car back pulse the liability of a rental that just does not work for us.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #104

Jun 222016


  • 70,000 miles
About two weeks ago, as I was driving to work in my 14' Jeep Cherokee, the cluster read brake to park when I was driving up hill and the shifter was still in drive. When this occurred, the vehicle begin to slow down and came to dead stop in the middle of the highway where the vehicle behind me almost hit me from behind. At this point I put the shifter into park turned off the Jeep, turned back on the Jeep and drove it. The transmission light went on and I decided to take into the dealership as the Jeep is still under warranty. The dealership retained the Jeep for about a week, they ran updates and looked at the Jeep. They do not why it occurred or if the updates they did resolved the shifting issue. At this point, I refused to drive the Jeep home for the concern of my safety that it might happen again.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #103

Jun 302016


  • miles
I have a 2014 Jeep and every time I drive the transmission slips gears, mostly if I am slowing down but it also does it when I am accelerating. I have had this problem for about 2 years now and the dealer says it nothing to worry about. I also have a problem with the air bag light it keeps coming on and off I have told the dealer about this and it has taken them months to finally listen to me. Then I find out that there is and electricall problem, honestly what else can go wrong. I mean seriously 6 recalls already and I am sure there is no need for this. To be quite honest I was told today that my car was no safe to drive sue to the electrical issue.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #102

Jun 152016


  • 21,000 miles


Numerous computer/electrical intermittent issues with vehicle. Most recent episode the care would completely shut down at freeway speeds. No engine, no lighting, as if it was hit with an electromagnetic pulse. This unfortunately locks the steering as well. The key fob is non responsive. After 5-7 minutes (if you happen to not get hit and die), the car comes back to life (interior lights come back and after another minute will start). Also have had "service air bag indicator system", "service parking brake", "service transmission", "4WD system unavailable", check engine light, traction control light, battery light, parking brake amber service light, flashing odometer, flashing D in dash. Dash completely goes blank intermittently as well. Transmission has also been stuck in neutral numerous time (can not turn car off unless in park, cannot shift). Numerous trips to dealer for warranty service. This last time they found a ground connection loose in the driver side kick panel. So if that ground comes loose or frayed, the car can just kill me?

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #101

Jun 132016


  • 34,000 miles
Power lift gate will not operate all the time, sometimes I have to manually lift up the lift gate to get into the inside trunk area. Recall R 27 has been performed in all 3 parts. Check the electrical connectors, install module water shield, and replace module connectors and install module. I have been back to selling dealer for this issue many times for the inoperative hatch issue customer cairs have been opened on this issue with no success. Dealer and Chrysler advise me when it happens bring in the vehicle so we can see the problem. I am worried about the potential electrical fire potential due to this system not operating as designed. I have been to the dealer about this since Dec of 2013 1 month after purchase due to the fact that the dealer can not duplicate the complaint at their shop nothing is written up because no problem found. The most recent trip to the dealer was June 13 2016. This issue always happens when the vehicle is in park engine running or engine off button on dash will not activate lift gate either key fob will not activate lift gate and when I get out of the vehicle to attempt to open lift gate with lift gate button this will not work either. I have to manually open the lift gate by opening the hatch and raising the lift gate as if the vehicle was not equipped with the power lift gate accessory. Please help resolve this long standing issue, I retired from Chrysler after 41 years of service in warranty, customer service and tech. I am not making up this issue. Since the recall repair date of 4-15-2016 the trans will shift hard from stop lights also.

- Shelby Twp, MI, USA

problem #100

Jul 172014


  • 1,800 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled and the check engine, transmission, and several other indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed and updated, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The diagnostic results were unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 1,800.

- Yorkville, IL, USA

problem #99

May 052016


  • 45,750 miles


On May 5, 2016, I was driving on a well traveled street in my 2014 Jeep Cherokee latitude. I had just made a right turn and was driving at a slow pace in order to merge into on coming traffic. I pressed on the gas and nothing happened. I looked at the dash and realized that the car had shut down. I had no engine power, no electrical, nothing. I managed to coast to the right lane, and attempted to restart the car; nothing happened. After sitting for approximately 10 minutes, the car finally started. I immediately drove to the dealership with the check engine light on. The car was kept for a week, and I was told they were unable to duplicate the concern. I picked the car up and two weeks later the check engine came on again. Once again, I immediately drove to the dealership. After two days, I was told the transmission needed to be replaced (car is currently in shop awaiting this repair). Prior to this incident, this car had been to the dealership at least two times for what seemed to be transmission related issues; slamming into gear and lurching forward. Each time I was told the issue could not be duplicated.

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #98

Jan 012015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle violently shook, while being towed. The contact stated that the failure only occurred when motor home was towing the car. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where diagnosed the problem as the electric power steering assist wiring harness and fuse holder needed to be installed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000.....updated 07/11/16 after the steering assist was installed, the computer showed the rack and pinion had broken. Updated 07/13/16 updated 07/14/16.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #97

May 062016


  • 38,000 miles
Vehicle stalling while in motion, (feels like it shifts itself into neutral) only dash notification is saying to to place in park and shift to desired gear. This happened 3 times in 3 days, all three time my safety was at risk as you are unable to accelerate. I had to wait until it coasts to a full stop to shift to park and then several tries to restart vehicle, once started car still will not move when pressing gas pedal for few moments although rpms are at 5 or 6 like its not in gear. In all instances I was in traffic and almost rear ended by other vehicles. There is no warning lights or sounds that make you aware that an issue is happening so you can pull to safety.Jeep is in dealership now but am afraid they will tell me they cannot duplicate the problem, reflash the module and send me on the way. I have researched the problem and this is a common problem and common repair scenario at dealership but does not fix issue. I am afraid I will be rear ended by a fast moving vehicle as this has happened 2 times on the highway and once in middle of intersection. It is very scary when this happens as I have had my grandchildren in the vehicle 2 times when it occurred. I am very unhappy with this car as it is my first purchase not lease in 10 years. I don't know what I am going to do, still waiting to hear from dealership which is another issue as I took in yesterday at 7am and it is now the 2nd day at 9 am and nobody has called. I missed a day of work yesterday and have to go out of town for work for 2 days tomorrow. This report is my proof if I should be killed in my Jeep that theres an issue of it stalling in traffic and highway conditions.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #96

Apr 222016


  • 19,000 miles
Continuously having issues with the vehicle, related to acceleration while driving in traffic, car shutting off in traffic, not starting back up right away, gears shifting roughly while - is an automatic 9 speed 4 cylinder vehicle. I have been offered a 5% discount on a Jeep trade in by the Jeep resolution department, but at this point, not sure if its worth buying another Jeep. I am afraid of this happening again. Unfortunately, the mechanics, cant find what wrong with the vehicle, and they also test drove the car, driving around the dealership, on side streets, but not in traffic, or stop and go traffic. I am frustrated at this point, jepp knows these are issues with many of there engines, and fail to truly hear the customers complaints, to the point of taking these complaints more seriously. The resolution offered are not good enough to fix the issue, as I feel I would trade this vehicle in and they will turn around and sell it again.... not safe at all. ! I need help, as I don't know what to do next, take the offer or just trade in with a different dealer and car type/model nothing Chrysler/Jeep related uuuggghhhh!

- Summit, IL, USA

problem #95

Apr 282016


  • 65,556 miles


Transmission disengages while driving. Display on dashboard say put car in "P" and restart vehicle. After doing what the display states, it goes into drive forcefully and makes a load bang. The engine light comes on along the traction control light. After letting the vehicle sit over night and doesn't occur again for about another 10-15 K miles later. This issue created an unsafe condition. All the times this occurred I almost was rear ended, couldn't make turn to a safe pull off area and happened on a on-ramp entering a highway.

- Lehighton, PA, USA

problem #94

Mar 142015


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted after fifteen minutes. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was unable to be determined. The failure recurred three additional times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #93

Apr 092016


  • 21,000 miles
On three occasions, with no warning, I have turned the car off to go into a business, came out and it would not crank. Will not click, turnover, nothing. This time, yesterday, lights would work, but not front console or radio console. After sitting for 15-20 minutes, it will crank. Again- no warning at all.

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #92

Apr 062016


  • 20,192 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep latitude (na). While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled and was unable to restart. The next day, while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle hesitated and made an abnormal noise. In addition, all the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the oil ran to the sensor map and the BCM, fault map sensor, and aero shield needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the hesitation recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,192.

- Madsion, WI, USA

problem #91

Mar 252016


  • 30,000 miles
My Jeep was traveling at 55 mph on a state road when it lost power and had to be steared/coast to the side of the road. Had we been on an interstate this would have caused an accident, injury or death. The dealer claims nothing is wrong with the car and ready to release it to me today 3/29/16 to continue driving as a safe vehicle. In addition, the entire dashboard electronics had to be replaced at 8800 miles, the wiper blades fail, stall, or go off the side frame off the windshield during use causing hazardous driving conditions and reduced visibility, , the key remote fails (not due to dead battery), the bluetooth reliability is intermittent which nulls the hands-free option for phone use while driving, the front and rear defrost did not work causing reduced visibility while driving in early morning hours and was repaired or replaced at 8800 miles, a rotational squeal was reported at 8800 miles and dealer claimed they could not duplicate. 5 months later, the noise continued. After I wrote them directions and sat with them, they replaced a faulty water pump on 4/21/15. The heat deflector shield and the resonator was replaced on 5/21. The car was towed to the dealer after the recent transmission failure. I will not drive the car again and risk the safety of my family or others.

- Hillsborough, NC, USA

problem #90

Mar 222016


  • 21,500 miles
Beware - life treating situation ! on July and August 2015 car shuts down three times first time on very busy highway on approx speed 65 miles/hour caused unbelievable danger situation-P car on motion ! second time few feet after start on green light on extremely frequent and danger junction - car on motion ! third time on steep hilly road - car from unknown reason stop on speed approx 65 miles/hour - very danger situation - car on motion! on all three cases - car electric system completely collapse - car on motion on the road, on the middle of the other moving cars from both sides, extremely danger - life treating situation !!! after moving car to safe place - several times try restart car - car finally restart...immediately call Jeep service ! on the same time problem with radio, cant be adjust loud volume, problem with car usb - inactive. Call Jeep service- request solution and ask for documented life treating situation on writing for Jeep central. Jeep service recommended try change oil. Even then oil was changed approx. 2 months before in Jeep service and oil indicator was ok - "very good" - accept service recommendation -change oil, problem with car shuts down is not repeat till today. Car complete diagnostic was postpone- reason - receive recall card from Jeep - part which has be replaced on recall was not available ! finally approximately before 6-7 weeks realized car diagnostic, replacing recall part and provide software upgrade. Today on 03-22- 2016 malfunction indicator lamp illumination from unknown reasons - find on bulletin: "2014 Jeep Cherokee: A malfunction indicator lamp illumination may be experienced by customers. Flash reprogramming of the transmission control module with latest software" car scheduled for diagnostic and service on Jeep authorized service tomorrow 03-23-2016 !

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #89

Jul 152015


  • 9,682 miles
A list of the current life threatening and non life threatening conditions I have encountered with my Jeep Cherokee trailhawk. The most serious being a persistent problem in relation to the transmission shifting and accelerating causing the car to jerk and in some cases whiplash. As an electrical engineer I have seen the electronic repairs made to the vehicle and yet there is still persistent mechanical problems with this transmission. I have encountered lint mode were the car will not move from gears 1, 2, or 3 on 65mph highway which I believe has caused irreversible damage to the car. The issue occurred in July on route 202 in a cattle shoot created by summer time road work I had to continue to drive the vehicle nearly 2 miles until I was able to pull over and asses the issue. Below is a list of current and past problems: -transmission stopped on a 65mph highway (new software loaded still a problem) -shifter locked in drive couldn't shift to neutral took 4 hours to shut car off at dealership (entire shifter replaced) - navigation (replaced two times, on my third nav system) - window motor mechanism (replaced) - moonroof shade and assembly (being replaced this week) -faulty wiring of cigarette lighter causing fuse to blow due to electrical short (rewired and fuse replaced) -speaker (replaced) -waterproofing trim falling off (replaced) -rattling from bolts for seat-belts (attempted fix didn't work) -O2 sensor causing multiple engine starts (replaced) -front seat uneven (replaced) -recalls ranging from hacking to electrical shorts that have been noted to cause a serious electrical fire

- Malvern, PA, USA

problem #88

Dec 222015


  • 19,900 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that an abnormal odor was present in the vehicle constantly. The contact also stated that while attempting to engage the windshield wiper, it caused an electric shock. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the odor that was present was causing health issues. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 19,900.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #87

Feb 172016


  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that after the vehicle was serviced under an unknown manufacturers recall, the accelerated pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate. In addition, the vehicle lost power however, the radio remained activated. The vehicle was powered off and restarted twice and the vehicle was able to function properly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 29,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Haines City, FL, USA

problem #86

Jan 072016


  • 27,000 miles
The contact owned a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving the vehicle at an unknown speed, the vehicle veered to the left when the contact turned the steering wheel to the right. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a field and caught fire. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the back and right leg that required medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Milton, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?