Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,585 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #92

Apr 062016

Cherokee

  • 20,192 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep latitude (na). While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle stalled and was unable to restart. The next day, while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle hesitated and made an abnormal noise. In addition, all the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the oil ran to the sensor map and the BCM, fault map sensor, and aero shield needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the hesitation recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,192.

- Madsion, WI, USA

problem #91

Mar 252016

Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
My Jeep was traveling at 55 mph on a state road when it lost power and had to be steared/coast to the side of the road. Had we been on an interstate this would have caused an accident, injury or death. The dealer claims nothing is wrong with the car and ready to release it to me today 3/29/16 to continue driving as a safe vehicle. In addition, the entire dashboard electronics had to be replaced at 8800 miles, the wiper blades fail, stall, or go off the side frame off the windshield during use causing hazardous driving conditions and reduced visibility, , the key remote fails (not due to dead battery), the bluetooth reliability is intermittent which nulls the hands-free option for phone use while driving, the front and rear defrost did not work causing reduced visibility while driving in early morning hours and was repaired or replaced at 8800 miles, a rotational squeal was reported at 8800 miles and dealer claimed they could not duplicate. 5 months later, the noise continued. After I wrote them directions and sat with them, they replaced a faulty water pump on 4/21/15. The heat deflector shield and the resonator was replaced on 5/21. The car was towed to the dealer after the recent transmission failure. I will not drive the car again and risk the safety of my family or others.

- Hillsborough, NC, USA

problem #90

Mar 222016

Cherokee

  • 21,500 miles
Beware - life treating situation ! on July and August 2015 car shuts down three times first time on very busy highway on approx speed 65 miles/hour caused unbelievable danger situation-P car on motion ! second time few feet after start on green light on extremely frequent and danger junction - car on motion ! third time on steep hilly road - car from unknown reason stop on speed approx 65 miles/hour - very danger situation - car on motion! on all three cases - car electric system completely collapse - car on motion on the road, on the middle of the other moving cars from both sides, extremely danger - life treating situation !!! after moving car to safe place - several times try restart car - car finally restart...immediately call Jeep service ! on the same time problem with radio, cant be adjust loud volume, problem with car usb - inactive. Call Jeep service- request solution and ask for documented life treating situation on writing for Jeep central. Jeep service recommended try change oil. Even then oil was changed approx. 2 months before in Jeep service and oil indicator was ok - "very good" - accept service recommendation -change oil, problem with car shuts down is not repeat till today. Car complete diagnostic was postpone- reason - receive recall card from Jeep - part which has be replaced on recall was not available ! finally approximately before 6-7 weeks realized car diagnostic, replacing recall part and provide software upgrade. Today on 03-22- 2016 malfunction indicator lamp illumination from unknown reasons - find on bulletin: "2014 Jeep Cherokee: A malfunction indicator lamp illumination may be experienced by customers. Flash reprogramming of the transmission control module with latest software" car scheduled for diagnostic and service on Jeep authorized service tomorrow 03-23-2016 !

- Batavia, OH, USA

problem #89

Jul 152015

Cherokee

  • 9,682 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A list of the current life threatening and non life threatening conditions I have encountered with my Jeep Cherokee trailhawk. The most serious being a persistent problem in relation to the transmission shifting and accelerating causing the car to jerk and in some cases whiplash. As an electrical engineer I have seen the electronic repairs made to the vehicle and yet there is still persistent mechanical problems with this transmission. I have encountered lint mode were the car will not move from gears 1, 2, or 3 on 65mph highway which I believe has caused irreversible damage to the car. The issue occurred in July on route 202 in a cattle shoot created by summer time road work I had to continue to drive the vehicle nearly 2 miles until I was able to pull over and asses the issue. Below is a list of current and past problems: -transmission stopped on a 65mph highway (new software loaded still a problem) -shifter locked in drive couldn't shift to neutral took 4 hours to shut car off at dealership (entire shifter replaced) - navigation (replaced two times, on my third nav system) - window motor mechanism (replaced) - moonroof shade and assembly (being replaced this week) -faulty wiring of cigarette lighter causing fuse to blow due to electrical short (rewired and fuse replaced) -speaker (replaced) -waterproofing trim falling off (replaced) -rattling from bolts for seat-belts (attempted fix didn't work) -O2 sensor causing multiple engine starts (replaced) -front seat uneven (replaced) -recalls ranging from hacking to electrical shorts that have been noted to cause a serious electrical fire

- Malvern, PA, USA

problem #88

Dec 222015

Cherokee

  • 19,900 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that an abnormal odor was present in the vehicle constantly. The contact also stated that while attempting to engage the windshield wiper, it caused an electric shock. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the odor that was present was causing health issues. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 19,900.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #87

Feb 172016

Cherokee

  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that after the vehicle was serviced under an unknown manufacturers recall, the accelerated pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate. In addition, the vehicle lost power however, the radio remained activated. The vehicle was powered off and restarted twice and the vehicle was able to function properly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 29,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Haines City, FL, USA

problem #86

Jan 072016

Cherokee

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving the vehicle at an unknown speed, the vehicle veered to the left when the contact turned the steering wheel to the right. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a field and caught fire. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the back and right leg that required medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 27,000.

- Milton, PA, USA

problem #85

Jan 222016

Cherokee

  • miles
Drive about 37689 miles. Inserted key to run, nothing happened, turned it off, turned it back to run, it power up but engine light pop out, transmission failure, tcm internal failure code P1634. Turned it off, waited for half hour, turned it on, power run normal with a lot of noise, engine light still on. Shift it to drive and it goes backward, then shift it to park, cranking noise under the car. Messaged transmission service, park brake service and ESC disabled/off. Turned it off again. Waited for few minutes turned it on, engine light still on, shift it drive, push the pedal (gas) doesn't go, about 3 seconds later it drive normally. Every time shift to drive have to wait few sec to go.

- Carolina, PR, USA

problem #84

Jan 172016

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. As a result, another vehicle crashed into the rear of the contact's vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The mechanic was unable to locate or duplicate the failure. The vehicle was currently being repaired for the rear end damage. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 03/09/16

- Bainbridge Island, WA, USA

problem #83

Jan 182016

Cherokee

  • 15,995 miles
My vehicle has had continuous issues of jerking/missing gears when it shifts, when I took to be checked I was told it was a known problem with this vehicle and there was nothing that could be done until the engine blows up. I was not notified of any sort of issues when I bought the vehicle new. I have also now had continuous problems with my vehicle not starting from being stationary, multiple times it has not started after being off for a period of time, ie 24 hours, but also numerous times my vehicle has shut off while in motion, I was driving down the road and my vehicle just shut off completely, no lights, no gas, no radio etc. I was luckily on the side of a non-busy road at that time about to turn onto a main road. I had both my children in the vehicle with me. I was unable to start my vehicle from this now stationary position for approx. 15 minutes I sat idle in the road with my children in the car. Another time my vehicle shut off while I was driving in a busy intersection my car shut off as I was turning and I was almost T-boned my vehicle started up after trying a few times and I was able to get out of the road way. Once I was parked in a parking lot to collect myself, my vehicle would not start again. It took approx. 4 times trying to start it again. I have contacted the dealership again and will be taking it back, to be checked. When I took it to them the first time for it to be checked as to why it shut off and they could only come up with that it was low on oil, they did an oil change and said nothing was wrong with my vehicle, which clearly the oil wasn't the problem because it has only been about 400 miles since the oil change.

- Waterford, CT, USA

problem #82

Aug 102015

Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has lost power while driving 3X. Car was in motion/traffic travelling at 65mph, 45mph, 65 mph.dealer/manufacturer are not able to identify problem. Service advisor at steven's creek Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep stated that Jeep needs to buy the car back but manufacturer is unable to help out. Car towed twice to dealer.

- Los Gatos, CA, USA

problem #81

Nov 122014

Cherokee

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the windshield wiper activated independently prior to starting the vehicle. As a result, the lights on the instrument panel would start flashing and the vehicle would fail to function. In addition, the cable detached from the battery shutting the vehicle off. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V509000 (visibility) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 33,000. Part distribution disconnect. Updated 03/10/16

- Elko, NV, USA

problem #80

Oct 022015

Cherokee

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While attempting to utilize the liftgate, it failed to operate using the remote. The contact stated that the failure occurred on several occasions and the liftgate had to be used manually. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V393000 (structure) and 15V509000 (visibility); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,000.

- Windsor, NC, USA

problem #79

Nov 062015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V509000 (electrical system); however, the part to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to do the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 03/18/16 updated 03/22/16.

- Loudon, TN, USA

problem #78

May 252015

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact used the remote to open the liftgate, however, when attempting to close the liftgate with the automatic button, it failed to close. The contact had to manually close the liftgate. The contact later tried again and the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the liftgate control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V393000 (electrical system) however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #77

Jul 242015

Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V393000 (structure), 15V509000 (visibility), and 15V461000 (equipment); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #76

Feb 122015

Cherokee

  • 27,000 miles
2 times already I have had to take my car into the dealership because it would shut off randomly while driving. This has happened while on the highway and also while on busy streets. So far I have been able to drift to the side of the road, put the car in park and then turn the car off and back on. The car sputters when restarting and on multiple occasions will stall again. Both times they tried to blame it on the oil change being overdue. The 2nd time I had to have the car towed to the dealership and they stated there was no oil in the car. How a car loses oil if there isn't a leak, I'm not sure. This is now the third time it is happening and based on the car's computer I still have 30% to go before needing an oil change and the car is shutting off on me again randomly. I was at the dealership for the 2nd time less than 3 months ago. I drive in miami and have been lucky that my son was not in the car with me.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #75

Oct 212015

Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
Ongoing issues regarding vehicle, multiple failures on multiple occasions. Serious powertrain issues, vehicle slow to respond driver acceleration input, erratic acceleration and shift performance. Airbags, stability control, forward crash mitigation/avoidance, and other safety systems failure on multiple occasions. Powertrain replaced, multiple software updates with no resolve, intermittent issue persists.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #74

Jul 152015

Cherokee

  • miles
I have received 3 recall alerts on different problems with the car. When I call the dealer they said they can not fix because Chrysler has not issued/delivered the parts. It has been over 3 2/12 months since the first recall alert and I have gotten two more additional notices since then. All are safety related issues. Unacceptable.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #73

Jul 132015

Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the rpms increased independently and the vehicle felt rough while driving in third gear. In addition, the vehicle suddenly increased speed and the brake pedal was depressed with excessive force in order to decrease the vehicles speed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V509000 (visibility) but the recall remedy was not yet available. The contact felt that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sonoma, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?