Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 Jeep Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,791 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #74

Sep 052016


  • 9,200 miles


Sudden unintended acceleration (over 2000 RPM) when breaking or coasting to a stop. Vehicle speed control component needs to be reprogramed or replaced in automatic transmission. Problem not fixed during last checkup.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #73

Sep 012016


  • 35,000 miles
When at an average rate of speed (55mph) while driving on a curve (there is a bump in the road at the spot I am referring to), when the Jeep hits it, it has a death wobble in the front end!!! cruise control speeds up on a very small decline in the road every time used!!! from a stop, the car has a hard shift when beginning to press accelerator!!! hands free voice gets my voice request wrong almost every time!!!

- Heber City, UT, USA

problem #72

Feb 202016


  • 24,000 miles
Takada recall transmission shifts hard in 1 -3 gears, hesitates on acceleration, stays in low gear on steep incline, drops into neutral uncontrolled and lunges car forward when shifting through first three gears.

- Bauxite, AR, USA

problem #71

Aug 102016


  • 45,000 miles


Car was parked and upon startup produced a loud bang. Car reversed after a jerk and a complete loss of power. Turned car off and turned it back on. Felt like it rode in neutral without the ability to accelerate. Almost caused an accident. I had my child in the back seat. Every light on the dashboard lit up-failed transmission ect... I have photo documentation.

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #70

Aug 282014


  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the vehicle downshifted while the accelerator pedal was depressed without warning. The vehicle was taken to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 44,000.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #69

Aug 012016


  • 40,300 miles
The cruise control does not disengage when I push the cruise control cancel button. When I have the cruise control on and going 65mph, (on a highway) or so, in a high elevation and want the cruise off, I press the brake, the cruise control does not disengage. If I press the cruise control "cancel" button, the cruise control does not disengage. I can tell because the cruise control light on the dash is still lit. What does turn off the cruise control is pressing the cruise control button that I push to engage cruise control in the first place. So to turn off the cruise control, I must press the cruise control "on" button. Shouldn't pressing the brake or the cruise control cancel button turn off cruise control all the time? I have placed another complaint on this subject before with you, but before I didn't know how to cancel the cruise control. Now I have found that I must press the button that also turns it on to turn it off.

- Coupeville, WA, USA

problem #68

Aug 182014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that the transmission failed to shift properly and there was constant unintended acceleration when the gears changed. While changing gears to pull into the driveway, the vehicle surged forward into the garage without warning. The contact applied the brake pedal with force when the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer more than five times, but they were unable to replicate and diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure continued at random. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was not available.

- Richland, WA, USA

problem #67

Jul 012016


  • 22,000 miles
Transmission issues. Brought to the dealer twice in one week.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #66

Jun 282016


  • 68,000 miles
The transmission on this car makes it a death trap. I have experienced: The car not turning on or shutting off on its own (while driving) due to not enough oil in the engine, lunging, delayed acceleration, missing gears when shifting, loud bangs and noises when shifting, indicator lights malfunctioning, the list goes on. I have been to the dealer on numerous occasions (excluding the 6 times for recalls) and they don't even know how to fix these issues. I can't drive this car because I'm scared I'll die I can't sell this car because it has lost all value I can't afford another car right now

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #65

May 222016


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, the contact heard an unusual noise underneath the hood. The vehicle immediately accelerated and crashed into a parked vehicle, causing extensive damage to both vehicles. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained a minor injury that did not require medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and an investigation was ordered. The failure mileage was 13,000. Updated 08/31/16

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #64

Dec 052015


  • miles


12/5/15 jerking SUV stops driving stops in middle of intersection gration& 13mile 12/7/15 returned to dealership Jan 2016 roseville Chrysler Jeep threatened to have vehicle towed to scrap yard and bill me for towing & pay remainder of car note Jan 18 2016 car was delivered back to my home as of June 1 2016 my vehicle still jerks when I accelerate after taking my foot off brake & press gas pedal - cant afford to pay for 2 vehicles - my lease ends May 2017

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #63

May 192016


  • 27,000 miles
The Jeep continues to stall with no warning in traffic, causing a serious risk of collision. The vehicle has also experience unwanted and automatic acceleration, also causing a serious risk of injury. A leaky break line was just replaced. The vehicle only has 27,000

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #62

May 262016


  • 23,515 miles
Please read...traveling on interstate 75 N / approximate speed 65 - 75 mph / vehicle "turned off, went dead" / coasted through two lanes to get to an emergency side spot! it truly is a miracle that we were not ran over!!! contacted a wrecker service and having to wait 1 1/2hrs on the side of a busy interstate, our vehicle was lifted and taken to a dealership / the wrecker driver wasn't able to get vehicle started or out of gear until he accessed help via his phone, which allowed him to move gear but still didn't crank / next day, a rep from the dealership called and said the vehicle started up and the issue mentioned above could not be replicated"?? a strange report was given that there seem to be grease from an unknown source that was seen under the vehicle and perhaps that caused the problem??" we picked the vehicle up and made it home (70 mi) / this is extremely worrisome, not to mention, of course it could be deadly! please help.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #61

May 222016


  • 25,000 miles
On Sunday on May 22, 2016, I drove my 2014 Jeep Cherokee on interstate 275 from the montgomery road exit to the five-mile road exit. I was alone in the vehicle. I used the cruise control during this travel. I originally set the speed for 70 miles per hour. At one point, I had to slow down because a car pulled into the lane in front of me and the step down of feature of the speed control worked as expected. When I exited from I-275 to five-mile, I applied the brakes but was unable to slow my car. I continued to apply pressure to the brake pedal but the car's speed was not being reduced and I realized that I would be crossing into the signalized intersection without being able to stop. Shortly before entering the intersection, I honked the horn of my car. My car continued across all four lanes of five-mile road and onto the on-ramp from five mile to interstate 275. There it stopped. I do not remember pushing the button on the steering wheel to cancel the cruise control. The car did not impact or touch any other vehicle or pedestrian or other property. It came to a stop on the onramp. The cruise control was not then causing the car to accelerate and the brakes worked. I drove my car very slowly and parked it in the parking lot of the shopping center at the intersection of five-mile and beechmont avenue. From there, I had the car towed from the parking lot to the dealership where I purchased it, kings Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep, Inc. At kings auto mall. A report referenced by ntsa id no. 10861030 describes a similar incident involving the same make model and year. So far, the dealer service department says there is no problem discernable from the computer codes or fault indications.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #60

Apr 222016


  • 19,000 miles
Continuously having issues with the vehicle, related to acceleration while driving in traffic, car shutting off in traffic, not starting back up right away, gears shifting roughly while - is an automatic 9 speed 4 cylinder vehicle. I have been offered a 5% discount on a Jeep trade in by the Jeep resolution department, but at this point, not sure if its worth buying another Jeep. I am afraid of this happening again. Unfortunately, the mechanics, cant find what wrong with the vehicle, and they also test drove the car, driving around the dealership, on side streets, but not in traffic, or stop and go traffic. I am frustrated at this point, jepp knows these are issues with many of there engines, and fail to truly hear the customers complaints, to the point of taking these complaints more seriously. The resolution offered are not good enough to fix the issue, as I feel I would trade this vehicle in and they will turn around and sell it again.... not safe at all. ! I need help, as I don't know what to do next, take the offer or just trade in with a different dealer and car type/model nothing Chrysler/Jeep related uuuggghhhh!

- Summit, IL, USA

problem #59

Jan 012015


  • 20,000 miles
When attempting to accelerate quickly while stationary or in motion, there is a delay between hitting the accelerator and the vehicle responding. Upon vehicular response the engine will rev extreemly high, then resume regular operation. This has occured on every road in every condition. The aformentioned problem has put my vehicle at high risk of collision on 3 different occasions. An example of this includes pulling out of a parkinglot onto a busy highway. When there is enough space to pull out and accelerate quickly, the vehicle crawls out of the lot, a second goes by, then the vehicle revs up into the 5500-6000rpm. Passing a vehicle on a one lane highway also presents problems. Pulling out into the oncoming lane, depressing the pedal, and not accelerating right away puts the operator at risk for a head on collision. Dealerships have told me there is no fault and it operates normally when running the computer diagnostics. There is a legitimate problem, and I hope it can be rectified in the near future. The date entered in the "when did this happen" section is the rough date this started happening in my vehicle.

- Fredricton Nb Canada E3b5v4, AA, USA

problem #58

Apr 202016


  • 34,000 miles
With cruise control on, at 70 mph on an interstate hwy at higher elevation, the RPM's were near 4,000. I put on the brakes as the speed was going faster than I wanted. Putting on the brakes did not disengage the cruise control, so the RPM's stayed near 4,000. The only way to slow down was to press the cancel button for the cruise control. This has happened 3-4 times on different trips in different locations that were all high in elevation: 1500 feet +. I have told this information to the dealer we bought the car from, new, in 2014. This just happened again 4-20-16 in southern Oregon. Normally, pressing the brake pedal cancels the cruise control.

- Coupeville, WA, USA

problem #57

Apr 142016


  • 19,000 miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee bought in December 2014 500miles. Shortly after purchase, car shifting erratically, lunging forward at stops, and not accelerating when stepping on gas appropriately. On the way to work one day, car bogged down in traffic, turned off, would not turn back on for over 30 minutes, trying to start all lights and check engine warnings were going haywire. Car finally started, got to work, but car did not start up again after my shift, had to have car towed to dealer. They did updates and computer resets, picked up vehicle, only for vehicle to shut down on the lot, they took it back in, and kept it over night. They felt they fixed the problem, but again on the way to work, car still shifting dangerously, lunging forward, and has shut down again. Even while in a drive thru, car lunged forward almost hitting another car in front of me. Car taken back into dealer, again they completed a ton of recalls, and updates, some repeated form the last few times, I took the car in. The car has been in the shop 5-6 times now, with 2 claims escalated to Jeep/Chrysler. I am pregnant, and with the car shutting down in the middle of traffic is extremely, lunging forward, shifting erratically, and bogging down while on highway has only brought fear to my safety, the safety of my pregnancy, and the safety of others driving around me, as I hope this can be fixed before something horrible happens. I have requested to claims that the car be replaced, or be issued a buy back, safety is my main concern ! this vehicle is no good< and should not be driven or resold !

- Summit, IL, USA

problem #56

Apr 172016


  • 25,000 miles
Vehicle lost power in the middle of a busy intersection. The throttle control warning light, and the check engine light came on. This is a very serious safety hazard as two vehicles almost collide with me due to the sudden loss of power and stalling.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #55

Sep 012014


  • 15,000 miles
My car will shift hard in reverse, sometimes into drive, and also from 1st gear into 2nd gear. Also, when turning, and trying to accelerate, I notice the car feels like it is in slow motion and does not accelerate, even if I am stepping hard on the pedal. I have also noticed that the car will not shift into higher gears when climbing in elevation. Many times I have been driving up in elevation, and will be stuck in 4th gear unable to shift to a higher gear. The problem all seems to revolve around this new 9 speed transmission. I have taken to the dealership, and they have checked the computer to find nothing. I am updated on all of my recalls. I was told next time, "I should buy a V6" by the dealership.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?