Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,838 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 6 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #73

Nov 222007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a Jeep Commander 2006 5.7 liter engine. I have contacted Chrysler about a stalling problem and they tell me that it does not register in the computer and they have no idea what is wrong. This truck stalls about 4 times a week in the middle of traffic. Being that I have a toddler and a baby I am not safe in this vehicle and no one seems to care. It will just completely turn off and I lose all steering. Please help!!

- Bridgeville, PA, USA

problem #72

Nov 102007

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
On at least ten different occasions the 2006 Jeep Commander has stalled at speeds ranging from 15 to 70 miles per hour. Power is shut off completely leading to the loss of all functionality. If the steering wheel is turned slightly, the wheel locks, leaving the vehicle in a situation where it has to coast to a stop. This is a terrifying experience with small children in the vehicle. Accidents have nearly occurred as a result of this happening. There have been seven occasions when this problem has been reported to the local dealer with nothing accomplished to correct the problem. The dealer blames the operators of the vehicle for hitting the key with their knee. This is not the cause of the problem as it occurs when the driver's knee is nowhere near the key. The service department apparently can not duplicate this problem when they service the vehicle for some reason though it is a very real issue for my family.

- Ada, MI, USA

problem #71

Sep 212007

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles
I brought my Jeep into be looked at because it stalled on me when I was driving and lost power. Luckily I am okay and it restart right away. Dealer ship looked at it and found "nothing" wrong with it. I am scared to drive it especially when I have to drive on the interstate to work. I wish they would do something about this. Its so ridiculous.

- New Richmond, WI, USA

problem #70

Nov 032007

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Soon after I purchase my 2006 Jeep Commander sport 4X4 (5 speed)... I began to do some research on this vehicle (I should have done this prior to the purchase)... I was going through this complaint database and I was alarmed to read that this vehicle has a history of stalling. Well, it finally happened to me on 11/4/2007 (with 11,600 exact mileage) driving home from shopping with my family. The Commander stalled out on during the highway merged. Luckily, I was in the far right lane to jump off the highway immediately. The power loss that I experience was only with ability to move the vehicle. My dashboards lights, headlights, radio; breaks were fully operational (thankfully). No accidents, no injuries except my children are now afraid of being inside of the Commander. To be honest, so am I. there have been numerous reports on what is occurring?.. everything from downloading an upgraded to debris in the hose. Either way, Chrysler needs to address this immediately; the potential of death is very realistic.

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #69

Oct 312007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
While driving my Jeep Commander shuts off without warning. The Jeep becomes inoperable, no power steering or brakes. It has happened at least a half dozen times. I initially took it back to the dealer, but they said they could not find the problem. It is very dangerous!

- Milanville, PA, USA

problem #68

Oct 262007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
My 2006 Jeep Commander stalls on me why driving. It has been doing this for 8 months now. Nothing has been done about this problem. The car will shut down on you when driving. Prompting you to have to bring the car to a complete stop to restart. I have been dealing for months on this issue and nothing has been done. I am I N a rental car 90% of the time. Chrysler needs to get off their ass and doing something before someone is seriously hurt. I am intersted and fileing a class action suit against them. If you are intersted and your Jeep is stalling too. Please contact me.

- Spokane , WA, USA

problem #67

Oct 102007

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The vehicle stalls unexpectedly while driving 15 mph and below. The vehicle completely loses power and must be shifted into park and restarted in order for the engine to work properly. The contact has taken the vehicle to the dealer and they conducted several tests, but were unable to duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was 33,500 and current mileage was 33,900. Updated 01-14-08. Updated 12/12/07.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #66

Oct 192007

Commander 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,800 miles
2006 Jeep Commander V6 idles rough when stopped and starts to cut out as if it is going to stall.

- Arcola, IL, USA

problem #65

Oct 012005

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The vehicle constantly stalls and all of the instrument panel lights flash. The vehicle shuts off without prior notice. Occasionally, the vehicle shuts off while idling at a stop sign or pulling into a parking space. The dealer kept the vehicle for several days, but was unable to duplicate the failure. The current mileage was 29,000 and failure mileage was 10,000.

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #64

Oct 182007

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving 14 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. The vehicle remained off for a few seconds and then was able to be restarted. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The vehicle is currently still at the dealer. The current mileage was 39,000 and failure mileage was 20,000.

- Fort Mill, SC, USA

problem #63

Oct 122007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving vehicle the engine shuts off and the resulted power failure makes it dangerous to control the vehicle at highway speeds. This has happened three times and the dealers service department could not find a problem or reason for this.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #62

Sep 092007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Since the beginning of ownership, this car has stalled many times (as well as other various and odd electrical problems.) many times I can turn the car off and on and it will restart. This does happen in parking lots and highway speeds as well. I have also lost power steering and brakes when in parking lots at a very slow acceleration speed. I have also had air bag warning lights go on and stay on then randomly shut off. The dealer has tried to help resolve but is limited by Chrysler's ability to recognize that there is a problem. If there is no code in the cars computer, there is no problem and can't be duplicated. If the problem can't be duplicated, there is no repair. But it keeps happening over and over. I have filed a complaint with Chrysler with no resolve. The dealership has had my car and drove it for 3 weeks to try to duplicate the problem. Since it is so random and they just didn't get enough time/miles in, the problem didn't happen. It stalled again about 3 weeks after that pulling out of my driveway. There has been no repair, because Chrysler says there is no problem. I have been in the middle of an intersection with a 15 year old on a permit driving with oncoming traffic. I have had this car since March 2006 and this has been occurring many times repeatedly since then. Not all have been documented and because it occasionally happens on weekends or holidays, I have no ability to get it in to a dealership. In order for them to be able to read a code, I would have to leave the car in a stalled position wherever it occurred and have it towed directly to the dealer. This is highly impractical and unsafe. Especially scary at high speeds on the highway. I do not want to be a casualty of Chrysler's failure to recognize that there are thousands of these vehicles out there doing this exact same thing. Do a "google" search see the #'s! something needs to be done!!!

- Saint Joseph, MI, USA

problem #61

Aug 282007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,500 miles
My 2006 Jeep Commander V8 has stalled 4 times since buying it in April of 2007. The first time was when I was backing up in reverse in my driveway. The second time a few months later, after backing up, put the Jeep in drive and it stalled. The third time was in August, I had backed up in my parking lot at work put the Jeep in drive and was going about 15 mph and the Jeep stalled. The last time was August 28, 2007, I was making a left hand turn into mcdonald's with my 8 month old, 6+7 year old children as well as being 5 months pregnant, the Jeep stalled, I lost my brakes and power steering with oncoming traffic heading towards me. It took I my strength to turn the wheel tp get out of the road. I have had the Jeep to the dealership to have this looked at 3 times. The last in August before the 4th episode. They had my Jeep for 4 days and could not find anything wrong with it. I have called Jeep and made a complaint. Their response was to take it back to the dealership. I am very frustrated and feel unsafe with my children in this vehicle and no one seems to care or want to help. After looking at this list of complaints on this website on 2006 Jeep Commanders stalling, something needs to be done.

- Calais, ME, USA

problem #60

Sep 302007

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
Lost power which included steering and lighting systems (interior and headlamps).

- Newtown, CT, USA

problem #59

Sep 202007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
My husband and I are leasing a 2006 Jeep Commander since Nov 2005. I have been involved in 3 separate traffic accidents on May 31 2006, August 8 2006 and September 20 2007. The engine stalled during low speed turns on both August 8 2006 and September 20 2007. I had just left a stop sign on May 31 2006 when my engine stalled in the intersection, resulting in a crash. I was cited for failure to yield on May 31 2006. I wasn't cited on August 8 2006 or September 20 2007, although the police report from the September 20 2007 accident describes a "failure to yield." I have also had ongoing tire pressure issues as well as intermittent brake failure issues. Prior to May 31 2006 I had never been involved in a traffic accident nor had I received any traffic citations. I am 48 years old. My vehicle was repaired twice after the first 2 accidents, but I am awaiting contact from the other party's auto insurer before proceeding with the repairs following yesterday's accident. I've brought the 2006 Jeep Commander in to bud mulcahy's Jeep on several occasions. That dealership is now closed.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #58

Sep 132007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
Twice while pulling into parking spaces, once while pulling out of a drive-through into the main road, and once while coming to a stop sign, my 2006 Jeep Commander has stalled, losing brakes and steering. I have to restart the car using the key. No indicator light tells me what happened or that there is anything wrong. The first time it took into the dealer, they said that my computerized fuel mix ratio was way off. They said it should be at 0 and that mine was at 6.something. They reset it to 1.5, the lowest they could get it to. They felt that this was the problem causing the stall. I got the car back and it did not stall for two months but then stalled again. I took it back to the dealer and they stated that they could not find any computerized indicator to tell them why this was happening and could not make it happen while it was at the shop. The shop manager said that he even looked on the internet to see if there were any other cases and could find none. Hesaid that there was nothing from daimler/Chrysler about it either. When I went to the ntsba web site, I found that there was an investigation into this since Feb 2007 and that daimler/Chrysler responded that they are now doing their own investigation. If this is the case, why would the dealership not know anything about it. I got the car back and within two weeks it stalled again at the stop sign. This last incident was on Sept 13, 2007. I called the dealer and they do not have a solution.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #57

May 212007

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
We purchased a 2006 Jeep Commander in April 2007. Since we purchased this vehicle, it has stalled on 12 separate, random occasions. I have documented the stalls which have occurred while in reverse, driving less than 10mph, and at higher speeds on the highway. When the car shuts down while on, I have to pull over (with no lights or power steering) and put the car into park to restart the car. It always starts up again with no problems. I have also noted that it occurs in both cold and warm temperatures. I have had the car in Jeep's service depts on three occasions. On the first two visits, they said they could not find anything wrong with the vehicle. On the third visit, they admitted that others had complained of the same problems and they replaced the ignition switch to see if that corrects the problem. I have talked to other Commander owners who also have had this same major issue with their vehicle.

- Eureka, MO, USA

problem #56

Sep 042007

Commander 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,400 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving 40 mph, the engine lost power, however, the vehicle continued to run at a decreased speed. He placed the vehicle into neutral, restarted the vehicle, and then drove to the dealer. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The VIN, engine size, and number of cylinders were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 20,400.

- Kailua, HI, USA

problem #55

Mar 012007

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving 5-30 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. The failure has occurred eleven times. The dealer inspected the vehicle on four occasions, but was unable to duplicate the failure. The first failure mileage was 6,500 and current mileage was 15,545. Updated 01/09/08. The consumer stated vehicle has stalled a few more times, dealer attempted to fix but to no avail. Updated 12/12/07

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #54

Sep 052007

Commander 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,480 miles
Jeep Commander limited 2006 stalled while driving at a speed of 25mph. Car lost power steering and brakes. The car experienced a complete electrical failure and just died. Events leading up to the failure include the car rumbling to the point where it feels as if would stall but did not. It finally did completely stall as noted in the opening sentences. The dealership where the car was purchased, stated they cannot pin point the exact cause but per Chrysler a possible solution was to clean and reseal the main wiring harness to the power distribution center. After that they have been attempting phone calls to Chrysler to troubleshoot the problem. We were told Chrysler can't guarantee the problem will be found. Now we are left with a car that is unsafe to drive as it may stall out while driving without warning.

- Edgewood, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?