If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Whenever a new product is introduced, there's bound to be some problems. And man oh man, does the 2006 Commander have some problems.

It's the plight of the 1st-generation adopter: you get the newest and shiniest in exchange for a handful of issues that get ironed out in future versions. But what happens when that handful of issues becomes a bucketload? The 2006 Commander has quality control issues like the door handles breaking off and the sunroof leaking. But what's truly worrisome is the electrical problems like the vehicle shutting down unexpectedly, gauges going crazy or the cruise control having a mind of its own.

Bottom line: if you want a Jeep Commander, you're better off looking at a later model year.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,176 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Commander transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Nov 202012

Commander 6-cyl

  • 155,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving down the road, the entire cluster of instrument warning lights begins to flash intermittently, creating a distraction and safety hazard while driving. In addition, the fuel gauge drops to "E", the speedometer drops to zero and then goes up and down and all gauges go up and down erratically. Also, the heated seats turn off as does the fan for the heater/ac unit. Verified with local mechanic that this is not related to the ignition switch and is most likely an ECM and/or PCM issue. Replaced battery but problem still exists. Engine malfunction indicator light comes on for several cycles, computer reboots itself and then the trouble starts again shortly after. This appears to be an ongoing issue with the 06 Commander but my VIN was not included in the ECM/PCM recall (08V203000) because I have the 6-cylinder rather than the 8 cylinder engine. This is a safety hazard while driving and I just feel fortunate that as of yet, my car is not stalling like so many others. However, I feel my issue is related to this same recall and want to have it on file.

- Ashland, VA, USA

problem #21

Aug 162012

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled and every light illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact stated that he took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection where they stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they stated that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 10/3/12 the consumer stated the 2006 V-8 models were recalled, for the same issue. The consumer stated the electronics were the same in both vehicles, even though he is a V-6. updated 10/091/2

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #20

Jul 262012

Commander 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle would not immediately restart. The vehicle eventually restarted, but the failure continued to recur. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that a control module needed to be replaced. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V203000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 126,000. Updated 01/04/13 the consumer stated the brakes and steering would lock up and the engine would shut off in the middle of driving. Updated 01/08/13

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #19

Oct 252011

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while driving 30 mph. The vehicle operated as normal upon restart. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the contact was informed that the transmission control module and power train control module failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V203000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)). The failure and current mileages were 50,000. Updated 11/10/11

- Port Washington, NY, USA

problem #18

Sep 012009

Commander

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the check engine light would intermittently illuminate and the vehicle would hesitate to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the PCM module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 43,000... updated 10/27/11 updated 3/30/12

- Sissonville , WV, USA

problem #17

Jan 012009

Commander

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled numerous times while driving 20 mph and the check engine light illuminated during the failures. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop, who stated that the failure was due to the PCM. An authorized dealer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 08V203000 (power train: Automatic transmission: Control module (tcm, PCM)). The contact also stated that water penetrated the front passenger door handle and soaked the floor. The windows would also not roll up or down. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current 70,000.

- Silver Spring , MD, USA

problem #16

Feb 142011

Commander

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact was driving 60 mph when the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the check engine and traction control lights. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was contacted but would not assist with the repair because the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V203000 (power train: Automatic transmission: Control module -tcm, PCM). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 94,000.

- Monroe, GA, USA

problem #15

Jun 012008

Commander

  • 51,493 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated the vehicle was taken to the dealer on June 6, 2008 to have campaign id number 08V203000 power train: Automatic transmission: Control module (tcm, PCM) recall repair performed. The repair did not correct the failure. While driving 45 mph the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to coast off of the road and apply the emergency brake. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer repeatedly for the failure. The dealer reprogrammed the computer, replaced the ignition switch, and the map sensor was replaced twice. The repair did not correct the failure and the vehicle continued to stall without warning. The manufacturers report 20824940 was filed and they stated they would like the opportunity to repair the vehicle, but would not replace the vehicle or give the contact her money back. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 51,493 and the current mileage was 115,000.

- Shelby, NC, USA

problem #14

Dec 052010

Commander

  • 49,600 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving 35 mph the vehicle sputtered, the wheels locked, the power steering failed and the vehicle stalled. All of the warning lights illuminated informing him that the vehicle would stall. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was called and informed him that the VIN was not included in NHTSA recall # 08V203000, power train automatic transmission, control module (tcm, PCM) and offered no assistance. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 49,600.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #13

Oct 302010

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,583 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall without warning when driving at any speed over 20 mph. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility and an authorized dealer for diagnosis in which no failure codes were generated. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 08V203000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM) and no further assistance was offered. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 67,583 and the current mileage was 67,999. Updated 01/14/11 updated 02/07/11

- Statesboro, GA, USA

problem #12

May 172009

Commander

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. The contact was driving 25 mpg when the dashboard lights began flashing and the vehicle unexpectedly stalled. Within seconds, the vehicle independently restarted. The contact stated that the failure would occur intermittently. He was able to locate a recall for the failure (NHTSA campaign id number: 08V203000: Power train: Automatic transmission: Control module-tcm, PCM) but was advised by the manufacturer that his VIN was not included. The manufacturer advised having the vehicle diagnosed by the dealer to determine if the failure was relative to the recall. The dealer advised that the air conditioning system would need to be replaced to correct the failure. The contact did not believe that the air conditioning system was causing the failure. The failure mileage was 62,000.

- Corinth, TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 112010

Commander

  • 42,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. While driving approximately 30 mph all of the warning lights illuminated on instrument panel. When she engaged the turn signal, it would blink intermittently then it become stuck in position. She stated that the vehicle stalled while all of the warning lights were illuminated. She was able to coast into a parking space. She made several attempts to start the vehicle and was able to drive it to her residence; although, the vehicle began to hesitate intermittently. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The tow truck driver was unable to start the vehicle. Two weeks prior to the failure, the interior dome light was not working. She referenced NHTSA recall campaign id number: 08V203000, power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM); however, her VIN was not a part of the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileages were 42,500.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #10

May 102009

Commander

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. When idling all of the warning lights on the instrument control panel would illuminate, and then the vehicle would stall. The dealer stated the manifold sensor, and pressure sensor failed. Since the vehicle identification number was excluded from recall campaign id number: 08V203000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)), she would have to pay over $300 for repairs. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The failure mileage was 40,000. The current was 43,000.

- Corpus Christie, TX, USA

problem #9

Jan 102007

Commander

  • 51,300 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Commander. In cold weather conditions or while in the reverse gear, the vehicle would stall. Her vehicle identification number was excluded from recall #08V203000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)). A representative from the manufacturer concluded that her vehicle was built 2 weeks outside of the vehicles affected by the recall. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure could not be duplicated. No repairs were made. The current and failure mileages were under 51,300.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #8

Jan 152008

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
On several occasions while driving my 2006 Jeep Commander all of a sudden it will lose power and the dash warning lights will start flashing. I try stepping on the accelerator to get it to go, but it does not respond, this will last for about 15 seconds or so then the vehicle will regain power, the dash lights will stop flashing, but, the esp/bas lights stay on for a longer time. And the one with the vehicle and skid marks. On one occasion the vehicle stalled out completely¿.and turned off I had to maneuver through traffic to coast to the side of road to restart the engine¿although the 2 lights remained on the vehicle did go. The consumer was informed the problem was with the PCM and that it had to be reflashed. The consumer discovered there was a recall for the exact problem she was experiencing. Updated 08/13/08

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Jun 102008

(reported on)

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2006 Jeep Commander with a recall for powertrain control module reprogramming. Consumer states that the mechanic replaced the transmission filters. He also states that the reprogramming didn't change anything the vehicle still stalled.

- Tarpon Springs, FL, USA

problem #6

Sep 202007

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
I have experienced 3 separate accidents on May 31 2006, August 2 2006 and September 20 2007 with the 2006 Jeep Commander limited. I had just left the stop sign in the first accident and proceeded into the intersection of a 2-way stop. My vehicle stalled and I collided with a Grand Am. The driver of that vehicle has filed a civil action against me in which metlife auto & casualty has hired an attorney to represent me. I was found to be primarily at fault for this accident. The lawsuit is claiming I was negligent. The second accident occurred when I was turning around to get a better "shot" into a private driveway. I successfully turned around in a parking area across the street from the driveway and I was in the process of entering the driveway when my vehicle stalled and my driver side front bumper was struck, breaking the tie rod. The police and the other party's insurance found the other driver who was 93 to be at fault for the accident. The third accident occurred on September 20 2007, when I was attempting to turn left on a green light from a turn lane. I was in the process of turning left when another driver who was speeding collided with my vehicle which had stalled during the left hand turn. The passenger front bumper was damaged including a broken tie rod. The other driver's insurance has determined I am primarily at fault for that accident.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #5

Sep 132007

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,500 miles
I purchased my 2006 Jeep Commander in Oct. 2005 from mccune Chrysler Jeep in national city, ca. Initially, I started noticing my brakes shimmying as I came to a stop. I reported to my dealership a few times but no good came out of it. Then, last Thursday, Sept. 13, I noticed my dashboard lights (electrical system, brakes and transmission lights) flashing on and off as I accelerated from a stop and headed uphill. It felt as though the Jeep wanted to stop and go at the same time. I reported it to my dealership and brought in the vehicle the next week. The dealership quoted me $190 to analyze it (since my Jeep was about 8,000 miles beyond the warranty period). Then, they told me that it would cost me over $400 to repair the vehicle even though they did not know what was wrong with it. I began to research the internet about recalls on this make and model and found that Chrysler had issued a recall on Friday, Sept. 14, 2007. I printed the article and brought it to my service rep at mccune. The rep insisted that it was not my problem and that his dealership had not heard of a recall on my make and model. So, I called Chrysler's customer service department in oak ridge, tn. The representatives there insisted that there was no recall. Frustrated, I accepted the dealerships offer to repair my vehicle. They quoted me a $100 deductible to place the vehicle under warranty. As I drove off, the same thing happened all over again. I called the service advisor and explained what had happened. He insisted that he test drove the vehicle and the lights never came on. I didn't believe him. I feel that he mislead me and that his dealership never repaired my vehicle. I will bring my vehicle back to mccune Monday morning (9/24/07) and I will see what will happen. I paid for a rental vehicle last week (over $100 and the dealership never offered to cover my expenses. I am so frustrated.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #4

Feb 232006

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Many times when making a left turn into traffic or a U-turn the vehicle with shut down and lose all power for 1-2 seconds. You can put your foot to the floor and the Jeep moves just enough to get you into and intersection then loses power. Instinct is to push the throttle all the way to avoid an accident, but then after a few seconds all the power comes back and the vehicle leaps at full throttle almost sending you into a spin. This as happened numerous times, but the dealer has no fix.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 182006

Commander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,400 miles
Brought car on 10/02/06.

- Bedford, NY, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?