Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
19 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 2
Average Mileage:
44,012 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 16 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #130

Jan 172013

Grand Cherokee

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bag) and attempted to have the vehicle remedied. The contact was informed that the parts needed to remedy the vehicle were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Additionally, the contact stated that the air bag warning lamp remained illuminated. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #129

Mar 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bag) and attempted to have the vehicle remedied. The contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/4/15

- Kingman, AZ, USA

problem #128

Aug 302013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign number: 12V527000 (air bag) and the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to be available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. There are no failures at this time.

- Leonardo, NJ, USA

problem #127

Nov 272012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received recall notice for airbag sys occupant restraint control, have called numerous times for update and continue to be told a fix is not yet available. It is now Jan 2014 and still no fix, tell me what it is going to take to get this done" would Chrysler management let one of their family members drive one of the recalled vehicles"

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #126

Nov 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2012, there should have been a remedy available before January 2014. The contact mentioned that the air bag warning light was illuminated intermittently. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000 and the current mileage was 165,000.

- Cape May Court House, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #125

Jan 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2012, there should be a remedy available before January of 2014. The contact had experienced the air bag warning light failure. The contact mentioned that the air bag warning illuminated intermittently. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 120,000.

- Sunrise , FL, USA

problem #124

Jan 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL - the contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 12V527000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall notification in November 2012. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Belbidere, IL, USA

problem #123

Dec 162013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
In December of 2012, we received a recall notice from Chrysler regarding the occupant restrain control (orc) of the airbag system. The airbags deploy inadvertently when over stressed. We are fortunate that this has not happened to us...yet! on December 16,2013, one year later, I called both pamby's Chrysler dealership (where we take our car for service) and the corporate offices for Chrysler to report that our airbag light is now on permanently. We were and are concerned that the air bag might deploy while we are driving the vehicle and cause an accident. Both pamby's and Chrysler have stated that they have not received the part-one year later! I gave all of my contact information to Chrysler with a promise that my concerns would be addressed via email. No one has contacted me.now I have received an additional recall for the trailer hitch as it causes fires! how long will it take to repair this? we have owned Jeep for almost forty years but with the new "we don't care about your safety" attitude, we will not buy another. Thank you for your assistance.

- Wilton, CT, USA

problem #122

Jan 152013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated the recall under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The dealer was contacted and stated that the parts were not available for repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact also received a manufacturer recall for the fuel system and stated the parts for repair were not available either. The contact had not experienced a failure. The vehicle was not repaired.

- Wilson, WI, USA

problem #121

Dec 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
Airbag light is on, took vehicle to Jeep dealer to diagnose problem and was told that there is a problem with the control module as per NHTSA id # 12V527000 however was told by Chrysler as of date has a no fix solution for the problem to just keep driving the vehicle until a fix is found, so my college age son is now driving a vehicle with faulty airbags. I asked them why they could not replace the faulty module with a new one under this recall ( 12V527000 ) and was told no unless I paid for it and that Chrysler would not pay for it as replacement is not what is stipulated in the recall for which they have no fix.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #120

Dec 232013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice more than a year ago #M35/NHTSA 12V-527 regarding the orc module, but still have not been contacted by Jeep. When I contacted my dealer, they said that they did not have the part yet. The recall notice said to contact this address if it was not repaired in a reasonable amount of time.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #119

Dec 022013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Submission from constituent re receiving a recall notice for his Jeep Grand Cherokee around two (2) years ago and the problem has not been resolved. When the consumer arrive at the dealer, he was informed the part was not available, despite it being confirmed on the telephone weeks prior. The recall was for the air bag light. The consumer stated the air bag light was always on, an he feared it would deploy at any time.

- Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #118

May 012012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I was sent notice 6 months or so ago, and have called kimberly Chrysler 3 times with regard to the safety recall for the airbag system occupant restraint control module. I was told that I would hear from Jeep as to when this would be taken care of. I read on the Chrysler recall paper that if I did not get this taken care of to report this to you. I would like to have this taken care of, and I am very upset that the dealership does not think that my Jeep is important enough to handle this matter. Please advise. [xxx]I can't always use the phone since I am a stroke surveyor. Thank you so very much and I look forward to herding from you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #117

Dec 102013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) but was informed that the parts were on back order and not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November 2012, there should have been a remedy available before December 2013. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staatsburg, NY, USA

problem #116

Jan 052012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) however, the required part was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the problem and they were unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12-30-13

- Williamsport, PA, USA

problem #115

Nov 222013

Grand Cherokee

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the air bag light indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the air bag control module was damaged. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Apex, NC, USA

problem #114

Jun 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while starting the ignition, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated continuously. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 12V527000 (air bags) however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced under the recall because the remedy part was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 180,000.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #113

Nov 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to air bag system occupant restraint control module recall notice. When the consumer arrived at the dealer, he was informed the parts were not available.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #112

Nov 212012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that in November 2012, he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags). The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired on numerous occasions but the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Indiannpolis, IN, USA

problem #111

Nov 012012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Airbag warning indicator illuminated at vehicle start up. Indicator remains on continuously as described under NHTSA 12V-527. Dealer stated on 6/13/13 that Jeep has no fix for this issue and has no intention of correcting this issue in the future.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?