If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

8.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,142.00
Average Mileage:
51,049 miles
Total Complaints:
199 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace TIPM (64 reports)
  2. not sure (63 reports)
  3. replace the totally integrated power module (39 reports)
  4. repair tipm (11 reports)
  5. tipm (5 reports)
  6. replace fuel pump (4 reports)
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 10)

problem #199

Apr 032015

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After having the dealership do a butcher job, the right turn signal would flash the driving lights instead of the turn signal on the front of the vehicle. Took it back to the dealership and they claimed it was not them that butchered the wiring. I had just about had it at this point and traded it for a GMC vehicle, much happier now.

- , Eagle Pass, TX, USA

problem #198

Aug 012013

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

The vehicle had multiple incidents of not starting. Finally they determined the issue when the recall came out.

- , Canton, GA, USA

problem #197

Oct 292014

Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Very disappointed with my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4WD! Having the same starting, or lack of starting problems mentioned on this site. When it does start, there are times it stalls as I back out. In my line of work, I must drive "off the grid" to remote sites. I won't risk being stranded, so I can't drive my Jeep. I took it to the dealership and was informed that the problem lies within the TIPM-7 & Chrysler is working on a fix but don't hold your breath cause it took 8 months for Chrysler to resolve a tow hitch problem.

- , Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #196

Nov 042014

Grand Cherokee Overland V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland will NOT start. Several days ago when the problem first started - I did manage to get it started, but the dashboard was lit up like a Christmas tree! ABS light, Brake light, Service 4WD system, Park assist not operating, Blind spot indicators on. This is NOT a cheap ride....and neither is my payment, while this is sitting in my garage....UNABLE TO START. When searching for the problem it was discovered that even if it does start...it is very unsafe to drive! BULLSHIT, Chrysler - get it together and get the parts available to fix this problem!

- , Medina, OH, USA

problem #195

Sep 022014

Grand Cherokee Limited 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

Dies after starting on a regular basis. Windshield wipers start ramdomly, horn goes off in the middle of the night, door lock/unlock randomly, and turn signals blink fast after 5 seconds.

- , Centennial, Co, USA

problem #194

Sep 242014

Grand Cherokee Laredo V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,011 miles

Purchased a 2011 Jeep just 6 months ago. Very excited because as a grad student, I thought it would be awhile before I could afford a vehicle like this. Got up for work, would crank but wouldn't start. Had to be be towed to dealership!!!!! Chrysler says not included in warranty! The dealer told me, it was the TIPM, over $1000 to replace. The service manager tells me that there is a recall in the makes, could be released any day. If that's the case, why does Chrysler pretend not to know anything about this???

Update from Oct 4, 2014: I forgot to mention that the dealer charged me 100.00 to do some temporary rewiring so I could get it started. The next day, it wouldn't start when I got off work. I was told, "sorry about that- "we told you it was a temporary fix."

- , Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #193

Jan 302012

Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After reading many other complaints I see that my vehicle seems to be also suffering from a faulty TIPM. My first attempt to start the car most days is met with what seems to be a lack of fuel but every other start that day is successful without incident. There is no consistent time, speed, or temperature related to what happens when the car is traveling. Every warning light on the dashboard lights up. Radio, a/c, turn signals, headlights, and other components stop working. Seat belt alert sounds even though they are fastened. Recently the car lost power briefly while traveling.

A little history. I purchased this car used with 15,000 miles in 2012. The dealer disclosed that the vehicle had been shipped back to Chrysler because of an electrical problem but it had been rectified. After 2 months I began experiencing the symptoms above but very sporadically so the dealer could not isolate the problem. Over the past 2 years I attempted to bring the car in again but it would never act up while in the service department.

About a month ago at 64,000 miles the engine started to fail, the headlights became a symptom and the light show became very frequent. I did not upload but have a video showing how the dashboard lights up and the malfunctioning headlights while driving at night. I returned to the dealer and they did confirm that the problem was the TIPM and I approved its replacement because it was no longer safe to drive the car. I reported this to Jeep and established a case number. The dealer confirmed 38 failures from their WiTech report.

Since replacing the TIPM I have had no issues. Jeep is considering reimbursing me for the $1270 expense but I have received no decision. I have spent countless hours at numerous dealerships while driving an unsafe vehicle. Hopefully Chrysler will get their act together and recall these vehicle before someone gets injured or killed. I was not willing to wait for them to drive a safe vehicle.

- , Miramar Beach, FL, USA

problem #192

Sep 262014

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,500 miles

My 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L has not started multiple times. Other symptoms include intermittent rough idle after starting, sputtering/missing when accelerating and uphill, and intermittent failing to shift at high RPM. Dealer proposing to install starter/fuel module relay which Chrysler has made due to "amount of people with this problem" but quoting me $410 for the repair. Was advised NOT to drive the car until this problem is fixed. No definitive diagnosis that this will fix all the symptoms.

Given that this issue is known, and has been known since 2011, and there is a "workaround" in place for the starting issue, despite seeming that the TIPM is bad I believe that not only should the repair be done at no cost but the defective TIPM should be replaced before someone gets hurt or killed!!!

- , Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #191

Sep 222014

Grand Cherokee 5.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles

I purchased this 2011 Jeep Cherokee after getting rid of my 2007 Dodge Durango which I loved. I bought the car with 35,000 which I thought I was getting a wonderful deal that would last me a while with no problems. Here I am 8 months in since purchase and the TIPM is having issues which will cost me 1,300 to fix. As I have investigated this issue I see that there is a class action law suit. There should be a recall on this ASAP. That is a lot of money to dish on this car that is only 3 years old. Something needs to be done . SO UPSET

- , Germantown, MD, USA

problem #190

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

The car first struggled to start about 2 or 3 months ago. The issue would happen on and off but not on a regular basis. I received a recall from Chrysler for the vehicle and called the dealership to set an appointment up. The dealership stated that the part was on back order and I would be called back when it arrives.

Now 2 months later, the vehicle is in far worse condition and takes at least 2 attempts to start EVERY time. I called the dealership again, they say the part is still on back order there are at least 20 people ahead of me to receive it when it is released. I told the dealership that the car is in bad shape and that I am fearful for my safety being that I drive on the interstate everyday and the car may stall without notice. I asked the dealer if he thought the car was safe to drive in which he stated "the recall states that it could stall at any point that's all I know". I asked for a rental or loaner vehicle in which I was denied.

I called Chrysler and expressed my concern, they told me I was placed on a expedited list to receive the part when it becomes available but they could give no timeline of when that would be, they also were supposed to send me a email confirming the expedited list but never did, OF COURSE! When talking to the dealer he mentioned that he heard the part was in a developmental stage and they have no clue when I could receive it. SO, I am left with a car that struggles to start and may stall at any point while driving.... GREAT. I plan to trade this car in ASAP and NEVER buy another Chrysler vehicle. Chrysler obviously does not care about the safety or happiness of their customers.

Update from Dec 22, 2014: About 3 days after talking to my dealership and Chrysler, Chrysler called me and said my parts have been shipped. They took the car in and installed a external fuel pump to bypass the TIPM issue. The car starts with ease now. I am hoping this is a permanent fix. I am happy that the car is fixed but still a little frustrated that Chrysler could not give me a timeline of when the part was going to be available to me. I was actually on the way to trade my jeep in when they called with the part.

- , Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #189

Sep 082014

Grand Cherokee 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This problem has actually been occurring on a weekly basis for a couple months now. Some weeks it will not happen and then others it happens several times. It seems to have gotten worse this last week, happening every morning and even shutting off on me at a stop light in traffic.

Called the dealer and they acted like this was some crazy new thing, yeah right. I was actually in the market for a new pickup truck but I'm thinking Ford or Chevy now instead of RAM.

- , Buford, GA, USA

problem #188

Jul 042014

Grand Cherokee V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

Currently replacing the TIPM, after months of my Jeep not starting regularly. Thursday, my headlights turned off as I was driving, by Monday it wouldn't start at all. Pretty shameful.

- , Spring Valley, CA, USA

problem #187

Jul 022014

Grand Cherokee 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

Buyers Jeep in Ohio says that can't find it and says that their tech can't see the problem. My jeep wont start daily and dies out when it does. I get online and find that it is most likely the TIPM. I sent a video to the dealer and they sent it to Chrysler and they say that there is no hard evidence and that if they fix it, it would be an educated guess.

They then tell me that "they think" (the dealer) that their will be a recall soon on the TIPM but that they don't think

it is the problem. I can read the reviews and see that people who replaced the TIPM had this problem resolved.

They want me to buy a 600$ part, not the TIPM, before the recall for the TIPM fix comes, Also this is why they are saying this is and educated guess and won't guarantee it will provide a fix. HMMMM i wish they would replace the TIPM and quit BSing me.

- , Grove City, OH, USA

problem #186

Aug 112014

Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

The problem is starting to get worse over time, also not sure if related but my power windows/lock intermittently stop working. Very disappointed that I'm having so many problems with a newer model luxury SUV, may be looking to switch brands soon.

- , Garden City, MI, USA

problem #185

Jul 062014

Grand Cherokee Laredo V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

I have a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee and having issues with it starting. Most of the time if I use the key fob it starts just fine but if I push the start button it's a no go. What really bothers me is that the engine locked up today and left me stranded in the middle of a very busy intersection with my 2 year old in the car. Talk about scary! I called the dealership and they said it is definitely the TIPM but that it will take awhile before they can get one in. So now I'm stressed about my car not working with my child in the car. What happens of it stalls like today and it causes us to wreck or even worse die? It's really upsetting to pay so much money for a nice 'reliable' vehicle to only have it leaving you stranded everywhere.

- , Russellville, AR, USA

problem #184

Oct 202013

Grand Cherokee Limited 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,652 miles

October 20, 2013, attempted to turn ignition off when the starter motor remained engaged and continued cranking after shut off and engine check light came on. Starter motor finally disengaged after pushing the start/stop button multiple times. Vehicle has only 20652 miles on the odometer. Vehicle taken to the dealer who advised that the starter motor never remained engaged while cranking during their test. Dealer invoice reports "Check veh for check engine light on, hook up to scanner found "DTC P0108". Checked for flash found power train FLLASH reprogram PCM then retest, vehicle OK". Dealer mentioned nothing about a possible TIPM problem. Vehicle ran fine for a while, but the same thing occurred several months later.

Since the second incident, no further problems until yesterday (September 6, 2014) when the engine would not start as the starter motor remained engaged and continued to crank. The starter motor disengaged and stopped cranking when the start/stop button was pushed, but the same thing happened 5 successive times when additional attempts were made to start the engine. finally, the vehicle started. I Googled the symptoms and learned about the ongoing problem with the TIPM involving the 2011 Jeeps.

I've recently received two recall notices from Chrysler for "P36 / NHTSA 14V-391 and 154" (lamp wiring and brakes), but nothing regarding the TIPM problem. I now have a lack of confidence in my Jeep.

- , Downey, CA, USA

problem #183

Aug 232014

Grand Cherokee Laredo X 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,300 miles

Once every week or two, the TIPM experiences malfunction and Jeep will either completely fail to start or start and then shut off immediately thereafter. Very worried it will get to point that it strands me. Chrysler needs to step up and recall this faulty TIPM as well documented by so many owners like myself.

- , Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #182

Aug 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

Will never buy a Jeep again! Little problems over life of vehicle. Final straw is it sitting in my garage unable to get it to start. Towing to dealership, fixing it, and trading it in. Ruined me for life on Jeep, Chrysler, Dodge products! No reason for a vehicle with 58,000 miles to every give any one a problem. Ridiculous !!!!!!!! I HATE My Jeep.

- , Lumberton, TX, USA

problem #181

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee started out ocasionally not starting. Then got worse. After trying many things, found that if you press the start button twice without pressing on the brake the ignition is on. At this point, if the air conditioning is on, turn it off. Then press the brake and start button. Works every time for me only a pain. Then turn AC on.

- , Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #180

Nov 192014

Grand Cherokee LX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,227 miles

I purchased the 2011 Jeep Laredo and in less than a month after purchasing the vehicle problems starting the car became an issue. The car takes a number of starting attempts before it actually starts. This is an inconvenience and very annoying especially considering this is considered a new purchase.

Repairs are extremely costly. The authorized dealer is charging $1700 just for the part. This does not include labor. Very disappointing that the manufacturers are not doing the responsible thing and recognizing this problem as an obvious defect which requires a massive recall or repair

- , Nassau, Bahamas, Bahamas

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?