Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The fourth generation Grand Cherokee took the relatively trouble-free run of the 3rd-generation and flipped the script.

From 2010 to 2011, complaints about the vehicle not starting increased 10-fold. In fact, the 2011 model year is riddled with engine problems and a defective TIPM might be to blame. The TIPM (Totally Integrated Power Module) distributes power to all the eletrical components in the vehicle, so when it starts acting funny so do numerous other components in the car. Orders for new TIPMs were so abundant that parts became scarce, prompting a class-action lawsuit claiming Chrysler ignored this obvious defect.

By 2012 complaints dropped back down by about 80%. Needless to say, if you see a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a lot just keep walking.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,428 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Oct 072014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer states intermittently vehicle will crank and not start and fuel pump signal issues. The dealer traced the problem to a fuel pump relay losing signal at the tipm module.

- Hawthorne, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 042015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to fuel pump and brake recall notice. The consumer stated he didn't have any problems with his vehicle prior to the recall notice, he made an appointment, to comply with the recall. However, on January 4, 2015, while driving on the highway the consumer almost had an accident. The vehicle was towed to the repair shop. It was determined the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The consumer believed the new overlay wiring had caused the original fuel pump to fail.

- Cerritos, CA, USA

problem #20

Oct 172014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
In October 2014, my Jeep Grand Cherokee stalled without warning three time. There was complete loss of power, no warning lights. I have a push button start and had to come to a complete start, place it in park, and restart. Each time was on a busy street with many unhappy drivers slamming on their brakes. I left the car at the Jeep dealership for two days and they found nothing. The next week, I got the recall. I took it back and they checked with the regional service guy. They changed the tipm pending the "final fix." No more stalls occurred. They then did the "final fix" in January. I had another stall on January 26! I'll take it back with the next recall for god knows what and see what they suggest. I'm not optimistic.

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #19

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2011 Jeep Cherokee. Consumer unsatisfied with customer service with Jeep and would like car fixed. The consumer stated the fuel pump relay needed to be replaced.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #18

May 162014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
None of these three recalls have been addressed by Chrysler or my dealer. They are recall #'S14V-154;14V-391;14V-530 respectively. The dealer is claiming that Chrysler is not providing the necessary parts to remedy the recalls. I don't want my family at risk during the winter months with the brake booster issue, or stranded on the side of the road as a result of the fuel pump issue. Please consider this my formal complaint against Chrysler group llc.

- Troy, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Nov 112014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Recall fuel pump relay P54 notice 11/6/14 problem vehicle may stall or cause crash without warning contacted dealer and Chrysler 4 occasions. They say they are working on a solution with no due date and no recourse.

- Saddlebrooke, MO, USA

problem #16

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the fuel pump relay needed to be replaced. The vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V530000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Pompton Lakes , NJ, USA

problem #15

Sep 052014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. Consumer states vehicle did not start. The consumer's wife was finally able to get the vehicle started. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, where the dealer informed him the fuel pump relay wiring harness overlay need to be replaced.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #14

Jun 092014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V350000 (fuel system). However, the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experience a failure. Updated 12/19/14 updated 05/26/2015

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #13

Nov 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V530000 (fuel system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lambertville, NJ, USA

problem #12

Sep 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V391000 and 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). NHTSA campaign number: 14V530000 (fuel system). The contact was told by the local dealer that the parts were not available for the recall repair. The contact wa concerned that the safety issues were not being repaired in a timely manner the manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 182014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the gear was in reverse, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician stated that the failure might be due to a defective tipm. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000. Updated 11/14/14 updated 4/29/2015

- Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA

problem #10

Jul 232014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Bad tipm, no voltage to fuel pump car wont start, car stalls on road. Not sure if air bags will work.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

problem #9

Apr 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle struggles to start. The consumer stated the vehicle would crank, but not turn over. After multiple attempts, the vehicle finally started. While awaiting the dealers diagnosis, the consumer did some research and discovered the common cause seemed to be the totally integrated power module (tipm). The dealer confirmed, the problem was indeed the (tipm).

- Woodstock, GA, USA

problem #8

Jul 032014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 58,200 miles
A Chrysler Jeep and Dodge dealership in orlando replaced the factory installed tipm in my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland with 58,000 miles today at a cost to me of $1230. The tipm controls and distributes power to all of the electrical functions of the vehicle. They had one in stock, and after a little research online I discovered a widespread issue with many other 2011 Grand Cherokee. Many of the other complaints cite faulty tipm devices failing while the car was traveling in excess of 65 mph causing the car to come to a sudden stop. Others mention lights failing and other electrical failures. There are thousands of similar complaints that I've easily found online. I'm writing to ask you to please initiate a recall or some initiative that will reimburse consumers that unknowingly purchased vehicles with a faulty tipm. The 2011 Grand Cherokee overland owners have been wronged.

- Pace, FL, USA

problem #7

Jun 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the fuel could be heard moving inside the fuel tank. The contact indicated that a abnormal sound could be heard coming from the fuel tank due to the fuel moving inside the tank. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnose that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #6

Jan 062014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 58,311 miles
Vehicle refused to turn over, service 4X4 and engine light on. Brought to dealer replaced fuel pump. Returned to me with service 4X4 and engine light on, slid down on hill no 4 wheel drive. Returned to dealer 4 weeks later transfer case replaced car jump into 4 wheel low while I was on highway almost put me thru windshield. Back at dealer over 1 week the do not know the problem and stated no one on their country wide database has this problem. I was told today that Jeep headquarters wants all reports sent to them to assist repair. I purchased this car used in October and have not driven it more then 1 week. I have a huge payment and huge rental bills I did file a case with Jeep customer but no help.

- Naugatuck, CT, USA

problem #5

Aug 152011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 200 miles
The first 3 weeks I had the vehicle the engine light kept coming on. I returned to the lithia dealership in Santa Fe 3 times to have it corrected. They accused me of fueling the car with the engine running. I do not fuel my cars with the engine running. The transmission had to be replaced at 4,000K miles because the robot at the factory did not seat the transmission fluid filter properly and metal flakes were found in the transmission oil pan as a result which damaged the valve box. The vehicle still acts odd at times ¿ jerking slightly when changing gears. At 45 mph while I was accelerating to merge onto the highway, the vehicle would change gears by itself into first gear. A young tech had been reading a service update bulletin and knew about this issue. It required a patchfor the computer and a download to fix this issue. I thought it was a miracle that I was not in an accident during this time. I have had so many issues with the Jeep not recognizing the key fob upon entry and or trying to start the vehicle. Forget the emergency key that is inside the key fob it was never properly keyed so you could use it in an emergency. At 15,000K miles the front sway bar had to be replaced. This vehicle has not been off-road and for the sway bar to break down like that is inexcusable. Sudden unexplained acceleration.

- Espanola, NM, USA

problem #4

Nov 112013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 40,696 miles
Several hours after parking the vehicle I noticed a sound like a small motor or fan coming from under the vehicle. I tried everything to get it to stop then looked at the fuses list and since the noise was coming from near the fuel pump I touched the fuel pump fuse. The sound stopped even though I had not removed the fuse. The vehicle was not able to start after that. The dealer has told me that Jeep has a problem with their "totally integrated power module" Jeep's case number [xxx] and that they have produced a work around electronic patch to by pass the integrated power module! I believe this is very dangerous because a by pass to a hot wired fuel pump is a formula for a disaster. There may be software that is supposed to cut off fuel in an accident etc in the computer module? since the problem results in the fuel pump continuously running many things could go wrong. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Orinda, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 252013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
While driving the vehicle stopped dead. It would not restart. Had it towed to local dealer. The tipm (total integrated power module) and both fuel pumps were out! part was back ordered for a month. I was without my vehicle almost 4 weeks. Drove it two days on a trip and the constant velocity joint went out!

- Clinton, AR, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?