Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,494 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #20

Feb 032016

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Low beam running light goes out. Had it fix three times and light still stops working while driving. On passenger side front.

- Chapin, SC, USA

problem #19

May 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Wiring to ballast in passenger side headlamp melted and malfunctioned causing entire headlamp assembly to have to be replaced for $1400.

- Mount Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #18

Nov 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,500 miles
Vehicle was in motion when I noticed smoke coming out of the passenger vanity mirror area. I immediately pulled over, turned the car off, and called 911. The responding firemen had to cut a hole in the roofliner of the automobile in order to determine the location of the start of the fire, which they confirmed was the wiring to the visor. The direct cause of the fire was confirmed by service employees at the dealership the car was brought to, as well as investigative engineers for Chrysler, as faulty wiring to the visor lighting on the passenger side of the vehicle. The cause of this incident is directly related to NHTSA campaign #14V391000, Chrysler recall #P36. A recall for the visor wiring was issued, and repairs were made at the dealership. The fire in the vanity area of the automobile occurred roughly a month after the recall repair was completed. This leads me to believe that the solution for the recall issue is not sufficient and should continue to be investigated.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #17

Dec 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Automatic light sensor will turn off headlights at night while driving

- Westford, MA, USA

problem #16

Sep 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 16,102 miles
Right front headlamp melted internally due to overheating damaging the wiring and the headlamp assembly, and now the turn signal does not work. Taken to the dealership and they told us that in order to fix it, the headlamp assembly need to be replaced. They estimated it in $1200 and told me that the warranty wont cover it. The car just have 16749 miles.

- Bayamon, PR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Nov 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
My vehicle was returned to dealership when it stopped while driving on a public highway.at the time their were four (4) recalls. After two months at the dealership I was able to pick up the vehicle which was partly repaired including P36/NHTSA 14V-391.approximately 75 days later(11-10-15) my vehicle caught on fire while located in front of my office. My vehicle while turned off and sitting for some 15 plus minutes caught fire in the driver's side sun visor vanity lamp. I was able to extinguish fire then notified dealership who sent wrecker to take vehicle back to their dealership.

- Upperville, VA, USA

problem #14

Sep 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the second time our headlights have burned out. Also the tail light. The car isn't that old and is not driven but a few miles a year now we have retired. The ignition at different time will not start it will just keeps turning like it is not getting gas. I brought this to the attention at the dealers when the car was only 35,000 miles but they said we didn't have our foot on the brake totally, well it still does it at 48,000 miles and we do have our foot on the brake; it doesn't do it everytime, but it does it aleast once or twice a week. We are just sitting in the car ready to go somewhere' we realize the warranity is out but when we told them it wasn't. the first headlight went out the first 15,000 miles. We have owned cars for 10 years and lights have never gone out. Can you help us with these problems?

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 63,690 miles
This vehicle had the recommended recall repair for the sun visor completed on 5/19/2105. While driving the area above the rear view mirror began to emit smoke and within about 30 seconds flames erupted from the same area. The flames quickly spread towards the passenger side sun visor as I frantically looked for a safe place to pull over. It was 5:45am on a dark country road with no shoulder. I turned the vehicle off, exited the vehicle and called 911. The flames continued for at least another 15 minutes. When firefighters arrived they had difficulty stopping the burning though it was small because they could not access the battery for the vehicle (it is apparently located under the front passenger seat and unaccessible other than from under the vehicle.) firefighters had to completely disassemble the electrical system to the sun visors to stop the burning. They identified a screw and wire that were the cause of the fire. It was not until I returned home and researched the recall that I discovered that the screw and wire assembly is the cause of the fires. This recall repair obviously is not a resolution to the problem. Had the flames spread to the driver side area I would have been injured or possible killed. Had I had a passenger in the vehicle they could have been injured or killed also!!

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 49,000 miles
I purhcased my used 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee roughly one year ago from miller Jeep in springfield, pa. In July of this year, I was driving on my way home, and started to smell smoke. I got on the highway and immediately smoke started coming from the headliner. I pulled over and within about 3 minutes, my car was completely on fire. There was a safety recall done on the car to prevent this from happening. Please see the link below, which summarized what happened to me: www.autoblog.com/2015/05/07/Jeep-grand-Cherokee-Dodge-durango-NHTSA-investigation-recall/

- Bryn Mawr, PA, USA

problem #11

Jul 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • 77,000 miles
Jeep visor recall- fire inside my Jeep: I had the Jeep visor recall completed in January 2015, took my Jeep into the Jeep dealership in may/June complaining of a buring smell twice. They said I was on the list for the second recall parts to come in and they would call me. They said they inspected my Jeep and didnt see anything wrong and wished me the best (depsite my dome lights being dim and passenger light documented being completly out). My Jeep caught fire on Friday 7.24.15. The fire department said it started in the passenger visor. This has been a headache over who is at fault and I wish Jeep would investigate too. My family is now affraid of Jeep, my daughter doesnt want to sit in the front row any longer and it has been a mess over a potential recall error. Please help! my car is destroyed per our insurance.

- Lincoln , CA, USA

problem #10

May 052015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the rear driver side headlight failed to illuminate. The dealer replaced the bulb twice, but was unable to provide an extensive diagnosis to determine if there was an internal electrical failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V115000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The failure mileage was unknown. MA 08/10/15

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #9

Nov 182014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I been calling around local Jeep dealer ships in my area and no one has parts for these recalls.

- Ringtown, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 56,593 miles
I have had repair after repair done and.spent over 900 just in repairs and I have the receipts. I would like to get a resolution. My top vehicle ceiling was burnt from the recall # 105129 electrical system wiring lamp. I need a resolution I cannot afford to pay for any more repairs. Recall id # 102683 - service brakes full details recall date Apr 01, 2014 component service brakes model affected Grand Cherokee potential units affected 644354 recall date: Apr 01, 2014 model affected: 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee recall id # 102682 - service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum full details recall date Apr 01, 2014 component service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum model affected Grand Cherokee potential units affected 644354 recall date: Apr 01, 2014 model affected: 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee recall id # 102682 - service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum full details recall date Apr 01, 2014 component service brakes, hydraulic:power assist:vacuum model affected Grand Cherokee potential units affected 644354 recall date: Apr 01, 2014 model affected: 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee

- Corpus Christi , TX, USA

problem #7

Nov 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (exterior lighting, electrical system). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #6

Oct 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (exterior lighting, electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #5

Sep 272014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 11,800 miles
Sudden unexpected stop avoiding hitting another car, front left and right seat safety belts failed to lock. After several test back seat safety belts also failed. Windows and door safety electrical safety lock did not operated ( 2 times replaced).

- Gurabo, PR, USA

problem #4

Dec 042013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
One of the front end driving lights no longer worked. I contacted Jeep, and they said it was not a warranty item. Since then, I have noticed numerous same year/ model Jeep all with a non-working front driving headlamp. I find it hard to believe this is coincidence, rather I am of the opinion that this is an inherent flaw in the vehicle.

- Wethersfield, CT, USA

problem #3

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 24,000 miles
I was getting a burning plastic smell I brought the vehicle to manfredi service center in staten island NY they tried to tell me it was my air freshener after pushing for a fix they flushed a coil...immediately called them after picking up the vehicle and was told to bring the car back Monday....Saturday while driving intense smoke filled the cabin from the drivers side headliner I had the car towed back to service where they disconnected the vanity and gave me the car back awaiting parts they also dragged the car onto the tow truck due to no start and replaced the battery and alternator when I received the car the drivers seat belt was inoperable and had to be fixed as well as the car dented.....I am awaotomg parts the smell persists and causes me to have headaches thank you for your time I would appreciate any info on this.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #2

Nov 012013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 18,100 miles
On 11/11/13, I took my car in for the state inspection and reported the issue of the car not starting / stalling out to huffines Jeep in plano, tx. Huffines diagnosed the problem as a faulty tipm. The replacement tipm was installed on 11/25/13. On 11/29/13, I noticed that every time I use my right blinker, my fog lights flash. Car still does not start/stay running after starting and it has taken up to 8 tries to get it going. Even if it sounds like the car started, it will sometimes die after running a few seconds. I've also noticed that the doors do not always lock when I press the button on the door handle. This is also related to the tipm. Additionally, on 11/29/13, the dash light came on notifying me that the key fob battery was low. I replaced the key fob battery that day but that had no impact on the greater problems of the car not starting and the fog lights flashing when the right signal is activated. Will be taking my Jeep back to huffines tomorrow morning.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #1

Oct 102011

Grand Cherokee

  • 100 miles
The following dangerous condition in the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee has been raised by many drivers all over the internet and Jeep refuses to acknowledge there is a problem. Namely, the headlight system is tilted down so visibility distance is very low. There is about 25 to 30 feet of visibility then there is a black wall of darkness in front of the car. You can't drive the car safely at night on unlit roads. Jeep refuses to admit they know of any problem despite the countless people on the internet that claim they have this problem and have visited their dealers. Every owner of this car is told that Jeep knows nothing of this problem and that the car is to spec.

- Cold Spring, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?