Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn’t seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It’s worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Sweedish Magazine’s “moose test”. the test measures a vehicle’s ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn’t want to hit while driving down the road … like a moose.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,546 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Aug 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am losing power steering fluid on my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee - there is a leak somewhere in the steering. I have only 40, K miles on this vehicle. There have been many complaints on this and is obviously a defect in the steering system - Chrysler should recall and repair this problem.

- Demarest, NJ, USA

problem #34

Aug 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • 47,000 miles
My steering will at various times, shake will driving, sometimes violently. The shaking gets worse if I apply the brakes. This is an off and on problem and does not occur everyday. It mostly occurs at highway speeds (55 mph+) I have video of this occurring available for viewing.(MP4 format) I have been to the Jeep dealer (thompson Chrysler Dodge Jeep in edgewood Maryland) 3 times (have shown them the video) in the last year trying to get this corrected, but they can't figure out what's wrong. I'm afraid that this problem will one day cause me to have an accident where I will not be able to control the steering while driving.

- Harve De Grace, MD, USA

problem #33

May 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
When slowing down or coming to a stop, the vehicle's engine will turn off and power steering will not work. In order to start the vehicle again, I need to completely stop, put it in park and start the engine. This has happened on the street and freeway. It does not happen constantly. I have had times where it happens 2 days in a row, once a week, and once a month. I have taken the vehicle to a dealer a few times already, but they have not been able figure out what the issue is. After having the vehicle at the dealer for over 1 month, I spoke to a senior technician that works at the dealer and he said it is a known issue. He told me that vehicles with the 5.7L engine and the push to start button have been having this issue and the issue starts around 30,000 to 50,000 miles and they are not sure what is causing the problem or how to fix it.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #32

Nov 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rack and pinion leaking. On July 23 2012 there was an article published about cars going on for due to power steering fluid spraying on motor. Please recall this problem. It's has affected many.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #31

Apr 042016

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,570 miles
Brought my 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee to the dealership that I purchased it from 6 months prior for an oil change. When picking it up they told me there was a significant leak and handed me a quote to replace the power steering rack for 1700 dollars. Not what I wanted to hear from a certified vehicle I purchased with less than 50000 miles.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #30

Jan 232016

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
At 40 thousand miles the rack and pinion need replaced. There is a leak coming from this part. I was notified during an oil change that the repair isn't normal and would cost $1,200. There is no damage to the vehicle. Steering is a little whiny now but according to other owners, this is the start of the failure.

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #29

Nov 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Upon inspecting the vehicle, the power steering fluid was low and there was an internal fracture that caused a leak of the power steering fluid without warning. The VIN was excluded from NHTSA action number: PE12020 (steering). The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and diagnosis to determine the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The VIN and failure mileage were not available.

- East Lyme, CT, USA

problem #28

Oct 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • 51,000 miles
Went in to get an oil change today and found out my Jeep's steering rack is leaking. The car has 51,000 miles and they said it shouldn't be leaking already. From what I've learned this seems to be a faulty part and not due to poor maintenance of the vehicle, I just purchased it 4 months ago so I know I did not cause the problem.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #27

Nov 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
1-after quickly stopping on the side of the road to collect mail, I tried to go back into the road to continue driving but the steering wheel locked and I could not straighten the vehicle. I ended up crossing into the other side, going into the ditch and hitting a snow bank. Due to the very slow speed (I was speeding from the parked position) and to the luck that there were no other cars coming on the opposite direction, no harm was done. Dealership never found anything wrong with it. 2- I have had two safety recalls on this vehicle that have not been addressed on a reasonable time frame. For one of them, my car is at risk of fire under the hood, and for the other one, there could be engine stall and crash. Jeep has informed of both, but has not been able to provide my dealership with the appropriate parts for fixing the problems. So I have been driving around with small children in the back seat, risking myself and my family's lives and all they can do is tell me nothing can be done and good luck" because it's monetarily cheaper to pay for lost lives than to avoid the loss" something needs to be done, this vehicle was not a cheap one, however we have been treated like they are doing us a favor just for letting us a know we are at risk of dying from car crash due to it's malfunctions.

- White River Junction, VT, USA

problem #26

Sep 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to fuel pump relay recall notice issues and vehicle steering problems. According to the recall, the part was not available. Also, the consumer stated the steering was not steady, when he encountered a bump or a dip in the road. The dealer was unable to find a problem.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #25

Aug 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 20 mph, the steering wheel became harder to steer. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 34,000.

- Harper, TX, USA

problem #24

Jun 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 25 mph, the battery warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the alternator needed replacement and the part required was unavailable. Immediately after leaving the dealer and while driving approximately 35 mph, the seat belt indicator illuminated, the air conditioning and radio went off. The contact lost the steering and acceleration. The vehicle had to be towed back to the dealer. The vehicle was repaired using parts known to be included under an recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000.

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #23

Jun 132015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 59,445 miles
Day 1....car just stopped out of no where a picture of a battery showed up and the car just stopped and shut down on its own day 2....took car in to get a new battery because that was totally dead but on day 3...the battery did not fix the problem the car once again shut down on me and this time it was in the middle of the freeway I was stuck for a couple of hours cant even jump the car cuz it still wont start it so I had to get it towed off the freeway.. midday of day 3 discovered it was the alternator and finds out there were for 4 recalls on my car so I took it to the Jeep dealership. They stated they can only fix 3 out of 4 of the recall due to not having all the parts and informed me it will be done before the day is over. 4:30pm came around and I called to check in on the car to see if it was ready the worker stated yes come pick it up so I did and when I was almost home the same problem the car shut down on me so I called the dealership to take the car back in before it fully shut down altogether. Day 4....dealership called me about 11am and stated ok theres nothing wrong with it and I can go pick it up so I stated ok but about an hour later when I was about to be on my way the dealership stated wait do not come pick it up yet because there is something with the computer system of the car and that the steering power is not connecting to the alternator and is shutting the car down but the part to fix it wont be in til tommorrow. Day 5..still waiting for my car to be fixed..... please if there is anyway I can just simply swap this lemon with a different car that would be great I have a 4 year old and this is a safety hazard and according to one of the recall the car can crash without notice.... help me pleaseeeeeee...updated 08/06/15 updated 12/23/2015

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #22

May 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 37,609 miles
The power steering hose is leaking fluid onto the engine.

- Seaford, NY, USA

problem #21

Mar 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 61,000 miles
Seal fails prematurely on rack and pinion. It leaks into boot sealing the connection between the end of the rack and the inner rods, which masks the problem. Because the vehicle is not dripping fluid the leak goes unnoticed. I see this as a serious issue, as most people do not expect the rack & pinion to fail at such an early interval they are probably not checking fluid levels.. this could potentially cause lack of steering and result in many accidents. Jeep is ignoring the problem, message boards on internet are full of people reporting this issue. I would like to see it investigated.

- Lino Lakes, MN, USA

problem #20

Mar 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 69,045 miles
Having the Jeep services for a broken chair rail ($1200!) and they told me the power steering reservoir was empty and the power steering pump, reservoir, rack and pinion and hoses will need to be replaced for another $2350! I've read that this vehicle has a history of this and has created a fire hazard. This car is not 3 years old and has had fuel pump, water pump, rear latch lock and multiple recalls on other items. Dealership is raking in the cash; it very upsetting for someone who really wants to buy american made vehicles!

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #19

Jan 312015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 28,600 miles
Last Saturday (01/31/2015), I got 48K service done on this Jeep. Yesterday (02/02/2015) the steering wheel got jammed when my wife was reversing the vehicle from the driveway. We found out that the power steering fluid was missing. I took the Jeep back to the dealer and they found that the power steering fluid container is leaking.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #18

Jan 282015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 35,796 miles
Received oil change at dealership, they advised that the power steering reservoir was empty and power steering rack had a leak. Found numerous complaints of the same problem listed on this model year with some causing an engine compartment fire. Also found that the NHTSA was investigating this for a possible recall.

- Burlington, WI, USA

problem #17

Dec 312014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 67,254 miles
While making a right turn (wide right, not sharp right) the engine "stalled" and all steering capability was lost. The car attempted to "straighten out". it took a great deal of strength to keep the wheel from turning back to center. And I was not able to turn the wheel further to the right. Fortunately no traffic at that location so I was able to "guide" (not steer) the car to the side of the road. I put "stalled" in quotes because this was more like a "lockup" than a stall. The engine abruptly stopped. All electrical systems were still on. No warning lights on dashboard. Radio continued playing. Heater fan was still running. Power brakes were still functioning. Fyi: This is the regular hemi engine. Re-starting the car was odd too. It didn't "crank". upon pressing the start button, the engine "snapped on" - like those newer stop/start engines when at a red light. The next hour of driving was normal.

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #16

Oct 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Battery light came on after approximately 5 miles of driving after starting the car, on 10/5/14. This pattern continued for two days, and on the morning of 10/8/14 the car stopped running completely while I was pulling into the parking lot of the auto shop to have it looked at. While driving, I lost power steering and ABS before the car stalled completely a few moments later. I had to have the alternator replaced with only 50,000 miles on the vehicle. Several days later I learned of a new recall on Chrysler vehicles due to alternator problems, and today I learned my vehicle was not a part of this recall because I have a 180 amp alternator, and those recalled were 160 amp. I am choosing to report this incident because I believe the failure of my alternator could have caused serious injury to myself or other drivers if I had been traveling at high speed when the battery died, and I believe the 180 amp alternators should be investigated for a possible recall.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?