Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
50 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,157 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #216

Jun 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While parking the vehicle, it rolled on its own and struck and dragged the contact's spouse. The vehicle rolled to a drainage area where it was stopped. A police report was not filed. The contact's spouse sustained a fractured left shoulder, which required medical attention. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The failure mileage was approximately 10,000.

- Deer Park, WA, USA

problem #215

Aug 042016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
My vehicle was recalled for code S27 (gear shifter failing to lock into park) and my dealer can not get me in for over 3 weeks because they said they have to stagger the appointments. This is unacceptable as this is a real safety concern.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #214

Apr 222016

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,800 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While parked, the vehicle began to reverse while the gear shift was in park. The contact stated that the vehicle sustained a few dents due to the failure. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the system required an update. The vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 10,800. Updated 09/08/16

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #213

Jun 302016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact had not experienced a failure prior to being repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The contact indicated that the remedy did not provide a repair solution. The gear selector randomly changed gears more than once without warning. The first time the failure occurred while reversing the vehicle and the gear randomly shifted into park and was unable to shift momentarily. The dealer was notified and was to send a tow truck, but it did not arrive in a reasonable time frame. The contact was able to maneuver the gear shift from park to drive and took the vehicle to the dealer. The dealer was unable to replicate and diagnose the failure. The failure recurred. The contact was in the process of making a left turn while in drive when the gear selector changed into park. The vehicle was unable to be driven and was towed to a dealer. The contact was waiting on a response from the manufacturer to see if they could send a technician to diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was not available.

- Tiltonsville, OH, USA

problem #212

May 312016

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacture exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. While the vehicle was placed in park with the emergency brake applied, it began to roll in reverse without warning. In order to stop the vehicle, the brakes had to be applied excessively. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure recurred. The VIN was invalid. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Windsor, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #211

Jul 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the gear shifter failed to go into park. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a software update of the gear shifter was performed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000. Updated 10/21/16

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #210

Jul 132016

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle independently rolled down a hill. The vehicle did not crash, but stalled once it was on a flat surface. The vehicle was previously serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable....updated 09/14/16 updated 09/20/16.

- St Thomas, VI, USA

problem #209

Jun 062016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V240000 (power train), 15V461000 (equipment), and 14V636000 (electronic stability control). The dealer indicated that the parts were not available and may not become available until the 4th quarter of 2016. The contact also experienced a failure in which the gear selector was placed in park and the vehicle rolled backwards without warning. The contact was able to enter the vehicle to ensure the vehicle was placed in park, but was unable to determine if the failure would randomly occur. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bullard, TX, USA

problem #208

Jul 082016

Grand Cherokee

  • 36,697 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While stationary, the vehicle reversed on its own and struck another vehicle across the street. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. There were no injuries sustained. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 36,697.

- Hicksville, NY, USA

problem #207

Jul 042016

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The dealer stated that the recall repair for NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train) would only be a temporary remedy. The contact would still need to start the vehicle differently than before the computer was altered. The dealer stated that they would notify the contact when a permanent remedy was available. The contact stated that she did not want a temporary remedy for her vehicle. The failure mileage was 11,000. Updated 10/07/16

- Walton, IN, USA

problem #206

Jul 102016

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle jerked forward independently. As a result, the vehicle crashed into an embankment. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. A police report was filed. No injuries where sustained. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 33,800.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #205

May 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The acceleration sometimes doesn't slow down even when you brake. I almost crashed onto another car

- West Park, FL, USA

problem #204

Jul 032016

Grand Cherokee

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After the vehicle was being repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train), the gear shifter failed to shift from the park position when attempting to reverse. The failure recurred numerous times and in various positions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #203

May 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
I have been complaining since the day of purchase about the gear selector. It does not engage in park correctly. It jumps out of park when you leave the vehicle. The paddles on the steering wheel are a total menace. I left the car when it was running and it started to move out of park. No warning system will solve this problem since it jumps out of park.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #202

Jun 272016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lindenhurst, NY, USA

problem #201

Apr 182016

Grand Cherokee

  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While attempting to shift into park, the vehicle would not engage and scratched the front driver side of the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 29,000.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #200

Jun 182016

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
This has to do with the electronic shifter that has been in the news lately. I have read that, finally, Chrysler is addressing this problem. The solution they have come up with, to put the car in park if the driver's door is opened, does not suffice to fix this issue. Here is why: I have had the situation, where I pull my car into my garage which is on a slight incline. My kids jump out of the car, and walk around the back to get into the house. As is often the case, I have a few things to gather up, so I am not as quick to exit the car as they are. Kids are behind the car and I take my foot off the brake and the car starts rolling backward while the kids are behind it. It is only by extreme luck that I did not kill both my children. I would like to add, that even though I am painfully aware of the situation with the shifter, and I am extremely diligent, you can become distracted and forget. For the record, I have sent messages to Chrysler (specifically, when they sent their customer satisfaction survey after I first received the car) that mentions this as a problem. I have brought it to the dealer's attention. No response. This is a big problem. The second I read about that young man getting killed in la I said to my son that I would guarantee he was driving a Jeep. I have been saying someone was going to get killed for nearly two years, and now someone has. And, I would be willing to bet there are others who just didn't realize why or what happened to them. Please require them to make a better fix and to call each and every Jeep owner and verbally describe this issue. There are people who don't read their mail, who do not speak english etc. Their fix is not going to alleviate this problem. Thank you.

- Pelham Manor, NY, USA

problem #199

May 282016

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After the gear shifter was placed into the park position with the emergency brake engaged, the vehicle independently rolled back without warning. As a result, the vehicle struck a bystander. The bystander sustained arm injuries that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Clarckburg, WV, USA

problem #198

May 202016

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles
Recall S27/NHTSA 16V-240 our Jeep Grand Cherokee was damaged in a rollaway accident on May 20, 2016 for the specific issue related to this recall. My wife thought the car was in park and got out of the vehicle. The vehicle then proceeded to roll down the street and into the woods. The insurance estimate for damage was $7,000. Lucky no one was injured or killed. I contacted fca and they sent out a special investigator to look at the car. I just received a letter from fca saying that nothing was wrong with the car. I have tried to reach out to the person who sent the letter and can not get a return call.

- Welcome, MD, USA

problem #197

Jun 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 400 miles
When driving and needing to accelerate quickly, transmission seizes and has a significantly delayed response. Happens when trying to make left turn through traffic, merging into traffic circles and highways as well as sometimes when accelerating on a highway. Very dangerous. First time it happened I was attempting to make a left turn at a break in passing traffic. Had my twin 2 year olds in the car and the car seized after I had moved slightly into on coming traffic. I just kept pressing down harder and finally the transmission engaged and responded but was very very close to getting hit. It then happened trying to merge onto a traffic circle. This time I wasn't as aggressive because I was afraid it would lock up and it happened again. It happens every time I drive so I can't clearly list all the incidents. I just now have to drive knowing I can't make quick or abrupt accelerations. Have been to dealership many times with this complaint and they just say they will update software. Issue still there. Anxious for lease to be over.

- Troy, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?