Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
50 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,098 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 3 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #195

May 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mc Murray, PA, USA

problem #194

Sep 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles
While stopped in traffic, we saw a big rig coming fast behind us, clearly unable to stop in time, we were on I-80 in the California Sierra.. we tried to reverse and get out of our lane, but the shift lever kept defaulting to neutral. It was an extremely close near miss, and we were very close to exiting our Jeep, as the big rig was using its horn. Fortunately, it pulled to our right and stopped next to us. But because the car refused to shift into reverse or drive (it kept popping into neutral, we could have been in a very nasty accident. We don't feel the "fix" Jeep is proposing in its latest recall will fix this problem. We told our service department about this and at the time, we were told there was no recall or known issue. We now know there is a recall. It's the 7th or 8th for our vehicle. We have little faith that this problem will be fixed. Adding an alarm will not fix the problem that the shift defaults to neutral on its own. We are thinking of trading the car, but we like the car and really don't want to do that. However, we no longer trust the shifter nor Jeep

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #193

Sep 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After shifting into park, the vehicle started to roll backwards without warning. The contact was able to engage the brakes to stop the vehicle. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Goldston, NC, USA

problem #192

Apr 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission electronic shift lever. In April 2015 my vehicle rolled into a parking lot guardrail, after I thought the shift lever was in park. The left front fender was damaged and had to be replaced. I filed a reimbursement claim with fca on 05-27-16 and was recently denied.

- Gaylord, MI, USA

problem #191

Mar 222016

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
On 3/22/16 I went to a tennis tournament with 2 friends. I drove our Jeep Grand Cherokee. Once I parked in the flat/surface lot I exited the car to walk to the rear of the car to enter the trunk and realized the car was still I gear. This same situation has happened a number of times, often when we are in the process of accessing the rear doors or the trunk. This is our family vehicle and when we are with the kids this happens it has scared us from driving the vehicle.

- Miami, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #190

Jun 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • 22,700 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that when the gear was placed in the park position, the vehicle accelerated. The approximate failure mileage was 22,700.

- Water Town, NY, USA

problem #189

Mar 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the morning of Thursday 3/6/14, as I was leaving for work, I stopped my Jeep Grand Cherokee at the end of my driveway to pick up my newspaper. (I thought) I put the car in park and exited my vehicle. As I was picking up the paper, I realized the car was rolling backward, down the remainder of my driveway and across my cul-de-sac. As I ran beside the car I saw the car was in reverse. I was certain I had put the car in park! realizing that nothing was going to stop the car until it hit something (options were a fire hydrant or my neighbor's house, ) I foolishly attempted to jump in the car to stop it. I missed.... badly. After trying to jump into a moving vehicle and missing, I fell to the street. I was on my back. At that moment I knew that I was going to be run over. I did not know where I was in relation to the car and, in that split second, prepared for the worst. I counted myself "lucky" when the vehicle "only" ran over my left lower leg, ankle and foot! the vehicle came to rest, luckily, in a snowbank across the street from my house (picture attached). Aaa was called to pull the car off the snowbank, as it high-centered. I sought medical treatment. I had a badly sprained ankle and damage to my left foot arch. I have not walked correctly since and continue to have pain in the arch of my foot and knees. While I told my neighbors and circle of friends, I did not notify my car dealer as I thought the incident was my negligence by not putting the car in park. It has only been through the recent media that I realize that I am another victim of this vehicle's gear shift defect.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #188

Aug 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
On 8/3/2015 a employee of discount tire of lake worth, tx drove our 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo into a concrete pole. The employee stated that he thought he was in reverse, when in actuality the vehicle was in drive. When he stepped on the gas he drove forward into a concrete pole. His explanation as to why was due to the lag (or ping) between requesting a command and seeing the led screen indicate the selection. My wife and I have seen this first hand, it is very possible to overshoot the intended gear, and try and correct before the display has accurately indicated the actual gear. Additionally the indication lights on the shifter are covered by the user hand when operating. This forces the operator to stare at the indicators in the gauge cluster, which as stated before have a noticeable lag between indications. It is the software lag, and the fact the shifter always springs back to the same positions that has cause confusion. Fca clearly knew of the issues as they stopped produced the pivoting shifters from 2014-2015. Starting in 2016 all Jeep Grand Cherokee models have a mechanical shifter that moved to different dedents for gear selections. The entire shifter assembly should be replaced with a mechanical model such as the ones used in 2016 and up Jeep Grand Cherokee.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #187

Jun 032016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The contact was unable to determine when the part would become available because the dealer stated that they had no specific time frame that the manufacturer would provide the remedy. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Marion, NC, USA

problem #186

May 272016

Grand Cherokee

  • 24,150 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 65 mph, "do not drive in park" was illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact pulled the vehicle over to the shoulder and exited the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 24,150. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #185

Jun 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Regarding recall 16V-240. I am writing to encourage NHTSA to require fca to replace the electronic shift selector with one that stays in the position corresponding to the transmission gear selection. More display warnings and printed cards will not solve the user interface problem created by the shifter moving back to center regardless of the transmission gear selection. On numerous occasions, I have moved the shift selector forward from drive toward park, thinking that I had heard/felt 3 clicks and that I was in park, only to find that the vehicle is in reverse.

- South Lake Tahoe, CA, USA

problem #184

Dec 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When the gear shift was placed in park, the gear failed to engage and the vehicle rolled more than once. The contact had to quickly get back into the vehicle, ensure the gear was completely in park, and apply the emergency brake. The vehicle was not diagnosed by a dealer. The manufacturer was notified twice. The failure mileage was not available.....updated 08/08/16

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #183

Apr 152016

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while the driver was reversing from the driveway, her dogs were behind the vehicle as a result she shifted into part and exited the vehicle. The vehicle then rolled away and crashed into a fence. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries sustained. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic but the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. Two months after the failure, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 16V240000 (power train). The failure mileage was 40,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sugercreek, OH, USA

problem #182

Dec 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,944 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After placing the vehicle into the park position and attempting to exit, the vehicle independently rolled back and crashed into a telephone pole. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission shifter mechanism failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the front driver side door was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,944.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #181

May 192016

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,000 miles
My wife pulled the car into a community park and put the Jeep in park and opened the door to grab her sons lost dog. Next thing she knows the Jeep is rolling, and proceeds to run her over and continues down a small hill into some trees. She was taken to the hospital via a 911 call and we are now waiting for results from an mri. This problem could have killed her if she didn't get her head out of the way.

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #180

May 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 15 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving and attempting to make a left turn, the contact attempted to shift gears and experienced a failure. The vehicle shifted into reverse and park. Initially, upon changing gears, it did not correctly shift into reverse. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified of the failure. The manufacturer provided no assistance. The contact stated that the failure pertained to unintended gear selection, which could cause a crash. The manufacturer refused to investigate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 15. Updated 06/29/16

- Westminster, MA, USA

problem #179

Feb 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the contact accidentally moved the gear shift and the vehicle shifted out of the drive position into neutral. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #178

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact experienced a failure intermittently. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 21,000....updated 06/30/16 the consumer stated the vehicle rolled down a small hill in his driveway. Updated 08/02/16.

- Bayonne, NJ, USA

problem #177

Feb 222016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that after shifting the vehicle into the park position and exiting, the vehicle independently shifted into the drive position. As a result, the vehicle rolled forward and crashed into the contacts garage. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was inspected by the manufacturers engineer but the failure was undetermined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The failure mileage was unknown.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #176

Aug 192014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles
On August 19, 2014, I stepped out of my stationary 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland--believing I had put the vehicle in park on a gentle city-street slope--when it suddenly moved backward, rolling over my left leg and severely damaging my knee, skin, artery, and quad muscles. My wife immediately called an ambulance, which transported me to a local hospital, where doctors surgically attached an "external fixator" in three places, stabilizing and completely immobilizing my leg (for the next five weeks). After a second surgery and over a year of painful and arduous therapy later, I can now walk with a knee-brace, haltingly and with a noticeable limp... all due to the Jeep Grand Cherokee's transmission that does not accurately indicate what gear it is in! unless one is concentrating 100+% of the time on the console shifter--and constantly glancing at the indicator lights on the vehicle dashboard--the driver never knows what position the Jeep's transmission is in! the shifter on the console always looks exactly the same, no matter what gear has supposedly been selected. We had no absolutely forewarning of the potential life-threatening problem inherent in this vehicle's design, and I can only thank god that I'm still alive today. Last week we were surprised to receive written notification from Fiat Chrysler automobiles that the company and NHTSA had recalled 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee for the specific defect described in my incident above!. (finally! vindication!) the recall number is show below, I believe. Fca vehicle recall number: S27 / NHTSA 16V-240

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?