Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
49 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,733 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 5 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #146

Jan 122016

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles


Vehicle spontaneously shifted from park to reverse when operator reached into vehicle to shut off engine. Vehicle was parked on a downward city street slope (facing downhill), and reversed uphill, dragging operator into an intersection.

- Lincoln, NH, USA

problem #145

Jan 212016

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,500 miles
Gear shifter does not move fluidly and often it is unclear as to which position the shifter is actually engaged. It has occurred that when I think it is in park, it is actually in neutral. I actually pushed the start/stop engine button thinking the car had shut off when in fact it was in neutral and was still running. Had I not noticed this at the last moment the car could have easily rolled into parking lot traffic. This also has occurred when parking in my garage.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #144

Jan 302016

Grand Cherokee

  • 19,000 miles
Electronic transmission shifter is difficult to use. I have owned this vehicle for 3 weeks and have already unintentionally had my vehicle roll from a stopped position. In an attempt to place the vehicle in "park" from "drive, " the vehicle was accidentally shifted into "reverse" due to poor operator friendliness compared to traditional shifters. Shifting the vehicle from "neutral" has also not registered correctly on occasions due to prerequisites to shift out of that gear (foot on brake and button held down). The shifter release button has very poor feedback and is difficult to use as well.

- South Vienna, OH, USA

problem #143

Aug 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,000 miles


Electronic shifter does not properly select gear and/or provide tactile feedback regarding which gear has been selected. I have almost left the vehicle while it was still in drive mode thinking it was in park. I feel this is a huge safety concern and warrants a recall.

- Lancaster, MA, USA

problem #142

Apr 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the gear was in the park position, the vehicle still moved forward. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 5.

- Ridge, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #141

Jan 292016

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
I went to place the gear selector into park but it didn't go in and I didn't realize it wasn't in park. I went to get out to grab something and it rolled backwards into my garage door. It dented the garage door and luckily only did that as damage. I was able to get my foot onto the brake before it went any further.

- Williston, ND, USA

problem #140

Feb 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 37,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 60 mph, the transmission failed causing the loss of power steering and the inability to accelerate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 37,000.

- Winchester, CA, USA

problem #139

Sep 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 27,500 miles
I moved my Jeep on the driveway, and believe I placed it in park with the engine on while going back in the house. When I returned outside less then one minute later, the Jeep was rolling down the hill backwards. It went straight down the driveway backwards, across the street, and into the rear of a car parked across the street. I believe it totaled the other vehicle and did approximately $1300 damage to the Jeep. I did not file a police report, but there was an insurance claim against my insurance for the damage done to the other vehicle. I did not submit a claim for my own insurance as there was a $1,000 deductible. I just read an article in the paper that other people have been having similar problems where it is difficult to tell if the vehicle is in park. (the date of 9/1/2015 is estimated but can be confirmed)

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #138

Mar 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle was shifted into park position; however, the gear shifter was in reverse. The contact exited the vehicle, not knowing the vehicle was in reverse, and was knocked over by the vehicle. The vehicle ran over his left leg and right toes and crashed into another vehicle. The contact sustained injuries that required medical attention. No police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 05/04/16

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #137

Dec 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that after placing the gear in park and attempting to exit the vehicle with the driver door open, the vehicle rolled away independently. The contact chased after the vehicle and jumped in the driver seat to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact was aware of NHTSA action number: EA16002 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 34,000. The VIN was not provided. Updated 04/07/16 updated 04/14/16.....updated 06/15/16

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #136

Feb 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 500 miles


Since I purchased my Jeep Grand Cherokee in 2014 I have had problems with my electronic gear shifter. Several times that I have stopped my car and thought I had placed it in park to go out side my vehicle it was not. Several times while exiting the car my leg was dragged bending it backwards that resulted in a bruise. One time I actually had to chase after my car as it lurched forward. This is a very serious issue. Just pushing the shifter forward does not always place the car in park. Something must be done. Dealer said there was no problem and they could not replicate the problem. I now have to double check the gear shift display to be sure that the car is in park

- Cumberland, MD, USA

problem #135

Apr 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 600 miles
Electronic gear shiftier not reliable. There is no feeling or sense of proper gear engagement. I sit each day and rev up engine thinking I have engaged drive mode. You never know when you have properly engaged park feature. I have gotten one leg out of car while auto starts moving.this electronic feature is unsafe. Otherwise this is the best new car I have ever owned. No accidents but I am extra careful with this gear shift. I will never buy another care with this innovation. The problem happens at startup and shutdown / exit mode. Scary to exit auto and someone notify you later that the auto engine is still running and in neutral. Mode. Jerry

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #134

Feb 052016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
On approximately 10 occasions in the past 18 months, I have almost left the vehicle after attempting and thinking it was in park. The shift level is incredibly dangerous.

- Kirkwood, MO, USA

problem #133

Jan 112016

Grand Cherokee

  • 32,000 miles
My wife placed the car in park and took her foot off the brake and the vehicle continued forward and hit a pole at about 2-3 miles per hour. The front license plate and plate holder were damaged but more importantly it now makes her afraid to drive the car because this is the 3rd or 4th time this has happened.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #132

Feb 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,260 miles
Making sure the truck is in park is dififcullt to determine.putting the truck into park or into drive is also difficult. Have had it happen 3 times to me, thought the Jeep was in park exited the vechicle and it was still in drive mode and started rolling forward!

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #131

Jan 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,500 miles
Jeep Grand Cherokee has rolled while in park. It was parked on a grade each time, but not steep enough for the transmission not to hold. Most recently, it was parked on a slight grade, on ice, with the parking brake on. The vehicle suddenly rolled down the driveway (with the rear wheels parking break engaged but sliding on ice, and the front wheels freely rolled). The vehicle was in park, parking brake engaged, and vehicle was turned off.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #130

Dec 182013

Grand Cherokee

  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was in the park position on a small incline, the vehicle rolled backwards approximately 20 feet. The contact was able to apply the brake pedal and stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred intermittently. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #129

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 700 miles
My current lease, a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, has been plagued with defects. There have been 9 recalls, 16 service bulletins, and 5 investigations¿.in addition there are 587 driver/owner complaints. My problems: Instability of the transmission. After parking next to a storage bin, transmission slipped out of park and the Jeep moved forward crushing my leg in the door and denting/scratching the exterior of vehicle. There has been no indication that fca (Jeep) has resolved this issue. Another problem I¿M having, which has been plaguing many other Jeep owners, is where the engine warning light illuminates with no indication of specific information with regard to what the malfunction might be. After 5 service visits over the past 2 years, Jeep has proven they unable to remedy this. I continue driving with uncertainty and stress with my passengers and I fearing ourlives may be endangered. The engine light is currently illuminated. I am not getting the level of vehicle safety and dependability I am paying for. I have filed a complaint on the website of Jeep and have offered fca(Jeep) a settlement whereby I would be refunded the leasing charges I paid and the company would consent to an early termination of the lease with no penalties or charges. Fca(Jeep) has failed to remedy my problem. (please see attached details) fca us llc is required to execute certain performance obligations, pursuant to the July 24, 2015 consent order, amended December 8, 2015, the objectives of which are to mitigate the risks of harm and promote safety for we, the consumers. Fca, however, persists in violating and disregarding me in a blatant act of non-compliance with the order. I seek assistance in expediting remedial action in this matter as a victim, and the protection of my rights as a consumer, and as an american citizen. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #128

Nov 082015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle began to reverse independently while the engine was on. There was no occupant in the vehicle. The vehicle traveled across the street and crashed into a mailbox, then proceeded to roll up an inclined driveway while still in reverse. The contact attempted to enter the vehicle but the vehicle then moved forward and knocked the contact to the ground, driving over her legs. The vehicle eventually stopped and crashed into a fence. The contact sustained leg injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the body damages were repaired but the failure was not determined. The failure was recurring. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000. Updated 04/08/16

- Atkinson, NH, USA

problem #127

Dec 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked on an incline, it rolled down the incline and crashed into a tree. The contact was able to exit the vehicle. The contact sustained major injuries that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The electronic gear selector was is in the process of getting repaired through a local auto body shop. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 9,000. Updated 02/18/16..updated 05/09/16

- Stratham, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?