Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
49 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,733 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #106

Oct 152013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while parked with the key in the ignition, the vehicle rolled forward without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000. MA 10/16/15 the consumer state weather was not a factor. Being on an incline or decline was not a factor, either. The vehicle moved on its own, unless his foot was on the brake.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #105

Nov 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked on a slight hill with the emergency brake applied, the vehicle rolled backwards approximately 30 feet and stopped. The vehicle was driven to the dealer to be diagnosed and the mechanic stated that there was no detected failure. The contact shared a video of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.....updated 04/25/16

- North Caldwell, NJ, USA

problem #104

Sep 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,432 miles
I pulled into my driveway and put the car in park. When stepping out of my car, it started rolling backwards, the door was open so it knocked me to the ground and I rolled to get out of the path of the wheel, only getting missed by seconds. I had pretty severe bruising but I did not see a doctor. I assume the car went into reverse as it rolled backwards, but it was a slight incline so it may have been neutral. I was mostly focused on the fact my car was rolling backwards at a good rate with my 4 and 1 year old still inside. The car stopped after jumping the curb and taking out the neighbors mailbox. I honestly didn't look at what gear it was in once stopped, I checked on my children and quickly moved it out of the middle of the road, I of course was in panic mode. It did $6004.69 worth of damage to the car, plus the replacement of (2) carseats and a brick mailbox. I took the car in a few months ago for other recalls and let them know about the situation and they said "no problem found" of course. After seeing a report from you all today about this very same problem it prompted me to file a complaint, as I didn't know you existed. The car has slipped out of gear several other times in parking lots, both while I was driving and to my husband as well, but I am very careful to use my parking break every time I park the car after the accident.....updated 04/25/16

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #103

Sep 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,432 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that after shifting into park, the vehicle rolled away in reverse and crashed into a mailbox. The contact sustained minor bruises that did not require medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 9,432.

- Yukon , OK, USA

problem #102

Feb 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
I pulled in to my brothers driveway there was snow on the ground. Put the car in park turned it off and exited the car. It started rolling forward so I jumped back in the car and put on the brake then moved it backwards a little and exited the car again. Again car in park and shut off. I walked in front of the car and found my brother. Asi was walking back to the car, it rolled forward again about 8 feet and hit my nephew's car sending it through the garage door. The next day I has the car towed to the dealership as I was afraid to drive it. Results from the dealer were nothing wrong. They told the the care had what's called and open differential and if the on wheel skidded the car would roll forward. I told them I had never heard of anything so absurd and their comment was that I needed to read the owner's manual and make sure I use the parking brake. I talked with the dealership owner and told him about it. He also told me that he had never heard of anything like this either. I asked that he talk with his sales people and have them tell their buyers anpbout this. I then talked with a customer service agent at Chrysler who told me she had never heard of such a thing. As a follow Chrysler sent a survey to me regarding their customer service. I recounted this situation and have heard nothing. I will never purchase another Jeep and if I could cancel the lease right now I would do so. This is very dangerous. I had been standing in front of my car just before it rolled forward. In addition, my car insurance premium was increased by $50 per month because of this accident"????" when I did nothing to create the problem. These vehicles should not be on the road with dangers like this. People could very easily be killed or very injured. I have told numerous people never to buy this car because of its danger.

- Wheeling, WV, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #101

Aug 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
The vehicle rolled forwardvinto another vehicle after being put in park.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #100

Jun 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 19,000 miles


On multiple occasions over the life of the vehicle, which is currently at 21,000 miles, confidence in knowing you have selected the correct gear is very low. When putting the car in drive, park or reverse, you have to check at least twice that you are in the correct gear before taking the foot off the brake. The most recent incident was in late June 2015, when I was taking my dog to the vet for an emergency. I thought I put the car in park. Indications showed it was in park. I got out of the car and the car begin to roll backwards. The car was actually in reverse. Fortunately, I was able to jump back in and stop the car before getting hit by the open door, this time setting the parking brake also. Similar incidents have happened to my spouse as she now has to check at least twice that the vehicle is in any correct gear. We did report this to dealer but with little response other than looking to see if there was a service bulletin. We currently have three outstanding recall notices but are unable to get dealer to satisfactorily respond because they did not have parts or did not call us back to set up service appointment.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #99

Feb 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while attempting to accelerate from a stop, the vehicle jerked and hesitated before moving forward. The contact noticed that the front end of the vehicle started to vibrated. In addition, the contact stated that while attempting to accelerate from a stop, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle accelerated in excess. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer multiple times, who diagnosed that the driveshaft needed to be replaced and the computer needed to be upgraded. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100.

- Fenton, MO, USA

problem #98

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while attempting to enter a highway, suddenly the vehicle failed to accelerate over 35 mph. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road, where the engine was restarted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. Several weeks later, while driving 15 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,000.

- Deptford , NJ, USA

problem #97

Nov 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles
From a stop, right turn, accel towards planned speed of 60. At app. 50mph approaching guardrails then bridge the vehicle 'locks up' (no screeching brakes), thought 'trans' (previous unresolved problems), engine sputters, about to die, speed has dropped 30mph, (assume no brake lights). Quick decision (rails 75'), get to shoulder. Small shoulder, deep ditch with a steep downhill pitch to the river. Just as I was about to enact the decision the engine "roars" to life and hits 65mph before I can react and apply the brakes mid-bridge. The whole incident only took seconds, maybe 7 to 10. Took it, once again, to blevins motors, potsdam NY and once again was told that their diagnostic computer saw no abnormalities. This time I asked for a print out of said report and was told there was no such thing as a 'print out'. I am a 100% disabled vet with a head injury and ptsd. This the salesman was notified of the first thing. I did not mention the ptsd as it had always been my problem and explosive anger was never present. The "injury" was after months of lies and 'dirty dealing' from the start that they finally 'beat a path' in my brain to the anger part. It led to many visits with my va psychologist, loss of friends as I seemed abnormally consumed with my ill-treatment by blevins, which I was, and total frustration that I had no recourse via the law because I could "blow" at the least slight. I have to a great degree put the 'ptsd' back in its box, but the damage to what was an already slowly slipping brain that I had accepted, it took a big hit damage wise. I no longer check E'mail. 315-353-5016 day or night. Thankyou!

- Norwood, NY, USA

problem #96

Jun 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles


I was driving to work today and all of a sudden I smelled a burning smell in the front of my car and all the lights lit up on my dash and my digital speedometer started going up and down in speed but I was not going any faster or slower. This is not the first time I have smelled something burning in my Jeep. I had it in for service on 5/515 and it was there until 6/8/15 for these same kind of problems. All my dealership keeps doing is flashing the software and telling me it is fixed. I no longer feel safe driving my Jeep Grand Cherokee. I have had so many electrical problems that are not getting fixed. My transmission takes so long to shift gears and sometimes gets stuck in neutral while I am driving, my tires constantly feel like they are slipping and I do not feel like I have complete control of the vehicle because of it. I have a six year old child that rides in my Jeep everyday and I do not feel safe putting them in it. I have tried to call fca and they refuse to talk to me or help me with a resolution to these problems. I just want to feel safe when I am driving and also to feel safe putting my child in my vehicle and at this point I do not feel safe in my Grand Cherokee anymore and it is a shame.

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #95

Oct 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • 6,589 miles
Hard or rough shift from 2nd to 3rd gear when transmission is cold as in the first use of the day.if done during hard acceleration feels as though transmission will drop out of the vehicle. After transmission warms up to approx 170 degrees shifting becomes smooth. Also slipping type action when slowing to a stop when transmission shifts from 2nd to 1st.

- Campbellsville, KY, USA

problem #94

Feb 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • 12,500 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at approximately 25 mph, the transmission failed without warning. The failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where a module was ordered in order to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,500.

- North Hampton, PA, USA

problem #93

May 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,300 miles
Driver proceeded from a from a 4-way stop to the posted speed limit of 55 mph. Shortly after getting up to speed, the vehicle's dashboard illuminated with several warning indicators (service electronic throttle control, service airbag system, low oil pressure, low voltage) and lost all engine power. Vehicle coasted to a stop in a nearby parking lot. Driver was attempted to restart the vehicle several times, but unsuccessful. Vehicle has been towed to the dealership awaiting service.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #92

Apr 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 25,000 miles
Under moderate acceleration car is supposed to drop one gear and accelerate. On 4 separate occasions car has instead dropped 4 gears and got stuck in lower gear, unable to accelerate. Then check engine light comes on, just to turn back off by itself. Sometimes dealer does minor part replacement and clears light, saying problem is fixed. Has nearly led to two severe crashes when entering highway. Car feels extremely unsafe, and I never know when problem is going to happen again.

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #91

May 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The navigation system goes blank mid trip screen goes on and off and switches to other media. The transmission clicks from switching from park to drive or reverse. The truck makes a weird vibration noise it sounds coarse and feels weird after 20mph. All these problems have been happening since I took the Jeep out the dealership. I always bring it back to the dealer they say they fix it and I always bring it right back with the same exact problems.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #90

Aug 012013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling- letter to the secretary from constituent re copy of a letter to Fiat Chrysler chief executive officer sergio marchionne regarding a Jeep Cherokee safety recall. For months the parts were not available for recall #14V643000. In November 2014, the consumer was able to get one of the recalls rectified only because someone did not show up for the appointment. Also, the consumer experienced a catastrophic transmission failure. Updated 08/03/15.

- Somers, NY, USA

problem #89

Aug 252014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The vehicle makes a loud popping/clicking sound when started. A Jeep servicing dealership had the vehicle for three weeks attempting to diagnose and correct the problem with the assistance of their corporate technicians. It was deemed a normal function and that the "vehicle performs as designed". Jeep corporate has been totally unresponsive to subsequent communication. Clearly, a very loud popping sound is not normal. Please help and please advise best next steps. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brooksville, FL, USA

problem #88

Apr 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 10,225 miles
Drove one block from home and the battery voltage spiked to 17V. Warning sounds and messages posted on the odometer. Parking assist off; acc unavailable-service required; wipers activated even though turned off; transmission locked in D; radio screen blacked out/came back on; message read to stop, press the brake, turn engine off then place in park. Red battery icon, anti skid icon, engine icon lit on odometer plus warning sounds non stop. Took directly to the dealer where the tech tried to get a reading on all of the trouble icons. Nothing was posting on their equipment. It was decided the vehicle may need the alternator replaced. Was told to continue driving and if this happens again to turn the engine off and restart the vehicle and keep driving.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #87

Mar 142014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10 miles
When accelerating, the engine always hesitates for several seconds, then surges forward. This condition creates a safety issue during passing, merging into oncoming traffic, evasive maneuvers, etc. This problem has existed since new, and has not improved. Bergey Chrysler, Jeep service dept. Has informed me that the hesitation while accelerating "operates as designed", and cannot be repaired.

- Hatfield, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?