Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
49 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,733 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 9 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Dec 302013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles


When coming to a slow brake, the brakes stutter and push the car forward. Additionally, the vehicle sometimes when driving at higher speeds (specifically on the freeway at about 60-70mph) engine revs high without kicking over. Furthermore, when slowing it has a hard time kicking down to the next gear. Transmission light has come on several times as well. When taking the vehicle in for service, they are unable to recognize any problems at all and can not fix.

- Newark, CA, USA

problem #65

Oct 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 16,300 miles
When I go to press the brakes and come to a stop, my vehicle jerks when it slows down as if its almost stuck in a gear while it downshifts which causes the vehicle to move forward while trying to slow down which can cause an accident.

- Millville, NJ, USA

problem #64

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee Diesel

  • miles
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer states that without warning the gear shift jumps out of drive or reverse into neutral and the motor shuts off. The consumer stated each time the vehicle was towed to the dealer, they stated the vehicle needed a program update.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #63

Jul 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles


The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated after coming to a stop, the vehicle jerked forward without warning. The vehicle was diagnosed and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 6,000. Updated12/22/14 updated 05/29/2015 updated 9/25/2015

- Inglewood, NJ, USA

problem #62

Jul 072014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 5,500 miles
Vehicle suddenly and without warning got stuck in 4th gear and wouldn't shift into a higher or lower gear making it unable to accelerate and safely exit the highway. I was eventually able to get the car pulled over to safety and had it towed to a local dealership. The dealer diagnosis was that a cooling line popped out of the transmission which caused all the fluid to drain out.

- Katonah, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #61

Feb 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 12 mph, the vehicle began to shake when shifted into second gear. The failure occurred multiple times. The dealer was unable to locate the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000...updated 11/06/14

- Manchester, MD, USA

problem #60

Apr 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,250 miles


While entering a busy interstate and accelerating from a stop to 65 mph on the onramp, the Jeep Grand Cherokee drive train began shuddering violently and would not stop. It felt like the vehicle was running over severe bumps in the road yet the surface was free of defects. I was disoriented by the shaking sensation which would stop if I decelerate but returned immediately when accelerating to merge. I was forced off the road by faster traffic and my inability to speed up. I had to stop on the roadside and attempt to merge again when traffic cleared. My re-attempt to accelerate caused shuddering again at 45 mph. I pulled over again and shut the vehicle off. I restarted and, on my third attempt, accelerated very aggressively with the vehicle shuddering at 45 mph up to 65 mph. When I quite accelerating the shudder quit. This violent drive train shudder has occurred often since then. I have learned that this occurs most often in the first 10 miles of operation and I can minimize the shudder when it occurs by accelerating at full throttle which is unsafe. My online research indicates others are complaining of this same issue in various auto forums. I have had my Jeep dealer apply service updates and test drive the vehicle but Jeep has yet to fix this issue. In my opinion, this is ridiculous in a new car and is a drive ability and safety concern.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #59

Jul 312014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 9,280 miles
Transmission will shudder while accelerating making the vehicle dangerous and difficult to control. Vehicle has been to the dealer multiple times and they have yet to fix it. Research has led me to believe that this is impacting many other Jeep's on the road today. I do not believe they are safe to be on the road until the problem is remedied.

- Colorado Springs , CO, USA

problem #58

Jul 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 3,700 miles
Transmission locks up after starting, unable to shift into any gear, and malfunction indicator light "mil" is illuminated. In order to get the vehicle to move it must be shut off and on, sometimes more than one time. After 4 incidents, Jeep gc was brought to local service dept. Where several flash updates were performed to vehicles computer and valve body pump box was ordered. Jeep was returned for service 3 weeks later where transmission pump box was replaced and transmission re-trained. Since then the issue has continued to occur on 3 separate occasions. Additionally, now the diesel exhaust regeneration comes on every 30-40 miles where the car must continue to be run until regen has completed, no changes had been made to driving habits and prior to transmission work regen had never needed to come on. It is unknown if the Jeep gc can move when the mil and locked shifter occur as the issue has occurred only in flat areas (mostly home garage), however this could be a deadly issue if parked on hill and if vehicle transmission is not locking gears and can move forward or back. It does not appear that this is the case but can not be ruled out. Vehicle is going back in for service and transmission replacement. Based on research online it would appear transmission issues with the 2014 Jeep gc are widespread and even after repairs are performed the vehicle never drives properly or as it did previously and usually hesitates, shifts hard or jerks forward which is also very dangerous as it seems to be sporadic and unpredictable for drivers.

- Hebron, KY, USA

problem #57

Jul 312014

Grand Cherokee Diesel

  • miles
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to transmission issues. The consumer stated twice, he encountered a serious problem. When he attempted to make a turn, the vehicle almost stalled. He tried pumping the accelerator, but the vehicle would only move at a crawl. The second incident occurred on July 31, 2014, the consumer was attempting to make a turn, when the vehicle almost stalled. The consumer was informed there were some wires that rubbed against something that caused the engine to stall.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #56

Sep 272013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 200 miles


I have had this SUV for almost one year. On multiply instances I have thought to have put this truck in park, but it has either gone into neutral or reverse. It comes with an electronic shifter. Because it is electronic it has the same position in any and all of the four desired gears. Further complicating the process of making sure the truck is in the desired gear is that the only way to tell what gear you are in is by an illuminated shifter with letters P R N D/S... when it very sunny or you have the sunroof shade open it is even more difficult. Having the sunroof open on a sunny day(different than just the shade open) it is almost impossible!! I believe something tragic will occur eventually if this not corrected. It wont with me because I am very aware of the situation. But someone somewhere will not be as aware of it as I am! I have the same truck in 2009 and it does not operate in that method. I do not know how many other vehicles operate manner but I will not be buying another one and thought others deserved this information.

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #55

Apr 082014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
At random times, transmission sticks between drive and sport...and won't shift and car slows down. Have to pull out of traffic and stop to get transmission back in gear. Vehicle brought in for service July 2014 to dealership, within a month....same problem. This vehicle is unsafe and dangerous to drive. Prior to this...I had the check engine light come on 4 times.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #54

Jun 102014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 8,000 miles
While driving up a grade at 50 mph, vehicle began to shake/shudder/vibrate. I had to tramp the accelerator to engage the transmission to work through the situation. This has happened at least a dozen times. Dealer has not been able to replicate the condition. The catalytic converter is being replaced on 7/16. I do not know if this is the cause of the problem.

- Greensburg, PA, USA

problem #53

Jul 102014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 1,000 miles
After purchasing the vehicle I started the first leg of a 2000 mile road trip comprising of highway and winding rural roads. During a winding mountainous section of the journey I started to smell something I thought to be possibly a fbrush fire or something burning in the locale I was driving through. Later during another section of stop and go driving I started to smell it again, and noticed some brake fade as well. For the remainder of this leg of the trip I used the paddle shifters to reduce my brake use. Upon a fuel stop before ending the day's travel, I noticed a thick layer of grease coating the inside of the front left wheel. I did a internet search to see if this was a known issue to find several other owners have had the same issue. I have scheduled an appointment at a Jeep dealer for service. Hopefully Jeep can remedy this seemingly common problem.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #52

May 292014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 185 miles
Both cv axle boots leaked all the grease out. Had the axles replaced with new parts from the mfg, and both boots leaked again after only 475 miles or less. Appears that the bands on the boots are not tight enough, or the boots may be too short. They seem to pull apart if wheels are steered close to maximum radius. The issue is that the grease is slung all over the wheels and onto the front disc brake assemblies. This can cause loss of brakes or severe braking issues that can lead to a serious accident. I called Jeep customer service and they are aware of the issue but told me no recall is current. They called my dealer in wilmington nc, and I have another appointment to replace. These will be the third set of cv axles. The Jeep forums online are full of this issue. Seems to be a problem with vehicles built around March/April 2014. This should be a recall with a recognized approved fix. There are probably several vehicles that are affected by this and the owners are completely unaware of the problem as it requires you to look for it. Dangerous.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #51

Jun 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 5,450 miles
During a vacation trip, we parked the vehicle in a remote mountain road turn-out area to take a scenic photo. Returned to vehicle, started the vehicle; however, no matter how many times and what methods were used, the transmission would only pop-back into park. On, I noted previous 2014 Jeep Cherokee complaints concerned with the transmission popping only into neutral; but, for us it was popping only into park. The towing company did over $3,000 worth of front-end damage to vehicle in attempting to tow it while the transmission was frozen in park. On the same trip, the dashboard controls would go completely dark on an apparent infrequent random basis. We also noted cruise control acceleration problem with unexpected and or apparently random uncontrolled accelerations beyond driver's expectations or immediate control. Both of these which frightened us. Another strange thing we noted was when the transmission changed gear (primarily in lower gears), the vehicle jerked in a rough manner beyond what we have experienced in any other modern vehicles.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #50

Jun 182014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 730 miles
Vehicle lost all forwarded speed (engine was still running), transmission was not allowing the vehicle to continue to move forwarded. My Jeep was almost hit several times by different eighteen wheelers, cars, and pickups while trying to get the Jeep off the highway to a more safe spot. My family and I where put in great danger because of this incident. The second occurrence was when I left the Jeep in park and walked in front of it, at which time the Jeep began to move forwarded hitting me, if it were not for my wife sitting in the passenger seat and pushing the shifter up, I would have been ran over. The shifter is not supposed to move without applying the brake (a major problem exists somewhere). The third occurrence was when we entered the highway with the posted speed limit of 70 mph, the Jeep would not accelerate faster than 38 mph. Again my family was in immediate danger because of the hilly terrain and the traffic running up on us at 70 mph. We found ourselves having to park on the side of the road placing ourselves in another dangerous environment. The transmission finally engage properly and we were able to get the Jeep to the repair shop. The Jeep had already been in the shop twice for the front drive axle. The second time it was in the shop, they were suppose to check out the transmission to correct what had happened the first time the Jeep stopped running down the highway. My family was lucky that we did not have a major accident because of these problems. I feel that an investigation needs to be initiated quickly before someone or some family die in a fatal crash because of these problems.

- Liverpool, TX, USA

problem #49

Jan 142014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
The vehicle does not reliably select the park position and in general it is very awkward to select any gear without putting into the wrong gear, reverse for forward, neutral for reverse, etc, . on multiple occasions after the vehicle was apparently put in park it suddenly rolled away in reverse gear. It was then very difficult to select the park position to stop the vehicle. The sudden movement in reverse almost caused the vehicle to hit another car. Problem has occurred on at least five occasions.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #48

Jun 212014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 125 miles
Front cv axle boot is exploded. The retaining clip has fallen off, grease is everywhere. The vehicle did not even make the trip back from the dealership when new, car has less than 150 miles.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #47

Jun 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 455 miles
Driver's side front outer cv joint boot slipped due to an improperly-installed boot clamp and the grease from the joint migrated to the brake splash guard, suspension components, and inside of the wheel on that side. No grease apparent on the brake rotor at this time, however the dealer, grapevine Dodge Chrysler Jeep, in grapevine, tx, has instructed me to drive the vehicle to them for service in a few days. Any grease on the brake rotor could cause a brake failure on that side (leading to loss of control) and would require some parts to be replaced. I understand that this is a common problem with Jeep Grand Cherokee manufactured in March and April of 2014, however the dealer's service advisor whom I spoke with appears to be unaware of the trend and largely ignorant of the danger that it presents.

- Justin, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?